Old 02-02-2009, 12:24 PM
Animal lover

mew mew is on a distinguished road
Default Now, Nilai council may impose licensing for cats

Well, this is NEWS for the cat owners isn't it? What a shame.

SEREMBAN: Cat owners living in parts of Seremban and eight other sub-districts will be required to license them if authorities continue to get complaints that the felines are becoming a nuisance to neighbours.

Nilai Municipal Council (MPN) president Datuk Abd Halim Abd Latif said although there were no laws stating how many cats a person could own, it would have no qualms in formulating new legislation for it.

“We know some families keep too many cats and this has become a nuisance to their neighbours,” he said.

“If we get more complaints on this, we will not hesitate to introduce new provisions in our by-laws requiring them to license their cats.”

If implemented, the MPN would be the first local council in the country to have such a provision in their by-laws.

Abd Halim was commenting on complaints from residents on a new law requiring dog owners to get their neighbours’ written permission before they were allowed to keep them.

MPN had gazetted the new law – Dog Licensing By-laws 2008 – which came into force last month.

Those living in areas under the jurisdiction of the council such as parts of Rasah, Ampangan, Mantin, Nilai, Lenggeng, Pantai, Rantau, Labu and Senawang were affected by the move.

The MPN said those caught contravening provisions under the by-law can be fined up to RM1,000 or imprisoned for not more than six months or both.

Several residents’ associations had voiced displeasure over the new ruling as it was discriminatory because it only targeted dog owners.

Many felt there were residents who had up to 10 cats which caused them misery.

Asked how were neighbours who wished to own dogs were to get their neighbours’ written permission when they were not on talking terms, Abd Latif said they could always ap- proach the council and it would act as an intermediary to get the approval.

Asked whether the ruling on dog ownership would be extended to those living in the Seremban Municipal Council (MPS), Abd Latif said this would be possible after a merger between MPN and MPS takes place.
Old 02-02-2009, 12:30 PM

Default Re: Now, Nilai council may impose licensing for cats

My answer to Nilai council is this...
Old 02-02-2009, 12:50 PM

aiyakkkkkkkkkkk

me stay nilai....dont like dat la....poor me & my kittes...
Old 02-02-2009, 12:57 PM

If you ever need to let any of them go, I'll take your Daddy....
*sorry, sorry, wrong time to joke, slapping myself*

Originally Posted by imann View Post
aiyakkkkkkkkkkk

me stay nilai....dont like dat la....poor me & my kittes...
Old 02-02-2009, 01:07 PM

If you ever need to let any of them go, I'll take your Daddy....
*sorry, sorry, wrong time to joke, slapping myself*
aiyoo..daddy kenot..all kenot la....
eeh...this law oredi effective ke?
I'hv got 11cats la...
so far...my next jiran mmg kosong...

aiyoo...scary movies like this...where to put my kids...
Old 02-02-2009, 01:10 PM

this only at nilai & seremban only aaa??? haiya... later in PD also impose the same rule how... haiya...
Old 02-02-2009, 01:11 PM
Animal lover

mew mew is on a distinguished road

Shhhhhhh......Imann....don't let them know how many cats you got.
Old 02-02-2009, 01:14 PM

Originally Posted by mew mew View Post
Shhhhhhh......Imann....don't let them know how many cats you got.
ya la...shhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh
Old 02-02-2009, 01:17 PM

Lucky jiran kosong....but don't let anyone know lor......definitely cannot get license approved klu so many, so better not try to get license for even one cat in case they come and check your home.

Originally Posted by imann View Post
aiyoo..daddy kenot..all kenot la....
eeh...this law oredi effective ke?
I'hv got 11cats la...
so far...my next jiran mmg kosong...

aiyoo...scary movies like this...where to put my kids...
Old 02-02-2009, 04:14 PM

council no money la....that is why

so cats must wear license collar liao

imagine Blackie with that collar thingy....
Old 02-02-2009, 04:31 PM

I guess it is up to the cat owners now to be more responsible for their cats & the majority to seriously consider having their cats spay or neuter. I personally feel the authority is fair on their part of action to be taken if there are complain on the cat owner as how they have their action taken for the dog owner.

I have 20 + cats at home & I have been staying where I’m staying for more then 3 years & up to date I’m proud to say I don’t have a single complain from my neighbor but only from the garbage collector about the amount of rubbish I had which is cat litter & waste. I gave some extra kopi money to them every 2 months to be fair for the extra garbage they had to collect. Well now I don’t have to listen to the garbage man nonsense, they are happy & I’m happy that my bin place is clean & well kept.

The most important thing here is that we cat owners must be fully responsible for all our cats & shud never burden or trouble other (that is our neighbor) with our pets or even with our children.

Old 02-02-2009, 04:40 PM

... moved out of rumah rakit separuh tenggelam dalam Sungai Chitichat ...
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies

Last edited by FurKids; 02-04-2009 at 11:45 AM.
Old 02-02-2009, 04:43 PM

Vivien, Blackie don't need a license collar because he's already a legitimate Malaysian citizen.....dah ada MyKad mah.....we M'sians don't wear license collars kan?

council no money la....that is why

so cats must wear license collar liao

imagine Blackie with that collar thingy....

Well said, Jimmy.

I guess it is up to the cat owners now to be more responsible for their cats & the majority to seriously consider having their cats spay or neuter. I personally feel the authority is fair on their part of action to be taken if there are complain on the cat owner as how they have their action taken for the dog owner.

I have 20 + cats at home & I have been staying where I’m staying for more then 3 years & up to date I’m proud to say I don’t have a single complain from my neighbor but only from the garbage collector about the amount of rubbish I had which is cat litter & waste. I gave some extra kopi money to them every 2 months to be fair for the extra garbage they had to collect. Well now I don’t have to listen to the garbage man nonsense, they are happy & I’m happy that my bin place is clean & well kept.

The most important thing here is that we cat owners must be fully responsible for all our cats & shud never burden or trouble other (that is our neighbor) with our pets or even with our children.
Old 02-02-2009, 04:48 PM

Vivien, Blackie don't need a license collar because he's already a legitimate Malaysian citizen.....dah ada MyKad mah.....we M'sians don't wear license collars kan?
Charlene, can I get you to help me to get mykad for all my cats, ahh!

Old 02-02-2009, 04:53 PM

Can, no problem, Jimmy. Just pass me your cats' photos, & their date of birth, and I'll get it done at Jabatan Pendaftaran Haiwan, department anak kucing at Jalan Kuching. The first one to get a MyKad would be your 007.

Charlene, can I get you to help me to get mykad for all my cats, ahh!
Old 02-02-2009, 05:01 PM

Can, no problem, Jimmy. Just pass me your cats' photos, & their date of birth, and I'll get it done at Jabatan Pendaftaran Haiwan, department anak kucing at Jalan Kuching. The first one to get a MyKad would be your 007.
then there will be 2 registered 007 in Malaysia.

Old 02-02-2009, 05:08 PM

Yup, 2 registered 007 in Malaysia...
oh ya, I just remembered....his photo is in your felis wonder gallery....when's his birthday? he has to be 007 celup, though, since it's fair that a maine coon celup should not be 2 times celup. *runnnnnnnn*

then there will be 2 registered 007 in Malaysia.
Old 02-02-2009, 05:15 PM

Yup, 2 registered 007 in Malaysia...
oh ya, I just remembered....his photo is in your felis wonder gallery....when's his birthday? he has to be 007 celup, though, since it's fair that a maine coon celup should not be 2 times celup. *runnnnnnnn*
I had to search for his cert to be sure of his birthday, it is 12th Nov 2006. Wow!! I didn't know that he was already more then 2 years old & no wife, look like I might have to neuter him if I still cannot get him one. Lucky me that this boy is very good & behaving, good thing he doesn't mark.

Old 02-02-2009, 05:27 PM

Awwh...still no wife? Eh, how come ah? Poor Sean. Is it because he's always hiding behind curtains that you forgot to give him a wife?

If you neuter him, send him to me. I'll jaga him for you, free of charge, with weekly visitation rights.

His Mykad will be posted in your gallery once it's done! You can download it from there, then.

I had to search for his cert to be sure of his birthday, it is 12th Nov 2006. Wow!! I didn't know that he was already more then 2 years old & no wife, look like I might have to neuter him if I still cannot get him one. Lucky me that this boy is very good & behaving, good thing he doesn't mark.
Old 02-02-2009, 05:28 PM

Default Now, Nilai council may impose licensing for cats

Jimmy, your story giving kopi money to the cleaner man similar to my story.heheheh!! In our apartment area got 2 Indian men clean up the garbage & apartment area everyday.They were very nasty in the beginning. They smack the strays that I fed everyday with their broom and always give me sour face. They were also the one who put net trap for cats. Luckily I found that net first. At 3 am in the morning my hubby and me like pencuri taking off the net and quietly ran back to our unit. Then my hubby said,why don't we give them kopi money so that they will not hit the stray cats.I agree and we gave him RM30-RM50 every month.I told them "ini duit kasih uncle sebab sd bersih2 ini tempat. sori klu kasih uncle susah".After that every time we bump to each he grin from ear to ear and greet me good morning.

yeah, I agree with you,we cat owner must be responsble with our pets.Don't let them roam around poo and pee every where. I'll very angry too if I see cat or dog poo in front of my house. Luckily all my cats are indoor