Old 05-05-2009, 04:07 PM

Default PULAU KETAM DOG RESCUE MISSION - Updates

PULAU KETAM DOG RESCUE MISSION - Updates at http://www.mycen.com.my/rescue/updates.html

Mon, 04/05/09: Sabrina called to say the terrier pup rescued on Saturday is doing fine at the clinic. She is eating well. Although still looking very depressed, managed to wag her tail when Sabrina came to take her back to her animal shelter in Kuang, near Rawang.

Going back to the islands on Wednesday. Donald in Klang has arranged for some cages to be transferred to the island tomorrow (Tuesday) through village headman Mr Tan. Tan apparently is a fisherman and goes out to sea for days at a time.

Sabrina will also be contacting the Indonesians at the pontoons by phone for updates on the attempts at feeding and trapping. A mutual friend of me and Sabrina will be following us. Pamela Lim is an experienced dive instructor and animal lover. She will also act as water safety officer or 'life guard' for Sabrina and the volunteers.

Anyone knows anyone who can volunteer a boat and crew for free or for hire at nominal rates? It should be big enough to take about eight people including space for storing about 10 to 15 cages. If we can find a private boat, it will solve a lot of our headaches.

Kind folks are asking how they can donate. Funds can be banked in or transferred to:

Furry Friends Farm account at CIMB 1457-000-1182-05-6

You can also transfer via PayPal to tvsmith@gmail.com

Please retain transaction record / slip for verification and audit purposes.

Thank you all for your generosity. Keep em coming as it is still insufficient.

Updates by TV Smith
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies
Old 05-05-2009, 04:10 PM

Default PULAU KETAM DOG RESCUE MISSION - Updates

PULAU KETAM DOG RESCUE MISSION - Updates at http://www.mycen.com.my/rescue/updates.html

Tue, 05/05/09:
The power and reach of viral marketing via social networking sites is being demonstrated. From Facebook to Twitter, hundreds of thousands of caring netizens are helping to raise awareness to the plight of the Pulau Ketam dogs worldwide, overnight.

The issue is also highlighted by prominent Malaysian sopo blogs such as Malaysia Today, Zorro Unmasked, Lillian Chan, Antares, Tony Pua and hundreds of other equally important personal-type blogs. Of course, it helps that many of the concerned bloggers are friends in real life. Messages are also being posted on forums and chat rooms.

The net effect is very important. It sends a message to the perpetrators that there are greater number people out there who will not stand for such cruelty and that they will rise to the call for action.

It also draws a number of people with specialised skills and resources to come forward to offer help for the stranded animals. Funds are trickling in and will be utilised to save the castaways. So whether you took action by forwarding a mail alert, by posting it on blogs or forums, or by word of mouth, it is effective and it matters.

Animals everywhere have no MPs or spokespersons to represent them. Your collective voice and conscience is their only hope.

Updates by TV Smith
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies
Old 05-05-2009, 04:57 PM

Default Pulau Ketam Dog Rescue Mission

I think kayaks will make good vessels to manouver the mangroves as they can go through very shallow waters which the boats cannot.
Old 05-05-2009, 05:03 PM

Default Re: Pulau Ketam & MPK Klang Dump Dogs in Uninhabited Island

Originally Posted by melmel View Post
dogs were trapped by home made wooden crate, a few were burnt alived in d crate, many shipped off 2 uninhabited island, leaving tem starved 2 death, some were drown while trying 2 swim across 2 big rivers back 2 P.Ketam !!!

12 Apr, SPCA & DVS went there with few bags of dog kibbles tat sponsored by d chairperson .
Melmel,

I will download the a few photos from SPCA's file upon approval of management. You will see how it is and will show you the "skeletons" on the island. We ladies are planning to go ourselves and inviting those who are actually serious about helping these animals and good with "dog catching" skills. Wanna come with?

All of you out there, you can call me / us at 03 42535312 let me know and we will fix a date.

THE DOGS ARE NOT FRIENDLY.... THEY NEED OUR HELP...

Old 05-05-2009, 05:36 PM

rozzygee is on a distinguished road

I cant help crying reading this thread.. It was such inhuman! I pray hard to all of you who could make every effort to help them! Any effort to build a link for donations? From paypal for instance? Pls keep posting..
Old 05-05-2009, 06:35 PM

Originally Posted by rozzygee View Post
I cant help crying reading this thread.. It was such inhuman! I pray hard to all of you who could make every effort to help them! Any effort to build a link for donations? From paypal for instance? Pls keep posting..
Keep on praying dik. We are living in a cruel world. Send them your good thoughts.

Thanks.

With love...

Old 05-05-2009, 07:57 PM

nivek is on a distinguished road

Banking in my contribution tomorrow :) and at the same time these people should now officially be labeled as MASS MURDERERS similar to any war crime criminals. I'm a bit curios as to who got the contract to ship the 300 dogs over there in the first place, how much did it cost and who was the person who approved it.
Old 05-05-2009, 09:42 PM

Nivek said is right, I can see for here, the donation no is the solution, why i said that, they can save 10-20 dog, how about other, they still ship over and over there. Only we can do is PROTEST.
DONT SEND THOSE DOGS TO HELL. we going have a protest again. who going make a team?

Originally Posted by nivek View Post
Banking in my contribution tomorrow :) and at the same time these people should now officially be labeled as MASS MURDERERS similar to any war crime criminals. I'm a bit curios as to who got the contract to ship the 300 dogs over there in the first place, how much did it cost and who was the person who approved it.

Old 05-06-2009, 08:32 AM

Default Furry Friends Farm Sabrina Yeap racing against time to rescue the poor dogs

Originally Posted by rozzygee View Post
Rossygee, see PULAU KETAM DOG RESCUE MISSION - Updates at http://www.mycen.com.my/rescue/updates.html

Kind folks are asking how they can donate. Funds can be banked in or transferred to:

Last edited by FurKids; 05-06-2009 at 08:58 AM.
Old 05-06-2009, 08:47 AM

Default Urgent Rescue Mission in Action

… more updates from http://www.mycen.com.my/rescue/updates.html

Wed, 06/05/09:

REAL DANGERS

Our volunteer Communications Officer for the rescue mission, Zalina, brought up the issue of cannibalism and whether the dog-eating-dogs marooned on the island can be rehabilitated. Mark Jones, the Animal Welfare Director of Animals Asia Foundation chimed in:

Wild dogs learn to hunt as packs. Some feral dogs do revert to this kind of behavior, and I've seen packs of domestic dogs in Thailand that live perfectly well with people but will attack and kill a cat or an outsider dog should they have a mind to.

I think it's probably unlikely the dogs will "hunt" each other for food, although those that die or become very sick will inevitably become potential meals for those which remain. If these dogs have previous experience of people, it's probably unlikely they will actively attack anyone as a pack, although they will be scared and desperate and will no doubt defend themselves if they are cornered, so whoever is going onto the island to try and help will need to be very careful.

Disease is a real issue, particularly since the dogs were presumably randomly picked up and transferred to the island, because they will be weak and immune suppressed, and because they will have had close contact with each other and with the carcases of those which have died.

There will be a good chance that distemper, hepatitis, leptospirosis or parvovirus may be circulating among them. Is there any recent history of rabies in this area? Have those people who are planning to be closely involved received rabies vaccinations? It will be worth checking with the local clinic / hospital that they have the means to provide prophylactic rabies treatment should anyone involved get bitten.

I'll check with the local clinic when we re-visit the islands today.

Updates by TV Smith
Old 05-06-2009, 08:59 AM

Default Urgent Rescue Mission in Action

From http://www.mycen.com.my/rescue/index.html:

To donate or help

e-mail TV Smith at tvsmith@mycen.com.my or Sabrina Yeap at yeapwen@yahoo.com

Funds can be banked in or transferred to:

For info or enquiries:

The Rescue Mission Secretariat at +6012 378 3730 (Janet) or +6012 320 8090 (Zalina)

The Sec's E-mail is dogrescue.pk@gmail.com (see updates page for info)

Last edited by FurKids; 05-06-2009 at 09:05 AM.
Old 05-06-2009, 09:46 AM

rozzygee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Urgent Rescue Mission in Action

From http://www.mycen.com.my/rescue/index.html:

To donate or help

e-mail TV Smith at tvsmith@mycen.com.my or Sabrina Yeap at yeapwen@yahoo.com

Funds can be banked in or transferred to:

For info or enquiries:

The Rescue Mission Secretariat at +6012 378 3730 (Janet) or +6012 320 8090 (Zalina)

The Sec's E-mail is dogrescue.pk@gmail.com (see updates page for info)
This is great! At least those yg tak dpt turun padang like me can contribute our part by donating even a few cents. Maybe administrator can put a banner on PF homepage seeking donations for this mission? Others may do the same in their blogs..

Surprise to see Mr Smith from mycen.com.my here ! I hav chatted
with him in YM few years back when pak Lah is still around
Old 05-06-2009, 10:10 AM

Default Urgent Rescue Mission In Action - GOING MAINSTREAM, GOING UPSTREAM

Wed, 06/05/09:

GOING MAINSTREAM, GOING UPSTREAM

http://www.mycen.com.my/rescue/updates.html

The Star (which I used to write a column), The Sun and China Press carried stories on the dogs' ordeal today. I also spoke to YB S Manikavasagam, the MP of Kapar this morning. He has promised to 'facilitate'. Pulau Ketam falls under his constituency.

My friend and fellow-blogger Antares wrote: "The true measure of civilization is the way a community deals with social outcasts like immigrants (legal or otherwise), stray dogs, and the transgendered." By this measure, "we remain classified as an Uncivilized Feudal State of Well-Dressed Primates", according to him.

True. But we must also salute the many caring Malaysians who are redeeming this awful image through volunteering, supporting with hard-earned money and helping to draw attention to the plight of the exiled.

We're off to Dog Island again this morning.

Updates by TV Smith
Old 05-06-2009, 10:15 AM

Default Urgent Rescue Mission In Action - The Rescue Mission Secretariat.

From http://www.mycen.com.my/rescue/updates.html

The Rescue Mission Secretariat

Sabrina and myself are swarmed with e-mails. Which is a good thing. Many generous and caring folks are contacting us to contribute money and time. Among the many subjects, good folks want to confirm bank account details, ask if they can use paypal, inquire whether they can help or volunteer in other ways, send food, offer words of encouragement, etc, etc.

Me and Sabrina read and respond to every single mail from two different locations. It is almost non-stop work with a mail a minute for the whole day. And if we have inadvertently missed one or two, please accept our apologies. Please keep em coming though.

But once the real work starts in the high seas we are unable to reply immediately or as fast as we would like. It is dangerous to work on a laptop or a phone out on a swaying boat.

Thereby, I have initiated The Rescue Mission Secretariat. They will be managed by three great ladies with a proven track record as independent rescuers and as passionate animal welfare defenders. They are all musical stars in their own right too

Janet will handle publicity and donation info, While Zalina will be the media and press liaisons person and Nicole will assist them both.

They can be reached at +6012 378 3730 (Janet) or +6012 320 8090 (Zalina)
The Sec's E-mail is dogrescue.pk@gmail.com

You can still e-mail me and Sabrina at the earlier given addresses but do cc to the new e-mail, in case it goes unanswered for a while. Or you may write directly to this new e-mail address and cc to Sabrina and me. Or any combo or just pick up the phone and call them to ask...

Updates by TV Smith
Old 05-06-2009, 11:23 AM

Pix of P.Tengah bony dogs eating dog kibbles provided by SPCA

Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA) spokesman Jacinta Johnson said a relief team would be sent to Pulau Tengah TODAY to try and rescue the dogs. All volunteers r welcomed

“We will try to round up the healthier dogs and neuter them. For the weaker ones, we have no choice but to put them to sleep,” she added.

The Sun 6/5/09 Wed
'Banished’ Ketam dogs dying of hunger and thirst

PETALING JAYA (May 5, 2009) : Pulau Ketam folks' intention to save some 300 stays from being put to sleep by leaving them on an uninhabited isle has created an ironic tragedy of sorts.
According to a report in China Press today, apart from about 100 of the strays which are believed to have swum back to Pulau Ketam, the rest are believed to have died or are dying from hunger and thirst.

The dozen or so left on the isle survived by feeding on the carcasses of those which have died.

And now some of the 7,000 islanders, which are still dogged by more than 2,000 strays on Pulau Ketam, a fishing village off the coast of Port Klang, are rethinking their act of shipping more dogs to deserted isles.

Animal rights groups Save the Strays (SAS) and Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals, Selangor (SPCA) have organised trips to check on the conditions of the banished dogs, and the Furry Friends

Farm, an animal shelter, has swung into action to save the surviving dogs.

The poor treatment of the dogs by the islanders have caught the attention of some animal lovers. One of them wrote in his blog: "I am mounting an urgent rescue mission to capture and transport the remaining survivors back to Sabrina's (Yeap) Furry Friends Farm.

"But time is running out and there might be only skeletons and carcasses left to collect on our next trip.

"Boat hire is expensive there (Pulau Ketam). It is a tourist area and it has already cost me a few hundred ringgit for boat hire alone so far. The rescued dogs cannot be transported on the regular ferries."

According to press report, conditions on the mangrove isle where dogs were left to fend for themselves in the name of saving them were harsh.

The dogs were shipped to Pulau Selat Kering, which is about 45 minutes by boat from Pulau Ketam, and not the more hospitable Pulau Tengah.

The is no food and drinking water on Pulau Selat Kering, three quarters of which is submerged during high tides.

The islanders, who have had enough of the threats from the growing number of homeless dogs, had started rounding up the strays early this year.

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Star Wednesday May 6, 2009
Plight of the swamp dogs

PORT KLANG: Animal activist Sabrina Yeap couldn’t hold back her tears when she saw the condition of the dogs that Pulau Ketam residents had dumped on an uninhabited island.
“They were wandering aimlessly, often looking towards Pulau Ketam with eyes that appeared empty and listless,’’ said Yeap who went to Pulau Tengah last Saturday to check on the welfare of the dogs.
Several fishermen, a volunteer, and blogger TV Smith accompanied Yeap on the trip to the island, which is in the middle of a mangrove swamp.

“The fishermen told us that some of the dogs had died of starvation, and those that are alive ate the carcasses,’’ said Yeap.

Waiting to be rescued: Several of the abandoned dogs on Pulau Tengah looking wistfully at the approaching visitors. Inset: Yeap bringing an injured Hope back to the mainland.
Pulau Ketam residents had trapped some 400 dogs and transported them to Pulau Tengah to ease the stray dog population on their island.

Yeap said the fishermen told her that some of the dogs had tried to swim back to the main island but had been shooed away, resulting in some of them drowning.

“It was a pitiful sight, and I couldn’t stop crying after I saw what was happening to the dogs there,’’ said Yeap.
She added that she would be taking 20 dogs to her Furry Friends Farm in Kundang to be rehabilitated and eventually re-homed.

“I wish I could take in more dogs, but can’t due to space and financial constraints,’’ said Yeap, who managed to save a dog she found trapped in the mud.

The dog, since named Hope, is recuperating at a veterinary clinic pending transfer to Yeap’s sanctuary.
Yeap said she hoped farm and orchard owners would come forward to adopt some of the abandoned dogs.
Kapar MP S. Manikavasagam said he would be visiting Pulau Ketam to talk to the residents over what they had done (Pulau Ketam and Pulau Tengah fall under the Kapar parliamentary constituency).
“It is wrong to dump dogs where they cannot survive. I will bring this matter up with the relevant authorities,’’ he said.

Manikavasagam added that he was prepared to accompany Yeap and Smith on their next visit to Pulau Tengah.
Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA) spokesman Jacinta Johnson said a relief team would be sent to Pulau Tengah to try and rescue the dogs.
“We will try to round up the healthier dogs and neuter them. For the weaker ones, we have no choice but to put them to sleep,” she added.

The SPCA would also seek the cooperation of Pulau Ketam residents to set up a temporary dog shelter if required.

Name:	ketam 2.jpg
Views:	88
Size:	19.7 KB
ID:	5024   Click image for larger version

Name:	Ketam 3.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	18.8 KB
ID:	5026  

Last edited by melmel; 05-06-2009 at 12:01 PM.
Old 05-06-2009, 11:41 AM

Default The Star - Plight of the swamp dogs

From The Star

WAITING TO BE RESCUED

Picture below shows several of the abandoned dogs on Pulau Tengah looking wistfully at the approaching visitors.
Inset: Sabrina Yeap bringing an injured Hope back to the mainland.

---------------------------------------------------------------------------
PORT KLANG: Animal activist Sabrina Yeap couldn’t hold back her tears when she saw the condition of the dogs that Pulau Ketam residents had dumped on an uninhabited island.

“They were wandering aimlessly, often looking towards Pulau Ketam with eyes that appeared empty and listless,’’ said Yeap who went to Pulau Tengah last Saturday to check on the welfare of the dogs.

Several fishermen, a volunteer, and blogger TV Smith accompanied Yeap on the trip to the island, which is in the middle of a mangrove swamp.

“The fishermen told us that some of the dogs had died of starvation, and those that are alive ate the carcasses,’’ said Yeap.

Pulau Ketam residents had trapped some 400 dogs and transported them to Pulau Tengah to ease the stray dog population on their island.

Yeap said the fishermen told her that some of the dogs had tried to swim back to the main island but had been shooed away, resulting in some of them drowning.

“It was a pitiful sight, and I couldn’t stop crying after I saw what was happening to the dogs there,’’ said Yeap.

She added that she would be taking 20 dogs to her Furry Friends Farm in Kundang to be rehabilitated and eventually re-homed.

“I wish I could take in more dogs, but can’t due to space and financial constraints,’’ said Yeap, who managed to save a dog she found trapped in the mud.

The dog, since named Hope, is recuperating at a veterinary clinic pending transfer to Yeap’s sanctuary.

Yeap said she hoped farm and orchard owners would come forward to adopt some of the abandoned dogs.

Kapar MP S. Manikavasagam said he would be visiting Pulau Ketam to talk to the residents over what they had done (Pulau Ketam and Pulau Tengah fall under the Kapar parliamentary constituency).

“It is wrong to dump dogs where they cannot survive. I will bring this matter up with the relevant authorities,’’ he said.

Manikavasagam added that he was prepared to accompany Yeap and Smith on their next visit to Pulau Tengah.

Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA) spokesman Jacinta Johnson said a relief team would be sent to Pulau Tengah to try and rescue the dogs.

The SPCA would also seek the cooperation of Pulau Ketam residents to set up a temporary dog shelter if required.

Name:	dogs.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	38.0 KB
ID:	5027  
Old 05-06-2009, 03:50 PM

Default Survival of the fittest

Survival of the fittest

Wednesday, May 6th, 2009 07:12:00
Source URL: http://www.mmail.com.my/content/survival-fittest

LEFT to fend for themselves on an uninhabited island, abandoned stray dogs at Pulau Selat Kering have resorted to eating each other to survive.

This was the gruesome finding when Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA) animal inspectors and Save A Stray (SAS) founder Jacqueline Tsang visited the deserted island off Pulau Ketam on Monday.

It prompted SPCA and SAS to launch a rescue mission to the island today to rescue the surviving dogs.

The island was one of three uninhabited islands on which hundreds of dogs have been abandoned by Pulau Ketam villagers to rid its village of its stray population, which it claimed had reached 2,000.

In a release by SPCA, it stated that the visit to the island confirmed its worst fears.

On approaching the island, the team saw 10 emaciated dogs feasting on the remains of another dog.

“They were fighting among each other for a small meal. The stronger dogs dominated.

“The weaker dogs sat at a distance. Nearby, a weak dog screamed as several dogs tried to bite it.”

SPCA stated that the sounds of dogs fighting could be heard nearby. It was said the dogs were skinny and appeared to be starving as they had been deprived of food for weeks.

Today, SAS, SPCA animal inspectors and kennel workers will visit the island to rescue the dogs. They will then be transported back to the main island for safekeeping and rehabilitation.

“Dogs which are too weak or too sickly will be euthanised on the spot to prevent further suffering,” the release further stated. Those not euthanised will be monitored daily and once healthy, will be neutered and given new homes or relocated.

SPCA also stated that the Sungai Limau village head and Ketam Dog Catching Committee has agreed to cooperate with the society on matters such as the emergency rescue, its long-term sterilisation plan as well as on the relocation of the strays.
Old 05-06-2009, 03:56 PM

News From SPCA Selangor
For release on Wednesday, 6th May 2009

Abandoned Dogs Cannibalizing Each Other
SPCA Selangor & Save A Stray Start Emergency Relief Efforts Today

4th May 2009, KLANG – SPCA Selangor Animal Inspectors and Save A Stray founder Jacqueline Tsang made another trip to Pulau Ketam and the neighbouring uninhabited island on Monday to check on the dogs that had been abandoned on Pulau Selat Kering.

What they witnessed confirmed their worst fear.

The dogs have no choice but to eat carcasses of other dogs, as there is no other source of food available for weeks

Upon approaching Pulau Selat Kering, the team saw approximately 10 dogs on the fringe of the island. When they moved closer, a horrific sight unfolded. Several emaciated dogs were crowded and hunched around something – they were hungrily feasting on the remains of another dog.

They were fighting amongst each other for a small meal. The stronger dogs dominated, while weak dogs sat at a distance and watched helplessly. Nearby, a weak dog was screaming because several dogs were trying to bite her. The sound of dogs fighting could be heard in the distance intermittently. The dogs were starving, and very skinny – they had not had a proper food source for weeks.

Dogs eating the dog kibbles hungrily

About 15 more dogs were seen resting among the mangroves. Inspector Murugan walked through the swampland and quickly emptied two 15-kilo bags of dog food onto the sand, and filled up a bucket with clean drinking water. The dogs immediately rushed out towards the food, and ate hungrily.

Upon reaching back to the main island (Pulau Ketam), the team met with the Sungai Lima village head (also facing a stray dog crisis), and Mr Loo (Secretary of Ketam Dogs Catching Committee). They agreed to cooperate with SPCA & SAS on emergency rescue and relief efforts for the abandoned dogs, as well as long-term plans sterilize the dogs and either rehome or relocate them.

Immediate Action

Today (6th May 2009), Jacqueline from SAS, SPCA Animal Inspectors, SPCA Vet Dr Goh and SPCA Kennel worker Maran have gone to Pulau Selat Kering to start catching and transporting as many abandoned dogs back to the main island of Pulau Ketam for rehabilitation and safekeeping. Dogs that are too weak or sickly will be euthanized humanely on the spot, to prevent them from suffering further.

The dogs will be provided with food and water everyday, and will be monitored while confined in cages. Once they are healthy enough, the dogs will be neutered and re-homed or re-located.Thus far, 10 cages have been secured (5 donated, and 5 purchased by SPCA) for the transportation and confinement of the dogs.

Updates will be posted on a daily basis on the SPCA Website www.spca.org.my

How You Can Help

Approximately 100 - 200 dogs are still on the island, and need to be relocated immediately

SPCA and SAS are appealing to the public to contribute to their Pulau Ketam fund, to aid the emergency rescue and relief efforts over the next several weeks. Funds will be utilized to hire boats for transportation of the dogs, purchase dog food, medical supplies and cages. The start-up fund is RM1,300 – proceeds from a networking event SPCA organized last Sunday.

We also appreciate donations in kind – 3’ x 3’ multipurpose cages, dog biscuits and canned food, food and water bowls, towels, water storage containers, and flea/tick spray. All donated items can be sent to the SPCA Animal Shelter in Ampang Jaya.

Donate Online
Please click here to make a donation through our ipay88.com account. Please indicate that the donation is for the Pulau Ketam Project.

Fund Transfers & Cheques
You can bank in the payment to our RHB account (Account No: 2-12273-00021583). Please call or e-mail us at enquiries@spca.org.my to notify us of your bank-in donation and transaction details.

Please make all cheques to the Society For The Prevention of Cruelty To Animals (please write Pulau Ketam fund on the reverse), and mail to ;

SPCA Selangor
Jalan Kerja Ayer Lama
68000 Ampang Jaya
Selangor Darul Ehsan

Enquiries: 603-4256 5312 (8am - 4.30pm), 4253 5312 (10am – 6.30pm)

Volunteers
If you are an experienced dog-handler, animal rescuer or vet and interested in assisting with the emergency rescue and relief work, or able to foster adult dogs or puppies temporarily, please send us an e-mail immediately at enquiries@spca.org.my . There are hundreds of dogs and puppies that need your help, every bit counts!

Background Information
Pulau Ketam consists of two settlements - Pulau Ketam Village and Sungai Lima Village. Both villages claim to have been facing a stray dog crisis for the last several years. Earlier this month, newspapers reported that Pulau Ketam villagers were trapping stray dogs and transporting them to a 3 vacant island in a desperate attempt to reduce the population of dogs. Sungai Lima villagers later started a similar operation.

Pulau Ketam villagers reported that 312 dogs had already been trapped and abandoned on uninhabited Pulau Tengah out of an estimated population of 2000, while Sungai Lima villagers estimated their stray dog population to be around 600.
SPCA Animal Inspectors Cunera and Murugan, and SAS founder Jackie Tsang made a trip to Pulau Ketam earlier this week. They found that most of the villagers owned dogs themselves, and had no intention of causing harm to the strays on the island. They were frustrated at the stray dog population, which is quickly spiraling out of control – the villagers estimate that there are approximately 2000 strays on the island. The villagers said that they did not want the dogs caught and euthanized, and thought that leaving them to survive on another island would be better. The villagers were upset with the reports in the media, which claimed that they had been burning the dogs or abusing them – which they denied doing.
The team found that during the day time, there were dozens of stray cats and dogs roaming the island. However, when they surveyed a part of the town from 12.30pm-1.30am, they counted 82 dogs in just a small area. The dogs look generally healthy, with several suffering from minor injuries.
At a meeting with the village leaders, they agreed to support a mass sterilization effort for both stray and pet dogs (and cats) by SPCA and SAS.

PLEASE HELP US HELP THESE DOGS.

SPCA Selangor | Jln Kerja Ayer Lama, 68000 Ampang Jaya, Selangor | T: 42565312/ 42535179 F: 42528382 | spca@streamyx.com
SPCA Selangor 2009, All Rights Reserved.

Click Here If You Are Having Problems Viewing This E-mail >>

-------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
If you wish to stop future mailings, or if you feel you have been wrongfully placed in our mailing list,
please click here to Unsubscribe. Please do not reply this email.
Old 05-06-2009, 03:57 PM

sorry i couldn't copy and paste the photos from that email...
Old 05-06-2009, 04:07 PM

Default Pulau Ketam - full of crap!

Pulau Ketam - full of crap!

Name:	crab-island.jpg
Views:	83
Size:	42.1 KB
ID:	5029