Old 04-21-2009, 10:58 AM

Originally Posted by bbpie View Post
i look forward to seeing this one day. kadang2 when i see ade coverage on spca on tv..i do get a little dissapointed that no one would want to talk about TNR, the responsibility of owning a pet n such..nothing. often terpikir juga..why no aggresive promo on this subject, macam org takut nak discuss in open. why?
HK SPCA says this on their website:

At the HK SPCA, we strongly believe that all feral cats deserve our compassion and protection, and that there are humane, effective ways to control their populations. We support the efforts of compassionate caregivers who are working hard to make life better for feral cats. Many people in our city complain about these cats, but simply killing them is not the answer to reducing their numbers. In recognising this, we have introduced an animal birth control programme, the HKSPCA Cat Colony Care Programme to provide FREE spay/neuter surgery for our ferals.

Cats on the streets are a community problem.

Animals are living creatures which like humans, are able to feel pain, hunger and thirst. We should not inflict any suffering upon our fellow creatures just because they can't speak.

Our aims are "to promote kindness and to prevent or suppress cruelty to animals."

Our mission through the millennium is " To promote kindness to animals, to protect their health and welfare, to prevent cruelty and
through education, to inspire in the community a deep respect for life so that all living creatures may live together in harmony."

Although we are the first Charity in Hong Kong to deal with all aspects of animal welfare, we obtain very little support from the Government. The Society therefore, has to struggle constantly to continue its work.

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
... and from here we can all see that although HK SPCA has had to struggle constantly (who doesn't?) to continue its good work among the community, they have reaped sweet fruits of success because its community have started to developed a tolerance and acceptance towards the managed colonies of neutered strays (cats and dogs) living amongst them, respecting other life forms created by God instead of resorting to killing every stray in sight.

HK SPCA has deemed the killing of healthy animals (which they also used to do in order to make room for new animals brought into their shelter) as cruel and inhumane.

As their aggressive community education programs and TNR efforts continued, they have managed to successfully control and reduce the strays population in a compassionate and humane way and they no longer needed to kill off healthy strays in their shelters and dumping of animals also has been reduced greatly.

It is indeed a great and inspiring success story ... a BIG win for animal welfare!
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies

Last edited by FurKids; 04-21-2009 at 11:12 AM.