-   Cats & Kittens (https://forums.petfinder.my/forumdisplay.php?f=25)
-   -   cat change color (https://forums.petfinder.my/showthread.php?t=4901)

stella 10-02-2010 11:00 PM

cat change color

i just adopt this white cat..
the problems is the color changing to cream.{cry}
how can i keep her white and shining bulus?
{scared}

Miki Satohara 10-06-2010 06:02 PM

Re: cat change color

{sick}
I would keep myself from commenting on your attitude for reacting on color changes in ur furkid.

Anyway, unless your cat has been rolling in mud and you didn't bathe him/her, which results the color change - please do expect a cat's fur color to change as they mature. for example see my same cat when he was 2 mths old

http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/8923/dis01.jpg

http://img685.imageshack.us/img685/2232/dis2.jpg

And him 1++ year later.

http://img18.imageshack.us/img18/2886/dsc0089gz.jpg

http://img203.imageshack.us/img203/5012/dsc03828.jpg

So they do change. It's in their genetics.

Cream is gorgeous in my opinion. ^_^ its quite rare. any pics?

stella 10-06-2010 07:22 PM

http://4.bp.blogspot.com/_L-RaY43kgl...0/DSC04896.JPG

this is she looks like when i first adopt her. {grin}

now days her white color turn cream {cry2}
i'd gve her bath 2 tmes a week but still got this problem

u have any product that makes the real color never change?{wink}

id remeber my friend told me theres a spray or something that really gonna keep that white feather for dog n cat.. but i forgot already thats y im asking ppl here but no one respond except u{scared}

Miki Satohara 10-06-2010 08:15 PM

Aww!! that marble pattern is so precious!
{high} *oogles*

Uh.. sorry back to topic. Anyhow I've never came across a spray that does that. But there is such thing out there called the 'bluing shampoo' which a lot of pet show fancier use before going for shows.

It works in the same manner on how people bleach their hair from black to blonde. and also contains the bluing agent that counteract the yellowish pigments that give that dull look to make it shine. (also used by blonde people the same way)

So don't use it often as it really does contain some quite harsh chemicals. Even show fanciers do it the night before the show.

But the issue here is your furkid is not all white. so I wouldn't know what will happen to the other colors, but the white will be white. hehe.

Also some things to note - things like kitty litter are coat staining, saliva as well if your cat if a constant groomer - because it oxidizes the fur. Another tip to keep your fur nice and silky is omega 3 oil. Can ask you vet to recommend.

Hope this helps!

maris_sa528 10-06-2010 08:30 PM

Hi Stella,

I am not sure about any whitening spray, but as I keep a very-white-head-to-tail cat, my vet suggest me this whitening shampoo. I used it for almost a year and seems that it not give bad effect on my cat. Maybe you can try this brand? It smell great too. {cool}

Btw, it stated that "Tearless, coat-brightening Bio-Groom Super White Shampoo makes white coats sparkle without bleaching. Designed to enhance white and light-colored coats, the rich formula cleans thoroughly while adding luster and body to coats. Controls matting and leaves hair smooth, manageable and shiny. Bio-Groom Super White Shampoo is fortified with protein and leaves a fresh, clean scent."
... Hope it would not give you any worry.

p/s: Sorry, pls ignore the medicated shampoo, it is for fungal problem. hoho.

MidnightMaiden 10-07-2010 03:31 PM

A lot of cats who are born all white will gradually change color as they mature. My 3 year old (originally all white) now has brown stripes and looks more like a brown tabby with white legs, and another one (also originally all white) is developing cream marble stripes which is turning orangey as she matures.

If it turns out that your cat is changing colour due to genetics, please do not be dissapointed. I personally enjoy seeing the development of their colour over the years as it really can be very fascinating! {victory}

stella 10-09-2010 09:10 PM

yay i dah beli shampoo ni
cant wait for the result
thanx anyway :)

adamyala 10-09-2010 09:32 PM

If that doesnt work, try I All System professional whitening shampoo on the cats white area. Use an old tooth brush to clean that particular area. It works on my yaya's ruff so far . {good}

maris_sa528 10-09-2010 09:36 PM

Glad to hear that Stella...{mwidegrin} Tak sabar jugak nak tgk result baby u nanti. Added info, I actually tak mandikan kucing I selalu sangat sbb my cat live indoor. Dalam sebulan sekali je, I think that quite good enuf to maintain the white coat. <-- hope this would be good news for you.. hihi.