Old 12-20-2011, 03:23 PM

tayslin1 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Advice and help needed on FIP Disease.

Hi Frshshrn
Thanks for the response but we lost Joyluck yesterday (Monday). As he was anemic too, think the kerang would have helped but alas..
The whole story..
On Friday morning, we sent him to a popular Puchong vet for drip because his appetite was very poor. We didn't suspect anthing majorly wrong then. I had changed their food ten days before so maybe thought he was just eating less but each time we fed, he also came running.
The vet first called to say nothing wrong then called again in the afternoon to say he was jaundiced. We asked to proceed with treatment. They said they had to keep him overnight. Next they, they did blood test, said his liver still okay but he was anemic so they recommended blood transfusion. All these 2 days, he was a little weak but could still take the AD critical care food and even some kibble when we finger fed him. After the transfusion that night (Saturday), the vet called again to say he was up and walking around the cage and even finished all the food in his bowl on his own (we were so relieved thinking the worse was over and we could take him home the next morning!!). At 8.30am the next day Sunday, the vet called again and said Joyluck was again lying down and recumbent. They told us to visit at 12.30pm. At 10.30 am we went in again and the vet quickly rushed us in saying he had had a seizure. We were shocked and I could not stop crying. We asked then what they could do and they replied nothing much except Xray. The result showed fluid in his tummy and a little in the chest. the vet then said slight pnemonia! At this point and because the vet insisted they could not so anything more, we decided to rush him to the Jalan Ipon Hospital where the Dr there told us about FIP. In the 3 days at the Puchong Vet they did not talk about FIP or say it was a possibility. They said most likely "flea borne disease"! I really regret the 3 days he spent there in the company of around 20 sick cats in cages stacked over each other! He must have been lonely, miserable, cold and suffering..
We would have spent more time with him but couldn't due to their weekend operating hours.
Another thing that is disturbing is that the vet did ask if his tummy had always been bulat to which we replied yes as he was always a nice round cat. If he suspected his tummy was distended, why did they not immediately think FIP??
The Jalan Ipoh vet recommended putting him down and we said no as we still wanted to give him a chance to live. He prescribed some steroids and antibiotics. After Jalan Ipoh, we took him to Gasing for another opinion. The kind Dr there also said most likely FIP but his albumin count was not indicative of a normal FIP case. He said he could keep him but recommended to take him home and make him as comfortable as possible.
We then decided to take him home (than leave him in another strange place) and try to force feed him the AD food and glucose water and the antibiotics.
He was glad to come home and we tried to nurse him through the night but it was really tough trying to feed him as he did not want to swallow.
At 6.45am Monday, he had another seizure and mild seizures every 30 mins or so after. We didn't know what to do, by this time his mata dah tak boleh blink; just like staring into space and we said we had to bring him to the vet to let him go to God.
We waited outside for our local vet to open (putra heights) and after making some tests, the Dr there also said we should end his suffering. It was such a hard decision to make but we could not bear our dearest Boy suffering anymore. The Dr also said that seizures are not common in FIP cases.
Now we are in a walking around in a daze and grieving - we don't know what struck us and what took him away for sure.
We are also worried about our other Sayangs as if you look online, some sites say that FIP is contagious and some not.
Please hold Hercules close as long as you can. Keep us updated on his condition please and we pray he gets stronger day by day to fight the disease..