Old 01-21-2009, 11:53 AM

Default Re: need help helping strays. Pls..

Originally Posted by Nana View Post
Alamak kak june...why sampai pigi clinic for jab?
To prevent potential serious cellulitis, much pain and even possible death due to blood poisoning if not properly addressed should the toxin enters the blood stream.

A cat bite is potentially very dangerous because of the way the cat bites (the cat sinks its teeth and releases as opposed to a dog which sinks its teeth, then shakes causing tearing of wound allowing blood to ooze out, draining much of the wound of bacteria).

After a cat bite, the surface of the wound closes very rapidly, trapping much of the bacteria from the cat's mouth inside the wound unless you are able to press out as much blood as possible to drain the wound and later disinfect it.

The trapped bacteria will cause a painful abscess. If the wound is located near or on a joint, frequent movement will squeeze the infection into your blood system. You can see the angry red streaks entering your blood vessel. This can later cause blood poisoning leading to death.

Due to the varied spectrum of bacteria in the cat's mouth, certain antibiotics are not sufficient treat a cat bite like Erythromycin (which is pretty much useless these days due to resistance). Amoxyllin is ok, but save the expensive Augmentin as your silver bullet.
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies