Old 08-09-2008, 09:25 PM

Thumbs up Siberian Husky

my all time favourite dog...

so cuteeee

http://www.spike.com/video/siberian-husky-pup/2971698
Old 08-10-2008, 05:59 AM

Default Re: Siberian Husky

Ooooh... I love siberian huskies too... they are like wolves...

But I like Rottweiller most.. they are extremely intelligent and have the biggest hearts of all dogs I know of..
Old 08-13-2008, 10:37 AM

Juztiny is on a distinguished road

I love Siberian Husky...but many people commented about this breed as below :-

1) Super hyperactive (need to run at least 4km to burn off its energy)
2) Hard to train them obediently as compared to other breeds like Labrador, GR etc.
3) Escape artist, always like to escape out from the house
4) Hard to take care of the fur coat, easily get skin problem if doesn't take good care of it.
5) Awful barking sound.
Old 08-13-2008, 10:52 AM

Juztiny is on a distinguished road

If you think Siberian Husky is just like a wolf, then you are wrong...I have seen a real Russian Wolf in a vet clinic of Sg. Petani, Kedah. The wolf size is as big as a tiger, its paw, its head all are as big as a tiger....real scary....it belongs to a rich man in Sg. Petani, the wolf could not survive in our climate, eventually died in the vet clinic.
Old 08-13-2008, 05:55 PM

Originally Posted by Juztiny View Post
If you think Siberian Husky is just like a wolf, then you are wrong...I have seen a real Russian Wolf in a vet clinic of Sg. Petani, Kedah. The wolf size is as big as a tiger, its paw, its head all are as big as a tiger....real scary....it belongs to a rich man in Sg. Petani, the wolf could not survive in our climate, eventually died in the vet clinic.
Haha Juztiny, you're probably scared of the wolf... but a wolf is hardly as big as a tiger.. perhaps a tiger cup.... My brother works at A Farmosa before and there are a lot of tigers there... And once my vet took care of a tiger for a Russian circus.

But I get what you mean though... a large wolf can LOOK extremely large... but a large tiger is even bigger and can look like a horse! Especially the Liger!

Wolf Sizes:

Average: 50KG

Wolf weight and size can vary greatly worldwide, tending to increase proportionally with latitude as predicted by Bergmann's Rule. In general, height varies from 0.6 to .95 meters (26–38 inches) at the shoulder and weight ranges from 20 (44 lb.) up to 68 (150 lb.) kilograms, which together make the gray wolf the largest of all wild canids. Although rarely encountered, extreme specimens of more than 77 kg (170 lb.) have been recorded in Alaska, Canada and Russia. The heaviest recorded wild wolf in the New World was killed on 70 Mile River in east central Alaska on July 12, 1939 and weighed 79 kg (175 lb.)

Tiger Sizes:

Tigers are the heaviest cats found in the wild, but the subspecies differ markedly in size, tending to increase proportionally with latitude, as predicted by Bergmann's Rule. The heaviest wild Siberian tiger on record weighed in at 384 kg. Male Siberian tigers weigh between 180 and 306 kg on average.

Bengal tigers are the second largest tiger subspecies, although tigers in the extreme northern parts of their range may equal Siberian tigers in size, with an average (male) weight of about 236 kg. Generally, however, male Bengal tigers range between 180 and 248 kg.

Bali tiger - With males weighing just 90 - 100 kg, and females 65 - 80 kg, Bali tigers were the smallest of all tiger subspecies.

So, even the smallest tiger species are bigger than the largest wolf on record...
Old 08-13-2008, 09:08 PM
<<< Just Do It >>>

alancheah is on a distinguished road

Husky, not easy to be kept, as they need
to be placed under air-con. environment most of the time,
am I correct?
Old 08-13-2008, 09:20 PM

yeah there are not fit for our weather
a friend of mine advise me if i want to keep - go air cond the whole place as they need to be cold most of the time....

with our weather - they sure have problem
maybe fur all drop
Old 08-13-2008, 10:34 PM

Originally Posted by alancheah View Post
Husky, not easy to be kept, as they need
to be placed under air-con. environment most of the time,
am I correct?
This is true. We shouldn't keep animals not suited to our hot environment. It's torture for them. Imagine if you have to wear a thick winter jacket your entire life here in Malaysia.
Old 08-13-2008, 10:42 PM
<<< Just Do It >>>

alancheah is on a distinguished road

I see. Roughly how much RM do we need
to pay for just a puppy (Husky)?? Few thousands?

I am told that those which got "certificate" could
easily cost more than RM10,000 +. Is that true?
Old 08-14-2008, 10:04 AM

somebunny is on a distinguished road

I love huskies too! Esp those with blue eyes!

Usually, they're sold at around rm3k-4k, but if you're getting one with better breed standards, or importing one.. it will cost a lot more :) not surprising if more than rm10k!
Old 08-21-2008, 07:58 PM

Old 08-22-2008, 03:27 AM

^ babyzee... that really is a handsome bugger!! And such blue eyes!
Old 08-24-2008, 02:15 PM

awwwww i saw two male husky and a female
the female so furry..................so cuteeeeeeeeee

the owner is a couple...the two male was with the husband

she was walking around with the female
so obedient and friendly..i was just 1 inch away and i even follow the dog
cant help it....she is too cute..

how nice i can hug it :)

Name:	Dsc00632.jpg
Views:	1335
Size:	87.2 KB
ID:	403   Click image for larger version

Name:	DSC00633.jpg
Views:	1350
Size:	99.3 KB
ID:	404  
Old 08-25-2008, 02:13 PM

awwwww i saw two male husky and a female
the female so furry..................so cuteeeeeeeeee

the owner is a couple...the two male was with the husband

she was walking around with the female
so obedient and friendly..i was just 1 inch away and i even follow the dog
cant help it....she is too cute..

how nice i can hug it :)
vivien..
they look so adorable and so well taken care off...
very furry and fluffy lor....i like....
wanna cuddle the too if can..huhu...
they look manja too, climbing the counter some more...

Last edited by BabyZee; 08-26-2008 at 05:27 AM.
Old 08-25-2008, 06:30 PM

sabrina.kss is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to sabrina.kss

vivien..
they look so adorable and so well take care off...
very furry and fluffy lor....i like....
wanna cuddle the too if can..huhu...
they look manja too, climbing the counter some more...

Soooooooooooooooooooooo cute.. I love husky..
Old 08-28-2008, 10:52 AM

ezer you;re right. i do agree with you that it's a shame and crime that animals that are not suited to our weather are brought into our country for the whims and egos of a few.

i saw a husky at my vet clinic recently, compared to most of the breeds, it was quite huge and my vet commented that it is quite small for a husky due to our weather. and most of what i heard, they do better in air-conditioned enviroment if kept in hot climate countries. the dog was huge and it it stands up, it will be taller than i am. and here i was "berangan-angan" want to keep a husky.
Old 08-28-2008, 12:30 PM

i agree its too hot to keep siberian huskies here... but i also have to say that they are gorgeous in the extreme. they've been given an unfair share of canine beauty, they won the genetic lottery. i love them! everytime i see one my immediate reaction is WOWOWOWOWOWOWOWEEEEEE followed by, oh poor baby its so hot here... i think part of their appeal to dog lovers here is their exoticism, that they are so obviously alien and foreign to this environment that they stand out majorly.. i think that's what makes them so attractive. gotta love those eyes and that amazing coat.
Old 08-28-2008, 01:28 PM
Human Slave

salabianca is on a distinguished road

hi all,

I happen to have two huskies at home, and they are in great shape although we don't keep them in air-conditioned spaces all the time.

All they need is lots of shade, preferably indoors, and lots of fresh water. We keep them indoors with a fan for them on at all times.

Although they are a northern breed, they can tolerate a large range of temperature change, from extremely cold to extremely hot. I know it sounds like not logical, but their thick fur also insulates them from heat, not just cold. It is however, very important to make sure that they don't get too hot in the sun, and make sure they drink enough water. Even in Alaska, where these dogs are used in sled racing, temperatures in summer can come to 30 degrees or more, and that is as hot as Malaysia!

I also believe it is not cruel to keep them here in Malaysia, as long as they are comfortable and healthy. My monkeys are walked or jogged twice a day, at least 1.5km each time, and this is done early morning and late at night before we sleep so its not so hot for them.

It is also important to make sure that they are kept in clean and dry conditions, because they can get fungus infections easily due to their double coat. This double coat, which makes their fur thick and fluffy also sheds a LOT, and twice a year, they loose all this fur and get a completely new coat, so if you cannot stand fur, a husky is not for you!

My two also doesn't bark, they mostly howl as a way to communicate. It can be a little noisy, but its manageable. They are not easy to train because they are very very smart, and need to see the point before doing something for you, and won't do something just because you asked them to. Once you can find what makes them click, it is super easy to teach them, because they want the reward!

If you're interested to find out more, please visit our site for Malaysian husky owners at www.mypethuskyclub.com

I hope I have not offended anyone here, but I wanted to clarify a few things about this breed which I love very much. You're more than welcome to chat and have discussions, and I would love to share my experience with these smart and beautiful dogs.

The pic of the three huskies in Pet Safari is actually one of my friends, and I know those lovely dogs personally!

cheers,
Nadia
Old 08-28-2008, 01:41 PM

acsyen is on a distinguished road

Yes Nadia am sure that is Debbie is Kosmos if I am not wrong. :D
Old 08-28-2008, 01:49 PM

hi nadia

i stand corrected for my over-generalisation about those who keep husky but still , i do feel sorry for them in our hot and humid conditions

you may be one of the minority (including your fellow members of the husky club) who actively seeks to understand the need and temperament of a husky but there will be those who wants to own a husky is only for the "ego" point - they're proud they can pay so much for an "exotic" dog without really understanding the needs of the dog - the same goes for those "pet shops" that try to sell huskies puppies! listen to their sales spiel ....

say, these are the same people who can't even understand the needs of animal period.
i do agree with lynie that it's their exotic looks especially the eyes that really hynotises you...but then i may be able to have a husky even if i can shell out the money and give them air-conditioned environment. my other half is not that approving of husky - because he was pushed down by one husky during his youth - the dog was taller than him standing up and much stronger - guessed who took who for a walk...i guess he didn't much like big dogs from that point onwards...hahahaha...i always rubbed it in when we come across huskies.