Old 08-25-2008, 07:36 PM

Default [Dagu Berkarat] Feline Acne, "Kitty Acne"...

Feline Acne
AKA "Kitty Acne" or "Chin Acne"

By Franny Syufy, About.com

Anyone who has wrestled with adolescent acne will remember how difficult it can be to eradicate. Cats are often afflicted with a similar condition, called "feline acne" or, more commonly, "chin acne" or "kitty acne". Like acne in humans, its causes can vary, including food allergies, contact allergies, and (some experts believe), stress.

Plastic food dishes have long been suspected as a culprit in chin acne. Plastic is a magnet for bacteria and dirt that work their way into scratches and nicks, reinfecting your cat and/or spreading bacteria to other cats in the household. Veterinarians and other feline experts recommend using only glass or metal food bowls, and daily washing of those, in order to help prevent this common condition.

Stress-related acne can be treated by finding the causes of the stress and eliminating or ameliorating them, if possible. Emotionally cause stress may be relieved by medication, flower essences, or pherome-based products, such as Feliway. Environmentally caused stress might be solved by doing whatever possible to change the environment (move the furniture back that you just moved, or back off and gradually re-introduce that new cat or dog.)

Feline acne starts as small, oily black plugs in the chin, much like blackheads, which may progress to red, itchy bumps, which may become infected. Treatment varies, but most veterinarians will recommend daily cleaning with an antibiotic soap, followed by a topical ointment, either antibiotic, or anti-fungal. Oral antibiotics may also be prescribed, as well as a scrub with hydrogen peroxide.

Severe cases of feline acne may be difficult to eradicate, so you'll want to take your cat to the veterinarian at the first sign of black spots on the chin. Although cats are not embarrassed by acne, as humans are, the condition is still potentially serious, and not to be ignored.

=========================

Feline Acne

Feline acne is a common problem seen in cats. It is found on the cat's chin & lips. Often symptoms are so mild they go unnoticed. Acne can affect cats of any age, sex or breed.

Sebaceous glands secrete oils (known as sebum) which lubricates the skin, preventing dryness & irritation. The sebaceous glands are mostly found in dorsal, eyelids, chin, surface of the base of the tail, lips, scrotum and prepuce. They are connected to the hair follicles.

The glands also play a role in territorial marking & any observant cat owner will have seen their cat rubbing it's face & chin along objects. Over time this rubbing will leave greasy patches.

In acne, the follicles become blocked with black sebaceous material, causing blackheads. These blackheads may become irritated, swollen & infected, leading to pustules.

What causes feline acne?

The exact cause of feline acne isn't known. There are several possible causes however including

* Stress
* Plastic food bowls is commonly discouraged, especially in cats with feline acne. This is because they are porous & trap bacteria, which is then transferred to the cat's chin. It has also been suggested that an allergic reaction to the plastic food bowl is a cause.
* Poor grooming habits
* Over active sebaceous glands
* Food allergies

What are the symptoms of feline acne?

* The chin & possibly lips have black spots (comedones) on it, which look like dirt.
* Secondary infection may lead to swollen, red, pustules, leading to bleeding due to irritation.

As there are other conditions with similar symptoms to feline acne, it is important to take your cat to the veterinarian for a proper diagnosis & appropriate treatment.

How is feline acne treated?

Treatment of feline acne depends on the severity of the condition. Removing excess sebum is the aim. Some treatments include:

* If the condition is mild, with only a few comedones, topical treatment may be all that is required. Gentle cleansing with an antibiotic soap, hydrogen peroxide, iodine (Betadine) or Epsom salts.
* Topical Vitamin A
* Topical retinoids
* In more severe cases, cleansing the skin with an ointment or gel containing benzoyl peroxide (such as OxyDex) or chlorhexidine may be of use.
* Topical glucocorticoids to reduce inflammation.

Severe acne:

* The fur around the chin may be clipped by your veterinarian to enable deep cleaning of the affected area.
* Oral antibiotics to treat infection.
* Oral glucocorticoids such as prednisone for severe inflammation.

Always consult your veterinarian if you suspect feline acne & never treat your cat at home with an anti-acne treatment designed for humans.

Is there anything I can do to prevent feline acne?

Switch from plastic to glass, ceramic or metal food bowls.

Wash food & water bowls daily.

Washing the cat's chin after eating, if it is prone to acne.

[articles are written by & are the sole property of Cat-World.]

Old 08-26-2008, 09:01 AM

Default Re: [Dagu Berkarat] Feline Acne, "Kitty Acne"...

thanks tok penghulu... skarang ni dah tak sental dgn berus gigi dah.. hehehe...
Old 08-26-2008, 09:15 AM

omg.. i think maybe my ninja fat boy has this condition? he has black bits of dirt on his chin.. when i pick them up they are very hard and small.. they look like dried bits and pieces of mascara.. is that what you are talking about?
Old 08-26-2008, 10:50 AM

yes lynielime...
Old 08-26-2008, 11:14 AM

OH NOOOOOO!!!!!!!!!!!! i thought he was just always sticking his face in dirty places or something!!!!!!! so its actually my fault!!! i'm a bad kitty cat mother!!!!!!!!
Old 08-26-2008, 11:52 AM

no la lynie... i also have the same prob.. before this i thought this is normal... as i compare my cats.. only one of them got this kind of issue.. that's why i ask in this forum to get a clear picture of what kind of issue that i've dealing with.. mujurlah ada sif-sifu yg berkaliber menunjuk ajar... skarang ni still pakai lagi plastic food dish tu... but pagi ptg cuci ngan sabun before put in the kibbles... hehehe.. kene tambah satu lagi rutin dlm hidup harianku~! wohohohoho
Old 08-26-2008, 12:06 PM

hmm... does the problem with plastic food dishes also apply to dogs? i have both cats and dogs, and they all using plastic food dishes.... any idea?
Old 08-26-2008, 12:10 PM

hmm... does the problem with plastic food dishes also apply to dogs? i have both cats and dogs, and they all using plastic food dishes.... any idea?
i think so la.. what you can is ... regularly kasi cuci itu bekas... hehehe...
Old 08-26-2008, 01:49 PM

Lynie...yes that is the topic is all about, that is being discussed...
here's an example of the cat chin...of my Allure

So its best that you just change it to the stainless steel bowl, which is cheap also and it is an anti rust, and hygienic...which you can see mostly use in medical practice...

I m using the stainless steel also...

an example...

Old 08-26-2008, 01:56 PM

yay!! i love shopping for things for my pets new bowls for everyone!!
Old 08-26-2008, 02:15 PM

hi all

my cats also have this chin "acne" thingy. only the vet called it chin rash. i initially thought it was some sort of tick infestation. yes, i was guilty of using plastic bowls as it was Cheap and not breakable (yours truly do have butterfingers when it comes to washing dishes).

i changed to stainless steel and now most of the chin rash is gone. i didn't give them any medication as i don't want them to be on medicine all the time.

the plus side with using metal or ceramic dishes for pets is that they're easy to clean and rinse and won't contain residue smell of detergent.

my nicky always perched on the counter top, watching me wash his dish and i always let him inspect it. if it passes his inspection, he will accept a drink of water from the dish, if not he will turn up his nose and turn his back to me! while waiting me to finish washing his dish, he'd play with the running tap water!
Old 11-01-2008, 07:30 PM

ONION has acne and it looked quite bad!!

Old 11-01-2008, 10:23 PM

Blackie doesn't have acne, but I'm not going to take any chances. I'm going to change his plastic food bowls to stainless steel. Thanks for sharing this, tok abang.

Bina, poor Onion....I hope her acne heals soon. Muacks & hugs to Onion.
Old 11-02-2008, 12:06 AM

Blackie the master is getting new bowls!! Hehehehe

Anyway, I googled on kitty acne, and saw a post about a vitamin oil for coat suspected as the culprit.

Guess what? I started them on this Omega coat shine vitamin oil 3 weeks ago!!! It is quite possible that Onion is developing adverse effect (aka acne) because of it. I'll stop this vitamin oil and see if she improves.

Old 11-02-2008, 12:17 AM

Wah, so they're like we humans...consume too much oil and some of us break out in acne.
Old 11-02-2008, 01:08 AM

yay!! i love shopping for things for my pets new bowls for everyone!!
Yay.. me too. The old plastic one will do for my maggi mee..hahaha
Old 11-02-2008, 03:52 AM

i have acne too, means i have to use stainless stell bowl too???

ofcourse i'm kidding..maybe not, i'm a half cat!
good that my babies haven't had this kind of problem, maybe cause i wash their bowls daily but still it could happen right..
so maybe to avoid that i'll change too...
Old 11-02-2008, 12:50 PM

Zee, I'll get you a stainless steel bowl for you birthday! hehehehe

Old 11-03-2008, 11:11 AM

hmm... i've switched to metal bowls but ninja fatty's chin zits aren't going away. what should i do now?
Old 11-03-2008, 11:24 AM

All my FurKids use plastic bowls too, but I wipe each one clean and dry with tissue after every feed before stacking them up for use in the next meal.

I wash the bowls with soap and water and air dry every week. None of my pretty FurKids have any acne and same goes for the strays because they get the same level of cleanliness for their bowls.

I think it is not so much the type of bowls but how well you clean them. I have seen people who simply fill the bowls without any cleaning for days and weeks ... and the gunk lining the bowls, ewwwwww!!!
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies