Go Back   PetFinder.my > Pet Welfare, Rescue & Adoption > Animal Organizations & Societies

Old 12-17-2008, 02:28 AM

Default Re: No-kill shelter

Dong,
The car still have using, just a plan only, I plan give away is because it manual, sell no value, it more meaning give to someone need it for carry sick animal to vet. Tails Unlimited will feel great heard someone support No-kill shelter, and many more going support. I wishing like old story, i wish every homeless cat and dog able have a bowl fully of pet food and enjoy a meal and have nice toy, before they die. But we still unable to do there! It is regret in my life.

Last edited by dog is my buddy; 12-17-2008 at 02:36 AM.
Old 12-17-2008, 02:41 AM

Dongdong86 is on a distinguished road

Yes they couldnt be happier hearing this good news. I have personally seen how they show their loves to dying cats, including those which died on Orijen issues. I can see them force feeding last few drips of wet food in cats' mouth, speaking something, sayang them in their hugs. They dont want to give up any miracles that could happen. When the cats died, i could see their eyes wet, sometimes cry. They eat mamak everyday, just hope to save money for sick cats to get best food and treatments. I feel myself small in front of them.
Old 12-17-2008, 09:49 AM

No-kill is an animal sheltering philosophy which rejects euthanasia as a means of population control. Animals are only euthanized if they are too sick to be treated or too aggressive to be suitable for adoption.

Approximately three to four million pets are killed yearly in shelters across the United States.The no-kill movement is trying to end this killing by increasing the demand for shelter dogs and cats and reducing the supply. The no-kill movement hopes to reduce the number of animals born and thus the number of animals which end up in shelters through increased spay/neuter, including low-cost/free help for low-income people. Coupled with increasing the number of adoptions through various techniques the no-kill movement hopes to ultimately end the killing of homeless pets.
About the killing or non killing shelters, we have to understand their position, due to lack of space and most PEOPLE are more keen in adopting Pedigree / pure breed, compare to Mongrel or local short hair cats. This is why most of them are left there. Recently, Christine of SPCA is looking for a new piece of land and promoting "SPCA a non-killing shelter". These shelters, in a way had done their part as well...

There are bulletins on the net on this particular subject... the main thing here is... Weather or not we are aware about creating the awareness to the public about caring for animals and taking them in as one of the family members.

Not just that, we could even look for sponsors for these poor animals in the shelters and get a group of the animals sponsored by a body or organizations. This is not a suggestion but it does exist. Therefore, these animals will not put to sleep.

It is up to us to help these poor creatures and lets take some actions ....
Shall we spend some time to ponder over some very important truths ... and hopefully the awakenings will spur all of us to up all our efforts in TNR around our areas ... because there will never be enough $$$ and there will never be enough land for more and more shelters and pounds, even with increasing kill-rates.

"Euthanasia” in animal control pounds and shelters is the NUMBER ONE documented cause of death of all cats in the U.S. The most comprehensive study to date indicates that 72% of all cats entering these facilities are killed. Just 23% are adopted, and only 2% are reunited with their owners. What are the figures in Malaysia?

Millions of cats and dogs are killed every year, but no one knows exactly how many. And the killing is done behind closed doors, away from the public eye.

Killing has been practised for many years (as the only option available) and it does not work. For all the years this approach was practised, the cat and dog population continued to explode.

TNR is the only solution that works and is humane. Animals have the right to live, just like the rest of us.

What’s Best for Cats: Being Alive or Dead?

Many animal control pounds and shelters operate on the notion that if a cat can’t live in a human home, it’s best to kill her. They use individual anecdotes of sick and abused stray cats to extrapolate that millions of these animals are better off dead than alive. But research shows otherwise. The bottom line is: being killed is not in cats’ best interests.

- Veterinary studies show that stray cats’ incidence of trauma and disease is low, and their infection rate—4%—is the same or lower than in house cats.

- Evolutionary research shows that the natural habitat of cats is outdoors in close proximity to humans. The species Felis catus came into existence 8,000 to 10,000 years ago when humans shifted from hunting and gathering to farming. Initially attracted by grain stores with plentiful rodent populations, cats have been living side by side with humans ever since.

- A recent national public opinion poll shows that 81% of Americans believe it is more humane to leave a stray cat outside to live out her life than to have her caught and killed.

The Difference between Euthanasia and Killing

Millions of cats die in U.S. animal control pounds and shelters every year. The pounds and shelters say these animals are “euthanized.” But they’re not—they are killed. An animal is only euthanized when she is terminally ill or untreatably injured.

Euthanasia n. The act or practice of ending the life of an individual suffering from a terminal illness or an incurable condition, as by lethal injection or the suspension of extraordinary medical treatment. The American Heritage Dictionary

Genuine euthanasia is a medical decision and is always done in an individual animal’s best interest. It can be an important part of end-of-life care. But most animals who die in pounds and shelters are killed for very different reasons. Facilities kill animals to make room for new ones, to manage disease, or to compensate for inadequate staff or funding. Decisions to kill reflect the operating interests of facilities, not the best interests of animals.

Using the word “euthanasia” masks what really happens to cats in pounds and shelters—they are KILLED.
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies

Last edited by FurKids; 12-17-2008 at 10:37 AM.
Old 12-17-2008, 03:22 PM

Default Unintended Consequences

Unintended Consequences
http://www.bestfriends.org/nomorehom...nsequences.cfm

By Craig Brestrup

Few would question the good intentions of people working in animal shelters. For the most part they are deeply devoted to the animals and deeply concerned at the careless and exploitative treatment these innocent creatures often experience in our culture.

Even so, any of us can be subject to blind spots - especially when we're dealing with long traditions and fixed certainties about the way things are. And well-meant actions can have unintended consequences. Shelters with "open doors" and "full service" are subject to at least three kinds of these counter-productive consequences.

A fundamental contradiction

First, there's a basic discrepancy between the words and the actions of a "full service" shelter. Animal welfarists commonly speak of the preciousness - the intrinsic value - of animals' lives. Yet their shelters are the place where healthy animals are daily killed, and people bring animals there knowing this. This leads to diminished credibility and effectiveness in the shelters' education programs.

Can we believe that this contradiction between affirming words and deadly deeds does not register on the public and very seriously dilute the intended communication? It amounts to a double message, and people typically respond to such messages by selecting the part most compatible with their own desires and ignoring the rest.

The "disposability" paradox

The second unintended consequence concerns animal welfare's condemnation of people who treat animals as disposable items.

Shelters with so-called full services operate on the assumption that if they did not faithfully take animals in they would subject them to "fates worse than death" at the hands of their guardians. So to prevent possible suffering, these shelters receive them even when full and "euthanize" the surplus.

But isn't it likely that by offering convenient "rescuing" of guardian-relinquished animals such shelters inadvertently reinforce the very disposability syndrome they condemn? Not only reinforce - they enable and facilitate the disposal of companion animals.

We have here another mixed message: ready receiving of animals being abandoned by their former companions while verbally rejecting the notion that such disposing of animals is a proper thing to do. What should the public believe?

Never having to say No

The final unintended consequence of traditional shelter practices is that there is less motivation to change - to search for promising alternatives.

Killing the excess preserves the balance between live animals and the numbers of available homes and shelter spaces. Very efficient - and it works too well. Shelter workers do not have to face the anxiety of saying no to a relinquisher and of helping that person find an alternative. They believe they are preventing suffering by killing and that is their priority. Moreover, the streets are cleared of strays, and the animals' guardians have a way of abandoning their animals without being stigmatized. And since those doing the disposing are animal welfarists, the people abandoning their animals don't have to feel the guilt that would be entirely appropriate at killing their pet. After all, haven't they gone to the trouble of placing their animals in the hands of animal welfare?

There's a fundamental incoherence in all this. Worst of all, it simply prolongs the problems afflicting animals. If shelters speak double messages, their educational intent becomes frustrated. If shelters are making it easier and more guilt-free for people to dispose of their animals, then both the suffering and the killing will continue.

The killing solution to the problem of surplus animals drains away pressure for the public and animal caretakers to change their ways, and the victims can have little hope for respite from human irresponsibility.

Open doors and killing rooms were well intended and, in many times and places, unavoidable. But in our own time, they have the opposite of their intended effects. We can do better than this, and the energy and dedication of the many good people working at shelters can be applied on behalf of real animal welfare.
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies
Old 12-17-2008, 03:28 PM

Default To Kill or Not to Kill?

To Kill or Not to Kill?

http://www.bestfriends.org/nomorehom.../tokillnot.cfm

By Michael Mountain

"No-kill shelters sound great," writes a lady from Carmel, California, in a letter to Best Friends. "But where do all the other animals go: the huge overflow our SPCA must handle? I need to continue to assist [our local] SPCA in our attempt to solve the problem."

There has often been a certain tension between traditional humane societies that are involved in euthanizing the animals they receive into their care, and the growing no-kill movement.

Back in the 1970s, when Best Friends was in its early days, the no-kill philosophy was largely derided by the mainstream. Most foundations ruled out giving funds to "irresponsible" shelters that didn't kill their animals. Some still do. ("You're just warehousing them. You're not making a real difference.") But much has changed in the last 20 years. And the time has come for all traditional shelters to adopt the no-kill philosophy.

Best Friends had its origins in a few friends visiting their local humane society once a month and taking home as many of the animals as possible who were scheduled to be destroyed. We would rehabilitate these "unadoptables," and find good homes for as many as possible. Of course, there were always some who simply couldn't be placed, for whatever reason. Those unadoptables became the founders of the sanctuary.

The two ladies who ran the humane society we visited each month in those early days were always depressed as euthanasia day approached. These tireless, kind people, who only wanted to nurture suffering animals, found themselves in the hopeless position of having to kill them. There seemed no way out.

In 1989, animal lover and commentator Ed Duvin wrote a landmark article that highlighted this dark paradox and served as a wake-up call to the humane community overall. Underlying the entire "humane" movement and its "shelters," he said, "is the dark secret that it is, in part, little more than a vast killing machine."

Ed Duvin's article became the subject of much discussion, and many traditional shelters began focusing more on spay/neuter and adoption programs, and on community education. Some of the nation's biggest SPCAs began to switch to a no-kill policy. One of the earliest of these was the San Francisco SPCA. They switched to a no-kill policy themselves,and then started working to prevent any homeless animal in the city from having to be destroyed.

At the first annual "No-Kills in the '90s" conference in Phoenix, Arizona, in 1995, Merritt Clifton, editor of Animal People, described what should be the essential difference between a humane society or SPCA and the city animal control department:

"Humane work and animal control are parallel pursuits... yet serve different functions. Animal control solves animal-related problems for taxpayers and voters. Humane societies promote the betterment of humanity through encouraging kindness."

Among all of us who are involved in animal care, we have achieved great things in recent years. According to Animal People, euthanasias are down from 17 million per year in 1987 to about 5 million last year. Neutering rates have climbed to 65 percent for dogs and 85 percent for cats.

The time is coming for humane organizations to remove themselves altogether from the business of having to kill the unwanted animals of irresponsible citizens.

People who simply want to do good for the animals should not be required to take on the job of killing them. This terrible burden is unfair to kind volunteers everywhere who want to nurture life.

The sad work of putting down homeless animals may still have to be one of the jobs of a city animal control department. It is not a pleasant job, no matter who has the job of doing it, but killing animals is not the work of a humane group. Nor should it ever have to be supported by the contributions of members whose passion is to nurture life and love.

Converting to a no-kill policy at a shelter requires building a close and harmonious relationship with the local animal control department. Shelters wanting to make these arrangements can get help and advice from the many no-kill facilities that have already done it and are now working cooperatively with city animal control. Here at Best Friends, we count the local animal control officers our friends and partners.

The light grows brighter and we can actually see the end of the tunnel. The goal of Best Friends, and all of us in the humane movement, is to help bring about a time when there are no more homeless animals.

When we first wrote, just a few years ago, that our goal was to bring an end to the problem of pet overpopulation by the end of this century, it seemed like a wonderful dream, if perhaps a slightly over-optimistic one!

But that goal is now closer than we could have imagined, and the flame burns brighter than ever. We are all working towards a time when there are No More Homeless Pets, and when every newborn can be guaranteed a life of love and happiness.
Old 12-17-2008, 03:42 PM

Default Caring For Feral Cats - 17 Million Americans Feed Strays Every Day

Read this:

Caring For Feral Cats - 17 Million Americans Feed Stray and Feral Cats Every Day
Attached Files
File Type: pdf feralcats.pdf (97.3 KB, 489 views)
Old 12-17-2008, 03:49 PM

Default US Public Opinion On Humane Treatments of Stray Cats

A policy of killing stray cats is not humane ... read more ...

US Public Opinion On Humane Treatments of Stray Cats: Law & Policy Brief by Alley Cat Allies (Sept 2007) at http://www.alleycat.org/NetCommunity/Page.aspx?pid=395
Old 12-17-2008, 04:02 PM

Default TNR's Role In Achieving No-Kill: Extending The Circle Of Compassion

A speech by Ed Boks ...

TNR's Role In Achieving No-Kill: Extending The Circle Of Compassion - A Speech by Ed Boks
Attached Files
File Type: pdf felixspeech.pdf (146.2 KB, 171 views)
Old 12-17-2008, 04:05 PM

Default A Question Of Ethics ...

A Question Of Ethics
Attached Files
File Type: pdf ethicsweb.pdf (36.0 KB, 151 views)
Old 12-17-2008, 04:09 PM

Default San Francisco SPCA: Compassion Is The Way

San Francisco SPCA: Compassion Is The Way
Attached Files
File Type: pdf sfadvocate-8-3.pdf (14.4 KB, 153 views)
Old 12-17-2008, 04:10 PM

Dear FK,

I so fascinated by your drive and facts findings related to the above topic.

It all boils back to the AWARENESS WHICH HAS NEVER BEEN STRONGLY CREATED BY ANY INDIVIDUAL NOR BODIES...

Someone should start somewhere to make a NON-KILLING SHELTER becomes a reality.

Hey, I'm in for it but again, TALK IS CHEAP.... ACTIONS SPEAKS LOUDER THEN WORDS... JUST DO IT....

WE CAN START WITH THE ACTIVIST... THE REAL FANATIC ANIMAL LOVERS...
Old 12-17-2008, 04:14 PM

Default To Kill Or Not To Kill ...

To Kill Or Not To Kill ... that's no longer the question
Attached Files
File Type: pdf tokillornot.pdf (24.2 KB, 158 views)

Last edited by FurKids; 12-17-2008 at 04:22 PM.
Old 12-17-2008, 04:18 PM

Default Toward A No-Kill Nation ...

Toward A No-Kill Nation
Attached Files
File Type: pdf towardnokill.pdf (31.3 KB, 132 views)
Old 12-17-2008, 04:29 PM

dEAR fURKIDS,

WHAT WOULD BE YOUR SUGGESTIONS?

I'VE BEEN IN SPCA EVERYDAY SINCE STRIPES WAS THERE AND SAW A LOT OF THINGS BEING DONE (NOT THE STAFF) BY THE HUMAN COMING AND GOING....

ITS HEART BREAKING... WHO AM I TO TELL THEM WHAT TO AND NOT TO DO...

ITS ALL ABOUT THE UP-BRINGING AND HOW WAS THE HEART BEING CONDITION SINCE BORN...

ITS EITHER WHAT THEY WANT TO BE (THE WANNA BEssssssss) OR WHAT OTHERS TOLD THEM TO DO / BE....

THE LEAST WE COULD DO NOW IS TRY OUR VERY BEST TO CREATE AND DEVELOP AN UNCONDITIONAL LOVE AMONG OURSELVES AND THE REST OF THE LIVING CREATURES.... INCLUDING MOTHER EARTH...
Old 12-17-2008, 04:34 PM

Dear FK,

I so fascinated by your drive and facts findings related to the above topic.

It all boils back to the AWARENESS WHICH HAS NEVER BEEN STRONGLY CREATED BY ANY INDIVIDUAL NOR BODIES...

Someone should start somewhere to make a NON-KILLING SHELTER becomes a reality.

Hey, I'm in for it but again, TALK IS CHEAP.... ACTIONS SPEAKS LOUDER THEN WORDS... JUST DO IT....

WE CAN START WITH THE ACTIVIST... THE REAL FANATIC ANIMAL LOVERS...
Mrs. DoLittle, read post #24 and #30. San Francisco SPCA is a very good role model and has set a very good precedent for others to follow.

On the personal level, many of us carry out lots of TNR efforts with our own $$ instead of passing the animals to kill-shelters.

There are lots and lots of independent pet rescuers out there emptying their own pockets each month and giving up absolutely none of their rescued animals (over their dead bodies!) to the kill-shelters.

Last edited by FurKids; 12-17-2008 at 04:54 PM.
Old 12-17-2008, 04:43 PM

dEAR fURKIDS,

WHAT WOULD BE YOUR SUGGESTIONS?

I'VE BEEN IN SPCA EVERYDAY SINCE STRIPES WAS THERE AND SAW A LOT OF THINGS BEING DONE (NOT THE STAFF) BY THE HUMAN COMING AND GOING....

ITS HEART BREAKING... WHO AM I TO TELL THEM WHAT TO AND NOT TO DO...

ITS ALL ABOUT THE UP-BRINGING AND HOW WAS THE HEART BEING CONDITION SINCE BORN...

ITS EITHER WHAT THEY WANT TO BE (THE WANNA BEssssssss) OR WHAT OTHERS TOLD THEM TO DO / BE....

THE LEAST WE COULD DO NOW IS TRY OUR VERY BEST TO CREATE AND DEVELOP AN UNCONDITIONAL LOVE AMONG OURSELVES AND THE REST OF THE LIVING CREATURES.... INCLUDING MOTHER EARTH...
Sorry dear, these things need to be addressed at macro and not micro level. If you have been following my postings and visited the sites that the resources came from, you will see all that and all the critical success factors (CSFs).
Old 12-17-2008, 04:56 PM

yES I READ IT,

THE POINT HERE IS, WHY CANT THE INDEPENDENT RESCUER (NOT BLAMING THEM, AS I AM ONE TOO) VISIT THE SHELTER AND SPEND MORE TIME THERE AND RESCUE THE ANIMALS ON THE DEATH ROW?

I BELIEVE MOST OF US WOULD SACRIFICE MOST OF OUR MONEY / INCOME TO THESE STRAYS AND UNWANTED ANIMALS, BUT THEN AGAIN, WE LIVE IN MALAYSIA... MOST PEOPLE CANNOT GET TOGETHER FOR REAL... WHEN IT COMES TO ANIMALS, THERE'S TOO MANY PERSONAL RED-TAPE

SHALL I SAY MORE? THAT'S THE REASON WHY I'M SAYING ... CREATING THE AWARENESS IS REALLY IMPORTANT... WE HAVE TO START SOMEWHERE...
Old 12-17-2008, 05:05 PM

O.k, ok,

by god's willing i'll start something at the macro level...
Old 12-17-2008, 05:11 PM

yES I READ IT,

THE POINT HERE IS, WHY CANT THE INDEPENDENT RESCUER (NOT BLAMING THEM, AS I AM ONE TOO) VISIT THE SHELTER AND SPEND MORE TIME THERE AND RESCUE THE ANIMALS ON THE DEATH ROW?

I BELIEVE MOST OF US WOULD SACRIFICE MOST OF OUR MONEY / INCOME TO THESE STRAYS AND UNWANTED ANIMALS, BUT THEN AGAIN, WE LIVE IN MALAYSIA... MOST PEOPLE CANNOT GET TOGETHER FOR REAL... WHEN IT COMES TO ANIMALS, THERE'S TOO MANY PERSONAL RED-TAPE

SHALL I SAY MORE? THAT'S THE REASON WHY I'M SAYING ... CREATING THE AWARENESS IS REALLY IMPORTANT... WE HAVE TO START SOMEWHERE...
I am afraid you completely missed the point, dear ... the independent pet rescuers are out there busy rescuing the strays ... those animals on the death row are not supposed to be in the death row ... read all the postings and attachments SLOWLY and CAREFULLY ...
Old 12-17-2008, 05:18 PM

Check your pm...