Go Back   PetFinder.my > The Animal Corner > Small Mammals - Furry & Cute > Rabbits

Old 03-25-2009, 10:08 AM

Unhappy How long can Bit Bit live

as you all know my rabbit is about a human age of 80s years old

he is around 8-9 years....old...

2 days ago i discover he had a swollen right hind leg - the back one
he shows nothing only i notice that lump.......
he is not limping nor anything

i took him to a vet yesterday...
doc said... it will eventually happens as he is very old rabbit...
nothing much the doc can do...
he checked overall bit bit is ok... except he is over stressful when i took him to a vet for the second time..

removing him from the cage is one thing
putting him into that cage container is another thing
dragging him out...is another thing
having doc to check on him is another thing..
i packed all the goodies stuff and he is not in the mood as he is over hyper stress mode till sound can be heard... he sort like telling why you bring me here again as though he thinks that he is getting slaughtered

im not to sure what the doc said is a good news or bad..
i guess in malaysia there isnt much super specialize vet in rabbit...

also his age - the doc said putting him into anything will lead his dead faster
just make him comfortable -

bit bit behaviour is still ok..
he is still eating, shitting.... walking around
only he tends to stay one spot for a long time
he drop dead bunny most of the time
he sits really one sided..i guess he is feeling some pain
he is not like cats or dogs - can make or scream....

i feel so uncomfortable lately..since monday..
i dont know what i can do...but to accept to make him as comfortable as possible...spoiling him as usual....

can his swollen/lump heal by itself? i got some antibiotic for him but he arent liking it

i sense the day has come but only when?
im so attached to him - hard to detach

lately i just be with him...

he likes it..but i think he thinks im a bit crazy talking to him and he is not listening....
Old 03-25-2009, 10:59 AM

Default Re: How long can Bit Bit live

is the lump cancer?
Old 03-25-2009, 11:23 AM

is the lump cancer?
vet doc said more like got bitten by something insect or so
doc wanted to take sample...but i cannot control my rabbit...
doc said can sedate him but no good because due to his age
chances my rabbit will go with complications
to just take like that.. cannot .. he cant stop moving..
i try to hold him tight... he scratches me all over with fear....
so doc gave me antibiotic and asked me to monitor him...
since this morning he is ok..but he is extremely very ANGRY WITH ME
Old 03-25-2009, 11:41 AM

vivien
i think it's bcos bitbit feel very confuse rite now for the trip and examination.
every pet gets a bit grumpy and unsafe when they r old so they will act like that.
just spend more time wth bit bit and shower him and spoil him like u always do.
time is everything for bit bit now.
:)
hugs and kisses for bit bit and a little bit for vivien lah.
Old 03-25-2009, 12:35 PM

yeah he is very confuse, scare and very stressful
his nose is also moving really fast when he got back
he got back straight automatically he ran into his cage and sit at the corner
no food touch
no water touch
i guess he is freaking scare

gave him goodie - dont want to eat man....
not in the mood of eating

im handling him with extra care but then again.. rabbits will always be rabbits

last checked with my dad - he said he is sleeping....

i think i just get too sentimental / emotional especially with him...

everyone already scolding me for too attached
ask me to detach - cannot le..... when he is sick
i go down with him ....
not only him every pets i have....
at times i wonder it is best for myself...
cant help it.... that why some of us losing our loved ones..
i know it is very hard..... and i cannot comment nor say anything because i'll also be in that shoe one of this day.... especially the bonding is very close...

and im really close with him because the time i got him is the time im jobless for 8 months
2001 march i got him
2001 is the worst year i had in my life - job wise, my aunty committed suicide, my own personal health problem and also during the time sept my mother was in operation for breast cancer...so that critical part you wont believe what my rabbit did...
Old 03-25-2009, 02:05 PM

vivien,
don't listen to people!! yes bit bit is older now and its possible he does not have much time left, but why do you have to detach yourself from him? i think that's bad and unnecessary advice. when a relative is ill, do we detach ourselves from them? of course not! do we try to stop loving them? no!! i say go ahead and attach yourself to him as much as possible or you will regret it later..

have you heard this saying:
"dance like nobody's watching, and love like its never going to hurt."
Old 03-25-2009, 02:27 PM

of course i never detach and ignore him....im so glued to him...
agree with you these ppl wont understand..and they always tell you - as in he is just afterall an animal....but to me its more than that.... its hard to explain but most people here would you know because we share our lives not merely to humans but also to animals... what more our pets..

the moment he is still breathing... i will continue to love him and give him what he likes...... till the very last day...
Old 03-25-2009, 09:03 PM

vivien,
i agree with lynie. spend as much time as you can with bit bit now. he'll appreciate it. when a beloved relative is sick, we spend all our available time at their bedside, right? in the same way, bit bit will appreciate the extra time & affection you give him. when he goes, he'll go knowing that he has been loved to bits by you.

*hugs to bit bit & vivien*
Old 03-26-2009, 03:21 PM

thanks lynielime and blackie

a friend of mine called me
she said i should take my rabbit to see dr. yeoh - the megah vet specialist
i went there
i took emergency leave this morning
call the vet but the doc could not be in till 12pm
they have others but my friend recommended that i see dr yeoh instead

12pm, my dad drove me with the vet
as usual subject my darling bit bit
i conned him a rabbit biscuit then i hold him into the cage container
he starts to freak out already when i lifted up the container..
of course the journey arent that far - consoling
i packed all his goodie snacks along but he ate none because he is hyper stress mode again

i went in hoping the doc arrived. waited about 10 mins before i saw the doc
he was nice enough to look into my case first than entertaining his old buddy on sales..

i know i read some of forums that his vet might be a bit expensive but then again - im much more relief after getting his consultation
he is sure an expert in many animals from dogs, cats, hamster or whatever..
he sure a very specialist and dedicated.
Why is he different from the way he handles my rabbit compares to the previous vet doc or the one i went before..

he dont simply grab - he even console and pet my rabbit first
then i started to remove the cage...
he grabs my rabbit very gentle and i was shocked that my rabbit didnt kick of go hysterical - instead his 4 legs where trembling. I know he is very nervous - im also on a nervous breakdown together with him..
he touched the swollen..he said there is a growth.....
2 things either cancerous or growth due to his age....
he poke my bunny ...to get sample.... that the hardest part but somehow
my rabbit didnt freak out under him - he was so gentle.. but i need to hold him and make sure he is ok. He didnt fight back and let the doc poke the growth part - ntohing came out..... just some slight blood and he went to do some microscoping testing......

i was still holding him....... in that position for almost 20 mins..i even asked him can i let him in a normal position. the doc asked me to continue holding him.

he came in...saying..nothing so serious....
he explained to me in a very professional manner - which is to my much relief. Do you want to go further but he said due to his age.. dont subject to him anything. He is not limping. He is eating fine... he is what he is..let him be - a 8 years old rabbit is something i never come across because the last he come across dont even last 5 . If we do something the growth might spread and it will be worst for him.

So i agreed with him..i arent subjecting into anything such as operation to him nor anything. I accepted the fact he is old..then he will go one of this day.. but as for now.... i make sure he will be a happy rabbit.......

what makes me so touched today is when i was holding him - he didnt move or fight because he knows it is me ..i hold him so tightly near me.....that he is safe in my hand that i wont let anything hurt him and he is willing to share his fear with me

took him home..he was still trembling - calm him down
after 20 minutes.. i showered him with one of his goodie snack
took a bite and happily munching it.. i guess he stops being angry with me
Old 03-26-2009, 04:12 PM

aww... he sounds so sweet. i've never had a bunny before.. perhaps one day i will be able to adopt one and get to know them better. i'm glad to hear that bit bit's growth is nothing too serious!

we will almost always outlive our pets vivien.. that's a sad fact of life. but this way, we can love many in our lifetimes, and be loved by many of them in return..
Old 03-26-2009, 05:58 PM

vivien, glad to hear that bit bit's lump isn't serious. *hugs*
Old 03-26-2009, 08:21 PM

yeah...... luckily...... continue feeding him and make him happy -

everyday bonus :)
Old 03-26-2009, 08:49 PM

pyton is on a distinguished road

Hi Vivien

Here is a group i found to be very helpfull with my bunny problems and illnesses.
U can join them write to them and u get responds from other group members pretty fast. I would write to them about bit bit and see what feed back you get. From time to time i write to them about my bunnies and it has always been helpfull even during the times the vets could not do anything. Its worth a try as i know u love bit bit very much. Take care and hugs to bit bit...
Here is the link:
http://www.bio.miami.edu/hare/etherbun.html
Old 03-26-2009, 08:59 PM

Vivien,

wow! This Dr. Yeoh sounds wonderful. It's a gift to find a vet who is equally talented dealing with both animals and their people.

Where is his clinic?

All my best to you and Bit Bit, who surely spends his days now just being thankful to have spent his life with you. Lucky bunny, indeed!
Old 03-27-2009, 12:09 PM

Hi pyton, thanks for sharing the link......... and for the help.. :)

as far as i know here the vet doc are mostly specialize in dogs and cats
but after i find that Dr. Yeoh - he is as well...

His clinic is Yeoh's Veterinarian & Surgery
Taman Megah
No. 126, Jln Ss24/2,
47301 Petaling Jaya,
Selangor .
Tel: 03-7804 8684