Old 05-07-2009, 12:57 PM

Default Re: Urgent Rescue Mission In Action - The Rescue Mission Secretariat.

[QUOTE=jenn;43167]
Originally Posted by Ketam village head [B
CHA KENG LEE [/B], who initiated tis cruelty act, has no regret wen i cal him. he defended his act by claiming d dogs were dumped in a so - called paradise island !!![/QUOTE

speachless
Leave them be at the moment Melmel, lets just focus in rescuing the poor dogs. We are going again tomorrow before sunrise. Wanna come with? You are good at catching dogs. I know the efforts you've put in all this while.

Old 05-07-2009, 01:00 PM

Default Re: Pulau Ketam & MPK Klang Dump Dogs in Uninhabited Island

If we wait till we are finished with the rescue before commencing the education program we will never do the second part. Even now with the dogs unspayed another batch of pups are waiting to be born. Its never going to stop to let you say finish this first then you can do the other half :(
Old 05-07-2009, 01:09 PM

Originally Posted by Sashy View Post
If we wait till we are finished with the rescue before commencing the education program we will never do the second part. Even now with the dogs unspayed another batch of pups are waiting to be born. Its never going to stop to let you say finish this first then you can do the other half :(
Kalau dari dulu pun tak buat tunggu kena buat rescue dulu baru nak halt the rescue utk buat? Itu pun tak tahu akan betol-betol buat ke tidak ... atau pun masih nak cakap-cakap lagi ... gua tatau ... better not waste my time ... better go participate in rescue ($$ wise) ... at least Sabrina comes back with tangible results ... no joke woh ... to be stranded on an island with no food and water, risk of drowning or attacked by other dogs or dying of sickness and immense pain waiting for death that would not come ...
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies
Old 05-07-2009, 02:36 PM

Originally Posted by jenn View Post

i'm a person who did't contribute... but for all da ppl out there who r doing the saving/helping/rescuing i'm really impresive with what u guys r doing... just wanna wish u guys all da best and do take care while doing da rescue...
ADD OIL, GANBATEH!!
That is helping too my dear friend. Pray for the dogs there. Send them your prayers and good thoughts....

Old 05-07-2009, 02:44 PM

I see what you are saying Blackie007, it does sound like a good place that SPCA can visit every 5 months to spay and neuter dogs. After 2-3 visits, most puppies born that were being conceived should be born, and quickly spayed under a sponsored program (now is a good time to stock up funds for the necessary visits to Pulau Ketam). Since most villagers know each other, they should also know whose dogshave not been spayed and with this type of program, can encourage each other to spay their dogs when the SPCA visits. Otherwise, this problem will simply keep recurring, which leads to a lot of inconvenience for the villagers themselves.

In the long run, as the children move out of this village they too will carry a responsible pet ownership mentality with them as they go (from being educated by SPCA, and watching their elders practice spaying and neutering), and slowly influence others to spread this mindset
Well thought... Will forward this to the rest of SPCA members.

Old 05-07-2009, 02:49 PM

Default Finally, the ugly truth is out ….

Originally Posted by nivek View Post
Banking in my contribution tomorrow :) and at the same time these people should now officially be labeled as MASS MURDERERS similar to any war crime criminals. I'm a bit curios as to who got the contract to ship the 300 dogs over there in the first place, how much did it cost and who was the person who approved it.

Finally, the ugly truth is out ….

By Neville Spykerman
http://www.kurauking.com/journal/kla...am-stray-dogs/

PULAU KETAM, Selangor, May 6

The capture and dumping of stray dogs from Pulau Ketam to other islands were sanctioned and funded by Klang Municipal Council and councillors.

A total of 312 dogs were captured and transported to several islands between February 27 and March 12 and the council allegedly paid for each capture while a councillor used his allocations to transport the dogs to the islands.

Selangor executive councillor Elizabeth Wong today told The Malaysian Insider she was outraged at the action of the council.

“I have received information that money came from the municipal council for each dog captured.”

Wong said she had brought the matter up with her executive council colleague Ronnie Liu who is in charge of local councils on Monday and had urged him to investigate the case.

She added that the islands off Pulau Ketam are reserves and the culprits had committed an offence in dumping the dogs there.

They should be charged in court.” she said. Meanwhile, Kapar Member of Parliament S. Manikavasagam said he believed the move to transport the dogs were the work of ill-informed municipal councillors acting beyond their powers.

“I don’t blame the villagers because they have been struggling with the problem for so long but the councillors should know better.”

Manikavasagam who visited Pulau Selat Kering where some of the dogs were abandoned said the state should tighten the leash on some of their councillors.

Speaking to the media today, some villagers tried their hand at damage control by claiming half the dogs abandoned had already made their way back to Pulau Ketam.

“I’ve seen groups of dogs, up to eight of them sometimes, swimming back during low tide,” said one villager.

However, this had been disputed by Sabrina Yeap from Furry Friends Farm which has been mounting rescue operations to save the animals. “There is no way half the dogs could swim back to Pulau Ketam because of their weakened condition.”

Yeap added that websites highlighting the plight of the animals had helped raise over RM5,000 from outraged members of the public who want them to rescue the dogs.

Also helping to rescue the dogs from the island this morning were volunteers from the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA) and Save a Stray.

Save a Stray founder Jacqueline Tsang said despite their best efforts they managed to just lure two dogs into their cages.

Tsang said the Veterinary Services Department needs to step in with a tranquiliser gun in order to sedate and rescue the other dogs.

Meanwhile, another 1,500 stray dogs remain in Pulau Ketam.

Tsang said most of the dogs are offspring of abandoned pets and the villagers have themselves to blame.

She said a long term solution for the problem is for the strays to be sterilised to keep them from breeding.

However, the move could cost as much as RM90 per animal and they are appealing to the government to step in.

Tsang said the money spent capturing and transporting the animals to the islands could have been better used to sterilise the animals.

Villagers and volunteers from non-governmental organisations are expected to meet officials from the Klang Municipal Council on Monday to find a solution to the problem.

SOURCE :- Malaysia Insider

-------------------------------------------------------

Picture 1: An emaciated dog eating food left for the marooned strays by the SPCA in Pulau Selat Kering. – Picture by Choo Choy May

Picture 2: This file photo shows how the dogs were caged, then transported from Pulau Ketam to be dumped in nearby deserted islands.

Picture 3: Map of the islands in Pulau Ketam detailing the location where the stray dogs are being dumped.

Picture 4: Animal rescuer Jackie Tsang (from SAS) is seen here explaining to Klang MP S.Manikavasagam about the dogs that had been abandoned in Pulau Selat Kering. – Picture by Choo Choy May

Picture 5: Two dogs which were eventually lured into cages after much effort by the animal activists while at Pulau Selat Kering. – Picture by Choo Choy May

Name:	dogs1.jpg
Views:	93
Size:	34.5 KB
ID:	5072   Click image for larger version

Name:	dogs2.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	20.5 KB
ID:	5073   Click image for larger version

Name:	dogs3.jpg
Views:	81
Size:	21.9 KB
ID:	5074   Click image for larger version

Name:	dogs4.jpg
Views:	103
Size:	18.5 KB
ID:	5075   Click image for larger version

Name:	dogs5.jpg
Views:	90
Size:	28.5 KB
ID:	5076  

"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies

Last edited by FurKids; 05-07-2009 at 02:59 PM.
Old 05-07-2009, 03:19 PM

Default Weak end up as meat

The story:

While the Sungai Limau settlement has yet to transport any of its strays to any of the islands, as done by this Pulau Ketam village, it was planning to do so. They have since scrapped the plan and are now helping Yeap to save the animals instead.

When the Sungai Limau settlement headman saw the situation on the island himself, he was in tears ...

------------------------------

Weak end up as meat

Wednesday, May 6th, 2009 07:06:00
http://www.mmail.com.my/content/weak-end-meat

IT is time to right the wrong done to man’s best friend. A month after news surfaced that hundreds of stray dogs were abandoned on three deserted islands off Pulau Ketam by frustrated villagers there, various animal welfare groups have been making plans to rescue these canines.

But if they are going to give them a second chance at life, they will need to act fast. It was reported that villagers were desperate for a humane solution to their years-long stray dog dilemma.

They thought that by putting them on the islands nature would provide them ample food and a vast space to roam about uninhibited.

They would also be out of reach of the Klang Municipal Council dog-catchers and therefore out of danger of being put to sleep.

However, the island proved to be no sanctuary for these unfortunate dogs. To date, it is claimed that more than half of the 300 dogs left on one of the islands, Pulau Tengah, have died.

The rest are suffering from starvation or dehydration. Worse still, on Pulau Selat Kering, dogs were found to be attacking and cannibalising each other

Hearing about the dogs’ plight led one citizen to take action. Furry Farm Friends principal Sabrina Yeap decided to launch a rescue mission.

Together with blogger TV Smith, the Sungai Limau headman, identified only as Tan, and his relative, they visited Pulau Tengah last Saturday expecting to find “only skeletons and carcasses”.

While an unknown number of dogs were still alive, Yeap said she was saddened by what she saw.

“We were able to rescue one seven-month-old bitch from the island that day. As she was too dehydrated and scrawny, we could not vaccinate her immediately as we needed to provide her with psychological therapy due to the trauma she had undergone on the island.”

Luckily, Yeap reported that the dog, subsequently named Happy, has begun wagging her tail and was discharged from the veterinary clinic on Monday.
Happy is now Yeap’s rescue mission mascot. She aims to educate the villagers on animal welfare as well.

In only a day after launching her bid to rescue the dogs yesterday, Yeap said her team was able to collect RM5,000. They aim to collect another RM5,000 before the first rescue trip sets off this Saturday.

While the Sungai Limau settlement has yet to transport any of its strays to any of the islands, as done by this Pulau Ketam village, it was planning to do so.

They have since scrapped the plan and are now helping Yeap to save the animals instead.

“In fact, when he (the headman) saw the situation on the island himself, he was in tears.

“In return for his help, we have promised to remove at least 20 dogs from Sungai Limau, on top of the dogs we will rescue from the island.”

She assured that dogs rescued from Pulau Tengah would be sterilised, vaccinated and dewormed.

Funds are needed to hire a boat to and from the island, for cages and vet fees, among others.

Name:	6May09_eating.jpg
Views:	85
Size:	18.2 KB
ID:	5082   Click image for larger version

Name:	6May09_banner.jpg
Views:	118
Size:	33.6 KB
ID:	5083   Click image for larger version

Name:	6May09_dogsmarch.jpg
Views:	89
Size:	33.5 KB
ID:	5084  
Old 05-07-2009, 03:22 PM

Kalau dari dulu pun tak buat tunggu kena buat rescue dulu baru nak halt the rescue utk buat? Itu pun tak tahu akan betol-betol buat ke tidak ... atau pun masih nak cakap-cakap lagi ... gua tatau ... better not waste my time ... better go participate in rescue ($$ wise) ... at least Sabrina comes back with tangible results ... no joke woh ... to be stranded on an island with no food and water, risk of drowning or attacked by other dogs or dying of sickness and immense pain waiting for death that would not come ...
Don't get me wrong, I am not criticizing or condemning the efforts of the rescuers. What they do is commendable indeed.

However! The question is, how long and how much do you expect people like Sabrina and Jacqueline to do? How many animals can they feed and foster, how much space do they have? For each animal they rescue, how many more are left to rot? In this case alone, so far they have managed to rescue 3 dogs, another 300 dead or dying that they simply cannot reach. I think it's very demoralizing for them as well, all their effort to save these animals which NEED NOT HAVE been in this position at all IF ONLY people had been educated.

BUT! If they had been trying to educate the public before this... from what Blackie007 has posted, do you think the villagers would have been receptive to a Responsible Pet Ownership and Neutering Campaign? Sure kena laugh and halau. Until the issue became a problem that is tangible, that they can see, and can and has affected them, these villagers minds were closed to such programs. But even though the dogs were a nuisance, they did not just go shoot the strays, they did what they thought was best for both human and animals. Even if the idea wasn't the best thought out (Let us discuss foolish MP's and Majlis's in a different topic. These people are educated and should have been more aware and thoughtful before taking hasty actions) the villagers didn't want to cull the strays out of hand.

That is why I suggest Animal Welfare groups strike now, while peoples minds are open and receptive to new ideas. We need people like Sabrina and Jacqueline to help save a desperate population of canines, and we also need Educators who can ensure that Sabrina and Jacqueline can make a bigger impact in their good work.
Old 05-07-2009, 03:25 PM

In regards to the Sungai Limau settlemen, I'm so happy to hear that they have scrapped their plan to deport their strays. Perhaps Welfare groups can help them out by spaying all the pets and as many strays as possible (sponsored/partially sponsored), while also removing some strays for some immediate population control. Its a prime area for Neuter-and-Release population control programs, and also for groups to educate the public on responsible ownership
Old 05-07-2009, 03:37 PM

how long and how much do you expect people like Sabrina and Jacqueline to do? How many animals can they feed and foster, how much space do they have? ...

BUT! If they had been trying to educate the public before this... from what Blackie007 has posted, do you think the villagers would have been receptive to a Responsible Pet Ownership and Neutering Campaign? Sure kena laugh and halau. Until the issue became a problem that is tangible, that they can see, and can and has affected them, these villagers minds were closed to such programs.
Hahahahaahaaa!!! If I remember correctly if anyone had suggested to our SPCA to do it and educate those goddamned adults instead of schoolkids (like HK SPCA and other modern shelters have been doing ... and succeeding) those kuncu SPCA sondrik pun laugh and halau (eh, Khengteik? ... label anti-SPCA konon ...). Sekarang sudah kena besar-besaran baru tau bising ...
Old 05-07-2009, 03:55 PM

Originally Posted by nivek View Post
Another Malaysia Boleh project by the authorities?
Insyallah...

Old 05-07-2009, 04:43 PM

Thumbs up I like this nice piece from Malaysian Insider on compassion ...

I like this nice piece from Malaysian Insider (http://www.themalaysianinsider.com/l...php?id=25667):

------------------------------------

Raja Petra Kamaruddin wrote:

"...But Malays have no excuse because Malays are always foaming at the mouth screaming about Islam -- and Islam is very specific about how animals should be treated. Torturing animals or showing cruelty to animals goes against the teachings of Islam and there are no two ways about it.

I will close by relating a story about Prophet Muhammad that is quite popular and often enough related. One day, Prophet Muhammad was on a journey with some of his followers and he saw a prostitute giving a dog a drink of water in the cup of her hands. The Prophet commented that the prostitute is destined for heaven.

Heaven? How can a prostitute go to heaven? And one who allows a �dirty� dog to drink from her hands on top of that. And the Prophet explained that she is going to heaven because she showed compassion to the dog."

Unbelievable??? Believe it.
Old 05-07-2009, 04:50 PM

My visit to Death island for dogs
dumped Local Pulau Ketam stray dogs
There was barely sufficient land for the dogs to stand on
By: Teoh El Sen
Malay Mail Thursday, May 7th, 2009 06:24:00

I EXPECTED blood, death and mad dogs chewing on the bones of their own kind. But what I saw yesterday was even worse. Though never a dog lover, there was something that touched this cold heart of a crime journalist.

RESCUED: The two dogs saved from the Selat Kering island taking a rest after they were put on the boat yesterday

Something that made me care for these creatures a little more than I would have expected to. I had followed the early morning rescue team to save dogs that had been unceremoniously dumped on an island some 25 minutes by boat from Pulau Ketam.

During the ride, I was thinking that I would be seeing a pack of angry snarling wild dogs, all barking at us, waiting to be rescued.

Animals that have gone mad from days of starvation, or from the fact that they had eaten one of their kind. And were just ready to snap at the next living thing that came their way. But as the boat neared Pulau Selat Kering, what I saw was truly a pitiful sight.

An island it was, but there wasn’t even enough land for the dogs to stand on!

We spotted a cute terrier-like puppy crouched on a branch, looking forlornly at the sea. It looked like that thick branch was the only “land” it had known for quite a while.

When workers from the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA) waded onto a small shore (always wary of quicksand) and placed a pack of feed to lure the dogs, it was then that I thought I saw more in the lives these dogs had been forced to cling to. They were thin and emaciated.

Most hardly had the strength to walk straight, let alone bark. In a short while a group of dogs gathered around the food, quickly chewing and swallowing what they could, lest the “miracle” disappeared all too soon.

And as we observed the feeding scene before us, I thought to myself, what could that one dog be thinking? Of the days he fed on scraps of who-knows-what and if he was lucky, a fish carcass?

Of the day he witnessed one of his kind becoming food for the others or how he succumbed to hunger and took a bite too? Of how and why these humans have come here. Possibly to haul them in cages to another prison of sorrow? Or maybe he was pondering the fate of a kinsman, who braved the open sea in search of home, and failed.

The wide-eyed dog simply trotted over and joined his two friends to munch on the food. But then came time for action, to stop this “undogly” life for these dogs, and the catchers sprang into action. Coming slowly with a rope, the rescue workers soon realised that these dogs were still pretty scared of humans as they bolted to hide.

One black one gave up when two men came and grabbed it firmly. He was brought on the boat and placed in a spacious cage. I wondered if he knew he was the lucky one. He would get treatment, shelter, food, water, and maybe one day an owner who’d give him a warm, fuzzy home.

Such hopelessness. Such despair. Such disgrace to life. This, was all man’s doing, and man must rectify this.

Name:	Ketam 12.jpg
Views:	92
Size:	14.6 KB
ID:	5085  
Old 05-07-2009, 04:54 PM

Canine castaways need HELP!
dumped Local Pulau Ketam stray dogs
SPCA & SAS : More must been done to save the dogs before it’s too late

Malay Mail Thursday, May 7th, 2009 06:27:00

SAVED: SPCA workers bringing home a dog they managed to save at the Selat Kering island yesterday

IT’S now a race against time to save the dogs of Selangor’s islands of death.

As the death toll rises — the abandoned strays dying from starvation or while attempting to swim back home to Pulau Ketam — various animal welfare groups are finding that they have to come up with a better solution, fast. Before more dogs start cannibalising each other as was witnessed recently.

Animal welfare groups and villagers told Malay Mail yesterday that the stronger and braver dogs have been seen swimming through strong waters to return to Pulau Ketam, where there is food and water. The smarter ones wait for low tide and island hop in their attempts.

Those not so strong were believed to have drowned. A month ago, news that Pulau Ketam residents had placed some 312 strays on three nearby deserted mangrove islands had sparked a public outcry. Villagers have defended their actions as their last humane resort to try and overcome their stray dog problem. There were about 2,000 strays there.

Pulau Ketam DAP chairman Pua Kin Lok said: “The heat is on us now, but we can’t wait till the dogs start eating us humans before we do something, right? We’re doing this on our own because the government has not come up with a better solution. We have had at least four cases of children being attacked by dogs. It is very scary for us, especially at night.”

Yesterday, Malay Mail followed the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA) and Save a Stray (SAS) founder Jacqueline Tsang’s rescue mission but only came back with two dogs.

Tsang said: “The two we saved today are for people to adopt. But this rescue effort is big and we need more help in terms of funds and support.

“These dogs are foragers, not hunters. Even if there were a few animals here, they cannot live here even if they learned to hunt. Many will die. We are here to educate the people and inform them that we need to neuter the dogs as soon as we can.”

Tsang also said the SPCA could use the help of the Klang Municipal Council to use tranquilisers to get more of them.

“They are afraid of people and especially cages. We need a better strategy,” she said.

Kapar Member of Parliament S . Manikavasagam, who also observed the rescue mission, said: “We need a concerted effort and I’m planning a meeting on Monday with the NGOs, the Klang council as well as the villagers to find the best solution.”

Name:	Ketam 13.jpg
Views:	95
Size:	30.4 KB
ID:	5086  
Old 05-07-2009, 05:57 PM
i'm da devil.....

jenn is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Finally, the ugly truth is out ….

Finally, the ugly truth is out ….

By Neville Spykerman
http://www.kurauking.com/journal/kla...am-stray-dogs/

PULAU KETAM, Selangor, May 6

The capture and dumping of stray dogs from Pulau Ketam to other islands were sanctioned and funded by Klang Municipal Council and councillors.

A total of 312 dogs were captured and transported to several islands between February 27 and March 12 and the council allegedly paid for each capture while a councillor used his allocations to transport the dogs to the islands.

Selangor executive councillor Elizabeth Wong today told The Malaysian Insider she was outraged at the action of the council.

“I have received information that money came from the municipal council for each dog captured

Wong said she had brought the matter up with her executive council colleague Ronnie Liu who is in charge of local councils on Monday and had urged him to investigate the case.

She added that the islands off Pulau Ketam are reserves and the culprits had committed an offence in dumping the dogs there.

“They should be charged in court.” she said. Meanwhile, Kapar Member of Parliament S. Manikavasagam said he believed the move to transport the dogs were the work of ill-informed municipal councillors acting beyond their powers.

“I don’t blame the villagers because they have been struggling with the problem for so long but the councillors should know better.”

Manikavasagam who visited Pulau Selat Kering where some of the dogs were abandoned said the state should tighten the leash on some of their councillors.

Speaking to the media today, some villagers tried their hand at damage control by claiming half the dogs abandoned had already made their way back to Pulau Ketam.

“I’ve seen groups of dogs, up to eight of them sometimes, swimming back during low tide,” said one villager.

However, this had been disputed by Sabrina Yeap from Furry Friends Farm which has been mounting rescue operations to save the animals. “There is no way half the dogs could swim back to Pulau Ketam because of their weakened condition.”

Yeap added that websites highlighting the plight of the animals had helped raise over RM5,000 from outraged members of the public who want them to rescue the dogs.

Also helping to rescue the dogs from the island this morning were volunteers from the Society for the Prevention of Cruelty to Animals (SPCA) and Save a Stray.

Save a Stray founder Jacqueline Tsang said despite their best efforts they managed to just lure two dogs into their cages.

Tsang said the Veterinary Services Department needs to step in with a tranquiliser gun in order to sedate and rescue the other dogs.

Meanwhile, another 1,500 stray dogs remain in Pulau Ketam.

Tsang said most of the dogs are offspring of abandoned pets and the villagers have themselves to blame.

She said a long term solution for the problem is for the strays to be sterilised to keep them from breeding.

However, the move could cost as much as RM90 per animal and they are appealing to the government to step in.

Tsang said the money spent capturing and transporting the animals to the islands could have been better used to sterilise the animals.

Villagers and volunteers from non-governmental organisations are expected to meet officials from the Klang Municipal Council on Monday to find a solution to the problem.

SOURCE :- Malaysia Insider

-------------------------------------------------------

Picture 1: An emaciated dog eating food left for the marooned strays by the SPCA in Pulau Selat Kering. – Picture by Choo Choy May

Picture 2: This file photo shows how the dogs were caged, then transported from Pulau Ketam to be dumped in nearby deserted islands.

Picture 3: Map of the islands in Pulau Ketam detailing the location where the stray dogs are being dumped.

Picture 4: Animal rescuer Jackie Tsang (from SAS) is seen here explaining to Klang MP S.Manikavasagam about the dogs that had been abandoned in Pulau Selat Kering. – Picture by Choo Choy May

Picture 5: Two dogs which were eventually lured into cages after much effort by the animal activists while at Pulau Selat Kering. – Picture by Choo Choy May

what are all this human thinkin????!!!! do they ever think about if we dump them in such an island??? or they thought that da dog know how to catch fish/fishing???!!!!
Old 05-07-2009, 10:24 PM

Snowflake is on a distinguished road

Hi guys. If you undecided which to donate to or help, I suggest to donate to FURRY FRIENDS FARM, instead of SPCA. I am not anti-SPCA Selangor but please bear in mind that Sabrina Yeap runs a NO-KILL animal sanctuary whereas SPCA Selangor will put dogs to sleep due to lack of space. And, it was Sabrina and her friends who actually took the first action to save the dogs. She walked the talk. Some only talk but didn't do anything until gaining enough media attention.

And, yes, I support Sabrina and Furry Friends Farm because I do have dogs being placed there at the farm which are strays and I contribute monthly for their food and stay there. And there are other strays that Sabrina saved that make remarkable progress and happy at the farm. I make a trip fortnightly to FFF from Penang, just to visit my dogs and help out at the farm. My dogs are well-taken care of by Sabrina. And she is a really dedicated animal activists. I support her and FFF because you can actually see that she IS making a difference. And a good one that is for strays.

I can't vouch for SPCA Selangor that they will keep people updated of the dogs they rescued and whether they will be successfully adopted or put to sleep in the end. But I can guarantee that FFF will NOT put the dogs Sabrina saved to sleep. What I am trying to say is, try not to be like Pulau Ketam villagers, thinking they were doing a good thing, but actually ended up being a bad thing.

But one thing is for sure, SPCA Selangor is finally helping and so is Save The Strays, and it is a good thing too. So, kuddos to them as well. And to all who donated, volunteered, highlighted the plight of the dogs, prayed, mass emailed to friends, etc, may God bless all of you as well.
Old 05-07-2009, 11:35 PM

SPCA and FFF are both doing their very best to save those poor little doggies stranded in the island. Both are deserving organisations and require funds or donation to get things moving.

Support as much as you can.

Snowflakes, I know you are very supportive of FFF but your suggestion, openly may deprieve funds that SPCA requires. Let's just put aside any differences and allow SPCA and FFF work their ways to saving those poor doggies.

My thoughts & prayers are with the poor doggies trapped out there.

Old 05-08-2009, 12:12 AM

Snowflake is on a distinguished road

http://lynnyap.posterous.com/

http://lynnyap.posterous.com/?sort=b...h=sabrina+yeap

From this blog, you may have some insights on why I am not concern that SPCA will be deprived of funds and why Sabrina left SPCA Selangor to start her own NO-KILL animal sanctuary. Not enough is done by SPCA and it is disheartened to find that out. I used to donate to SPCA as well until my friend wanted to adopt a stray mongrel dog. They actually asked why not he adopt a pedigree dog instead, since they are 'smarter'. He was puzzled. But, he did manage to adopt the mongrel dog he had set his eyes on. Other people adopted pets from SPCA might not experience that but yea, the adoption fee are also higher for pedigree dogs.

All I hope that SPCA DOES have the proper and good intention to save those dogs and that the donation they are receiving will be put to good use.

Don't you want to know that the money you donated are actually put to good use rather than just blindly donate ? Just my 2 cents.

I support FFF because Sabrina IS making a difference and she running the farm almost single-handedly. As I wrote, I am not anti-SPCA, just the SPCA branches that are not doing what they are really about. I just hope they actually buck up on actually Preventing Cruelty to Animals and not wait for this sort of things to happen in the future.

But in the end, it is up to individuals to donate to FFF or SPCA. Preferably, both. At least, donations to SPCA can go to spay/neuter program.
Old 05-08-2009, 12:20 AM

I just contact Ms.Sabina invite her come over on board for speak the experince to us. I can saw her online now.

Originally Posted by Snowflake View Post
http://lynnyap.posterous.com/

http://lynnyap.posterous.com/?sort=b...h=sabrina+yeap

From this blog, you may have some insights on why I am not concern that SPCA will be deprived of funds and why Sabrina left SPCA Selangor to start her own NO-KILL animal sanctuary. Not enough is done by SPCA and it is disheartened to find that out. I used to donate to SPCA as well until my friend wanted to adopt a stray mongrel dog. They actually asked why not he adopt a pedigree dog instead, since they are 'smarter'. He was puzzled. But, he did manage to adopt the mongrel dog he had set his eyes on. Other people adopted pets from SPCA might not experience that but yea, the adoption fee are also higher for pedigree dogs.

All I hope that SPCA DOES have the proper and good intention to save those dogs and that the donation they are receiving will be put to good use.

Don't you want to know that the money you donated are actually put to good use rather than just blindly donate ? Just my 2 cents.

I support FFF because Sabrina IS making a difference and she running the farm almost single-handedly. As I wrote, I am not anti-SPCA, just the SPCA branches that are not doing what they are really about. I just hope they actually buck up on actually Preventing Cruelty to Animals and not wait for this sort of things to happen in the future.

But in the end, it is up to individuals to donate to FFF or SPCA. Preferably, both. At least, donations to SPCA can go to spay/neuter program.

Old 05-08-2009, 01:06 AM

Snowflakes, that's why I asked if there's a link that I can download the financial related statements of SPCA at another thread. I just noticed that it was not in the annual review 2008 sent to donors.

I will support any organisation that is transparent in their funds management. I have seen how NGOs can go astray with their funds. :)

Great to know that Sabrina is online to share her stories on the poor little doggies of P.Ketam.

Reading the article featured on THE STAR made me very teary, especially the part when the dogs swan home, only to be shoo'ed' away and drown. Imagine to be shoo'ed' away from the only place ever known to you as a "home" ... not knowing what you have done wrong to deserve such fate.