Old 03-13-2009, 03:32 PM

Question HKSPCA CCCP is already into its 6th year ... why are we still killing our animals over here?

From Hong Kong SPCA website:

Studies suggest that if 60% of the female population is de-sexed, then the population will remain static, higher numbers can lead to decreasing populations. With education people can see the great benefits to both animal welfare and the community as a result of this effective and humane programme. It's time to be proactive and stop unnecessary killing.

The Hong Kong SPCA Cat Colony Care Programme (CCCP) is already into its 6th year of implementation ... succeeding in control strays overpopulation and reaping good benefits all round ...

... so my soalan cepumas is, "Why are our local SPCA, animal shelters and local authorities still killing our animals as THE solution to the problem instead of actively and aggressively implementing TNR?"

Answer: Bolehland as usual "X Boleh!!!!"

------------------------------------------------------

The HK SPCA Cat Colony Care Programme

Cats in our society occupy a spectrum that runs from the cherished, indoors-only pet to ferals who may have little or no human contact or support. Some of these felines were born in parks or alleyways, and will never become accustomed to people. Others may be "marginally owned", living in someone's backyard or garage, or travelling from doorstep to doorstep in search of food and occasional shelter or some others may even have been cruelly abandoned by their owners. As neighbourhood cats, these felines may still be used to some human contact.

At the HK SPCA, we strongly believe that all feral cats deserve our compassion and protection, and that there are humane, effective ways to control their populations. We support the efforts of compassionate caregivers who are working hard to make life better for feral cats. Many people in our city complain about these cats, but simply killing them is not the answer to reducing their numbers. In recognising this, we have introduced an animal birth control programme, the HKSPCA Cat Colony Care Programme to provide FREE spay/neuter surgery for our ferals.

see related link in forum: http://forums.petfinder.my/showthrea...34208&posted=1
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies

Last edited by FurKids; 03-13-2009 at 05:00 PM.