-   Events (https://forums.petfinder.my/forumdisplay.php?f=5)
-   -   Cutie Pet Fair - Nov 21-22, 2009 (https://forums.petfinder.my/showthread.php?t=3267)

AndyKoh 10-28-2009 03:28 PM

Cutie Pet Fair - Nov 21-22, 2009

Dear Members,

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3050

Event: Cutie Pet Fair
Date: November 21 & 22, 2009 (Saturday & Sunday)
Time: 10am - 6pm

Organized by Petster Magazine, Cutie Pet Fair 2009 (formerly known as Home A Pet) is one of the largest pet adoption drives with the participation of major pet-related NGOs. There will be over 50 exhibitor booths, and you can even bring along your pets and take part in lots of fun challenges!

PetFinder.my will be participating in the event, and we would like to seek the assistance of volunteers to help out on both days.

Our activities are pretty simple, basically the showcasing of our website's list of pets for adoption via computers, and pets from our certified rescuers that can be adopted on the spot. We will also be providing SPCA and PAWS with our PetFinder vouchers so that adopters for their pets would receive a 50% discount on the spot (up to RM50), subsidized by PetFinder.

################################################## ################<

[ Post-Event Update ]

Our 2-day event has completed successfully. The skies had occasional drizzles and a heavy downpour on Saturday evening, but overall the weather was fine and we managed to promote our adoption cause to many visitors. We have successfully rehomed 6 dogs and 4 cats - a very happy achievement indeed!

I would like to sincerely thank all the volunteers for their extreme dedication and tireless help that made this event possible:

Hun Beng - Very hardworking, one of the earliest to arrive and latest to leave, and generously offering his laptop with wireless broadband connection

Mun - Extremely helpful and dedicated, especially in looking after all the puppies and showcasing them to the visitors

Khairul - Our professional marketer explaining the website to visitors. Also doubled as a model holding big signboards walking around the park.

Hiba - The creative genius who created all the eye-grabbing signboards which successfully drew crowd attention. Very good at handling the puppies who adore her.

Naj - A very enthusiastic and dedicated girl that not only looked after the animals, but attractively pitched our service and pets to the crowd

Alice Lim - Tirelessly transporting the animals to and fro, setting up the cages and handling the adoptions. My deepest respect to this amazing lady.

Juliana - Carnea's friend, who brought some cute puppies for adoption and helped promote adoption awareness to visitors

Sarah & Uzairi - Very dedicated, distributing our brochures to the farthest corners of the park, and attending to the visitor enquiries.

Erma - Very friendly and helpful, assisting our team with distributing brochures and showcasing the website.

Jacqueline - A very knowledgeable person, giving excellent advise to adopters and bringing more dogs to our booth for adoption.

Monkee94 & Bryan - A big thanks for dropping by to help out even when you guys were very busy.

Shan Hui - Our dedicated PR person who promoted PetFinder to every single booth and company at the event, and helping me load the equipment and drive me home after my legs were completely wasted from the Penang Marathon

Catherine, Colina, Lina, Thomas, Charles - A very helpful group of friends that assisted in promoting PetFinder at the park

Everyone else (Sorry, please let me know if I missed out any names) - thanks for helping us promote the event, pay us a visit and doing your part in helping these homeless animals!

Below are event photos I took, hope that it would give our volunteers some wonderful memories to cherish, and to share our happiness with the rest. If you have any additional photos, please feel free to upload them here as well!

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3184
Our computer area's setup - 3 laptops with 2 LCD monitors. Hun Beng's even had wireless broadband access to Internet.

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3190
Setting up the outside area to showcase cute puppies

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3191
Hiba is really good with the puppies. They love lying on her lap!

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3186
Feeding the puppies to get them energized before the visitors come

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3185
Mun lighting a candle at Furmily to sponsor medication fees of their pets

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3188
PAWS, our good friend and booth neighbour. They had some really beautiful hand-made plastic flowers for sale.

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3189
SPCA with their attractive assortment of merchandize.. bought an "i love animals" t-shirt from them!

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3199
Khairul charming visitors with his enthusiasm and natural flair

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3196
This really sweet boy from SPCA is the cutest puppy at the event. He finally got adopted during the closing hour of the event and everyone was so happy!

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3197
Alice, who tirelessly transported the dogs and cats over for adoption from Old Klang Road

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3237
Hun Beng, Mun and Andy getting ready to showcase PetFinder to visitors

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3193
8 fun fair game booths there with sponsored prizes from generous merchants

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3194
I managed to down all the tin cans with 1 single ball.. and lost, after finding that I was not supposed to hit the can with the kitty picture!

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3198
Mun receiving a grateful kiss from this pretty little girl

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3222
A kitty at our booth dozing off while waiting for someone to bring her home

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3235
Erma distributing brochures to visitors

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3238
Naj taking good care of the cats at our booth

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3214
Hiba's creative masterpieces, which successfully attracted many visitors to our booths

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3220
Hun Beng and Mun carefully explaining the adoption process to the visitors

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3221
Homeless doggies hoping to find loving families at the event. Brought over by Jacqueline, Alice and Juliana.

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3192
Carnea, a very dedicated and active pet rescuer, visiting us at our booth

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3201
This pretty girl that seems to know how to pose quickly became the center of attention at our booth

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3203
First adoption of our event goes to this kind couple! All of us were busy giving the puppy a goodbye kiss as she was leaving.

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3229
Kids were seen nagging their parents to adopt the cute pets

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3212
Another happy, success story at our booth

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3210
This couple literally spent hours at our booth trying to decide whether to adopt Kitten #1 or #2! Luckily, they finally made up their mind.

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3211
Our volunteers took turns carrying the cute puppies and signboards walking around the park to attract visitors over to the adoption area

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3205
Alice briefing enquirers on the adoption procedures

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3216
Visitors crowding around booths giving away freebies

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3217
The event emcee, with his jeans rolled up to avoid the mud everywhere

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3218
NGOs receiving dog food donation from a generous sponsor

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3233
The SPCA heroines - Jacinta, Shahrul and a volunteer

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3215
Our volunteers all turned into professional marketers and drew excellent response from the crowds

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3230
My friends from UTAR filming the event to promote animal adoptions

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3195
William, the hardworking managing editor of Petster Magazine and organizer of this event, giving an interview to the UTAR filming crew

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3202
These pups were exhausted after receiving lots of attention

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3208
Woof! Take me, bring me home!

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3239
This happy boy finally convinced his mum to let him adopt the puppy!

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3207
A friendly uncle with his new-found darling.. one more successful adoption!

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3240
Naj enjoying a moment with Polka girl

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3224
Pet merchants sponsoring dog collars and shirts to our homeless animals

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3223
Jacqueline said that this puppy now looks like an office boy

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3236
Hun Beng putting on a striking orange shirt for another puppy

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3219
A big backdrop with the logos of NGOs

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3232
Anyone wanna give this handsome young man some love?

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3209
Another successful adoption, by this 2 cute little sisters!

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3227
2 more kittens adopted at the final moments before closing our booth!

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3226
The PetFinder happy family photo, from left: Andy, Shan Hui, Jacqueline Tsang, Khairul, Mun, Hun Beng, Naj and Hiba

http://forums.petfinder.my/picture.p...pictureid=3228
A second family photo of our dearest volunteers, from back left: Naj, Andy, Uzairi, Khairul, Mun, Jacqueline, Hun Beng. Front: Shan Hui, Alice, Sarah

Thank you once again to our volunteers for making this event successful!

irena6300 10-28-2009 09:52 PM

Re: Cutie Pet Fair - Nov 21, 22 - Volunteers Needed

may be i can help out~~
but can u let me know wat is the time and details~~

kairul 10-29-2009 06:42 AM

As usual, {wink}, I'm in Andy.
Put me in both days and I wanna be there the whole two days.. hehe
Any changes, I'll notify u later...
But as at right now, I wanna help for both days.. =)

ms pasola 10-29-2009 08:14 AM

bes jgk ye kalu jd volunteer...wtpe je?

abuldotcom 10-29-2009 10:46 AM

guys, i want to help out..... hhehehehe best nih....

what kind of help do you need?

I'm moslem btw, you know, i cant handle dogs, eventhough i want to and they are so cute.....

anything just email to me ok, best bestnye....

Mia_Katz 10-29-2009 02:36 PM

[QUOTE=abuldotcom;65015]guys, i want to help out..... hhehehehe best nih....

what kind of help do you need?

I'm moslem btw, you know, i cant handle dogs, eventhough i want to and they are so cute.....

anything just email to me ok, best bestnye....

tak pe abul, sabun samak ade.... kalau pegang pon lepas 2 boleh samak ngan sabun samak {wink}

AndyKoh 10-29-2009 05:15 PM

Hi Khairul,

Thank you so much for kindly volunteering for both days! Really good to meet up with you again for the event. You'd be the key person at our booth as you are most experienced and can converse very well in both English and BM {wink}

Hi Abuldotcom,

No worries, our volunteers won't really need to handle pets as our focus is in introducing visitors to the pets at our website via computers, and distribution of brochures.

To Irena & Other Volunteers,

Please state which day(s) and hours you would be available, and I will compile them into a finalized schedule, thanks. The date and time of the event are as stated at my first post.

lisadavast69 10-30-2009 01:25 AM

Maybe I can be your volunteers for Cutie Pet Fair on Nov 21,22. Juz email to me .

kairul 10-31-2009 01:16 AM

haha.. {victory}
no prob Andy..
after all, it's my responsibility as an animal lover as well as Petfinder lifetime member... {wink}

naj1812 11-03-2009 04:10 AM

hi.. i kinda new to volunteer work. but would love to help out!
i can help out either of the day...
please informed and email me

thanks!

naj1812 11-03-2009 05:46 PM

Originally Posted by Mia_Katz (Post 65057)
tak pe abul, sabun samak ade.... kalau pegang pon lepas 2 boleh samak ngan sabun samak {wink}

ada sabun samak ker?
where to get?
^^'' sory outa topic... pm me!

abuldotcom 11-04-2009 10:11 AM

2 Attachment(s)
ni lagi lari topik nih........ mengamuk la andy.... {grin}

sabun samak, hehehehehe, first time dengar... sabun tanah untuk samak pernah la dgr...

heheh najwa, ade la, aritu sy gi spca ampang, berlambak lambak ade jual kat sana, khas untuk orang islam yang terpegang anjing yang basah2 kat sana....

rasanya kaedahnye sama macam samak 7 kali tuh... tgk la manual dia...

huhuhu.....

tengok kucing hensem kat sana... yang pegang tu pun lagi hensem huhuhu

nani 11-04-2009 09:40 PM

i would like to be a volunteer for the event.. im very free on nov... perhaps i can attend at afternoon...

AndyKoh 11-04-2009 11:59 PM

Thank you for your kind volunteering. I have compiled the list of volunteers' names here and suggested timings.

[ Please refer to 1st Post at top of page for volunteers and schedule ]

Most of you are placed on 4-hour shifts for both days. Please let me know if you need to change the day/time. You are welcome to help out the entire day as well if you are available.

Please confirm your timings, and PM me your full details - name, email and mobile number so I can send you more information for the event. (Don't post these private information directly in this thread)

To Khairul,

Can you please be in charge of the booth on Sunday, as I can only make it on Sunday afternoon - gotta make a trip to Penang on Saturday evening and rush back on Sunday morning.. Thanks bro! {wink}

Once again, a big thank you to all the kind volunteers!

Yong Katana Ashica 11-05-2009 12:05 AM

Originally Posted by abuldotcom (Post 65790)
ni lagi lari topik nih........ mengamuk la andy.... {grin}

sabun samak, hehehehehe, first time dengar... sabun tanah untuk samak pernah la dgr...

heheh najwa, ade la, aritu sy gi spca ampang, berlambak lambak ade jual kat sana, khas untuk orang islam yang terpegang anjing yang basah2 kat sana....

rasanya kaedahnye sama macam samak 7 kali tuh... tgk la manual dia...

huhuhu.....

tengok kucing hensem kat sana... yang pegang tu pun lagi hensem huhuhu

haishhh.. mempromote nampak {shy}{grin}{ohmygod}

acsyen 11-05-2009 07:34 AM

I'll come with my dogs to visit all of you...

irena6300 11-05-2009 03:34 PM

sorry arr andy..
err...nw i change my mind to bring my golden visit u all ~~is tat i m welcome by u?

hakeem 11-05-2009 05:08 PM

21 tak sempat nak g...baru sampai dr KK...22 nak g tgk ler...jom kawan2....gather kat sana....yipppiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiieeeeeeeeeeeeee e{good}

abuldotcom 11-06-2009 08:09 AM

hi there andy,

i am very sorry, i couldnt make it on both day, i have to do something really important on that day.... i wish i could help, but i cant... i have to drive my parents all the way to our kampung in Taiping.....

sad sad sad {cry2}{cry2}{cry2}

but if i'm here on sunday, i'll pay you all a visit.... sorry once again andy and guys..

naj1812 11-07-2009 03:32 AM

andy..

i have pm u... please check you inbox.. ^^

Regards..