Go Back   PetFinder.my > The Animal Corner > Dogs & Puppies > Health, Disease & Diet

Health, Disease & Diet Find out the best tips and practices on managing your dog's diet, health care, and issues with diseases from our community of animal lovers

Old 01-24-2010, 05:36 PM

sportycat is on a distinguished road
Default How do you know if your dog is sick or having Fever?

HI!!.. How can you tell if your dog sick or down with fever?
Old 01-24-2010, 08:53 PM

ChloeChong is on a distinguished road
Default Re: How do you know if your dog is sick or having Fever?

Puppy will lost their appetite or having wet poo(diarrhea) when there are sick . If ur puppy is having above symptom u should bring it to vet for checkup.
Old 01-25-2010, 12:03 AM

Hi Chloe! thanks for the reply.. How about fever or flu? He like to sleep on the floor alot (bath room) i put tower he push it away.... i worry he catch a cold.
Old 01-25-2010, 02:08 PM

weetingtan is on a distinguished road

i got a friend that tell me before, but i am not sure about it but maybe it is useful to you:
fever - the nose will be extremely dry
flu - the nose will be watery, sneezing and little bit of coughing

cheers!
Old 01-26-2010, 04:11 PM

Hi!! thanks for the Tips!!!
Old 01-26-2010, 06:47 PM

ChloeChong is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by weetingtan View Post

i got a friend that tell me before, but i am not sure about it but maybe it is useful to you:
fever - the nose will be extremely dry
flu - the nose will be watery, sneezing and little bit of coughing

cheers!
What weeting says is correct.Hope ur puppy wont have any health problem and stay healthy forever
Old 01-27-2010, 02:20 PM

Hi All! He look like does not have this kind of sign. Just that he dont feel like eating. But he very playful.. play awhile .. eat abit.. play again eat abit.. then he dont like to sleep on the mate.. he go sleep in the toilet!!!! that what got me worry....
Old 01-28-2010, 02:24 PM

weetingtan is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by sportycat View Post
Hi All! He look like does not have this kind of sign. Just that he dont feel like eating. But he very playful.. play awhile .. eat abit.. play again eat abit.. then he dont like to sleep on the mate.. he go sleep in the toilet!!!! that what got me worry....

The eating might because your dog is bored with the food. What kind of dog you are having? my schnauzer too have the eating issue when she is not happy. If she is sad she will not eat. If we left her for boarding, when come back home she wont eat too. not even a little bit. Bout the sleeping place, maybe you can give her treat whenever she sleep at the right place..hope it helps you :)
Old 01-28-2010, 03:13 PM

Hi! He a pomeranian. I bought Burp! brand for him.. he like to eat tat after the next morning give him dog biscuits.. he dnt want to eat... he hungry he eat abit abit like this.. haiyoo
Old 01-29-2010, 04:13 AM

meiers is on a distinguished road

My min schnauzer also had the same problem when i first brought her back... she never eat properly for 2 days... play with the food. Put in the bowl she duwan eat, put on the floor then oni eat a little. Maybe bcos she miss her parents.

Check ur pup's teeth if got any broken half way... mayb it's painful. Try to soak the kibbles with warm water to soften it... see if he eat or not.

Only feed ur puppy at the specific time.... If u feed 2 times a day, morning n evening, make sure u just leave the food there for 10 minutes... after that clear it up even if he never eat.

As for the sleeping habit... my pup also at first like to sleep on the floor... and like to lie down in toilet = =" mayb bcos cooling... I think it's bcos ur pup dunu where to sleep... Get him a doggy bed so that he'll know it belongs to him and he should sleep there.
Old 02-01-2010, 05:00 PM

hi! Try tat also.. i bought him a bed... he bite it and play with it.... i put tower.. he push it way... i notice he like cool area.. he like to sleep under fan (Living hall), when the fan is off he run to the toilet and sleep....
Old 02-02-2010, 10:16 PM

meiers is on a distinguished road

put her bed under the fan... in my dog's room, fan on 24/7 coz air-cond too expensive but so far she okay with it.

Try to send your dog for grooming to trim the hair... the long hair will make it extra hot for him.

As for the biting, if u catch him bite the bed or towel, shout at him and beat his butt with a rolled newspaper (dun so thick la... pain). Last time my puppy oso bite the pillow n bed, after few times i scare her, now she never bite edi