Thread: Hong Kong Trip
Old 08-25-2010, 03:17 PM

Default Re: Hong Kong Trip

Hi June, you and hubby tak melawat SPCA Hong Kong ke? They have a nice HK SPCA Cat Colony Care Programme there and they believe that:

At the HK SPCA, we strongly believe that all feral cats deserve our compassion and protection, and that there are humane, effective ways to control their populations. We support the efforts of compassionate caregivers who are working hard to make life better for feral cats. Many people in our city complain about these cats, but simply killing them is not the answer to reducing their numbers. In recognising this, we have introduced an animal birth control programme, the HKSPCA Cat Colony Care Programme to provide FREE spay/neuter surgery for our ferals. Cats on the streets are a community problem. It is not just the responsibility of the SPCA and our registered carers. We also need you to help and support for our programme to continue.

What is the Cat Colony Care Programme?

Established in August 2000, the HK SPCA's Cat Colony Care Programme (CCCP) mobilises a dedicated army of volunteers who feed and watch over "families" of street cats in Hong Kong. The aim is to improve the lives and health of these animals and to stabilise and eventually reduce the numbers of stray and feral cats in the community through the coordinated Trap, Neuter and Return (TNR) effort.

Volunteers are equipped with humane traps and trained in street cat care. In addition to feeding, watering and monitoring their colonies, they catch and transport "their" cats to the SPCA headquarters in Wanchai for de-sexing. The Society's vets also provide general medical treatment when the cats are brought into for surgery. Friendly kittens and adults are placed in our adoption programme. Those deemed not suitable for domestication are returned to their respective colonies to pick up their lives again under the watchful eyes of their carers.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nice, kan? I think if you and your hubby did stopover there, mesti rasa tak ingin nak balik segera and stay there a while untuk timang-timang, kan?

Name:	catadoptionforlifews.jpg
Views:	176
Size:	190.1 KB
ID:	9945  
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies