Old 01-24-2009, 02:52 PM

miket is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Info bout Rottweiler & Dobermann

Hi beckhamnair,

Should you put a Rottweiler pup - at 8 weeks - in outdoor cage?
Never. You will regret it and I absolutely guarantee you that.

Why? He is not socialised yet. He needs to be with humans (adults and kids) / cats / stimulating environments etc until he is about 6 months. If it were me, I'd say 12 months. And even then for a maximum of 4 hours in a day.

CHAINING / TETHERING DOGS
Remember, to cage (kennels with yard or run not included) is a step more drastic to chaining/tethering a dog - it is inhumane / abusive to the dog. There are many laws and websites that advice against it. See here:
http://www.hsus.org/pets/issues_affe...ring_dogs.html
http://www.dogexpert.com/Dog%20Bite%...ned%20dog.html
http://www.helpinganimals.com/a-tether.html

I know the sites are mainly American but I don't know if the pup or dog cares that he is a 'Malaysian'-registered dog.

In addition to the warnings by these sites, you should be aware - chaining and caging pups for long hours will result in the loss of confidence of the dog as it grows up, which in turn, will increase the aggressiveness and defense drive of the dog. The end result is a fear-biter. In other words, the dog will bite out of fear every single time you let someone or something close to him.

WHY USE A CRATE?
With a crate, you can use it as an aid to teach dogs to hold themselves together till you let them out to pee or poo. But never more than 4 hours max. For pups, you are lucky if they can hold for 2 hours. If you force pups to pee and poo in the place where they eat/rest/sleep, they will end up being 'dirty' dogs - not caring about hygeine. That includes your own home, i.e. inside your house.

As to the post that speak of caging a dog to teach the dog how to pee or poo, I think the writer misunderstood your question. A cage is not a crate. A crate takes advantage of its impermanent location and light-weight. So, it is used to TEMPORARILY hold a dog. In addition, it is also used to transport dogs. In essence, it is a mobile home / sanctuary.

A cage, unlike a crate, is to hold a dog PERMANENTLY.

TRAINING YOUR ROTTIE
You have not asked this question, but I'm anticipating. A rottweiler is a working breed. So, if its well-bred, you've got a bundle of energy that thinks and understands - much like a young kid. Except, this has sharp teeth and claws and is much heavier than a young human.

You must learn to control your pup early. Otherwise, it will be not be controllable when it grows up. Young dogs, and rotties especially, should NOT be trained by compulsion or force. Try sticking to postive reinforcement. In general, rotties are handler sensitve out of an abundance of loyalty to its master. If I'm speaking gibberish or Greek, perhaps you might want to learn about the 'character' or 'temperament' of Rottweilers. Buy a few books. Don't use the internet - there's too much psycho-babble online. (Yes, I can see the irony here.)

Finally, in addition to health and nutrition issues, think longer term what you would like your dog to do and train for it. No, don't send him to a trainer yet until you have tried your hand at training - just to see how far you can go with training your dog. If you are not interested in training or don't know how to train your new rottie pup - why did you get one? So, as the new master, learn as much possible and act responsibly, try training your dog. If you can't do it well, then seek a trainer.

Remember: ALL DOGS ARE TRAINED, either you train them or they train themselves.

I didn't mean to be impolite when I said in my ealier post you might be a novice - my point was working dogs take a lot more than an interest/love of the breed to raise and work with. You could have started with young dogs instead of pups. It would have been much easier.

Owning a dog is not just a hobby. It's also a responsibility. Good luck.
Old 02-25-2009, 03:01 PM

nivek is on a distinguished road

hi beckhamnair,

how is Neo doing? :)
Old 02-26-2009, 02:37 PM

beckhamnair is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to beckhamnair Send a message via Yahoo to beckhamnair Send a message via Skype™ to beckhamnair

He is fine and doing great...
Getting naughty...
You may view the profile for latest picture of him.
http://www.petfinder.my/pets/3489/

Sharp 7.30am he will bark to make sure I wake up and feed him.
12pm again to simply play around with me.
7.30pm for makan.
11pm again for another walk.

Making me dicipline.
Old 02-26-2009, 02:46 PM

hahahaha habis, you have become the slave and he has become the master :)
Old 02-26-2009, 09:17 PM

beckhamnair is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to beckhamnair Send a message via Yahoo to beckhamnair Send a message via Skype™ to beckhamnair

It's not like that.
Neo got to know that if he didn't bark I won't wake up.

So if he want food he must wake me up.

Very fast learning guy..... Just 3 mths but active like athlete
Old 03-26-2009, 07:00 PM

monkee94 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to monkee94

hey guys can any of you gimme some information bout doberman mix with mongrels??cos my dad wants to adopt a 2 month old doberman and mongrel pup...????im a rookie here..thanks
Old 03-26-2009, 08:50 PM

Originally Posted by monkee94 View Post
hey guys can any of you gimme some information bout doberman mix with mongrels??cos my dad wants to adopt a 2 month old doberman and mongrel pup...????im a rookie here..thanks
Shouldn't be any different from taking care of any other puppies. Lots of love and basic obedience training. DO NOT overfeed your puppy although you may be tempted to :) Read up on training and feeding tips online and search the net to do your research :) Lastly good for you for adopting!

Oops almost forgot. Get you puppy vaccinated.

Last edited by nivek; 03-26-2009 at 08:59 PM.
Old 03-27-2009, 01:26 PM

Originally Posted by nivek View Post
Shouldn't be any different from taking care of any other puppies. Lots of love and basic obedience training. DO NOT overfeed your puppy although you may be tempted to :) Read up on training and feeding tips online and search the net to do your research :) Lastly good for you for adopting!

Oops almost forgot. Get you puppy vaccinated.
Hmm..but i did a little backgrpund reading to find out more bout Dobermanns and they say Dobermanns are dominating..hard headed..aggresivve...and hard to control..so im having second thought bout adopting the Dobermann..i fear that i wont be able to control it and will have to tie it to a leash all day (which is not good..)but my dad is adamant on getting the Dobermann cos he says its a good watchdog..any tips on puppy obedience training????!!!!
Old 03-27-2009, 02:30 PM

Hmm..but i did a little backgrpund reading to find out more bout Dobermanns and they say Dobermanns are dominating..hard headed..aggresivve...and hard to control..so im having second thought bout adopting the Dobermann..
Hi Monkee94,

The traits you listed - dominating / hard-headed / aggressive, and hence hard to control - can manifest itself in any dogs. In other words, ALL DOGS of any breed type might behave this way, not just Dobermanns. Much depends on how well socialised and trained it is. The fact that you (or your dad) would like to adopt a 8 week old Dob-mixed puppy is good because you can shape the dogs behaviour as it is growing up.

i fear that i wont be able to control it and will have to tie it to a leash all day (which is not good..)but my dad is adamant on getting the Dobermann cos he says its a good watchdog..any tips on puppy obedience training????!!!!
The fact that you (or any one else) seeks 'tips on puppy obedience training' for Dobermann-mixed dog, yet think it's a 'good watchdog' is a scary idea.

I do not want to discourage you or your dad from adopting dogs/puppies but I don't want you think you can learn anything about dog training or 'puppy obedience training' by asking for it in forums. There are tons and tons of information online. Most of them can be useful in the right hands. But most users haven't the foggiest idea how to even start to understand how to apply the ideas available online. Hence, it's not a good idea to learn about 'puppy obedience training' online. Try getting a book instead. Get serious books - not the 'What is a Doberman' or 'What is a dog' kind of book. Instead, try to read and understand books on dog behaviour.

Finally, I hope this is not too discouraging because I believe it is a good thing that you to want to adopt. Yet, if trained/socialised badly by novices/beginners, any dog can be a monster. So, if your dad has strong interest, and is really adamant about adopting and would like to learn more, PM me and I will send him more info.

All the best.
PS. To know more, you can join the Dobermann Review forum at: http://www.dobermann-review.com/
Old 03-27-2009, 09:50 PM

Originally Posted by miket View Post
Hi Monkee94,

The traits you listed - dominating / hard-headed / aggressive, and hence hard to control - can manifest itself in any dogs. In other words, ALL DOGS of any breed type might behave this way, not just Dobermanns. Much depends on how well socialised and trained it is. The fact that you (or your dad) would like to adopt a 8 week old Dob-mixed puppy is good because you can shape the dogs behaviour as it is growing up.

The fact that you (or any one else) seeks 'tips on puppy obedience training' for Dobermann-mixed dog, yet think it's a 'good watchdog' is a scary idea.

I do not want to discourage you or your dad from adopting dogs/puppies but I don't want you think you can learn anything about dog training or 'puppy obedience training' by asking for it in forums. There are tons and tons of information online. Most of them can be useful in the right hands. But most users haven't the foggiest idea how to even start to understand how to apply the ideas available online. Hence, it's not a good idea to learn about 'puppy obedience training' online. Try getting a book instead. Get serious books - not the 'What is a Doberman' or 'What is a dog' kind of book. Instead, try to read and understand books on dog behaviour.

Finally, I hope this is not too discouraging because I believe it is a good thing that you to want to adopt. Yet, if trained/socialised badly by novices/beginners, any dog can be a monster. So, if your dad has strong interest, and is really adamant about adopting and would like to learn more, PM me and I will send him more info.

All the best.
PS. To know more, you can join the Dobermann Review forum at: http://www.dobermann-review.com/
Thanks your information is really useful...but as a rookie..im afraid i wont be able to give the Dobermann good socialisation, training, diet..etc.etc.My dad says he's sure he's capable of handling the pup but the fosterer isnt very keen to hand over the pup to us for fear we wont be able to handle her..she says the pup is chewing everything now..including her fingers!and the pup wont listen to her...
Old 03-27-2009, 11:42 PM

Thanks your information is really useful...but as a rookie..im afraid i wont be able to give the Dobermann good socialisation, training, diet..etc.etc.My dad says he's sure he's capable of handling the pup but the fosterer isnt very keen to hand over the pup to us for fear we wont be able to handle her..she says the pup is chewing everything now..including her fingers!and the pup wont listen to her...
Hi Monkee94,

I can understand where the fosterer is coming from. If your dad is keen, he needs to convince fosterer he has the ability. As they say, nothing comes free. You don't seem sure that it's a good idea but your dad is. Why is that? Perhaps he can come on to this forum and have a chat or look around just to get 'a feel' of what is required in getting/raising/training a dog.

You have done well to ask/think about what it takes to adopt a dog. That's heaps more than most who think such action is NOT open to criticism, and instead they should be hailed as some sort of saviour. So, if you care deeply about doing it right, I suggest you start reading more about the breed or of dogs you like and their behaviour. That way, you can directly influence the life of dogs that might eventually come under your care one day.

All the best.
Old 03-28-2009, 01:33 PM

Originally Posted by miket View Post
Hi Monkee94,

I can understand where the fosterer is coming from. If your dad is keen, he needs to convince fosterer he has the ability. As they say, nothing comes free. You don't seem sure that it's a good idea but your dad is. Why is that? Perhaps he can come on to this forum and have a chat or look around just to get 'a feel' of what is required in getting/raising/training a dog.

You have done well to ask/think about what it takes to adopt a dog. That's heaps more than most who think such action is NOT open to criticism, and instead they should be hailed as some sort of saviour. So, if you care deeply about doing it right, I suggest you start reading more about the breed or of dogs you like and their behaviour. That way, you can directly influence the life of dogs that might eventually come under your care one day.

All the best.
Ive read up information on the internet but as you said the information isnt necessarily right..my dad has experiance with dogs the same kind as Dobermanns and he's confident he can train the pup but he's working and isnt home most of the time.

The reason I think its not a very good idea is because of my mum.She is a bit on the soft side and not very daring/experianced with doggies.

The fosterer has found another couple keen on the pup and they also have experiance. So I think its best if the pup goes to them..she'll be able to benefit more.

Thank you once more for all your advice and I'll heed your advice on reading up bout dogs from serious books.

Thanks again!