-   Dogs & Puppies (https://forums.petfinder.my/forumdisplay.php?f=7)
-   -   Are dogs color blind? (https://forums.petfinder.my/showthread.php?t=10)

AndyKoh 04-22-2008 02:33 AM

Are dogs color blind?

Interesting color chart I came across on what colors dogs can see... popular belief was that they are seeing a black & white world, but later research claimed otherwise haha...

Dogs are red-green color blind. They see a brighter and less detailed world when compared to humans. Peripheral vision is better than humans (dogs see more of the world), but distance is not judged quite as well. Dogs excel at night vision and the detection of moving objects. Figure 1 is a rough guesstimate of what a dog and human might see when viewing a color band (the electromagnetic spectrum).

http://www.uwsp.edu/PSYCH/dog/LA/dogvis.jpg
Full article at http://www.uwsp.edu/PSYCH/dog/LA/DrP4.htm

Ezer 04-22-2008 06:14 AM

Cool chart.... I wonder if we'll ever know for sure... cause I don't think we can really, truly find out... in fact, who knows if people see the same colors... may be slightly different..

veanne 04-22-2008 03:51 PM

hmmm... maybe one day i'll request to the god for an exchange... then i'll be you, you be me... then i'll know whether the colour you see is the colour that i see or not... hmm..

AndyKoh 04-23-2008 10:08 PM

Uh oh... after you request to exchange and become a doggy, the doggy (new Veanne) will never exchange back with you and you'll remain as a doggy! Woof woof! =)

Then again, many doggies live better lives than humans hehe!

veanne 04-25-2008 03:25 PM

become doggy not bad ma... instead very good life oo... hmm... no need to work... every day routine is like... going for a walk, play, eat, play, training, play, eat, going for a walk, play, training, sleep... hehe... not like human.... have to work... have to earn money... have to study...

Ezer 04-25-2008 09:45 PM

hopefully you're not a doggy in guang zhou, china, where they eat dogs

veanne 04-28-2008 03:39 AM

Originally Posted by Ezer (Post 80)
hopefully you're not a doggy in guang zhou, china, where they eat dogs

hmm... ya... hopefully i will be born in the western country... china eat doggy wan... so cannot born there... malaysia, got problem too... cause muslim country... western will be the better choice, i think...

AndyKoh 04-28-2008 05:59 PM

western world? even worse, everybody eats hot DOGS haha! =)

veanne 04-29-2008 03:14 AM

haha... hmm... then that means i can only born in the heaven lor...

mw_pon 05-05-2008 03:24 PM

Re: Are dogs color blind?

donno bout the color blind thing but i know tht short nose dog can see near thing lik watching tv....mean while long nose dog cant see near things....bu i now their eye sight is not tht good

veanne 05-05-2008 03:42 PM

Re: Are dogs color blind?

is it...??? hm... hehe... never know about it...