Old 08-14-2008, 11:07 PM

Default FeralStat - Cat Oral Contraceptive

Hello all,

Not sure if any of you have heard of FeralStat? It is an cat oral contraceptive that is being used in one of the states in America. Yeah, as usual there are always the positive and negative publicity to it. I read somewhere that it causes diabetes in cats due to the hormonal thingy but then again, some brand of cat kibbles also causes kidney stones!

FeralStat is a synthetic progestin to postpone esterus in a cat. Method of introduction is through mixing of FeralStat with food and feed to the strays. A cat’s minimum effective daily dosage is approximately 0.04 milligrams. It has been prescribed for over 7 years and has been reported to be effective and convenient.

I emailed the org. and a Dr. (can't get his name though, American mah, talk fast on the voicemail) responded. So, before I call him back, I just needed some opinions, or if there's any questions to raise.

I did mention the cultural and religion taboos, that, sometimes forbids the neutering of cats and such alternative is a good option...

Guys/Gals, any opinion will be much appreciated!

Old 08-14-2008, 11:18 PM

Default Re: FeralStat - Cat Oral Contraceptive

Sorry, Bina, I'm clueless here. First time I hear of FeralStat. I'll google it and read up first. But I do admire what you're doing, though, trying to find out if you could "neuter" the strays in a less painful way.

Hello all,

Not sure if any of you have heard of FeralStat? It is an cat oral contraceptive that is being used in one of the states in America. Yeah, as usual there are always the positive and negative publicity to it. I read somewhere that it causes diabetes in cats due to the hormonal thingy but then again, some brand of cat kibbles also causes kidney stones!

FeralStat is a synthetic progestin to postpone esterus in a cat. Method of introduction is through mixing of FeralStat with food and feed to the strays. A cat’s minimum effective daily dosage is approximately 0.04 milligrams. It has been prescribed for over 7 years and has been reported to be effective and convenient.

I emailed the org. and a Dr. (can't get his name though, American mah, talk fast on the voicemail) responded. So, before I call him back, I just needed some opinions, or if there's any questions to raise.

I did mention the cultural and religion taboos, that, sometimes forbids the neutering of cats and such alternative is a good option...

Guys/Gals, any opinion will be much appreciated!
Old 08-14-2008, 11:24 PM

Blackie cannot sleep ar? Really vampire laaa....
My lulu is keeping me awake ... akekekeke

Old 08-14-2008, 11:30 PM

I have much earlier read about a cat contraceptive vaccine, which is produced from a bacterium Salmonella, still under R&D.
http://www.acc-d.org/
And of course, these guys aren't too happy with FeralStat....

Old 08-14-2008, 11:58 PM

Default FeralStat - Cat Oral Contraceptive

Bina,I'm clueless too.but I'm not vampire like Blackie so I couldn't be bother to goggle because going to bed shortly

Is this this new medicine to neuter cat without zass their "part'??

I have much earlier read about a cat contraceptive vaccine, which is produced from a bacterium Salmonella, still under R&D.
http://www.acc-d.org/
And of course, these guys aren't too happy with FeralStat....
Old 08-15-2008, 12:08 AM

A little bit macam human contraceptive, kena makan everyday.....
eheheheheeh

Old 08-15-2008, 03:05 PM

talking about religious taboo for neutering/castration - spca has a notice from jakim - spaying/castration under islam is allowed. for full content of the notice from jakim - can go to spca website.

i've reproduced this at my profile for samantha and gabriel as i had many enquiries for gabriel but most are reluctant castrate as they're under the impression that it is not allowed.

couldn't be further than the truth.
Old 08-15-2008, 04:55 PM

Ashley, you know, I have actually heard of religious taboo on neutering other than from the Muslim community, I know they have got JAKIM to clarify.

When it comes to other religion there are many secs with different beliefs. But I do not want to mention any religion in particular, later kena tembak! Alrdy, certain quarters thought I was referring to their religion in other forum... akekekekek :)

I was thinking that FeralStat would be good to those feeding feral/stray cats in their neighbourhood. You see, not everyone would have the means (in my case, transport!) to TNR!