Old 03-01-2012, 08:35 PM

Default Re: Pure Breed British Shorthair

Originally Posted by archivelore View Post
cant agree more...
some byb wont sell so-called bsh for 200... they even make it higher than real bsh...
Archivelore, you raise a good point. If someone wants to buy a pedigreed cat -- BUYER BEWARE! You have 3 options:

1. Learn as much as you possibly can about the breed and the breed standard. Be prepared to question breeders/sellers extensively and, if they are at all responsible, be prepared to answer their questions. (Good breeders don't just hand over their cats & kittens to the first person who comes along and offers money.) Learn enough to know what to look for, what to avoid, what questions to ask.

2. Risk being cheated. If you don't know what a top-notch BSH or a Persian or a Manx looks like, and if you're willing to believe whatever a seller tells you ("Oh, no certificate, but for sure purebred, lah!"), then you can expect to pay a very high price for a DSH or DLH cat.

3. The third option is to look at the enormous number of non-pedigreed but absolutely gorgeous cats are out there waiting for adoption. Ask yourself. Do you really need a purebred cat? Why? If you want a beautiful and loving pet, open your eyes and adopt one. :-)