Old 08-15-2008, 03:53 PM

ChewChew1987 is on a distinguished road
Default Pet Rental Service

So...What do you think of Pet Rental Service? Do you think it will be a success in Malaysia?

I plan to open a pet shop in near future (If possible). One of the services i will offer is Pet Rental.

The pets, dogs only, will be rented out only they have had their 3rd vaccine injection and properly trained. Whoever want to rent the pet will have to pay deposit, and if the person decided to buy the pet, the fee will be deducted from the deposit. Etc etc...

IF POSSIBLE, I want to name my petshop PetFinder....if allowed.

However i also realized there are several risks to be considered.

1. The pets might not be suitable to changes of environment
2. Rentee might abuse the policy (feed them food not suppose to feed, etc)
3. Health issue (tick infected from other places)
4. Pet behaviour (the dogs might attack rentee)
etc etc

I already have a plan, just lack the time and money in which i will have to wait till i graduate. It might take years before this shop will be opened. However, this is a dream i hope to realized through me or another .
Old 08-15-2008, 08:24 PM

Default Re: Pet Rental Service

This is becoming a trend in the UK and the US... So, I think it'll pick up here as well..
Old 08-15-2008, 09:58 PM

That is cool idea. Need plan for it. GOod luck.

Old 08-18-2008, 12:04 AM

RoyBlue is on a distinguished road

Think about the pet.... although it may sound like a novel idea... but what does the animal go through? going through a myriad of "owners" only serves to confuse the animal further and makes the bonding process take longer for the final owner. In the long run, the animal suffers. Do think bout this
Old 08-18-2008, 01:24 PM

Originally Posted by RoyBlue View Post
Think about the pet.... although it may sound like a novel idea... but what does the animal go through? going through a myriad of "owners" only serves to confuse the animal further and makes the bonding process take longer for the final owner. In the long run, the animal suffers. Do think bout this
Yes, this is one of the risks to consider. Overall, the pets-to-be-rent will be mine, me their owner, and i'll name them. I will make sure they like to hang out with others before i rent them to others. Maybe only 3~4 of them will serve in the pet rental service. I will not rent young pups out to others because of risk of bonding and disease infection.

As mentioned, pet rental is a hit on US, Japan, and Taiwan. I still have so much to learn from them if the service were to be a success.

However, there are other risks too. It is not easy task to open a petshop, let alone pet rental service. Not only the owners have to go through certain stages, the pets too, have stages to go through.

Thanks for the advice.
Old 08-18-2008, 01:40 PM

There are many reasons why i want to launch Pet Rental Service.

1. To satisfy the needs of people who love dogs but unable to keep them.

2. To decrease the rate of abandon dog.
There are some owners who bought dogs from petshop, and later found out the dogs are not to their liking, then abandon them. There are also some people who have the urge to purchase dogs, but not the urge to take care of them long-term.

By having the service, i hope to satisfy their urges to have dogs and to decrease their responsibility of owning them long-term. On the other hand, i hope the amount of abandon dogs will decrease. With this, i also hope the puppy mill will have to decrease their breed rate due to less demand in the pet market. Not that i want to rob them of their business, but to stop the cruelty of having them confined in cages and forced to breed.

The ideas may sound naive, but i really do hope to realize them.
Old 08-18-2008, 01:54 PM

hi 1987

i commend you for trying intergrate business with social responsibility. it sounds possible but i'd say (in my humble opinion) you need further study or research into this.

while human needs can be satisfied with this pet rental service , it is less tangible what benefit it will provide for the animals concerned. you can train the animals to behave in a way that's deemed acceptable by society but there's no way you can ensure the people would exercise all reasonable care for the pet they rented. you'll also need to find a way that's practicable and implementable to weed out the genuine animal lovers from those who are not. while we do have a large section of animal lovers who have animals welfare as priority,there are also just as large a section who don't think so.

i'm all for creativity and entrepreneurship but i'm concerned that if this is not well taught out, the animals may end up the losing party in this business venture.

sorry to be such a wet blanket but just food for thought.

Old 08-18-2008, 03:57 PM

steffy1811 is on a distinguished road

This is becoming a trend in the UK and the US... So, I think it'll pick up here as well..
I dont think the company is doing too well in both nations. If not wrong, I think there is only one company in the US that does this. Californian based company. Also the same company that started the branch in London amidst all the controversy.

Yes pet-rental has been very popular in JAPAN, HONG KONG, probably taiwan and S.Korea since the 80's.

But ang moh country, oh-la-la.... in the UK, the RSCPA probably already started hooha kau kau if not lat lat yet. (derivate of kau lat kau lat)

US ah, donnu the ASCPA masuk campur or not, but animal rights group will slammed kau kau already knowing them to be so extreme at times....

If I am not wrong, the company only has 3 or 4 branches in the US and they are all located in densely populated area like Manhattan.

It is undeniable that dogs love routine. They need a stable environment. So having them rented out, constantly socialising with different fellas, having different meal times, different toilet times, I personally dont think it is such a good idea.

But then again, we always pandang timur right, so probably it will be the next big hit in town lor. After all, to some of us, its just another business opportunity right?