Go Back   PetFinder.my > PetFinder Lounge > Food & Recipes

Food & Recipes Drool over the tastiest cuisines and feast your eyes upon secret recipes!

Old 08-25-2008, 10:21 PM

Default Re: Where is the best Malay food?

Originally Posted by illa79 View Post
hi its me again..

lynie,blackie u may also want to try out Restoran Santai at Tesco Ampang/TTDI..if im not mistaken they have a few branches but i've only been to the 2 above.I love their Ikan Siakap Kerabu Mangga...love it,love it,love it..

another place worth checking out is Restoran Suraya at Kampung Baru..good food,reasonable price..they also have kerang bakar,mee celup,nasi air..

oops..another place is Kel Food (stands for Kelantan Food) near tmn melati,along MRR2 heading towards Gombak..its the same row as Hj Samuri Sate Kajang.a bit pricey,but good selection of lauk for nasi campur..expect a full hse on weekends during lunch.i like their nasi air..in the mornings they have all sorts of dishes from kuih to nasi kerabu,nasi dagang etc..
Thanks so much, Ila. Food really cheers me up......(ooops, I sound both gluttony and frivolous at the same time). Wow, now I have so many places to try out... yum-yum.......siakap kerabu mangga, mee celup, nasi air, nasi kerabu, nasi daging......(my hubby is drooling over kerang bakar...heehee)

I know where is Hj Samuri along the MRR2.....Kel Food got lekor or not? I love lekor, bought lots of it and the daging floss when I went to Terengganu/Lake Kenyir for holiday.

Blackie,I think the one in kampung baru I mentioned is Restoran Soraya.he!!he!he!! I forgot the name earlier.now I recalled after reading Ila's post. The restaurant was recommeded by my chef husband,ahem!!
haha, kak june......ok, now, I can thank you for the information...Wow, recommended by your chef husband, that means must go.....
Old 08-28-2008, 02:41 PM

sabrina.kss is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to sabrina.kss

Blackie, just want to make your mata semakin rambang hahaa..

If you are around Desa Pandan area, you may try Restoran Belanga. The price is also quite reasonable...
Old 08-28-2008, 03:21 PM

Thumbs up Re: Where is the best Malay food?

my best malay food is section 19 - i refer is the shack near the trees...

nice nice..and one of the best malay food i ever taste...

i think i gila with it as well

everything is nice there...

price wise - depending...but for less than RM10 you get a very nice portion ..

satay chicken nice
rendang......
red curry...everything is nice there
the makcik also very friendly :P
Old 08-28-2008, 05:03 PM

Originally Posted by sabrina.kss View Post
Blackie, just want to make your mata semakin rambang hahaa..

If you are around Desa Pandan area, you may try Restoran Belanga. The price is also quite reasonable...
Now you mentioned it, sabrina, I remember I've tried it before. Last year, during the Chinese new year holidays, we didn't go anywhere and stayed back in KL. So we drove around and found that restoran in Desa Pandan. I liked it so much I made my hubby take me there everyday for the what, 3 or 4 days of Chinese new year, hahaha.

But being someone who's constantly distracted by new things, I forgot about it. Thanks for reminding me.

my best malay food is section 19 - i refer is the shack near the trees...

nice nice..and one of the best malay food i ever taste...

i think i gila with it as well

everything is nice there...

price wise - depending...but for less than RM10 you get a very nice portion ..

satay chicken nice
rendang......
red curry...everything is nice there
the makcik also very friendly :P
Better eat puas2, vivien. when puasa month comes, all malay stalls and restorans will be closed during lunch, and some of them remained closed for dinner as well. But there'll be those buka puasa stalls.....yum-yum. Bangsar, the Telawi area, has lots of yummy buka puasa food...
Old 08-28-2008, 05:21 PM

Talking Re: Where is the best Malay food?

Now you mentioned it, sabrina, I remember I've tried it before. Last year, during the Chinese new year holidays, we didn't go anywhere and stayed back in KL. So we drove around and found that restoran in Desa Pandan. I liked it so much I made my hubby take me there everyday for the what, 3 or 4 days of Chinese new year, hahaha.

But being someone who's constantly distracted by new things, I forgot about it. Thanks for reminding me.

Better eat puas2, vivien. when puasa month comes, all malay stalls and restorans will be closed during lunch, and some of them remained closed for dinner as well. But there'll be those buka puasa stalls.....yum-yum. Bangsar, the Telawi area, has lots of yummy buka puasa food...

if im not mistaken during puasa time - the stall open hehee
cater for me ....

only the stall will be close on saturday -

normal days full force mon - sat !
it is so nice
until got a lot of meow meow roaming around to smell the ikan bakar or the cencaru stuffed with chili !
Old 08-28-2008, 05:29 PM

if im not mistaken during puasa time - the stall open hehee
cater for me ....

only the stall will be close on saturday -

normal days full force mon - sat !
it is so nice
until got a lot of meow meow roaming around to smell the ikan bakar or the cencaru stuffed with chili !
ooooh......got ikan bakar and cencaru stuffed with chilli ah........
Old 08-28-2008, 05:39 PM

ooooh......got ikan bakar and cencaru stuffed with chilli ah........
got....ikan bakar depending

cencaru stuffed chili got!!!!
got prawn
got sotong...
got kerang
got telur

er.... a lot............
Old 08-28-2008, 06:03 PM

got....ikan bakar depending

cencaru stuffed chili got!!!!
got prawn
got sotong...
got kerang
got telur

er.... a lot............
which part of section 19, vivien? any landmarks? is it open only lunch time?
Old 08-28-2008, 08:29 PM

which part of section 19, vivien? any landmarks? is it open only lunch time?
it is between section 17 and ss2

Do you know Damansara Intan??

It is behind damansara intan

near Ken damansara (ken 1)
Casa Damansara ....

if you are coming from damansara toll
let say from section 16
go straight
turn into section 17 - you see the shell station on your left
go straight till you come to a traffic light
after traffic light turn right to the first junction your right
follow the flow downhill till you see a shack with lots of trees on the left side
you cannot miss one during lunch time really a lot of cars!
Old 08-29-2008, 02:36 AM

it is between section 17 and ss2

Do you know Damansara Intan??

It is behind damansara intan

near Ken damansara (ken 1)
Casa Damansara ....

if you are coming from damansara toll
let say from section 16
go straight
turn into section 17 - you see the shell station on your left
go straight till you come to a traffic light
after traffic light turn right to the first junction your right
follow the flow downhill till you see a shack with lots of trees on the left side
you cannot miss one during lunch time really a lot of cars!
Thanks, Vivien. I know some of the landmarks you mentioned, for example, the shell station at section 17. Will look for it!
Old 08-29-2008, 12:04 PM

anytime blackie.. anyway, i'm a bit particular about eating outside.. so most of the time i cook myself.. save more money and quality is guaranteed.. tapi kalau tak sedap, sendiri makan jugak laa..
Old 08-29-2008, 12:20 PM

anytime blackie.. anyway, i'm a bit particular about eating outside.. so most of the time i cook myself.. save more money and quality is guaranteed.. tapi kalau tak sedap, sendiri makan jugak laa..
hehe, sabrina, i'm a chinese, so i don't know how to cook malay food....wanna eat malay food, have to go out......
Old 08-29-2008, 01:06 PM

hehe, sabrina, i'm a chinese, so i don't know how to cook malay food....wanna eat malay food, have to go out......
can learn maaa.. i also wud love to learn chinese cooking.. of course if u like, i can teach u some.. hehehe.. FOC..
Old 08-29-2008, 01:58 PM

Any landmarks, Mrs Mondok? Maybe this long merdeka weekend I can go jalan2 cari makan there....
.:: Restoran Gulai Kawah in front of Kompleks PKNS Bangi... Heheheh... Or else u can try D' Village, Soho or Yankies Hut nearby Kajang tol... The nearest landmark, Petronas after tol Kajang... ::.

Old 08-29-2008, 05:24 PM

i got no time to cook and also very lazy
can cook for me or for everyone else + all our pets ahhahaa
Old 08-30-2008, 02:23 PM

i got no time to cook and also very lazy
can cook for me or for everyone else + all our pets ahhahaa
can... why not.. but have to wait after i settle down with my BF and have our own place..

eerrkkkss... pets?? i don't know how to cook for them.. only human leh..
Old 08-30-2008, 11:37 PM

Originally Posted by Mr & Mrs Mondok View Post
.:: Restoran Gulai Kawah in front of Kompleks PKNS Bangi... Heheheh... Or else u can try D' Village, Soho or Yankies Hut nearby Kajang tol... The nearest landmark, Petronas after tol Kajang... ::.
Thanks, Mrs Mondok.....going anywhere for mush2 time this long weekend? U r a bit senyap these days, not like in the old kampung....u've been busy?

can... why not.. but have to wait after i settle down with my BF and have our own place..

eerrkkkss... pets?? i don't know how to cook for them.. only human leh..
ok, let's make a deal, sabrina....u teach me how to cook malay food, plus u cook for us humans, and we'll all chip in and help you move to your new home....how's that? good barter trade?
Old 08-31-2008, 12:07 PM

Thanks, Mrs Mondok.....going anywhere for mush2 time this long weekend? U r a bit senyap these days, not like in the old kampung....u've been busy?
.:: Yup... A bit busy... But, I still keep on eye of u... Hehhehe!!! ::.

Old 09-02-2008, 10:40 AM

ok, let's make a deal, sabrina....u teach me how to cook malay food, plus u cook for us humans, and we'll all chip in and help you move to your new home....how's that? good barter trade?
serious?? hey.. why not! it's good deal..
Old 09-02-2008, 09:29 PM

moggies is on a distinguished road

try the malay food at restoran ayam kampung in awan besar r&r. as the name suggests, their speciality is ayam kampung goreng (i'm guessing it means free range chicken in english?) served hot and fresh from the fryer.

www.moggiesplace.blogspot.com