PetFinder.my

PetFinder.my (http://forums.petfinder.my/index.php)
-   Hardware (http://forums.petfinder.my/forumdisplay.php?f=70)
-   -   CPU Not working - help (http://forums.petfinder.my/showthread.php?t=821)

filinlee 08-28-2008 06:04 PM

CPU Not working - help
 
My cpu is not working... I'm not sure when it started but suddenly when i wanted to on it, it juz couldnt on.....is there something wrong..? can anyone help me..? please... thanks..{victory}

AndyKoh 08-28-2008 06:16 PM

Re: I need help!!!!
 
When you turn it on, do you hear the typical power-on beep and hard disks powering up?

If there is absolutely zero sound and response, it could likely mean that your power supply has kaput.

If there are some sounds, then nothing showing on screen, then could be motherboard or ram problem.

In any case, better ask a friend who's familiar with CPUs or bring to your nearest PC shop for help.


p/s: How did you post this help request if your PC can't power on, using cyber-telepathy? {wink}

blackie007 08-28-2008 06:23 PM

Re: I need help!!!!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AndyKoh (Post 7143)
When you turn it on, do you hear the typical power-on beep and hard disks powering up?

If there is absolutely zero sound and response, it could likely mean that your power supply has kaput.

If there are some sounds, then nothing showing on screen, then could be motherboard or ram problem.

In any case, better ask a friend who's familiar with CPUs or bring to your nearest PC shop for help.


p/s: How did you post this help request if your PC can't power on, using cyber-telepathy? {wink}

hahah, andy, i think filin meant her CPU at home la......and she posted using her office CPU.

Sorry dear, (err, I mean filin, not u, Andy.....hahaha) I'm not sure I can help u there either. but I'll give u my 2 cents of opinion.

Sometimes it could be the cards are a bit loose. Try tightening all the cards in the CPU. If no sounds at all, then just switch on and off the power, and then try turn on your CPU. If you could turn it on after a few tries like this, then that means your battery power in your CPU kaput. Hope this helps.

Penghulu 08-28-2008 06:41 PM

Re: CPU Not working - help
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by filinlee (Post 7138)
My cpu is not working... I'm not sure when it started but suddenly when i wanted to on it, it juz couldnt on.....is there something wrong..? can anyone help me..? please... thanks..{victory}

Ok filin..ni abg din ader..so lets kick start...dari mula..
on cpu pastu ader power ker tak..atau terus terus tak der power...

filinlee 08-28-2008 06:55 PM

Re: CPU Not working - help
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by AndyKoh (Post 7143)
When you turn it on, do you hear the typical power-on beep and hard disks powering up?

If there is absolutely zero sound and response, it could likely mean that your power supply has kaput.

If there are some sounds, then nothing showing on screen, then could be motherboard or ram problem.

In any case, better ask a friend who's familiar with CPUs or bring to your nearest PC shop for help.


p/s: How did you post this help request if your PC can't power on, using cyber-telepathy? {wink}

Dear Mr andy... ahahaha... i dun have cyber-telepathy mind u... ehehehhe {shy} I'm at work la... the cpu at home not working....

Quote:

Originally Posted by blackie007 (Post 7146)
hahah, andy, i think filin meant her CPU at home la......and she posted using her office CPU.

Sorry dear, (err, I mean filin, not u, Andy.....hahaha) I'm not sure I can help u there either. but I'll give u my 2 cents of opinion.

Sometimes it could be the cards are a bit loose. Try tightening all the cards in the CPU. If no sounds at all, then just switch on and off the power, and then try turn on your CPU. If you could turn it on after a few tries like this, then that means your battery power in your CPU kaput. Hope this helps.


blackie : aiyoo... dunno la... i really think maybe the thing kaput liao....{ohmygod}


Quote:

Originally Posted by Penghulu (Post 7152)
Ok filin..ni abg din ader..so lets kick start...dari mula..
on cpu pastu ader power ker tak..atau terus terus tak der power...

penghulu : mmg langsung x leh nak on.. dia diam jer.. no sound no picture no nuthin...{sweat}

Ezer 08-28-2008 06:59 PM

Re: CPU Not working - help
 
I suggest you throw away your pc and buy a new one. BabyZee will sponsor you a pink color PC...

Haha.. just kidding!

Anyways, I think it's likely your pc got struck by a power surge. If you had it on during the rain these few days there may be a power surge and burned your motherboard or power supply. You'll need to take it to the pc repair shop.

filinlee 08-28-2008 07:01 PM

Re: CPU Not working - help
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ezer (Post 7166)
I suggest you throw away your pc and buy a new one. BabyZee will sponsor you a pink color PC...

Haha.. just kidding!

Anyways, I think it's likely your pc got struck by a power surge. If you had it on during the rain these few days there may be a power surge and burned your motherboard or power supply. You'll need to take it to the pc repair shop.

hehhee.. the weird thing is i din even on it.... aiyo.... money money again.... uwaaaaaaaaaaa....!~ {sweat}{oh}{cry}{cry}{cry}

wahhh... if can get new pc gud la... who wanna sponsor me a new laptop... ehehhehe ;)

Ezer 08-28-2008 07:05 PM

Re: CPU Not working - help
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by filinlee (Post 7167)
hehhee.. the weird thing is i din even on it.... aiyo.... money money again.... uwaaaaaaaaaaa....!~ {sweat}{oh}{cry}{cry}{cry}

wahhh... if can get new pc gud la... who wanna sponsor me a new laptop... ehehhehe ;)

You have to totally unplugg your socket when you're not using. It's very common in malaysia to get lightning strike and power surges that will kill your pc... Even when it's not on, it'll still get thru.

I always buy a voltage regulator and surge protector as well and always unplug my pc when not in use. Also unplug the phone line as well. It can also cause your model to blow up...

blackie007 08-28-2008 07:07 PM

Re: CPU Not working - help
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by filinlee (Post 7167)
hehhee.. the weird thing is i din even on it.... aiyo.... money money again.... uwaaaaaaaaaaa....!~ {sweat}{oh}{cry}{cry}{cry}

wahhh... if can get new pc gud la... who wanna sponsor me a new laptop... ehehhehe ;)

filin, if you can wait until next month or early Oct, i-Jeanne will be out.....said to cost only RM500. i-dola, the laptop, will cost only RM1,000 or RM1,500, if I remember.

Penghulu 08-28-2008 07:09 PM

Re: CPU Not working - help
 
Ezer got some point there filin....
OK cam ni...firstly filin :

1 check kat plug point supaya fius dia masih baik...
2 check ader ke x fius kat belakang PSU[Power supply Unit] kalau ader
samada fius dia masih baik atau x.
3 cuba hidu kat PSU tu, ada x bau hangit seperti lepas baru terbakar.
4 sekiranya ada PSU yg lain cuba tukar kan dulu dan...
5 sehingga ini kalau semua tu dah di cuba dan keadaan nya seperti asal bererti
PSU filin tu dah kaput..rosak..dan mesti di tukar dgn yang baru...andai kata nak beli yg
murah dan masih baik..di Lawyat terdapat kedai2 yg menjual PSU gantian terpakai...
yang baik berharga lebih kurang Rm40-50 saja..manakala yg biasa RM20-30...

Perlu ingat bahawa kalau PC filin yg biasa2 ajer PSU yg 240V dgn kuatan 300-400watts sudah memadai.

Penghulu 08-28-2008 07:13 PM

Re: CPU Not working - help
 
sometimes its not bcos of lightning strike but its becos the life span of the PSU has come to it end..so it will kaput..

Penghulu 08-28-2008 07:16 PM

Re: CPU Not working - help
 
If your pc is some gadjets that you use for gaming or rendering that needs a lot of power that a branded PSU is recomendable...but the money involve will give some people a sakit gigi..

filinlee 08-28-2008 08:21 PM

Re: CPU Not working - help
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by blackie007 (Post 7172)
filin, if you can wait until next month or early Oct, i-Jeanne will be out.....said to cost only RM500. i-dola, the laptop, will cost only RM1,000 or RM1,500, if I remember.

eh blackie.. wanna ask u for quite sometime dy... how u post if u r not logged in ar??? weird maa..... i see ur post when i refresh back u r not on9.... ishhhh....

what is i-jeanne? rm500? so cheap??? 1-1.5k??? reliable or not first.....

filinlee 08-28-2008 08:22 PM

Re: CPU Not working - help
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Penghulu (Post 7173)
Ezer got some point there filin....
OK cam ni...firstly filin :

1 check kat plug point supaya fius dia masih baik...
2 check ader ke x fius kat belakang PSU[Power supply Unit] kalau ader
samada fius dia masih baik atau x.
3 cuba hidu kat PSU tu, ada x bau hangit seperti lepas baru terbakar.
4 sekiranya ada PSU yg lain cuba tukar kan dulu dan...
5 sehingga ini kalau semua tu dah di cuba dan keadaan nya seperti asal bererti
PSU filin tu dah kaput..rosak..dan mesti di tukar dgn yang baru...andai kata nak beli yg
murah dan masih baik..di Lawyat terdapat kedai2 yg menjual PSU gantian terpakai...
yang baik berharga lebih kurang Rm40-50 saja..manakala yg biasa RM20-30...

Perlu ingat bahawa kalau PC filin yg biasa2 ajer PSU yg 240V dgn kuatan 300-400watts sudah memadai.

akan ku check nanti selepas selesai pindah memindah nih..... ehehheheh

vivienlpl 08-28-2008 08:36 PM

Re: CPU Not working - help
 
it can be the powebox..i experienced this before..many times..kaboom twice because my voltage when i direct plug is very bad - my cpu died - new one die instantly basically all my pc new one always die on me one less than 1 month {cry}

now i got a regulator but then again i can sense its a bit cracky spike sound coming out from my speaker......

if the screen blank ...but cpu working..... then graphic or ram

lightning strike.......filinlee surf during thunderstorm ar?? your whole pc sure explode instantly .... including you "goreng"...

dont play with thunder! {shy}

blackie007 08-29-2008 03:02 AM

Re: CPU Not working - help
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by filinlee (Post 7192)
eh blackie.. wanna ask u for quite sometime dy... how u post if u r not logged in ar??? weird maa..... i see ur post when i refresh back u r not on9.... ishhhh....

what is i-jeanne? rm500? so cheap??? 1-1.5k??? reliable or not first.....

hahaha, filin, this is what andy would say cyber-telepathy.....{shy} and only james bond kitty or vampires can do that....{shy}

But seriously, it beats the shit out of me......I noticed that myself, too....first I log in, then i compose. when i submit, it says i'm not logged on, to log on first. so i log on, thinking my maxis is acting up again (the line drops every now and then). after i log on, i saw hey, my post is already there!! {scared}

Quote:

Originally Posted by vivienlpl (Post 7200)
it can be the powebox..i experienced this before..many times..kaboom twice because my voltage when i direct plug is very bad - my cpu died - new one die instantly basically all my pc new one always die on me one less than 1 month {cry}

now i got a regulator but then again i can sense its a bit cracky spike sound coming out from my speaker......

if the screen blank ...but cpu working..... then graphic or ram

lightning strike.......filinlee surf during thunderstorm ar?? your whole pc sure explode instantly .... including you "goreng"...

dont play with thunder! {shy}

the whole pc can explode instantly and goreng me? u serious vivien? there're plenty of thunderstorms and lightnings here in kepong, in fact, nearly everyday, and i'm online all the time. my pc and modem is on 24/7 because my home alarm system and cctv is connected to it, so i don't switch it off. i may or may not be on the net, but nothing is ever turned off.

but maybe i'm protected becos i have a lightning arrestor on the the roof? i live in a condo and i'm on the top floor......does that make any difference?

blackie007 08-29-2008 03:45 AM

Re: CPU Not working - help
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by filinlee (Post 7192)
what is i-jeanne? rm500? so cheap??? 1-1.5k??? reliable or not first.....

ooops, forgot this........i-jeanne is a desktop locally assembled, and name is given in honor of the PM's wife. i-dola is a laptop named after the PM himself. reliable or not? i do not know. we'll have to wait and see. it was announced that they'll be launched sometime end of next month of early oct.

i won't be surprised if it comes w/out monitor, keyboard, etc. but that shouldn't be a problem for u, rite?

BabyZee 08-29-2008 05:21 AM

Re: CPU Not working - help
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ezer (Post 7166)
I suggest you throw away your pc and buy a new one. BabyZee will sponsor you a pink color PC...

Haha.. just kidding!

Anyways, I think it's likely your pc got struck by a power surge. If you had it on during the rain these few days there may be a power surge and burned your motherboard or power supply. You'll need to take it to the pc repair shop.

wah wah wah..banyak cantek ini ezer ye...{shy}{shy}
yeah,i'll sponsor but must be in pink color and also you give me the money and i'll sponsor to go and but it...
maybe pink mac or pink sony vaio...{shy}{shy}


Quote:

Originally Posted by blackie007 (Post 7268)
ooops, forgot this........i-jeanne is a desktop locally assembled, and name is given in honor of the PM's wife. i-dola is a laptop named after the PM himself. reliable or not? i do not know. we'll have to wait and see. it was announced that they'll be launched sometime end of next month of early oct.

i won't be surprised if it comes w/out monitor, keyboard, etc. but that shouldn't be a problem for u, rite?

eh,sounds funny but we wait and see la how it goes...
sounds very funny, hope it'll be good..

neway i also on my lappie nearly 24/7 to keep downloading stuff..
guess my lappie still new that's why tahan lasak but must take care from the start..
can't afford to buy new lappie...huhuhu...

cookie 08-29-2008 10:40 AM

Re: CPU Not working - help
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Ezer View Post
I suggest you throw away your pc and buy a new one.
Yes Ezer, my nephew advised the same thing when my almost 8-year-old monster dinasaur of a desktop fluttered and turned black and white recently. Its time is up. This was what he said, “A freshie will set you back $$$. If you want to keep the old goat, it is going to cost you a lot of trouble getting it fixed”.

So I am thinking of getting the cheapest freshie available or else my kitties will have to starve (me included). Will definitely check out i-Jeanne and i-Dollah. They come without hard disks. {mhmph}

Penghulu 08-29-2008 10:59 AM

Re: CPU Not working - help
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by cookie (Post 7327)
i-Jeanne and i-Dollah. They come without hard disks. {mhmph}

...and both model
by its name is already old..and maybe laggy and slower..I doubt its a good buy..Computing Tech moves so fast until when it is launch its already way behind...anyway this are clones PC as same price for dos base Toshiba, Fujitsu and any other reliable brands...and without HDD...now everyone is making fun of this two non IT literate...wat a joke...


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 12:46 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.