Old 07-30-2008, 01:32 PM

rezuan is on a distinguished road
Smile Still new with cats, need advise

Hey guys,
Before this i really dont like cats, but after my sister gave me a siamese cat to adopt (since by daughters wants a cat) i became sooo into cats. I got a pair, female is Fila, male is Jack. But since im a first timer, i had to give Fila away...it was the saddest moment for me and my family. My daughter cried to sleep...but i guess its for the better.
I was wondering, if me and my family were to go for a vacation, can we leave jack at SPCA for them to take care. Is there such service in SPCA?
Can u guys advise me on the can food. I heard that some can food is very salty and its not good for their fur...what brand would u recomment. Currently im giving Jack Whiskers biscuits. But i tot of giving Jack some can food just for variety. Jack is kinda skinny, how do I fatten him up...?
God...there's alot of things that i need to read about cats, im spending most of my free time in office to read up bout cats and reading forums.
Im bathing jack once a week, is that ok...jack is ok with it, he doesnt retaliate or anything like that. I just want him to be clean coz the children likes to play with him.
enough for now.
Old 07-30-2008, 08:02 PM
PetFinder Fosterer

Mia_Katz is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Still new with cats, need advise

Hai Rezuan,
kalau boleh buat sendiri lagi bagus dari bagi can food. Just rebus ayam atau ikan, jangan letak ape ape masa rebus tu.

Whisker/Friskies biscuits (kibbles) tak berapa elok untuk jangka masa panjang. Kucing saya kena batu karang sebab bagi cat food ni. Cuba try brand lain yg jual di pet shop.

Kalau nak kucing tu gemok, spay adalah salah satu caranya. Lagipun kucing akan leih senang untuk dijaga. Jangan lupa untuk vaccin sekali untuk mengelakkan dari sebarang jangkitan.

Tak pasti sama ada SPCA buat boarding ke tidak. Tapi kebanyakan pet shop ada buat boarding. Cuma kena pastikan tempat boarding tu selesa untuk kucing. Kalau tak kucing akan stress sepanjang boarding dan mungkin ada masalah apabila pulang ke rumh nanti.
Old 07-31-2008, 02:55 PM

hi rezuan

i saw your post early morning and i had to restrain myself from replyg immediately cos you touched on a subject that's close to my heart - good long term health through proper food.

i've actually wrote a post on this subject somewhere in this forum (under cats nutrition) so please look it up. i don't want to repeat as it might take up space.

suffice to say, if you provide your kitten a good foundation by way of proper and appropriate food and also proper and good veterinary care, you'll definitely save on money in the long run, not only in terms of veterinary costs but also in terms of buying food.

remember the phrase: you are what you eat? applies equally to our furry companions.

seriously think of this line : try not to be penny wise but pound foolish.

i forgot to mention in my post on cat nutrition/food but the type of food you serve your cat also affect the smell of the stool.

i was just like you - a truly newbie and regular greenhorn when it comes to cats. you bring to mind myself as i was then, also surfing the net during office hours, hoping to find a glimmer of "enlightenment" on how to take care of kittens. my kittens came to me by way of their mom - she left them at my backyard. i had no answer no help no support from anyone so i just read and read whatever i can get whether at bookstore, library or internet.

in my search i came across this website and it absolutely contains a treasure trove of information from A to Z relating to cats and you can even sign up for e-class via newsletter teaching you the basics of caring for a kitten, etc, etc. very useful indeed. however i came across this website only after i've brought up my cats through trial and error, so i'm always eager to share with others so they don't repeat the mistakes i make.

the website is http://cats.about.com/

btw, i do agree with mia_katz. friskies and whiskas are not recommended, strongly not recommended and neither is Smartheart and another local brand with a green label (forgot the name). whiskas tend to cause diarrhea in kittens and this is dangerous to kittens.

however i beg to differ with mia_katz opinion that in order to "fatten" up a cat, get it spayed. getting it spayed/neutered ("kasi") is the correct choice if you're not into cat breeding and you won't be to be responsible for litters and litters of unwanted kittens (imagine the earliest a cat can get pregnant is at 4 months old - literally either teenage or childhood pregnancy and an unspayed female can give birth up to 4 times a year, averaging about 3 months once).

however if your aim and intention and objective is a healthy cat, that that's all should matter whether the cat is healthy but slim or healthy but within the permissible weight range.

take my anna. she is one slim cat. she is about 3.6kg and she's about 1 1/2 years old whereas gabriel the kitten i rescued (and is now rehoming) weighs around 2.7kg. gabriel is only between 3 - 4 months old. i've constantly checked with my vet whether anna is underweight and whether she's in danger of suffering internal organ damage from being so 'skinny'. my vet advised that each cat's physiology differs from one cat to another as it is mainly determined by genetics inherited so there's no hard and fast rule concerning "correct or right" weight of a cat and each cat's metabolism is different and this plays a role in determine the weight of your cat. if you're truly concerned that your kitty is quite thin/slim, then consult your vet - your vet should be able to address your concerns and advise you accordingly.

however the most important thing and one of the best thing you can do for your kitten now is to provide it with appropriate vaccination - strongly recommended.

oh on the issue of boarding i'm not sure about spca, you can check out their website : www.spca.org.my.

some veterinary clinics also provide boarding service, you need to check yourself. i can recommend pet epicure to you, they provide boarding services for cats only and they are also certified by an overseas organisation.

have fun and all the best . do share with us your progress. we'll also like to share in the growing-up of your kitten.

Last edited by ashleywong; 07-31-2008 at 03:10 PM.
Old 08-02-2008, 11:51 AM

Hi Mia & Ashley, Thanks for the advise...

Well right now jack is kinda lonely, so he's always making noise whenever we put him in his room. Oh! did i mention that Jack is kept indoor, we cleared our servant room for him to stay. I think its good for him to move around. Im not really sure how old is jack coz when they gave us jack, they said it was 2 months old, but he looks kinda big. Im guessing he must be around 3 or 4 months old.

Vaccination...i dont think jack has been vaccinated...where is there nearest vets in Ampang?

Most of the ppl that i know would let their cats outside...at what age can we put them outside? My sister told me that if the cat is too young, it might get lost and wont come back.

So Friskies and Whiskers are not good for the cat....no wonder jack eats soo little. well, ill go search for some other alternatives.

Ill keep u guys updated on the progress...later!
Old 08-02-2008, 10:17 PM

Wow Ashley... such good advice.. you're our resident cat-pert (Cat Expert).. hehe...

Here's your post on cat diet....

http://forums.petfinder.my/showthread.php?t=415
Old 08-03-2008, 11:23 AM

RoyBlue is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by rezuan View Post
Hi Mia & Ashley, Thanks for the advise...

Well right now jack is kinda lonely, so he's always making noise whenever we put him in his room. Oh! did i mention that Jack is kept indoor, we cleared our servant room for him to stay. I think its good for him to move around. Im not really sure how old is jack coz when they gave us jack, they said it was 2 months old, but he looks kinda big. Im guessing he must be around 3 or 4 months old.

Vaccination...i dont think jack has been vaccinated...where is there nearest vets in Ampang?

Most of the ppl that i know would let their cats outside...at what age can we put them outside? My sister told me that if the cat is too young, it might get lost and wont come back.

So Friskies and Whiskers are not good for the cat....no wonder jack eats soo little. well, ill go search for some other alternatives.

Ill keep u guys updated on the progress...later!

Most of the pet food sold in supermarkets/hypermarkets are not really good for your pet. Always.... ALWAYS get your pet food from a reputable pet shop which you can also get answers to your queries.

If you're going to put your pets outside, make sure you neuter/spay them to prevent unwanted pregnancies.
Old 08-04-2008, 08:11 AM

Hi Guys,
I've read this article in the net, its says siamese cats are the type that likes attention as compared to other breeds. I guess it is true coz jack is constantly demanding attention. He'll walk besides u, then lick u...is it ok for a cat to lick us?

Yesterday while me and my family were going out, we saw a kitten that was being left by its mommy. Im guessing the kitten must be a few weeks old. It was soo weak that it couldnt walk. My wife, who is well known for disliking cats, asked me to care for the kitten. so that is what i did.

We went to Carrefour Wangsa Manju, and bought Friskies for kitten biscuits. Thats the only brand that they have, its either Friskies or Whiskers. Im wondering, if those two brands are not good, how come they are selling and promoting it? Even Maria Tengku Sabri (the tv personality) is the spoke person for Whiskers right?

Anyway, Jack is being hyper constantly...and when i read this article about siamese cats needing the extra attention as compared to other breeds, it makes me think am i giving him the attention he wants. I mean, sometimes i just dont understand jack. he'll be making noise constantly, rubbing himself, licking ppl as if he's trying to say something. is it normal for a siamese cat or any other cat to do that? or is jack not feeling well and its his way of telling u something.

enough for now. later!
Old 08-04-2008, 10:06 AM

hi reduan and all

sorry i didn't check the post during weekend. it was taken up completely by my cats and gabriel and samantha.

friskies and whiskas did a lot of promotion. they always want to get some one well known or popular to be their spokesperson - that's the way advertising work. initially i thought it was good too until i tried it.

friskies is out, whiskas is out, smartheart is out (i met an owner who's cat got kidney stone from eating smart heart and the cat is not even fully 1 year old yet and is also obese). misha is out.

roy blue is right. go to a reputable pet supplies shop and they'll help you with your selection based on your budget.

if you're in ampang, you can actually visit pet epicure. that's the cat place run by the "cat people". although they run a pet supplies store that stock decent items for your pet needs and your needs also, they're into animal and rescue also. i always go there for my purchases when i can time it properly, if not i'll make a quick dash to the nearest store for my purchase and then time it so i can go back to them. i stay in tmn desa okr and i still travel to see them in tmn melawati for my purchases - that's saying a lot you know.

in any case, i used to let my 4 cats outdoor and one day i decided to keep them indoor and i find that the benefits of having them indoor far outweights denying them access to outdoor. it's easier for you if you decided to keep jack indoor, cos he's already indoor and he won't find it difficult.

okay, gotta go back to work now, l8r then
Old 08-04-2008, 10:11 AM

oh, it benefits you to keep jack indoor at least until 1 year old.

if he's around 4 months old now, the window for him to interact and get used to people is fast closing - so it really benefits you if you keep him indoor and socialise with him regularly so that he finally learns to interact with humans and trust them. because jack was not born in your house and didn't grow up with you, he won't recognise you that much or really recognise your house's location that well. i read that it takes a cat about minimum 6 months to learn to navigate the area around his house and have it imprinted in his memory.

if it's okay for you and your wife, keep him indoors. my cats cme to me when they were around 4months old also. it took us almost 6 months to get them to trust us and have faith with us enough to interact with us for us to get them indoors when ginger went out and got lost - either that or got cat-napped. he went missing and only returned about a month ago, dirtied, skinny and very scared of us. i didn't know how he did it but we're lucky that he found us. it's not always the case, cats that went missing most of the time are dead from road accidents or lost because they were eitehr chased by neighbours or other feral unneutered toms.

give your jack time to grow up and enjoy himself and learn to be a kitten because he only haev 1 chance to be a kitten and also chance to get to know you and your family better.
Old 08-08-2008, 05:22 PM

Default Vet in Ampang

Rezuan,u may try ARA Ampang Vet Clinic.look for Dr Jonathan.03-42567125. I send my cat for vaccination,deworm and boarding.so far so good.Dr Jonathan is a genuine animal lovers. u get more info than what you are paying for.such a friendly doctor.
Old 08-08-2008, 07:02 PM

Originally Posted by Mia_Katz View Post
Hai Rezuan,
kalau boleh buat sendiri lagi bagus dari bagi can food. Just rebus ayam atau ikan, jangan letak ape ape masa rebus tu.

Whisker/Friskies biscuits (kibbles) tak berapa elok untuk jangka masa panjang. Kucing saya kena batu karang sebab bagi cat food ni
In this part saya setuju dgn mia.....kalau you baca thread sub forum disease...
saya ada letak problem with my cat kidney.Becos dulu I gave them those Smxxt Hxxxx food.Then he bacame healthy again after the changes.

Hope this help.

Old 08-08-2008, 09:05 PM

Default Re: Vet in Ampang

Rezuan,u may try ARA Ampang Vet Clinic.look for Dr Jonathan.03-42567125. I send my cat for vaccination,deworm and boarding.so far so good.Dr Jonathan is a genuine animal lovers. u get more info than what you are paying for.such a friendly doctor.
June, you can also post your Vet Profile at the Vet and Doc recommendation forum found here:

http://forums.petfinder.my/forumdisplay.php?f=46

YOu can follow the instructions there... this way, we can discuss the individual docs or clinics.
Old 08-09-2008, 10:16 PM

Default Vet in Ampang

oh!! Dear Ezer. I make a mistake here.I post list of vets throughout Malaysia in the Health and Disease section.Maybe you can help me to move the thread where it belongs and reorganise the thread because it was a little bit messy when i copy and paste. I wanted it to be listing state by state but I jumble up everything.

June, you can also post your Vet Profile at the Vet and Doc recommendation forum found here:

http://forums.petfinder.my/forumdisplay.php?f=46

YOu can follow the instructions there... this way, we can discuss the individual docs or clinics.
Old 08-09-2008, 10:47 PM

Default Re: Vet in Ampang

June, can you create individual threads for each clinic on the Vet Review forum... it's ok to have the ALL in one recommendation as well... but we can use the individual ones to discuss for ppl who have experiences there... this way, it's more organized...