Go Back   PetFinder.my > The Animal Corner > Reptiles

Reptiles Set your eyes upon the scaly, cold-blooded kingdom

Old 03-28-2009, 05:49 PM

Default Re: Uninvited guest

hahaha, maneki, i guess we're both going off at different tangents.

ok, ok.....i know u mentioned polis tikus as in referring to the snake.....and then i brought up polis tikus in pulau tikus, penang....

well, actually, the polis tikus is a real, very much in existence polis station in pulau tikus. i'm not sure why that place was called pulau tikus but i've always let my imagination run wild and assumed that place was over-run by tikus and the police was put there to make sure the tikus toe the line.

the snake temple is at......ahhh......if i'm not wrong, somewhere in bayan lepas, near the factories.

Is that the snake temple you're talking about? I've been meaning to go up there to visit & pay my respects for years now.

Shall we organize a Petfinder road-trip? 007 could come along in his nifty multi-purpose designer traveling case!

No? I didn't think so. *sigh*
Old 03-28-2009, 06:35 PM

There we go again. This afternoon's coffee, spat all over the screen.
A coffee a day, adds an inch to your waistline per month!

As silly as that sounds, it's true. I experimented with this. I drank 1 Nescafe (can) coffee / day and sure enuff, 1 inch added. Then stopped, and reduced by 1 inch, then started and added 1 inch...

I guess you can say the same with almost any soft drinks as well...

But if Ezer is right, and this little snake was not the venemous kind, Vivien, you should probably make friends with its friends and relatives. You will never need to worry about rats eating your rice or biscuits. Think of the snake as Polis Tikus.
Nope, it looked like a grass snake.. We used to have tons of them at and around my old house (fruit farm)...

In fact, back in the days, we had to live with cobras as well.. they appear everywhere.. in the kitchen, in the toilet, under the bed, in the chicken coop (waiting for unsuspecting hands who comes to collect eggs), etc...

And Neko, snakes are probably one of the best pest controllers around..... The Indians live with them on a daily basis (although some 50,000 dies from snake bites each year.. hehe).

Is that the snake temple you're talking about? I've been meaning to go up there to visit & pay my respects for years now.
Most of the snakes at the Snake temple are tree vipers... But i think there are not many left nowadays..
Old 03-28-2009, 06:37 PM

superman will you come and zap kill the snake with your powerful power?
Superman don't kill harmless, innocent snakes.. He only do battles with super villians...

maneki, you'd have to learn to control yourself better. when feeling the urge to laugh while drinking coffee, purse your lips tight & force both laughter & coffee down your throat. that way, if the coffee comes back out again, it'll only be in tiny sprinkles through your nostrils which won't damage your screen.
Double-O, you should put up your spy costume, and take up stand up comedy!! hehe...
Old 03-28-2009, 06:39 PM

As silly as that sounds, it's true. I experimented with this. I drank 1 Nescafe (can) coffee / day and sure enuff, 1 inch added. Then stopped, and reduced by 1 inch, then started and added 1 inch...

Nope, it looked like a grass snake.. We used to have tons of them at and around my old house (fruit farm)...

In fact, back in the days, we had to live with cobras as well.. they appear everywhere.. in the kitchen, in the toilet, under the bed, in the chicken coop (waiting for unsuspecting hands who comes to collect eggs), etc...

And Neko, snakes are probably one of the best pest controllers around..... The Indians live with them on a daily basis (although some 50,000 dies from snake bites each year.. hehe).

Most of the snakes at the Snake temple are tree vipers... But i think there are not many left nowadays..
i dont have any fruit farm here le.............

all ....so concrete............
still no risk....eeeeeeeeeee
maybe they will be more

last time my neighbour one really komodo lizard eee
that one bomba has to come hahahaa

i still remember that incident...
Old 03-28-2009, 07:29 PM

ezer is right. there aren't many left. there're 3 only of them, when i went there last year. when i was a child, they would crawl all around the temple. now, they are in glass containers, so not much fun.

heheh....just like me. it's beneath our dignity to kill small, harmless things, right? we only kill villians.

aww, i don't want to be a stand-up comedian, even though i like harith iskandar. huhuhu. A spy has more respect mah....*going off to a corner crying crocodile tears*

Superman don't kill harmless, innocent snakes.. He only do battles with super villians...

Double-O, you should put up your spy costume, and take up stand up comedy!! hehe...

hey! I like komodo lizards. there're one or two at my old place, and i'd stop the car and watched them until they disappeared into the trees.

i dont have any fruit farm here le.............

all ....so concrete............
still no risk....eeeeeeeeeee
maybe they will be more

last time my neighbour one really komodo lizard eee
that one bomba has to come hahahaa

i still remember that incident...
Old 03-28-2009, 07:38 PM
Petfinder Lifetime Member

kairul is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to kairul Send a message via Skype™ to kairul

now, they are in glass containers, so not much fun.
ur right..there won't be any fun if the snakes are in glass containers..then it will be like watching snakes in the zoo... plus, if there are no snakes like it used to be, then the name of the temple will only become part of history...
Old 03-28-2009, 07:40 PM

wa..vivien..so scary..got snakes in ur house...huhu..
u shud call a bomba to guard ur house..
then u dun have to waste ur phone bill calling them...
u can just shout..hehehe...
Old 03-28-2009, 11:26 PM

Default Uninvited guest

That is why I stop drinking coffee and soft drinks. It was 5 yrs ago when I kena very bad gastric.The doctor told me I must stop drinking too much Coke.Is hard you know.But I have to. I drink occasionally like 3 or 4 times a year nowadays. eating KFC without coke

Old 03-28-2009, 11:28 PM

Default Uninvited guest

hello!!! so who is going to save us from harmless small snakes,cockroaches or even tikus?? (as pulau tikus.heheheheh!!)

ezer is right. there aren't many left. there're 3 only of them, when i went there last year. when i was a child, they would crawl all around the temple. now, they are in glass containers, so not much fun.

heheh....just like me. it's beneath our dignity to kill small, harmless things, right? we only kill villians.

aww, i don't want to be a stand-up comedian, even though i like harith iskandar. huhuhu. A spy has more respect mah....*going off to a corner crying crocodile tears*

hey! I like komodo lizards. there're one or two at my old place, and i'd stop the car and watched them until they disappeared into the trees.
Old 03-29-2009, 12:31 AM

err.....how about the bomba??

hello!!! so who is going to save us from harmless small snakes,cockroaches or even tikus?? (as pulau tikus.heheheheh!!)
Old 03-29-2009, 02:33 AM

err.....how about the bomba??
Bomba will save the day for any emergencies... especially when Blackie-double-O is concerned...
Old 03-29-2009, 08:03 AM

hahaha, maneki, i guess we're both going off at different tangents.

ok, ok.....i know u mentioned polis tikus as in referring to the snake.....and then i brought up polis tikus in pulau tikus, penang....

well, actually, the polis tikus is a real, very much in existence polis station in pulau tikus. i'm not sure why that place was called pulau tikus but i've always let my imagination run wild and assumed that place was over-run by tikus and the police was put there to make sure the tikus toe the line.

the snake temple is at......ahhh......if i'm not wrong, somewhere in bayan lepas, near the factories.
Ah, you see? I don't know Penang at all well. I'd never heard of Pulau (or Polis) Tikus, but I'm glad they have very law-abiding mice/rats there. No rat riots or mouse melees. Now my imagination takes off, and I imagine the people going amok while the rodents toe the line.

How sad to hear the state of the snake temple now, though! The vipers used to be plentiful and free-crawling. Cancel the Petfinder road-trip. We'll have to go to the Queen's Snake Farm in Bangkok to see snakes. Or just go to Vivien's for kopi!
Old 03-29-2009, 12:03 PM

Or just go to Vivien's for kopi!
Hahaha... Agreed!

p/s: pray 4 my mum's health pls... yesterday, when she was admitted, her platelet was 118.. today, it is decreasing. the doc said that my mum's platelet reading is 82... thanks everyone!
Old 03-29-2009, 01:25 PM

Originally Posted by kairul View Post
Hahaha... Agreed!

p/s: pray 4 my mum's health pls... yesterday, when she was admitted, her platelet was 118.. today, it is decreasing. the doc said that my mum's platelet reading is 82... thanks everyone!
Salam Khairul,
kak zai tumpang sedih dengar ibu khairul sakit. Please give her your undivided love and support ok. That is very important now. Tell her to be strong.

I pray for your moms speedy recovery.
Old 03-29-2009, 01:29 PM
Kucing Garong

Bareen is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Bareen Send a message via Yahoo to Bareen Send a message via Skype™ to Bareen

Salam Khairul,
kak zai tumpang sedih dengar ibu khairul sakit. Please give her your undivided love and support ok. That is very important now. Tell her to be strong.

Zai... you back!!!!!
Old 03-29-2009, 01:32 PM

Originally Posted by Bareen View Post
Zai... you back!!!!!
Bareennnn.....winduuu nyerr......!!!!
dah balik tapi lom sehat betul lagi.
Old 03-29-2009, 01:35 PM
Kucing Garong

Bareen is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to Bareen Send a message via Yahoo to Bareen Send a message via Skype™ to Bareen

bareennnn.....winduuu nyerr......!!!!
dah balik tapi lom sehat betul lagi.
pm pm
Old 03-29-2009, 01:40 PM

Originally Posted by Bareen View Post
pm pm
nanti zai PM. Malam2 sikit hehehe...
Old 03-29-2009, 01:46 PM

Salam Khairul,

terima kasih kak zai...smlm saya tidur di hospital tman mak...don't know whether i am able to do the same today...sbb esok 10.30 am I have lectures...
Old 03-30-2009, 10:02 AM

Originally Posted by kairul View Post
Hahaha... Agreed!

hheee maybe i should take the snake
you give your mother - let the snake BITESSS her..then her platelet will boost up hehehee. just jk....

monday blues

i still suspect the mother snake should be around