Go Back   PetFinder.my > The Animal Corner > Cats & Kittens > Cat DIY

Cat DIY Do It Yourself Cat Stuff, Furniture, Gadgets, etc. No need to pay lots of money to buy.

Old 01-20-2009, 04:05 PM

Default Re: DIY Cat Product

DIY water filter

Old 01-20-2009, 04:17 PM
AnImaL lUVer..

mixa is on a distinguished road

walawehh..power betul la..tapi kan kak imann..xbesor sgt ke bekas tu ek?
Old 01-20-2009, 04:21 PM

Originally Posted by mixa View Post
walawehh..power betul la..tapi kan kak imann..xbesor sgt ke bekas tu ek?

tukor ke bekas kecik...hehehe...tak jd masalah la mixa....takat sekor dua...guna yg kecik dah le..kalau cam umah akak tu..kena besor2 belaka....
Old 01-20-2009, 04:23 PM
AnImaL lUVer..

Originally Posted by imann View Post
tukor ke bekas kecik...hehehe...tak jd masalah la mixa....takat sekor dua...guna yg kecik dah le..kalau cam umah akak tu..kena besor2 belaka....

heheh..tapi akak x risau ke kalu2 kucen akak wat terjun tiruk dalam bekas tu?
Old 01-20-2009, 04:26 PM

How to make a cage hammock

step 1Make a template or paper pattern
If you have one you like, trace it on paper and cut it out.
Or you draw something freehand.
Or cut a template from cardboard, this is best for rectangular ones.
Keep reusing the cardboard template to trace new ones.

For this particular design I made half the pattern, so that I can cut the material folded.

These are both 15 inches long by 13 inches wide, though they can be made wider or even smaller to fit smaller cages. I find with this size i can actually get TWO into one cage on different levels.

If you are making the 'sling' style, be sure to make the corners taper to no less than 4 inches wide to allow for webbing AND the turn.

step 2Cut out material
Pin the pattern to the folded material.
Trace and cut out TWO sides.
leaving 1/2 to 3/4 inches for the seam allowance.

If the top and bottom don't match perfectly, they can be trimmed AFTER you sew,
but it won't matter because it will be inside the hammock.

step 3Sew around edge while attaching tabs
Start half way down one side and sew until you get within a few inches of the next corner.

insert the webbing tabs with or without swivel clips into the corners pointed inwards.

You are sewing around them and through the two layers of webbing.
Take 2 or 3 passes over the nylon webbing.

STOP sewing when you get within 4 inches of where you started.
You need this gap to turn it inside out.

Cats and small animals are not particular about fashion.
if the sides don't match perfectly don't fret.
The goal is to create something that will survive use and washing machine cycles

step 4Turn the hammock inside out
When you have finished sewing all the way around except for 4 inches in the middle of one side.
Pull the tabs and clips through this gap in the seam edge.
then finish by hand sewing the seam closed.
Use an invisible seam stitch if you can, otherwise just a secure overhand will do.

step 5Attach clips
If you are not permanently attaching clips
you can use simple shower curtain hooks.
Which should do nicely and can be removed for washing.

Old 01-20-2009, 04:27 PM

heheh..tapi akak x risau ke kalu2 kucen akak wat terjun tiruk dalam bekas tu?

setakat arini takde plak wat terjun tiruk dlm tu...hehehe.....
takat terlanggar tu ado la...tp akak guna yg mangkuk seramik tu...jd berat lah...kalau guna yg mcm tin punye tu..mau melayang kot...
Old 01-20-2009, 04:31 PM
AnImaL lUVer..

setakat arini takde plak wat terjun tiruk dlm tu...hehehe.....
takat terlanggar tu ado la...tp akak guna yg mangkuk seramik tu...jd berat lah...kalau guna yg mcm tin punye tu..mau melayang kot...

heheh..tau xpe..nasib baik terlanggar jer.. kalu akak gune water filter tu kan..bape lame air tu tahan ek die punye kebersihan?
Old 01-20-2009, 04:33 PM

heheh..tau xpe..nasib baik terlanggar jer.. kalu akak gune water filter tu kan..bape lame air tu tahan ek die punye kebersihan?
so far...dlm seminggu la camtu...tp 1-2 hari bersihkan filter dia lah...
Old 01-20-2009, 04:39 PM
AnImaL lUVer..

so far...dlm seminggu la camtu...tp 1-2 hari bersihkan filter dia lah...

ooo..ok gak tu..hehe..thanx kak imann for the info!!!
Old 01-20-2009, 04:41 PM

ooo..ok gak tu..hehe..thanx kak imann for the info!!!
small matter dear...sharing is caring maaaa
Old 01-20-2009, 04:45 PM

cat condo

Materials Used:
Carpet (amount depends on size of condo)
Flooring Adhesive
Cardboard Masonry Tube
"L" Brackets
Wood Screws
Bolts
Nuts
Plywood
Staples
Nails
Elastic
Cat Toys

Tools Used:
Radial Arm Saw (a Table Saw or Circular Saw will work just fine)
Jigsaw
Drill
Staple Gun
Paint Brush
Scissors
Utility Knife
Black Marker
Measuring Tape
Square
Yard Stick
Hammer

Old 01-20-2009, 04:48 PM

step 1
Cutting and Marking
Once you have your tools and materials gathered, the first thing you want to do, is cut the plywood for the base and the top of the cat condo.

The cardboard tube that we used was 12 inches wide, so we decided to make the base 20 inches square. We measured it off and marked it with the black marker. We then used the radial arm saw to cut the square. We also marked off the top part of the cat condo, ours was 18 inches by 13 inches. You can make the top part the same as the base if you want, we were using left over wood, and needed to adjust the size a little bit, to make it fit.

Once you have the base and top cut, you need to center your cardboard tube on each of them, and trace around it with the black marker. You can then use the drill, and drill a hole inside of the circle you just traced on both pieces of wood. This will give you a place to start the jigsaw, so that you can cut the circles out, remember to cut the holes a little bit bigger than the tube, because you will have the added thickness of the carpet to go inside of the holes also. The amount of extra you need to cut, will all depend on the thickness of your carpet.

Old 01-20-2009, 04:54 PM

step 2
Carpeting
Now it is time to cover the inside of the tube with carpet. The inside of the tube is hard to carpet, since it is hard to work inside of the small space in the tube. What we did, is first we measured to see how much carpet we would need to cover the inside, and cut it to size. Next, we put it inside to see if it would fit. Once we had a good fit, we put glue around the top and around the bottom of the tube. Next we rolled up the carpet, and stretched it out inside the tube, so that it was snug, next, in order to keep it in place while the glue dries, and to help tack it down even more, we used the staple gun, to put staples around the top and bottom, and all the way down the seam of the carpet. The staples will bury themselves deep into the carpet, and are pretty much invisible, so you can just leave them.

Now you are ready to cover the outside of the tube with paste. Lay out a big piece of carpet, enough to cover the tube. Now lay the tube on top of it, and make sure one of the edges of the carpet is straight. You can take the paint brush, and cover the entire tube with the flooring adhesive. Next, start rolling the carpet with the edge of the carpet lined up with the edge of the tube. Once you have the carpet rolled around the tube, put it somewhere to dry for a few hours, or even overnight for best results. Once the adhesive has dried, you can cut the extra carpet away from the tube. Once the tube is covered with carpet, it is time to attach the base.

step 3
Coming together
First, take the base and put it over the tube, and when you have it just over the edge, so that the bottom of the tube is flush with the bottom of the base, take some small nails and tack the tube to the base all around the inside.

Last edited by imann; 01-20-2009 at 05:00 PM.
Old 01-20-2009, 04:57 PM

step 4
More Carpeting
Now you can cut the carpet for the base and the top. To do this, you need to cut a piece of carpet that is about 1 inch bigger on each side, than the base and top. So if your base is 20 inches by 20 inches, the piece of carpet you cut should be 22 inches by 22 inches. This leaves enough carpet to cover the edges of the wood. You dont have to worry about leaving any extra inside of the hole, because the cardboard tube will fill it in. Once you have the carpet pieces cut, you will have to also cut another piece to cover the other side of the top piece of wood. For this, just trace the top piece of wood on the carpet, and cut it out. Once you have these pieces of carpet cut, you need to also trace the circle in the center of each, and cut them out.

Now you can cover the base and the top with the carpet. You can use the adhesive on these, but you do not have to. Staples will work just as well. Just line the pieces up and tack the edges on the inside and outside, with the staple gun. Next, pull the carpet over the edges of the wood, and tack the carpet to the edges of the wood with staples. Make sure to cut the corners out of the carpet, so you do not have extra on the corners. Now, attach the carpet to the other side of the top piece of wood. This should leave you with all sides covered on the top piece of wood, except for the edges inside the circular hole, and the carpet inside the tube should cover these. This should also leave you with just the top and outside edges of the base covered as well. Do not cover the bottom of the base, because it will sit on the floor.

You can also attach the top peice of wood to the top of the tube, using the same method we used for the base earlier.

You should now have what looks like a giant scratching post.

step 5

Holes and More Holes
Now it is time to make it look like a cat condo. It doesnt really matter where you put your openings, but I will tell you where we put ours. First of all, we decide that 7 inches square would be a good sized opening, based on the size of the tube, and the size of the cat that it is being built for. So we wanted two openings on one side, and one opening on the other side. This way, it would leave the back and front untouched, so that it could be placed against a wall, without any trouble. We decided that we wanted our openings about 9 inches from the edges on the one side, and the other side, we wanted the opening in the center. So we marker on the first side with the black marker, about 9 inches up from the base, and about 9 inches down from the top. We then measure 7 inches across, and marked it. And then we measured out the rest of the 7 inch squares and marked it with the black marker. On the other side, we just took the length (48 inches) and subtracted the 7 inches for the opening from it, and that left us with 41 inches. Then we took that 41 inches and divided it by two, to give us 20.5 inches. So we made a mark 20.5 inches up from the base, and 20.5 inches down from the top, to give us the top and bottom of the opening. We marked off the 7 inch square on that side with the black marker too.

Now that the holes are marked, we are ready to cut them out. Basically, we just used a really sharp utility knife, and kept scoring the carpet on the lines, until it cuts through the carpet and part of the cardboard, and we just kept cutting along those lines, until it was cut all the way through the top layer of carpet and the cardboard, and then we used scissors to cut away the rest of the inside layer of carpet. We did this for all three of the openings we made.

Old 01-20-2009, 04:59 PM

step 6Attaching the Shelves
Now it is time to attach the L brackets to the bottoms of the holes. The L brackets will provide support for the shelves. We purchased brackets that are 1.5 inches, but longer might be better. What we did, is we tore away some of the carpet at the bottom of the holes, on both the inside and outside of the tube. We then marked where we needed holes for the brackets, and used the drill to make these holes. We found some small bolts, and nuts to fit these bolts, and attached the brackets with them. We then glued the carpet back in place, to cover the brackets and screws, leaving just the tops of the brackets exposed.

The next thing we did was cut the shelves. This was easy enough, because ours were all 7 inch squares. We used the radial arm saw to cut them. Once they were cut, we cut carpet for them also. We left enough extra carpet that it can cover the outside edges of the wood, just as we did on the base, but on one outside edge, we left enough carpet to cover the bottom of the shelf as well. So we attached the carpet to all sides of the shelf, except for the bottom. Next, we placed the shelf on top of the L brackets that were sticking out of the hole. We pushed the shelf about an inch inside of the hole, to make it a little sturdier. We then drilled holes in the bottom of the shelf, for the brackets, and we attached the brackets to the bottom of the shelf with small screws. Then we took the extra carpet, and pulled it tight against one edge of the shelf and tube, and then in the middle, and then the other edge, and made marks, so that we could cut it in a semi-circular shape. Then we used the staples to attach it to the bottom of the shelf. We repeated these steps for all three shelves.

Old 01-20-2009, 05:01 PM

step 7
Making it Fun
Now it is time to make it fun for the cat. We took some fake mice, and other misc. cat toys and tied them to elastic. We took the elastic and stapled it into the wood of the cat condo so that there is a toy dangling above each of the shelves

Old 01-20-2009, 05:13 PM

Default DIY Cat Product

HUHUHU!!! org yg tangan bangku mcm aku ni,suma pakai tunjuk dan bayar je.klu buat DIY mmg takde yg menjadi.sodeh aku
Old 01-20-2009, 06:34 PM

Menarik idea2 ni.. Saya teringin nak buat tempat tido kucing.. tapi.. apa material (fabrik) yang sesuai untuk alas??

Adala try buat scratch post utk kucing hari tu.. tapi rendah sangat .. .. dia tanak layan pun scratch post tu

Hmm..lepas ni nak buatla flowing water untuk kucing tu.. nampak senang
Old 01-21-2009, 03:35 PM

Originally Posted by euanna View Post
Menarik idea2 ni.. Saya teringin nak buat tempat tido kucing.. tapi.. apa material (fabrik) yang sesuai untuk alas??

Adala try buat scratch post utk kucing hari tu.. tapi rendah sangat .. .. dia tanak layan pun scratch post tu

Hmm..lepas ni nak buatla flowing water untuk kucing tu.. nampak senang
fabrik tu tak kisah...ikut suka la...elok jahit sekali ngan span...kasi lembut sikit la...

kalau nak lawa lg..cari fabrik mcm velvet sket la..tp senang nampak bulu....
Old 02-03-2009, 04:37 PM

cat bed

This one is dollbed frm IKEA....

buat kan sarung tilam...and...taaaddaaaaaaaaaaaaa..