-   Training & Behavioral Issues (https://forums.petfinder.my/forumdisplay.php?f=10)
-   -   How to interact with abused puppies? (https://forums.petfinder.my/showthread.php?t=1413)

symboi 11-24-2008 07:50 PM

How to interact with abused puppies?

Hi all I just brought home 3 dogs(mother and pups).I had the mother previously but gave her away due to some cash difficulties.The idiots who took her abused her litter,so I did what I could and took 2 of them home.The problem is,the puppies won't let me pet them/touch them at all.They do lick my finger and allow me to feed them by hand but that's as far as it goes.No problems with the mother dog so far.

How do I get the pups to..like me or allow me to pet them??They just shrink away everytime I try.By the way they're about 2 months old.Is there any way to make them not scared??

filinlee 11-24-2008 07:53 PM

Re: How to interact with abused puppies?

Originally Posted by symboi (Post 20709)
Hi all I just brought home 3 dogs(mother and pups).I had the mother previously but gave her away due to some cash difficulties.The idiots who took her abused her litter,so I did what I could and took 2 of them home.The problem is,the puppies won't let me pet them/touch them at all.They do lick my finger and allow me to feed them by hand but that's as far as it goes.No problems with the mother dog so far.

How do I get the pups to..like me or allow me to pet them??They just shrink away everytime I try.By the way they're about 2 months old.Is there any way to make them not scared??

u really need to be patient with the 2 of them... dun even try to hit or smack them as they would avoid u further...

patience is the key and also TLC... give them treats..pamper them but dun spoil them....

vivi 11-24-2008 08:08 PM

symboi,
Hi. U know Filin is right. The puppies are only trying to protect themselves. Give them some times to put their trust on u. They will gradually become more attach to u. Be patience.{victory}

symboi 11-25-2008 02:17 PM

Thanks guys.One of the puppies is now brave enough to let me touch her.But another problem has risen.They don't eat unless their mother does.How to cope when they go off to new owner??

lynielime 11-25-2008 02:51 PM

hi symboi,
i thought these links might be helpful to you:

http://wiki.answers.com/Q/What_are_w..._abused_animal

http://www.petplace.com/dogs/how-to-...pet/page1.aspx

http://www.ehow.com/how_2195508_help...paign=yssp_art

good luck!!