Old 08-02-2010, 08:50 AM

azzu02 is on a distinguished road
Default how well can a cat track back home?

i live in a housing area consists of blocks of low rise apartments where almost all opening is identical. i have found a siamese cat with a collar looking lost outside my door so i took her in.(i live on the second floor).

i have never seen the cat before. being a good neighbour, i put up lost cat notices but so far no one bothered to reply which made me thinking. maybe this cat is just strolling by. so how well can a cat track back home in an area where the opening into the block almost identical.

i have 3 cats already and all looked uncomfortable with the presence of this cat.
am i i foolish to put up the notice?

regards
Old 08-02-2010, 12:19 PM
was a cat before

azmyrax is on a distinguished road
Default Re: how well can a cat track back home?

I used to have a Birman kitten and it got lost for a year before it came back a fully grown up alpha male. I know it was the same kitten because it has the same markings and it was very excited to see me. I lived in a taman perumahan where all the houses look the same. (but a month later the cat died from eating poisoned rat, i guess he just came back to say his last goodbyes)

I think they can smell their way back.

On a second note, maybe if you want to post an ad on the cat, it's best if the owner come to claim the cat, ask the cat owner if there is any distinctive markings on the cat (ekor bengkok, pakai stokin etc) so that that person wont lie and claiming the cat is his. We never know, BYB is everywhere!
Old 08-02-2010, 01:54 PM

thats what i did. but still no reply, probably the owner are used to not having the cat around for a long time.
so should i just let her go and let her find her way back home or hold on to her until the owner cari?

is siamese cat a valuable cat? i mean like persian or such that people would wanna steal it?

what if i want to let my own cats explore the outside world, is it recommended?
(kesian la pulak ...asik area rumah je.)
Old 08-02-2010, 02:03 PM

Nur_illiyana is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by azzu02 View Post
thats what i did. but still no reply, probably the owner are used to not having the cat around for a long time.
so should i just let her go and let her find her way back home or hold on to her until the owner cari?

is siamese cat a valuable cat? i mean like persian or such that people would wanna steal it?

azzu,
its NOT recommended at all...
its too dangerous for your cat to loitering around out of your house..
they can be hit by car..

my suggestion about the siamese cat, just keep it..
u said u already put up lost cat notices, just hope the owner will come..
if not, keep it as your pet..
you said your cat dont really welcoming the new friend, try it slowly until they can accept it.
or another option, put for adoption..

Good luck

Last edited by Nur_illiyana; 08-02-2010 at 02:13 PM.
Old 08-02-2010, 02:10 PM
was a cat before

azmyrax is on a distinguished road

im not quite sure la because some cats have siamese-like markings, but not a purebred. But normally if the cat is cantik, then someone would try to kidnap that cat.

and I think many people here find that letting cats out of the house is not a safe option, cats might get hit by a car, or hunt for poisonous rat like my cat did sometimes stray dog might bite them, we dont want that to happen kan

my apartment is quite small, but what more important is to give them their space to play, hide and to sleep comfortably. I make sure I close all windows and doors so that they won't get out.

read this articles, hope it might help
http://www.infopet.co.uk/pages/0171.html
http://www.knowyourcat.info/getcat/indoorcats.htm
Old 08-02-2010, 07:03 PM

my apartment is actually in a slow traffic area and they are plenty of stray cats around and even owned ones.(tak penah jumpa kucing kena gelek lagi) i live in the second floor ( g, 1st, 2nd) so the height are too great a distance even for an adult cat.

i'll try to jaga the new cat for a while (a week or two) but it seems that she really wants to go out. we'll see.

thanx guys.
Old 08-02-2010, 11:42 PM

thini is on a distinguished road

Could you put the pic of the siamese cat and of your cats also...hehehhe
Old 08-03-2010, 12:43 AM

my three cats and the siamese.

my numero uno - maxi (DMH-golden...konon)
- momo (DSH-belang)
- bonbon (DSH-black)
how do i directly paste picture to post?

Name:	maxi.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	109.6 KB
ID:	9786   Click image for larger version

Name:	momo.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	126.6 KB
ID:	9787   Click image for larger version

Name:	bonbon.jpg
Views:	98
Size:	55.7 KB
ID:	9788   Click image for larger version

Name:	siamese.jpg
Views:	114
Size:	92.2 KB
ID:	9789  
Old 08-04-2010, 02:54 PM

izwanbest is on a distinguished road

wow the siamese so cute
Old 08-04-2010, 02:59 PM

the siamese cat soooo comel...
please dont let her go.. please keep her..
Old 08-04-2010, 11:20 PM

still tak ngam ngan the rest.
luckily maxi (the big cat) agak penakut so tak suka cari gaduh...
Old 08-05-2010, 12:07 AM

still tak ngam ngan the rest.
luckily maxi (the big cat) agak penakut so tak suka cari gaduh...
azzu,
i pernah baca cara untuk bagi kucing baru dan existing cat ngam..
u rub kain lembab kt cheek new cat dan letak kain tu kt food bowl your existing cat.. juga rub existing cat with another washcloth dan letak kain tu kat food bowl new cat.. ni untuk biasa kan bau..
banyak lagi cara untuk buat kucing ngam.. boleh search kt internet..
dalam forum ni pon rasanya ada.. u just kena rajin mencari
Old 08-05-2010, 01:15 AM

Angelsoo is on a distinguished road

Hi Azzu02,

I lost my Siamese 3 weeks ago (starting 13/7) in Kota Kemuning, Shah Alam. She is a fat siamese (but 3 weeks later could have lost lotza weight), light blue eyes and wore a purple collar with bell. Round 3 yr old. She respond to the name Fei Fei.

Could this cat that you rescue is mine? Pls call or sms me @ 012-2255831.

I pray to God for good news. TQ
Old 08-05-2010, 05:37 AM

izwanbest is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Angelsoo View Post
Hi Azzu02,

I lost my Siamese 3 weeks ago (starting 13/7) in Kota Kemuning, Shah Alam. She is a fat siamese (but 3 weeks later could have lost lotza weight), light blue eyes and wore a purple collar with bell. Round 3 yr old. She respond to the name Fei Fei.

Could this cat that you rescue is mine? Pls call or sms me @ 012-2255831.

I pray to God for good news. TQ
the cat collar is red .. is it possible the collar changing it collar?? lol
Old 08-05-2010, 04:47 PM

dear ms/mrs angelsoo,

sorry to hear bout the lost of your cat fei fei, what baffles me is that if this is your cat, is it possible for her to travel from kota kemuning shah alam to kota damansara ? and by the way the collar is red with chrome bell. i attached a picture of her in the previous post and you can preview it. and i'll try calling her fei fei and see how she responds.( you need to tell me what she does when she is being called.)

to nur illiyana,
thanks for the tips, i think siamese is settling down a bit, starting to get close to some of the cats.
Old 08-12-2010, 06:01 PM

Dear Azzu02,

My Fei Fei is a lazy gal (tats why she is a fat gal). So if her name is called, she will either ran to you and rub her head against your leg (only if she feel like it) or just tip her tail as a respond. My Fei is just like any regular cat, like to eat and sleep only. You can compare her pic with your rescued cat at my profile.

http://www.petfinder.my/pets/11194/

Just a thought: IF my Fei is abducted and the kidnapper change her collar and bough her to Kota Dmanasara. But later she manage to escape and wonder around Kota Damansara. Izit possible?

We miss Fei Fei very much and pray for her safe return.

Angel
Old 08-14-2010, 05:33 PM

dear angelsoo,

what you said might be possible, but then again, my cat didnt respond to the name fei fei and after looking at your site, i notice that this cat has slightly more white areas than fei fei. and might be a bit skinnier which is true like you mentioned.

in 1 months time if there are no takers for "dottie" (as i call her now) i might open for adoption. If you are interested , you'll be the first in line.

regards.
Old 08-15-2010, 01:05 AM

Thanx Azzu02.

If this cat that you rescued is not our Fei Fei, then we must accept the fact. We will cont to look somewhere else.

Thanx for putting me 1st in line for the adoption but we only wan our Fei Fei back as our dogs and us are used to and attached to Fei. I'm not sure how my dogs gonna react toward other cat. Unless if it is a kitten that we rescue, usually they are alright.

We (mama, papa, 2 doggies and Fei - whole family) always go for our evening walk together after dinner. The dogs will be on leash and Fei will follow along without leash. If my dog see stray cat, they will bark and wanna chase it. But if other dog try to get near our Fei, my dogs will protect her and chase the other dog away. This is the kind of special bonding that all our 'children' have.

We miss our Ah Fei

Anyway, thank you so much for your help. May God bless you!