Old 09-05-2008, 09:16 PM

Default Re: What sort of cat food to feed your cat/kitten?

Originally Posted by syunichi View Post
Hi ashley, well I was on Iams and with wonders 1kg 2 days oredi gone and it wasnt cheap hehe. So I resolved to Vetmaster. It was recommended from my vet that it is way better than frieskis and whiskas that we knowned as snacks for cat. It is labelled to have lower % of ash for more healthier urinate issue and substance called "yucca" to leave your cat stool less smelly. Thx happycat, I'll look for it coz I've saw it somewhere when I was looking for a new cat diet.

And vetmaster cost me RM75 for 10kg..good enough for me hehe. Thank god :)
zam..mana ko beli vetmaster tuh.?? kat semenanjung ada x?
Old 09-09-2008, 09:33 AM

hi

where is this vetmaster? i've never heard of it i.e. never seen in the usual pet supplies shop ...do you have a pic and does it have a manufacturer's website?
Old 09-09-2008, 09:41 AM

Hi ALL

i'll just continue here as it has to do with food for kitten :

If you suspect your cat of having IBS or if it has been confirmed, you may want to try a new allergy formula meant for cats with either allergies or sensitive stomach.

it's by natural balance, duck and green pea allergy formula. it's just been brought into our country. i've been tracking this manufacturer and has corresponded with them several times and it's finally here. you may not find it in the usual pet supplies shops as it's been here only like two weeks or so. you may contact the distributor in kl Sea park pet supplies (get the add and contact number from the PJ pet shops thread). dry biscuits.

i find it effective for my little anna. we long suspected that she has sensitive stomach to most of the ingredients found in other commercial brands and we have been observing her since she was a kitten. it took us like a year and a half (her age now) to come to this conclusion and although it wasn't supported by medical tests (very hard), i did my own "tests" and changed the food one by one, looking at the ingredient before i bought.

i've arrived at "the" cat food to give to my other three cats because they are doing extremely well on them (so did all other stray cats i rescued) but anna is different...she has what i called ibs (like myself) and when i gave her this formula, she went back to normal, she started eating again and she started putting on weight and she stopped alternating between constipation and diarrhea. we have ruled out all medical possiblities, went through tests (blood tests) short of having scans.
Old 09-11-2008, 02:57 PM

DJSNAZ83 is on a distinguished road

i agree with ashleywong...
i've heard so many times before that Orijen is one of the best premium food for cat...i've been to Pet Wonderland few weeks back.i noticed that Orijen is available there - with little stocks...and i think that i can't have Orijen to my kittens due to hard to get it...haih...
as well as many forumers here,i feed my kittens with RC Kitten 36 plus RC Skin n Coat plus Kytzime as their supplement...in addition,i provide Hill'S Science Plan wetfood to them weekly.
Old 09-12-2008, 10:31 AM

fariza is on a distinguished road

you're right again on another score - it's availability or lack of it. there's only a single distributor importing in acana and orijen and so far i've tracked down several places that really stocks up on orijen

1) pet epicure in tmn melawait
2) pets people in plaza damas, sri hartamas
3) home pet in sri petaling
4) tails unlimited in kajang or is it sg buloh
5) sea park pet supplies in pj ss2 - their stock should be in now
6) a pet shop in tmn danau desa okr - they're willing to order for you although they specialises only in dog food
Hi ashley!
Do you know who's the distributor for acana/orijen in Malaysia? i've checked their website but it's not stated there...
Old 09-12-2008, 10:48 AM

i've used vetmaster before and it is quite good. I got it from a vet/pet shop in shah alam but it has been repackaged...i think they bought it straight from the factory or something so they can sell it for a cheaper price...
Old 09-12-2008, 02:21 PM

syunichi is on a distinguished road

zam..mana ko beli vetmaster tuh.?? kat semenanjung ada x?
Uih sori sori..bz kat ofis kebelakangan ni. Ade kat Semenanjung,local made premium food tu. Subsidiery of Cargill USA. Nanti balik I'll take a picture of the food and label and post here. :) Yeah, my cats love it and it is colorless so I'm quite confident with it. ..nopeee..not going to eat it heheh.
Old 09-12-2008, 03:19 PM

Originally Posted by fariza View Post
i've used vetmaster before and it is quite good. I got it from a vet/pet shop in shah alam but it has been repackaged...i think they bought it straight from the factory or something so they can sell it for a cheaper price...
fariza..vet/petshop kat ner tuh? tau x pricing dia???for how many kgs?
Old 09-12-2008, 03:22 PM
Kucing Garong

Bareen is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Bareen Send a message via Yahoo to Bareen Send a message via Skype™ to Bareen

My personal tip how I check the suitability of my cat food.

1) Eat and taste the cat food yourself If you like it, your cat probably will too but if salty, you can snack on it while watching movie and dont share it with your cats.

2) Soak a kibble in a glass of water. Does the kibble and the water change color? If yes, coloring may have been added.

3) Take out the soaked kibble and mash it with your finger. Does it feel like your facial scrup? If yes, the kibble is filled with grain. If the mash kibble felt sticky, then it filled with gluten.

4) You had examine what goes in, now examine what come out

5) Drop some poo into clean toilet bowl. Dont flush. After a while, is there any coloring discharged from the poo?

6) Does the poo floating? Indigested hairball and grain sometime made the poo lighter and float.

7) Wanna mash your cat poo with your finger to find out if it got the sandy feel? Probably not then dont! Kibble filled with grain will cause the poo to be soft and smelly.

8) Feed you cat with boil chicken (no salt added) and compare the quantity and the odor of the poo. Probably with chicken, you get longer gap for repeat business with less amount, less smell.

9) Raw meat diet is superb but make sure you get your vet advise on deworming frequency as worm tend to thrive in raw meat. Still need to monitor poo for worms. Tapeworm are resilience to normal deworming liquid.

10) Cats are individual. No 2 cat are the same. One food may be good to one cat but may not to others.

The above tips applies to my 8 cats with no reservation. Apply at own risk.
Old 09-12-2008, 03:27 PM
LeenMaF|a

Lyn_Cat is on a distinguished road

Ada sesaper pernah jumpa@ cuba Topcat? sbb ade dgr2 dr other forum maknan nih bagus jugak .. dok cari2 dlm internet nih takde plak.. kalo boleh nak tgk ingredientnya..

Lagi 1 ade sesapa penah cuma Iams yg baru tu tak? sbb tgk kat petshop Iams baru tu ade tambahan Iomega..dulu takde.. kalo dulu lin bg kucing mkn Iams ni bulu gugur..so maybe dgn ada Iomega nih tak gugur dah...tataolah...
Old 09-12-2008, 04:39 PM

Bareen

I like your suggestions, i like your guts! way to go !

do you know what? i've actually done and completed the items as per your suggestions although not at the same time, done at different time and for different reasons, all except for (1) and (7) but the collected experience and observation really convinced me that the proper food is the only way to go forward - also helped by reduced vet bill and good health of furkids!

but jokes aside, i like what you have written. i hope this makes people sit up and think further, instead of just substituting ignorance for reason.
Old 09-12-2008, 05:28 PM
Kucing Garong

Send a message via MSN to Bareen Send a message via Yahoo to Bareen Send a message via Skype™ to Bareen

Eating and tasting the kibble actually was suggested by Horatio during the catshow. He said that what he did when he got new brand of cat food. Few years back, my sister in law mistaken cat's canned food as sandwich filling as I rip off the can label, said it taste good with bread before she knew it was cat food .

Checking on the poo poo, I would said that a routine that all of us do. The only thing that is the way we react to it. Some people would wear mask, some would just scoop and beg it. Once that is a routine, no reason to feel yucky about it. We all are very concern what goes into our furkids body but we choose to ignore the tell tale sign their system eliminated from their body. Learn by observation, then we can find out what best food for our cats. Changing from brand to brand will just cause stress to the cat's digestive system.

Acana was said to be Canada best cat food but my cat vomit after eating it. So I stay with RC Persian Kitten 32 and boil blended chicken.

BUT for soon to be mother, leave this poo poo task to the man!
Mrs Mondok feed, Mr Mondok dispose.
Old 09-12-2008, 05:31 PM

pet shop tu dekat all those rows of shops next to stadium shah alam & giant..its the same row with 7-11...cant seem 2 remember the name of the shop tho..i think 20kg is about $130++..havent been there for a long time...so the price might've gone up
Old 09-12-2008, 05:34 PM
Kucing Garong

Originally Posted by Lyn_Cat View Post
Ada sesaper pernah jumpa@ cuba Topcat? sbb ade dgr2 dr other forum maknan nih bagus jugak .. dok cari2 dlm internet nih takde plak.. kalo boleh nak tgk ingredientnya..

Lagi 1 ade sesapa penah cuma Iams yg baru tu tak? sbb tgk kat petshop Iams baru tu ade tambahan Iomega..dulu takde.. kalo dulu lin bg kucing mkn Iams ni bulu gugur..so maybe dgn ada Iomega nih tak gugur dah...tataolah...
Lyn,
Orang kata, jangan percaya. Sendiri cuba, baru merasa.
Asal ada brand baru, cuba kat kucing. Jenuh lah perut kucing tu nak adjust ngan makanan baru tiap kali tukar.
Old 09-13-2008, 09:45 PM

syunichi is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by Bareen View Post
My personal tip how I check the suitability of my cat food.

1) Eat and taste the cat food yourself If you like it, your cat probably will too but if salty, you can snack on it while watching movie and dont share it with your cats.

2) Soak a kibble in a glass of water. Does the kibble and the water change color? If yes, coloring may have been added.

3) Take out the soaked kibble and mash it with your finger. Does it feel like your facial scrup? If yes, the kibble is filled with grain. If the mash kibble felt sticky, then it filled with gluten.

4) You had examine what goes in, now examine what come out

5) Drop some poo into clean toilet bowl. Dont flush. After a while, is there any coloring discharged from the poo?

6) Does the poo floating? Indigested hairball and grain sometime made the poo lighter and float.

7) Wanna mash your cat poo with your finger to find out if it got the sandy feel? Probably not then dont! Kibble filled with grain will cause the poo to be soft and smelly.

8) Feed you cat with boil chicken (no salt added) and compare the quantity and the odor of the poo. Probably with chicken, you get longer gap for repeat business with less amount, less smell.

9) Raw meat diet is superb but make sure you get your vet advise on deworming frequency as worm tend to thrive in raw meat. Still need to monitor poo for worms. Tapeworm are resilience to normal deworming liquid.

10) Cats are individual. No 2 cat are the same. One food may be good to one cat but may not to others.

The above tips applies to my 8 cats with no reservation. Apply at own risk.

Thx bareen. Yes, I've reconsidered all these issue + the budget to comply with their needs. I like the part where we throw a poo to see it floats hehe. For sure I've tested for coloring with vetmaster and it is not added with any coloring or any sort, plus, the new repackaging is another way of saying they had double check on the contents for any improper presence of pantry bugs.

And this is what it looks like...

Name:	My00001.jpg
Views:	182
Size:	265.4 KB
ID:	804  
Old 09-19-2008, 07:25 AM

hi syunichi

wow! i salute you ! 17 cat! wow! and here i think my 4 furkids are giving me absolute headaches when they become possesive of me and my attention. wow!

what is vetmaster? is that some kind of petfood or pet supplement? can you tell me more about it?

i'm not unmindful of the cost of some "premium" brand. I have already went a longtime without buying anything for myself as i can only choose their food and vet care or clothes and stuff for myself. as i've not found a better or equivalent alternative at lower price, i'm still sticking the food i'm feeding them.
Hi Ashley, I have 2 cats at the moment. I feed Adam,yaya and ella (now deceased) Royal Canin. Adam have indigestion problem, which I detected from his 'runny poop'. I guess his over indulging his food caused his diarrea. I took him to the vet several times but the vet told me he is perfectly healthy. Now he is at the vet again, because I pity him, he poops 6-7 times a day and still runny!!!. Yesterday the vet called and told me he is healthy, active and alert and there is nothing wrong with him.

He is a mess, I have to bathe him everyday to clean his mess, especially at 'the immediate area'.

Should I change : his diet, or my vet??
Old 09-19-2008, 09:36 AM

Hi adamyala

i sympathise with your predicament. it's very messy and problematic.

IF your vet has checked your cat thoroughly (and i presume you have had blood test taken to ensure all is order) and say your cat is healthy, then perhaps you need to look at the diet.

would you have any objection to trying your cat on allergy formula ?

my anna went through a lot and alternate between lack of appetite and became very skinny (but very active and alert) and also alternate between diarrhea and constipation (something like IBS in us human). we went through blood tests (basic ones) and constant vet visit and the vet pronounced her "healthy" and "normal" cos there's no medical sign for her condition, none that can be detected. we are of course concerned and i tried many food and she refused to eat after the 1st time. the 1st time she would eat heartily and hungrily but not after that.

after much observation and reading, i decided to try whether she's actually allergy to the ingredients in her cat food - specially grain/carbohydrate (i.e. wheat, oat, rice, potato and what nots). i tracked down an allergy formula that's only from duck meat and green pea. prior to feeding her this, i read the list of ingredients and checked with my vet if any of it will cause problems. once confirmed the ingredients are safe for cat, i bought a pack and started anna on it. in between she was subsiting on steam chicken meat or fish (this is not advisable for long run cos it doesn't contain complete essential nutrient needed by cat). during this time i have no choice but to supplement with multivitamins (i use pet natural by vermont).

anna is halfway through the 3kg bag (the only size available right now) and she has put on muscle bulk, takes to her food with delight (a major change compared to last time), is regular in her bowel movement (normal stool size texture and colour), no more IBS.

my sis and i are happy that she's okay. we'd continue with the allergy formula.

hope this helps. you're not the only going through this. i suspect most of us go through this but either didn't know what to do or choose to think it's "normal".

i used to give anna RC but she constantly have very soft stool and at one point, she just refused to eat.

now i learn from my cat, if they refused to eat and i have rule out other factors (medical, behavioural such as stress-related or stress-induced or just wanna play or is full), if they don't want the food no matter how hungry, then it's because something in the food is making the cat feel unwell and the cat then learns to associate the food with unwell feeling and unpleasantness

pls let me know if you wish to know further about this allergy formula

good luck
Old 09-19-2008, 10:03 AM

Hi adamyala

i sympathise with your predicament. it's very messy and problematic.

IF your vet has checked your cat thoroughly (and i presume you have had blood test taken to ensure all is order) and say your cat is healthy, then perhaps you need to look at the diet.

would you have any objection to trying your cat on allergy formula ?

my anna went through a lot and alternate between lack of appetite and became very skinny (but very active and alert) and also alternate between diarrhea and constipation (something like IBS in us human). we went through blood tests (basic ones) and constant vet visit and the vet pronounced her "healthy" and "normal" cos there's no medical sign for her condition, none that can be detected. we are of course concerned and i tried many food and she refused to eat after the 1st time. the 1st time she would eat heartily and hungrily but not after that.

after much observation and reading, i decided to try whether she's actually allergy to the ingredients in her cat food - specially grain/carbohydrate (i.e. wheat, oat, rice, potato and what nots). i tracked down an allergy formula that's only from duck meat and green pea. prior to feeding her this, i read the list of ingredients and checked with my vet if any of it will cause problems. once confirmed the ingredients are safe for cat, i bought a pack and started anna on it. in between she was subsiting on steam chicken meat or fish (this is not advisable for long run cos it doesn't contain complete essential nutrient needed by cat). during this time i have no choice but to supplement with multivitamins (i use pet natural by vermont).

anna is halfway through the 3kg bag (the only size available right now) and she has put on muscle bulk, takes to her food with delight (a major change compared to last time), is regular in her bowel movement (normal stool size texture and colour), no more IBS.

my sis and i are happy that she's okay. we'd continue with the allergy formula.

hope this helps. you're not the only going through this. i suspect most of us go through this but either didn't know what to do or choose to think it's "normal".

i used to give anna RC but she constantly have very soft stool and at one point, she just refused to eat.

now i learn from my cat, if they refused to eat and i have rule out other factors (medical, behavioural such as stress-related or stress-induced or just wanna play or is full), if they don't want the food no matter how hungry, then it's because something in the food is making the cat feel unwell and the cat then learns to associate the food with unwell feeling and unpleasantness

pls let me know if you wish to know further about this allergy formula

good luck
Yes..ashley...adam's condition is really messy and problematic, but the most important thing is...I pity him. Even if he doesnt look sick, I pity him having this problem. Imagine, we, human also when we get stomach upset for one or two days, very uncomfortable feeling right? Adam has been having this problem for months....

Since you have solved quite a similar problem with your Anna, I wish to know about this allegry formula you mentioned above. Maybe Adam is allergic to certain ingredients but I dont know what is it.

I admire your love and sacrifice for your Anna, and you took the initiative to get to the root of her problem, and now you have succeeded. I am sure now Anna is very happy, living a more comfortable life. Anna is very lucky to have you. Congratulations!!!!
Old 09-20-2008, 07:04 PM

Hi adamyala

oh, i'm embarassed already. pls don't call it a sacrifice. it is not actually. i just feel strongly that our cats (or other pets) deserved to have a good healthy life with lots of love and care that's possible through proper food (includind appropriate ingredient) and good veterinary care. the initial cost may seem high but trust me, over long run, the cost is lower because your 1) vet bill is lower 2) you are less worried 3) your pet is healthy 4) both of you have a quality time together (2 - 4 are priceless - you can't put a price on this).

here's the information which i extracted from www.naturalbalanceinc.com

Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance® L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets™ Green Pea & Duck Dry Food is our New Grain-Free Formula made specifically for cats and kittens prone to allergies based on a single source of animal protein that most cats have not been exposed to, and a single source of carbohydrate not commonly found in cat foods, along with effective natural ingredients to help rebuild your cat's immune system. Complete and Balanced for All Life Stages, from Kittens through Adulthood.

Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance® L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets™ Green Pea & Duck Formula for Cats is a proven formula for cats and kittens with allergies based on our unique single source protein and single source carbohydrate blend.

Some cats and even kittens may be highly sensitive to commonly used proteins, carbohydrates and food additives in their diet. Allergic reactions can lead to irritable bowel, upset stomach, and a number of skin problems. Natural Balance® has created L.I.D.Limited Ingredient Diets™ Green Pea & Duck Formula for cats with these food allergies. Along with our L.I.D.Limited Ingredient Diets™ Duck & Green Pea Canned Formula, cats with allergies can now have a complete allergen-free diet!

Dick Van Patten's Natural Balance® L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets™ Green Pea & Duck Formula for Cats is made with:

• Green Peas: A premium quality carbohydrate, rich in potassium and a highly digestible energy source

• Fresh Duck: A premium quality protein source not commonly used in pet foods

• Taurine Fortified Natural Balance® adds additional taurine to help in maintaining normal heart function and retinal structure (good vision)

• Canola Oil Low in saturated fat and high in monounsaturated fat. Excellent Omega-3 and Omega-6 fatty acid profile

• Flaxseed An excellent source of Omega-3 fatty acids

• High Digestibility

• Grain Free

INGREDIENT LISTING

Peas, Duck Meal, Duck, Canola Oil, Flaxseed, Natural Flavor, Methionine, Choline Chloride, Taurine, Natural Mixed Tocopherols), Zinc Proteinate, Vitamin E Supplement, Niacin, Manganese Proteinate, Copper Proteinate, Zinc Sulfate, Manganese Sulfate, Copper Sulfate, Thiamine Mononitrate (Vitamin B-1), Vitamin A Supplement, Biotin, Potassium Iodide, Calcium Pantothenate, Riboflavin (Vitamin B-2), Pyridoxine Hydrochloride (Vitamin B-6), Vitamin B-12 Supplement, Manganous Oxide, Sodium Selenite, Vitamin D-3 Supplement, Folic Acid.
GUARANTEED ANALYSIS
Crude Protein 30.0% minimum
Crude Fat 12.0% minimum
Crude Fiber 4.0% maximum
Moisture 10.0% maximum
Magnesium 0.1% maximum
Taurine 0.16% minimum
Omega-3 Fatty Acids* 0.4% minimum
Omega-6 Fatty Acids* 2.6% minimum
*Not recognized as an essential nutrient by the AAFCO Cat Food Nutrient Profile.

Dick Van Patten’s Natural Balance® L.I.D. Limited Ingredient Diets™ Green Pea & Duck Formula is formulated to meet the nutritional levels established by the AAFCO cat food nutrient profiles for all life stages.

Natural Balance® L.I.D.™ Green Pea Duck Formula for Cats comes in 3 lb, 5 lb and 10 lb Bags
PRODUCT INFORMATION

right now only the 3lb bag is imported into malaysia. i'm buying this for my anna. it's is indeed heartening to see her blooming everyday.

pls go to the website for more information. :-)

best of luck

Name:	NB_Cat_bag_GPDuck_Group.jpg
Views:	117
Size:	22.5 KB
ID:	956  
Attached Images

Old 09-20-2008, 09:53 PM

Thank you so much Ashley...for sharing the infos .
I will definitely try this product, and will get back to you for updates on adam's condition.

Yes....every pet deserves the best health care , proper diet and nutrition and above all, our love, hugs and kisses through out their lives. We may have to spend a little bit more for problems like adam, but money cant buy the joy and happines adam and anna could bring to our families.

Thanks for the best wishes, I really need that.