Old 02-03-2009, 05:16 PM

DuchessNin is on a distinguished road
Talking Introducing a new cat to a current cat

Hi my fellow pet lovers..!!

I was at SPCA the other day accompanying my friend to get her dog and it broke my heart to see all those lovely animals without a home. I am a bonafide feline lover and those fussy little bundle of joys are always a delight to be around. I reckoned since it wouldn't be wise for me to just pick a cat(s) filled cage and head on home, but trust me I was tempted, I opted instead to get a 1 yr old beautiful black shiny persian. Absolutely gorgeous.

Here's the thing, I already have an equally lovely persian at home.

Now, before you call me irresponsible and impetuous, I did take into consideration the little cranky angel at home before I picked this new angel to bring home. Right now, my new kitty is still at SPCA waiting to be neutered. What I probably didn't think too fully off was the introduction part. In my ideal world all of God's creations live in harmony, however, I was forcefully brought down to reality that in THIS world, that may not be the case.

So, to cut my wind-bagging short, can anyone relate their own personal experience in introducing a new cat to a current one? Was it easy, hard, time consuming and I realise that it differs for each case but what would the common bottom line be like? Any tips you can share?

Also, if its relevant, the two cats are the same age (1yr) and gender (female), only my current cat has yet to be neutered (she's on a waiting list for March, though). Would it be better for me to wait till I've neutered my cat before I bring home my new one?

Hope you can help... ^_^.
Old 02-03-2009, 08:12 PM

Default Introducing a new cat to a current cat

Female cat generally not so friendly as male cat. Especially adt cat. It takes 2 weeks to 2 years for cats to bond and friendly to each other. From my experience (refering to my 11 cats at home - 2 male + 9 female),takes abt 1 week.First sniff2,then they stay away from each other.I bathed them together and meal time also together. Not long after that they become friends. But different cat have different habit.Maybe our other forumers can share their experience here.

Originally Posted by DuchessNin View Post
Hi my fellow pet lovers..!!

I was at SPCA the other day accompanying my friend to get her dog and it broke my heart to see all those lovely animals without a home. I am a bonafide feline lover and those fussy little bundle of joys are always a delight to be around. I reckoned since it wouldn't be wise for me to just pick a cat(s) filled cage and head on home, but trust me I was tempted, I opted instead to get a 1 yr old beautiful black shiny persian. Absolutely gorgeous.

Here's the thing, I already have an equally lovely persian at home.

Now, before you call me irresponsible and impetuous, I did take into consideration the little cranky angel at home before I picked this new angel to bring home. Right now, my new kitty is still at SPCA waiting to be neutered. What I probably didn't think too fully off was the introduction part. In my ideal world all of God's creations live in harmony, however, I was forcefully brought down to reality that in THIS world, that may not be the case.

So, to cut my wind-bagging short, can anyone relate their own personal experience in introducing a new cat to a current one? Was it easy, hard, time consuming and I realise that it differs for each case but what would the common bottom line be like? Any tips you can share?

Also, if its relevant, the two cats are the same age (1yr) and gender (female), only my current cat has yet to be neutered (she's on a waiting list for March, though). Would it be better for me to wait till I've neutered my cat before I bring home my new one?

Hope you can help... ^_^.
Old 02-04-2009, 09:12 AM

Default Re: Introducing a new cat to a current cat

In most cases, there will be absolutely no problem for these two princesses if you do the introduction patiently, carefully and well.

Important Suggestion:

Put the new princess in a cage and fully cover around with a thin curtain so that the senior princess cannot see her and the junior princess cannot see out.

They will smell and hear each other but not see or have full blown sight of each other .

They will definitely hiss at one another from one or both together, but it will subside as the days wear on.

Keep them this way (one in cage all the time and one outside) for every day and for a couple of days to monitor progress. The new princess must be fed in the cage and not let out at all until several days later when both's ruffled feathers have fully settled.

Because the cage is surrounded with cloth, occassionally they may "selak" the cloth and have glimpses of each other accompanied by some hissing. This is all right, the important thing is the cage protects one from injuring the other.

If one or both have playful personalities, the integration process will be faster. But if one or both are "sour pusses" (especially if raised badly without the opportunity to grow up in the tender years with Momma and sibblings for socialisation lessons), you will need to be patient for the process may take longer.

But my friend, in MOST cases regardless of gender, my experience with integration has been very, very good. Just make sure you have the patience to do it very slowly and make sure you spend time to carefully observe and interprete subtle signs and monitor the progress, playing by ear.

Good luck, and enjoy your babies because they grow up very fast and lose much of their playfulness very soon ... TOO soon!
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies
Old 02-05-2009, 04:45 PM
Felis Wonder Crew Member

IcE-CooN is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to IcE-CooN

I have Slight different opinion,

Before bring home a new cat, I suggest you do a blood test of FIV , FELV & FIP is necessary on your existing cat and your new cat. Coz you don't want to bring in a new cat where the new cat will bring diseases that kill your existing cat

1st Stage, Put the New cat in a Room (IF YOU HAVE A SPARE ONE) for at least 1 - 2 Month. Until you are sure of your new cat are free from any problem FIV,FELV,FIP & FLEA, FUNGUS and etc etc.

2nd Stage, I am sure the Existing will be able to smell the new cat present in the house, Make sure you put some cloth in the room for the new cat to sleep. Bring the cloth out, I am sure the existing cat will try to smell and let it get familiar before seeing the real cat. Then Put the new cat in a Bigger cage. (Remember don’t cage the existing cat that is not right you will make your existing cat feel he/she been abandon). Daily let the new cat out for a walk for few hours, but make sure the existing cat in some room where they are not able to TEAR each other apart.

3rd Stage, When both of the cat able to smell each other face to face with the barrier of cage then is a good sign to let them mix together. If not stay at 2nd stage, and make sure don’t rush into 1st stage.

Well is up to you , but this is how I introduce new cat to my family and it works for me all the time and I have more then 10 cats at home now.

[WhEn IcE MeLt InTo SiLveR ]......www.IcE-CooN.com
Old 02-05-2009, 11:48 PM

Thanks for the useful tip, Ken. This is one reason why I really hesitate to bring another cat into my home even if somehow my hubby agrees to it...the fear of bringing in some diseases of fleas to my Blackie, and the cats not getting along.

What if there is no spare room? What do you suggest then? You see, the spare room is my Blackie's room. And my room is also his room, so my room is also not good as he'll feel another cat has usurped his place....he has his own cat sofa facing my bed so that he can sleep with us if he decides not to use his room at night, which is usually the case.

Hehe, not that I'm adding another cat, at least not yet, but it's good to learn and know so I can be prepared in case I do get another cat.

Originally Posted by IcE-CooN View Post
I have Slight different opinion,

Before bring home a new cat, I suggest you do a blood test of FIV , FELV & FIP is necessary on your existing cat and your new cat. Coz you don't want to bring in a new cat where the new cat will bring diseases that kill your existing cat

1st Stage, Put the New cat in a Room (IF YOU HAVE A SPARE ONE) for at least 1 - 2 Month. Until you are sure of your new cat are free from any problem FIV,FELV,FIP & FLEA, FUNGUS and etc etc.

2nd Stage, I am sure the Existing will be able to smell the new cat present in the house, Make sure you put some cloth in the room for the new cat to sleep. Bring the cloth out, I am sure the existing cat will try to smell and let it get familiar before seeing the real cat. Then Put the new cat in a Bigger cage. (Remember don’t cage the existing cat that is not right you will make your existing cat feel he/she been abandon). Daily let the new cat out for a walk for few hours, but make sure the existing cat in some room where they are not able to TEAR each other apart.

3rd Stage, When both of the cat able to smell each other face to face with the barrier of cage then is a good sign to let them mix together. If not stay at 2nd stage, and make sure don’t rush into 1st stage.

Well is up to you , but this is how I introduce new cat to my family and it works for me all the time and I have more then 10 cats at home now.
Old 02-06-2009, 04:25 AM
Felis Wonder Crew Member

IcE-CooN is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to IcE-CooN

Thanks for the useful tip, Ken. This is one reason why I really hesitate to bring another cat into my home even if somehow my hubby agrees to it...the fear of bringing in some diseases of fleas to my Blackie, and the cats not getting along.

What if there is no spare room? What do you suggest then? You see, the spare room is my Blackie's room. And my room is also his room, so my room is also not good as he'll feel another cat has usurped his place....he has his own cat sofa facing my bed so that he can sleep with us if he decides not to use his room at night, which is usually the case.

Hehe, not that I'm adding another cat, at least not yet, but it's good to learn and know so I can be prepared in case I do get another cat.

Well if you are pretty sure that the cat you bring back home is free from all this diseases that wouldn't be hard, i think you could used a cage but make sure is big enough just in-case the existing cat try to bully the new cat by try to put his claw into the cage. and before bring back home , you could actually take some cloth that sleep by the new cat to let you existing cat familiar with the smell 1st.

But sometimes who know they could turn up to be good play mate.. Like what happen in jimmy place coz is depend on if the cat are dominant or not...Coz if the new kid in town didn't try to HISS on the 1st impression then it should be ok....I still remember when charger came to jimmy place, it works perfectly fine just within a few days.....

[WhEn IcE MeLt InTo SiLveR ]......www.IcE-CooN.com
Old 02-06-2009, 11:33 AM

Ok, so what you're saying is, it's usually the newcomer that starts hissing first? That makes sense. I mean, it explains what I have experienced.

In my old place, someone left their kitten (about 2 to 3 months) outside to cari makan on its own when they balik kampung 1 week for raya. It just sat around my area, and followed me into my home. I fed it at the door, and when Blackie came out to investigate, this young kitten crouched and hissed non-stop at Blackie. I was so afraid that it would bite Blackie as Blackie continued to nonchalantly approached, looking curious, and not aggressive or defensive. I had to put a box with towels outside my door and made sure it didn't come inside anymore.

Originally Posted by IcE-CooN View Post

Well if you are pretty sure that the cat you bring back home is free from all this diseases that wouldn't be hard, i think you could used a cage but make sure is big enough just in-case the existing cat try to bully the new cat by try to put his claw into the cage. and before bring back home , you could actually take some cloth that sleep by the new cat to let you existing cat familiar with the smell 1st.

But sometimes who know they could turn up to be good play mate.. Like what happen in jimmy place coz is depend on if the cat are dominant or not...Coz if the new kid in town didn't try to HISS on the 1st impression then it should be ok....I still remember when charger came to jimmy place, it works perfectly fine just within a few days.....
Old 02-06-2009, 12:23 PM

my experience is:

when i introduce outside cat to my existing cat, i have tried as what FK had suggested. the problem is that, the new cat didn't move at all in the cage. maybe she is so frightened until freezed at only 1 place. it's very hard to ask her to eat or even to pee in the litter box. this happened for about 1 week (can u imagine no movement at all in 1 week) after that the one in the cage slowly move and meowing begging to be outside. but i can't tell whether she is ready to be friend with the current PR cat is my house. but i manage to take her out of the cage and under my supervision, i monitor their interaction. well, thank god that the ice breaking session gone well... until now.. no problem at all with my furkids... it's just that whenever they are all line up in front of the glass sliding door and at the same time there was a strays outside... 3 of them will simultaneously hissing at the strays..

oh another things is.. make sure all of your cat's nails been clipped first before u introduce them to one another.. just for safety precaution..
Old 02-06-2009, 03:36 PM

Originally Posted by chemonk View Post
my experience is:

when i introduce outside cat to my existing cat, i have tried as what FK had suggested. the problem is that, the new cat didn't move at all in the cage. maybe she is so frightened until freezed at only 1 place. it's very hard to ask her to eat or even to pee in the litter box. this happened for about 1 week (can u imagine no movement at all in 1 week) after that the one in the cage slowly move and meowing begging to be outside. but i can't tell whether she is ready to be friend with the current PR cat is my house. but i manage to take her out of the cage and under my supervision, i monitor their interaction. well, thank god that the ice breaking session gone well... until now.. no problem at all with my furkids... it's just that whenever they are all line up in front of the glass sliding door and at the same time there was a strays outside... 3 of them will simultaneously hissing at the strays..

oh another things is.. make sure all of your cat's nails been clipped first before u introduce them to one another.. just for safety precaution..
Yes, some cats/kittens are very timid in character, some traumatised by previous attacks so you need to cover the top of the cage with huge cardboard and surround the cage with a large curtain (use big clothes pegs to clip the cloth to the cage).

Besides that you need also to put a box or two for it to hide inside like in the pics so that it will not keep sitting in a soiled poo box.

Name:	B37MGG05.jpg
Views:	71
Size:	96.3 KB
ID:	3315   Click image for larger version

Name:	B37MGG04.jpg
Views:	63
Size:	78.7 KB
ID:	3316   Click image for larger version

Name:	B37MGG07.jpg
Size:	48.0 KB
ID:	3317  
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies
Old 02-06-2009, 03:40 PM

Accaaaaaaakkkkk, Unca Chemonk!!!!!!!

Name:	B57BNN01.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	34.5 KB
ID:	3318   Click image for larger version

Name:	B57JRM01.jpg
Views:	60
Size:	35.2 KB
ID:	3319   Click image for larger version

Name:	B57PBB01.jpg
Views:	70
Size:	38.6 KB
ID:	3320  
Old 02-06-2009, 03:54 PM

However, I never clip the nails of any of my Furkids because I want them to be able to fight off any attacker should they venture out and accidentally meet any attackers from outside. Also, their nails will help them to climb walls and trees to effectively escape if they are no fight for the attackers.

Sharp claws are a very necessary weapon of defence and escape during emergencies, I find.

However, to prevent injuries during a introduction with a new cat, you simply sit by and monitor actively so that the situation does not get serious. Always observe the tail swings each and every cat for good hints of the temperature of the situation.

Be ever ready to gently and calmly pick up the newcommer and put him back into the cage or be ready to throw a sarong/curtain over the cats or just one cat if the situation escalates too quickly.

Name:	B47JRM12.jpg
Views:	57
Size:	37.9 KB
ID:	3321   Click image for larger version

Name:	B47JRM16.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	38.6 KB
ID:	3322   Click image for larger version

Name:	B73Tree05.jpg
Views:	61
Size:	49.7 KB
ID:	3323   Click image for larger version

Name:	B73Tree04.jpg
Views:	69
Size:	42.6 KB
ID:	3324  
Old 02-06-2009, 03:58 PM

Especially if one of the cats is very tiny ... it can get squashed easily and its tiny limbs can get dislocated or injured!

Name:	B732KIDS01.jpg
Views:	66
Size:	41.2 KB
ID:	3325   Click image for larger version

Name:	B73PTE05.jpg
Size:	42.7 KB
ID:	3326  
Old 02-06-2009, 04:13 PM

Waaaaahhhhhh, Unca Chemonk!!!!!

Hheiyellllllp! hhhhheiyellllllp!!!!

Doish! Doish!!! Take dat ... and datttt!!!! and daaattttt!!!!

{sing} ... Oh, yeaaaa, kids love to have fun, yeehhhh ...

Name:	B73NIKPTE01.jpg
Views:	67
Size:	34.4 KB
ID:	3330   Click image for larger version

Name:	B73NIKPTE02.jpg
Views:	65
Size:	39.8 KB
ID:	3331  
Old 02-06-2009, 05:21 PM

WOW!! thanks guys for all your suggestions and advice, you can be sure that my pen and eyes were working at full speed to make sure I didn't miss anything especially abt the FIV and other blood diseases. I'm hoping that SPCA does a good job with the vaccinations so there's no risk of that happening to Lady but I will definitely consider the keeping her in a seperate room advice ...hmmm, I think I can convince my bro to sleep on the couch for the next few weeks ...

I've got everything else set up already - cage, shoe box, extra litter, extra feeding bowl - now I'm just counting the days to bring home my newest angel ...!!

Again, thanks guys, I appreciate it. Do keep this thread going if you like, one can never say 'last one' when it comes to pets . I'm taking home 3 hamsters with me over the weekend and I'm going to put them high HIGH up... no need to get my Duchess addicted to hammie patties...
Old 02-06-2009, 05:22 PM

FurKids, you cats are GORGEOUS!!! how many do u have??
Old 02-06-2009, 05:26 PM

Default Introducing a new cat to a current cat

Duchness, be xtra careful when u take cats from SPCA.send to the vet immedately after you adopt them. My friend took 2 cats from SPCA and both cats died of diesease (she didn't mentioned what diesease).Not to accuse SPCA not doing their job but maybe because too many cats in 1 area so dieseases spread very fast.

WOW!! thanks guys for all your suggestions and advice, you can be sure that my pen and eyes were working at full speed to make sure I didn't miss anything especially abt the FIV and other blood diseases. I'm hoping that SPCA does a good job with the vaccinations so there's no risk of that happening to Lady but I will definitely consider the keeping her in a seperate room advice ...hmmm, I think I can convince my bro to sleep on the couch for the next few weeks ...

I've got everything else set up already - cage, shoe box, extra litter, extra feeding bowl - now I'm just counting the days to bring home my newest angel ...!!

Again, thanks guys, I appreciate it. Do keep this thread going if you like, one can never say 'last one' when it comes to pets . I'm taking home 3 hamsters with me over the weekend and I'm going to put them high HIGH up... no need to get my Duchess addicted to hammie patties...
Old 02-06-2009, 05:27 PM

Talking Re: Introducing a new cat to a current cat

FurKids, you cats are GORGEOUS!!! how many do u have??

ICe-Coon - you have 10 cats??!! green.. Greeen.... GREen... GREEEEEEEEEEEN..... WITH ENVY...!! GREEEEN..!! v
Old 02-06-2009, 05:28 PM

Same here

However, I never clip the nails of any of my Furkids because I want them to be able to fight off any attacker should they venture out and accidentally meet any attackers from outside. Also, their nails will help them to climb walls and trees to effectively escape if they are no fight for the attackers.

Sharp claws are a very necessary weapon of defence and escape during emergencies, I find.
However, to prevent injuries during a introduction with a new cat, you simply sit by and monitor actively so that the situation does not get serious. Always observe the tail swings each and every cat for good hints of the temperature of the situation.

Be ever ready to gently and calmly pick up the newcommer and put him back into the cage or be ready to throw a sarong/curtain over the cats or just one cat if the situation escalates too quickly.
Old 02-06-2009, 06:00 PM

...especially abt the FIV and other blood diseases. I'm hoping that SPCA does a good job with the vaccinations so there's no risk of that happening to Lady ...
Dear Duchess,

When I adopted my cat from the SPCA, the people there encouraged me to take her immediately to my own vet to have her tested for FIV and feline leukemia. They neither test for nor vaccinate the cats against these two diseases. One reason is the expense -- each blood alone test costs about RM50, and that's before the vaccinations. That was my experience with the SPCA; perhaps they have changed their policies and practices, but if I were you, I would get clear answers from them, and ideally, vaccination certificates for whatever shots they say she's already had.

Good luck!
Old 02-06-2009, 06:05 PM

haha FK.. i've tried your method of putting all kotak kotak in their room... it just that i'm very lazy in term of kemas balik depa punya kotak... huhu.. so wat i do is.. i remove all of the kotak kotak... i replace it with raga plastik... 1 time i did used tudung salji plastik.. but 1 day when i came back from work.. i found that 1 of them stuck under the tudung salji... haiya... 8 jam tak jamah makanan.. so i remove that also... yg tinggal adalah raga plastik yg kecik kecil... org buat raga tu utk tos mee kuning.. aku plak guna kasi diorg punya nest...hihihi...