Go Back   PetFinder.my > Reviews, Notices & Stories > Pet Memorial

Pet Memorial Share with us the grief on the loss of your pet, and may it be dearly and lovingly remembered forever.

Old 02-04-2009, 11:54 AM

Unhappy Short life of Bandit Jr

you never expect me to create this thread

my bandit jr goneeeeeeeeeeeeeee
in less than 1 week
i have no idea what wrong with him

can he possible he ill??
i bought him from the pet shop in the curve - pet safari

he was ok
1st day ok...
2nd day ok
3rd day sleeping..........
4th day sleeping.......
5th day dead

i suspect he has respiritory infection
how? burying himself too much?
but i notice this kind of breed of hamster that i have dont last long
they are the weaker genes?

i had two of same kind before bandit
1 died after 3 months
another 1 died within 2 weeks - this one was really tiny when i bought - maybe too fragile

this bandit jr i estimate maybe 4 weeks old....
arrggghhhhH!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

i want bandit back
i want bandit jr back!!!!!!!!

mew mew...no need to kidnap la..he is gone liao

Name:	DSCN7074.JPG
Views:	139
Size:	161.7 KB
ID:	3265  
Old 02-04-2009, 11:58 AM

Default Re: Short life of Bandit Jr

OMG!! I'm so sorry to hear this, vivien. I know how excited you were at taking Bandit Jr home. He's now in hamster heaven and Bandit is taking care of Jr now. Please don't be sad. *hugs*
Old 02-04-2009, 02:13 PM
Animal lover

mew mew is on a distinguished road

So fast gone liao, ah! Sad to know that bandit Jr died so young. What breed is Bandit Jr? Is it Syrian...looks like Syrian to me. When you buy a hamster, choose the most active one and don't buy the smallest one cuz the smallest one is usually the weakest one....they can't compete with their bigger brothers & sisters for the food.
Old 02-04-2009, 02:17 PM

whaaaaaatttt???????? oh noooo... he must've been sick already at the pet store. i think you should tell them about this.. they may have other sick hamsters..

so sorry for your second loss in such a short time!!
Old 02-04-2009, 02:48 PM

probably sick when i took him home..i dont know...
he was ok..
running on his wheel...eating..

then his habit burying himself starts...
sleep..bury.........
night time also still inside his buried hole.........
if hamster night time - still inactive sleeping - not good already....
i thought he just wants to sleep because he is still a little...leave him alone
now his gone.....

he look ok to me only small and young..as i mentioned he should only be about 3-4 week with small eyes

he is a syrian hamster with the white and dark brown coat - exactly like my late bandit.. black eyes...

you can see from the photo he is so tiny....
i really dont know what went wrong
his death still haunts me..........
Old 02-04-2009, 03:00 PM

will you buy another hamster? maybe get one that's a little older this time.. or buy from another pet shop..

well whatever happened, its not your fault.. we all know you've got PLENTY of experience with hamsters..
Old 02-04-2009, 08:40 PM

of course ....i wont stop because of this...because i love them so much

got myself another one
but i have not name it yet......... another male......
i got it from petsmore :)

a new shop in 1utama...i didnt know there is one hiding at the old wing near the taxi stand......

this one no burying...eating most of the time once he set foot on the cage
but i still get a bit paranoid..checking him from time to time.......
Old 02-04-2009, 08:42 PM

Default Short life of Bandit Jr

OMG!!! Vivien.How come Bandit Jr gone within less than a week?? kasian him.maybe the petshop selling u sick hamster.

probably sick when i took him home..i dont know...
he was ok..
running on his wheel...eating..

then his habit burying himself starts...
sleep..bury.........
night time also still inside his buried hole.........
if hamster night time - still inactive sleeping - not good already....
i thought he just wants to sleep because he is still a little...leave him alone
now his gone.....

he look ok to me only small and young..as i mentioned he should only be about 3-4 week with small eyes

he is a syrian hamster with the white and dark brown coat - exactly like my late bandit.. black eyes...

you can see from the photo he is so tiny....
i really dont know what went wrong
his death still haunts me..........
Old 02-05-2009, 09:11 AM

is this new hamster small?

i bought my brother's hamster a little hamster hideout/house but he's too fat to squeeze inside.. its brand new and looks like a small piece of hollow tree trunk. its got a removable cover so its easy to clean.. and two holes for the hamster to squeeze in and out.. do you want it? now its just going to waste.. i can pass it to you or send it to you.. if your hamster fits, at least someone is using it.. my bro bought his hamster a bigger hideout already..
Old 02-05-2009, 12:45 PM

is this new hamster small?

i bought my brother's hamster a little hamster hideout/house but he's too fat to squeeze inside.. its brand new and looks like a small piece of hollow tree trunk. its got a removable cover so its easy to clean.. and two holes for the hamster to squeeze in and out.. do you want it? now its just going to waste.. i can pass it to you or send it to you.. if your hamster fits, at least someone is using it.. my bro bought his hamster a bigger hideout already..
oh i know what is that...haha but i doubt my syrian can fit..more suitable for dwarf kind.....you can still keep it who knows it might come in handy. Thanks for offering

this one ar not as small as bandit jr
but i guess around 6 weeks.... body size slightly bigger but not adult yet
this one i notice character since whole night..eat non stop
i went back as usual to check on him...
sleeping.....then i remove the roof top......he suddenly stands up giving me that close eye look - or snare look saying "hey put back the roof top!!!" -
by 9pm he was still inside the house sleeping.....so i was a bit worried
i opened again and noticed he was eating..........
he came down for a while - drink water ..then walk around take more shaving....
he puts more into the house - i remove more away from the house can sense his frustration collecting and me throwing out of the house...i cannot have him to take so many shaving and burying himself....like bandit jr....

his character - eat non stop.....
this morning i saw him eating sunflower seed and sleeping while eating half way so far so good

maybe i should name him Fatso
Old 02-05-2009, 03:32 PM

yeah i think you're right its more suitable for the dwarf hamster.. oh well maybe someday i will have one or a little mouse or a rat..

your new hamster sounds healthy!! a good appetite is always a good sign. fatso is a cute name too. better not name another hamster "bandit" right now..
Old 02-07-2009, 12:08 AM

pipylim is on a distinguished road

ya..
most of the pet shop hidding...
1u petmore selling puppy?
Old 02-07-2009, 12:17 AM

misterstan is on a distinguished road
Talking Re: Short life of Bandit Jr

hi there.. i am new here; introduce by pipylim. heard from pipylim that your beloved pet has passed out. sorry for the lost of your hamster.

Just a piece of advise. There are times that we hear stories of unhealthy pets sold by pets shops; resulting in the pets getting sick after brought home and then passed out.

If possible, it is recommended to get from a reputable breeder. Normally those pets sold at pet shops (referring to dogs) are nearly approaching adult age. Of course, there is nothing wrong to get from a pet shop provided that it is 100% assured the pet is healthy. Just my piece of advise. Hopefully i didn't hurt anyone feelings.
Old 02-17-2009, 11:47 AM

Originally Posted by misterstan View Post
hi there.. i am new here; introduce by pipylim. heard from pipylim that your beloved pet has passed out. sorry for the lost of your hamster.

Just a piece of advise. There are times that we hear stories of unhealthy pets sold by pets shops; resulting in the pets getting sick after brought home and then passed out.

If possible, it is recommended to get from a reputable breeder. Normally those pets sold at pet shops (referring to dogs) are nearly approaching adult age. Of course, there is nothing wrong to get from a pet shop provided that it is 100% assured the pet is healthy. Just my piece of advise. Hopefully i didn't hurt anyone feelings.
hi misterstan, yeah i got two my hamsters dead within less than a month - damn!!!!!! of course i got a new one... totally a different breed and two different places - both also reputable pet shop..and not some backlane
i got my blackie and golden from there in one of the petshop - they are still living happily together..first time i wonder - having two hamster prolong their lifespan? i got them earlier than bandit jan 2007

one moment bandit - that one is old age as i got him at 2007 march
bandit jr lasted 1 week

then i got another one - that has the same coat as this two - which i named him furby also passed away within 9 days!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

probably lesson learn is never buy hamster in the morning
they may look active but they may be sick..

i got this new ham - fur coat grey......... with white ring... he is already 7 weeks old and not a small baby anymore only he is very skinny...