Go Back   PetFinder.my > PetFinder Lounge > Movies & TV

Movies & TV Discuss the latest movies, tv shows, and what turns you into a couch potato

Old 08-02-2008, 06:00 AM

Default A Lion's Tale of Love

Watch this and start bawling!!

Old 08-12-2008, 03:29 PM

Smile .:: Love knows no boundaries & forever.. ::.

Elow all...
couple of hourse ago i was surfing through blogs and i came to sis imann's blog..
i saw the 'Love is forever' posting and watched the video in that posting..
During watching the vid i just cried and felt what's the message of the video..
hereby I attached the video for all, do enjoy it...

and sis imann, the video really made my day..
evethough it was sad but i understand the positive message in it..
thank God i came across ur blog!thnx!

~Christian The Lion - Reunited~

I cried at the part where Christian hugs them..
OMG, he totally remembers them and look at how his paws like hugging and holding his ex-owners...
Eh, and i'm also quite surprised that eventhough Christian's wife never meet them, she was also quite friendly..
I just love stories like this, it shows there're something worth living for..
Owh, I wanna cry again..huhu...

P/S~At first i wanted to open the thread in the coffe section as thi is about a big cat..lol..
but however the posting for youtube are not available there yet so i asked andy's advice and he said i can post it here first so when the time comes the big bosses will move it to the appropriate thread..
thnx andy...heh..

Last edited by BabyZee; 08-12-2008 at 03:41 PM.
Old 08-12-2008, 03:35 PM

Default Re: .:: Love knows no boundaries & forever.. ::.

yes indeed..I still cry while watching it....
Old 08-12-2008, 03:43 PM

Originally Posted by imann View Post
yes indeed..I still cry while watching it....
Kak imann..
yang vid first tu lagi ada lebih story sikit..
siap ada kenalkan dekat wife dia lg tu!
Old 08-12-2008, 03:50 PM

Christian was a lion purchased in 1969 by two Australians living in London, John Rendall and Anthony 'Ace' Bourke (sometimes erroneously cited as Ace Berg) from Harrods department store. They had discovered him for sale in Harrods' exotic pets department and, concerned for his conditions and fate, decided to buy him.

Rendall, Bourke and their girlfriends Jennifer Mary and Unity Jones cared for the lion until it was a year old. Christian's increasing size and the cost of looking after him led them to the realization that they could not keep him in London for much longer. The solution came when Bill Travers and Virginia McKenna, stars of the film Born Free, visited Rendall and Bourke's furniture shop, where Christian spent his days. They suggested that they ask the assistance of George Adamson, the Kenyan conservationist who, together with his wife Joy, was the subject of their movie. Adamson agreed to help them rehabilitate Christian into the wild at his compound at Kora National Reserve.

Adamson slowly introduced Christian to an older lion 'Boy' and subsequently to a female cub Katiana in order to form the nucleus of a new pride. Tragedy struck several times: Katiana was possibly devoured by crocodiles at a watering hole. Another female was killed by wild lions. Boy was so injured that he lost his ability to socialize with other lions and humans, and was shot through the heart by Adamson after fatally wounding a man.

That left Christian as the only surviving member of the original pride.

Adamson continued his work, and over the course of a year the pride established itself in the region around Kora, with Christian as the head of the pride started by Boy.

When Rendall & Bourke were informed by Adamson of the successful result in 1971, they traveled to Kenya to pay the visit to Christian that was filmed in the documentary The Lion at World's End. According to the documentary, Adamson warned Rendall and Bourke that Christian may not remember them, but the film shows a first cautious lion suddenly leaping onto the two men, wrapping his arms on their shoulders and licking their faces. The documentary also shows the female lions, Mona and Lisa, and a foster cub named Supercub welcoming the two men because of the influence of Christian.

Rendall details a final reunion that occurred in 1974. By this time Christian was successfully defending his own pride and had cubs of his own -- and he was about twice the size he was in the 1971 reunion video. Adamson warned them that it would most likely be a wasted trip as he had not seen Christian's pride for nine months. However they discovered when they reached Kora that Christian and his pride had returned to Adamson's compound the day before their arrival.

Rendall describes the visit he, Bourke, and George Adamson made: "We called him and he stood up and started to walk towards us very slowly. Then, as if he had become convinced it was us, he ran towards us, threw himself on to us, knocked us over, knocked George over and hugged us, like he used to, with his paws on our shoulders."

The reunion lasted until the next morning when everyone went to bed. According to Rendall that was the last anyone saw of Christian.

Adamson counted the days after that visit until Christian's return, but gave up waiting after 97 days
Old 08-12-2008, 03:55 PM

Ops..
There more..
When I'm interested in something i'll google it eagerly..lol..

Christian, the lion who lived in my London living room

There's an updated pics of Christian ex-owners here..
Man in ‘hugging’ lion video reveals its secrets

This is about the man who took care of Christian and his pride in Africa,he was also a 'gentleman', who was courageous, caring,and no person that has ever lived knows Lions on a more personal, intimate basis than this remarkable man.
George Adamson-The Father of Lions

Last edited by BabyZee; 08-12-2008 at 04:13 PM.
Old 08-12-2008, 09:55 PM

Haha... I actually posted this on the TV and Movies forum:

http://forums.petfinder.my/showthread.php?t=450

So, i have merged your thread babyZ
Old 08-12-2008, 10:13 PM

Default Re: A Lion's Tale of Love

Just wanted to share this video as there're more footage about christian and his owners..enjoy..
Old 08-12-2008, 10:22 PM

wah so manje one, this big kittty! Only matsalleh can handle them lah.. if they jump on you babyzee.. you'll kemek leh!
Old 08-12-2008, 10:31 PM

wah so manje one, this big kittty! Only matsalleh can handle them lah.. if they jump on you babyzee.. you'll kemek leh!
Where got!
I'm not that small and skinny k but i'm short la..
Yup, maybe when christian is standing he might be taller than me..
But if he wants to jump and hug and lick me, i don't mind..
i like big fuzzy woozy manja cat...

But you ezer, i bet he'll eat you up cause you're wearing your boxer outside..
boxer superman but not that super
Old 08-12-2008, 10:34 PM

Christian the Lion owners! John Rendall Anthony 'Ace' Bourke 35 years later! Today Show..

Old 08-12-2008, 10:37 PM

But you ezer, i bet he'll eat you up cause you're wearing your boxer outside..
boxer superman but not that super
Haha...

First of all: All animals love me.. so, they won't want to eat me.
Second of all: I AM superman, so I can lift Christian up with one finger!

hahaha...

You on the other hand.. chomp, chomp.. habis! One bite cukup!
Old 08-12-2008, 10:43 PM

Haha...

First of all: All animals love me.. so, they won't want to eat me.
Second of all: I AM superman, so I can lift Christian up with one finger!

hahaha...

You on the other hand.. chomp, chomp.. habis! One bite cukup!
Christian would like me more because i'm cute as he is..
But you,an adult guy wearing his boxer outside and claiming superman?I think he'll eat you straight up..
Neway i think Dean Cain is the best superman ever!