-   Cat DIY (https://forums.petfinder.my/forumdisplay.php?f=56)
-   -   sisal rope (https://forums.petfinder.my/showthread.php?t=4692)

azzu02 08-03-2010 01:50 AM

sisal rope

i want to make my own scratching post and if possible cat tree.

where can i buy sisal rope in malaysia?

what are the alternatives?

regards.

Maneki Neko 08-03-2010 08:43 AM

Re: sisal rope

Hi, Azzu --

My neighbour made a lovely, simple climbing post by wrapping sisal rope around 2 long PVC tubes. He got both the rope and the tubes at the local hardware store in Brickfields. He leans the wrapped tubes at an angle, going from the floor to a corner of the ceiling, and his cat goes up and down very happily.

Good luck!
{good}

Originally Posted by azzu02 (Post 86372)
i want to make my own scratching post and if possible cat tree.

where can i buy sisal rope in malaysia?

what are the alternatives?

regards.

azzu02 08-03-2010 10:57 AM

u mean any hardware store?

i tried looking for it in a few hardware store and they don't sell it. i guess i have to go to more hardwares to find it.

MidnightMaiden 08-03-2010 01:38 PM

Try Ace Hardware. I bought mine there. They also have alternatives, you may use other types of coarse rope, just make sure they are not the oiled type. as long as it's corasr, ur cats will be fine.

Good luck {victory}

The_legs 08-24-2011 08:49 AM

You can contact Lim@0125163233 for sisal ropes to make your own scratching post.

milocute 09-13-2011 06:58 PM

3 Attachment(s)

Originally Posted by The_legs (Post 97347)
You can contact Lim@0125163233 for sisal ropes to make your own scratching post.

Where is this Mr. Lim? Where to get sisal rope at JB? Had been searching sisal rope like the 'tarik tali game' for quite some time but failed. I ended using nylon rope but my cat will be happier if i' using sisal rope. below is my DIY scratching post.

NaomiAira 09-14-2011 03:31 PM

Sometimes, u can find those type of rope kat craft store. Mcm2 size. I dlu cari kat Nilai coz sane byk kedai craft/barang pengantin. Kena rajin usha2.. {wink}

milocute 12-11-2011 09:46 PM

I'm still searching Sisal rope for my 2nd DIY scratch post. Been to many hardware store and craft & wedding craft but still no sisal rope. {cry}

Noami: Nilai 3 ke ada sisal rope tu? Boleh spesifikkan kedai mana tak sebab kalau confirm ada boleh singgah bila saya pergi outstation kat KL {victory}

naq1989 01-14-2012 10:18 PM

kat ace hardware the mines...semua size ada,sy bru g 2hari lepas

jouhari 07-29-2012 06:04 PM

ace hardware. they call it manila rope.

6mm to 10mm i think

price different between thickness
i got 8mm 30ft for about rm10, if memory serves right.

Gita 07-20-2013 03:40 PM

Hi Azzu, I recently bought cat stuff (bed, litter box, food bowls, scratching post (tree-like), etc) so they are brand new but due to unforeseen circumstances, I can't have the kitten. If you're interested, please let me know, I can sell it to you for a cheaper price. Thanks.

nzati 12-31-2013 09:27 AM

Hello catlovers,

Im new here...{wink}
Just want to ask..Now im working on diy cat tree for my 2 month old kitten.
Where could i get the sisal rope here in ipoh, perak..already search several hardware but they didnt sell it..
Help me..{cry}huhu