Go Back   PetFinder.my > Pet Welfare, Rescue & Adoption > Animal Protection Laws & Rights

Animal Protection Laws & Rights Discuss on the enacted animal protection laws and how to better protect their rights

Old 11-04-2010, 07:30 PM

adrianng87 is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Cats in Apartments

Yes, the febreeze suggested is very useful for people who have pets.

So what do you have in plan now kmleong? I bet you must have something in mind that you want to do, be it a fight or whatever, please do share with us before you decide what to do, see if there's anything we can help in terms of giving some brain-storming advices.
Old 11-04-2010, 08:34 PM

kmleong is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by adrianng87 View Post
Yes, the febreeze suggested is very useful for people who have pets.

So what do you have in plan now kmleong? I bet you must have something in mind that you want to do, be it a fight or whatever, please do share with us before you decide what to do, see if there's anything we can help in terms of giving some brain-storming advices.
I forgot to add something, during the meeting I ask the comitee what smell are they referring to (poo or cat smell) they can't determine. Like what other's said, if you fight for it even if you appeal to the MPPP if they want to make trouble (the neighbours) they can come up with other ways. There are lots of problems here, from ppl throwing rubbish, security sleeping, parking problems, all kinds of problems here.
Old 11-05-2010, 11:20 AM
MamaMeow

azieazlie is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by kmleong View Post
I forgot to add something, during the meeting I ask the comitee what smell are they referring to (poo or cat smell) they can't determine. Like what other's said, if you fight for it even if you appeal to the MPPP if they want to make trouble (the neighbours) they can come up with other ways. There are lots of problems here, from ppl throwing rubbish, security sleeping, parking problems, all kinds of problems here.
hi kmleong,your're right, kalau you kenal forum pf ni dari awal sebelum you beli apartment tempat you tinggal sekarang sure you tak akan menghadapi masaalah ni semua dan mungkin jiran pun tak tau didalam rumah you ada kucing. you cuma ada 3 ekor kucing, tak banyak.. dan tak mendatangkan masaalah jika kita tahu cara penjagaan yang betul bila ada binatang didalam rumah. nasihat yang diberikan teman2 pf disini semua betul belaka. Tapi, kalau you betul2 sayangkan kucing2 you, saya rasa elok you sewakan atau jual apartment itu dan carilah kediaman yang baru. dari apa yang you tulis, you makin tak tenteram tinggal dirumah you sendiri sebab mempunyai jiran yang sentiasa mencari salah disebabkan rumah you berkucing dan dia kata berbau, masaalah dengan jiran yang membuang sampah merata rata, security yang asyik tidur dan macam2 hal lagi disitu. carilah tempat tinggal baru kmleong, sebab rumah kita sepatutnya menjadi syurga kita.. oh ya, sudahkah you mandulkan kucing2 you itu? apa makanan yang you beri mereka makan? maafkan saya sebab terlebih bertanya..
Old 11-05-2010, 01:41 PM

Originally Posted by azieazlie View Post
hi kmleong,your're right, kalau you kenal forum pf ni dari awal sebelum you beli apartment tempat you tinggal sekarang sure you tak akan menghadapi masaalah ni semua dan mungkin jiran pun tak tau didalam rumah you ada kucing. you cuma ada 3 ekor kucing, tak banyak.. dan tak mendatangkan masaalah jika kita tahu cara penjagaan yang betul bila ada binatang didalam rumah. nasihat yang diberikan teman2 pf disini semua betul belaka. Tapi, kalau you betul2 sayangkan kucing2 you, saya rasa elok you sewakan atau jual apartment itu dan carilah kediaman yang baru. dari apa yang you tulis, you makin tak tenteram tinggal dirumah you sendiri sebab mempunyai jiran yang sentiasa mencari salah disebabkan rumah you berkucing dan dia kata berbau, masaalah dengan jiran yang membuang sampah merata rata, security yang asyik tidur dan macam2 hal lagi disitu. carilah tempat tinggal baru kmleong, sebab rumah kita sepatutnya menjadi syurga kita.. oh ya, sudahkah you mandulkan kucing2 you itu? apa makanan yang you beri mereka makan? maafkan saya sebab terlebih bertanya..
Both female are already operated except for the male persian. I gave them Friskies biscuit type. If I give the tin the male persian sometimes have diarrhea. Like what the others said, if I rayu from MPPP if they do let me keep the neighbour will still find other ways to make trouble especially he will use the excuse that his family fall sick. (His indonesian maid his son bla bla bla). That day during the meeting he said his maid that day was so weak to stand up and was shaking. If people fall sick means they are not well taken care off and not blame on other people right? The neighbours who live just right next to me never complain about the smell and he lives few blocks away from me so why is he the only one who fall sick?
Old 11-05-2010, 02:12 PM

Here I took some pictures of my apartment. Give some comments on what you think about the surrounding and the neighbour.

The first picture is the neighbour that always makes the complaint (arrow on the left) the arrow on the right is another neighbour which is next to me. The other picture shows the window looking out from my 2nd room. As you can see there are lots of rubbish. The cleaner came and clear it a few months ago if not you will see a bigger pile of rubbish.

Here are also some pictures of my cats. See how well they are taken care of.

Name:	neighbour.jpg
Views:	211
Size:	39.0 KB
ID:	10333   Click image for larger version

Name:	P4300025.jpg
Views:	199
Size:	33.5 KB
ID:	10334   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1060006.jpg
Views:	198
Size:	75.5 KB
ID:	10335   Click image for larger version

Name:	P1210010.jpg
Views:	205
Size:	50.9 KB
ID:	10336   Click image for larger version

Name:	PC300005.jpg
Views:	184
Size:	35.7 KB
ID:	10337  

Name:	P3130016.jpg
Views:	196
Size:	65.5 KB
ID:	10338   Click image for larger version

Name:	P3310020.jpg
Views:	216
Size:	58.7 KB
ID:	10340   Click image for larger version

Name:	P3310022.jpg
Views:	205
Size:	64.4 KB
ID:	10341  

Last edited by kmleong; 11-05-2010 at 02:21 PM.
Old 11-05-2010, 04:17 PM

Default Cats in Apartments

Please don't use dettol to disinfect your home with cats. Dettol is fatal to cat. Use clorox.

Is it the disinfectant spray? I think I have like 2-3 cans before. I use it ony my dustbin but doesn't actually help with the smell. As for the smell the cleaner who comes and clean the corridor (the walkway) says they can smell a bit but that was long time ago. After I did something about it she said is now ok.
Old 11-05-2010, 05:15 PM

nur azua is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to nur azua

off topic sikit. maaf tuan tanah..

*for floor*
http://www.dettol.co.uk/sf_floors.shtml (bukan agent jugak)

kalau nak guna untuk lantai boleh je..tapi make sure lantai cukup kering sebelum boleh lepaskan kucing berjalan3 di atasnya..

Advantages: Kills 99.9% of germs, can be used on many surfaces, gentle on children & pets (quoted from http://www.dooyoo.co.uk/household-pr...spray/1444527/)

as for me, dettol is not significantly harm to human & mammals..but it is significantly harmful to bacteria & some viruses..

kmleong, good luck in finding a new home (pet-friendly one).lovely cats u have there .

regards.
Old 11-05-2010, 05:49 PM

Originally Posted by nur azua View Post
off topic sikit. maaf tuan tanah..

*for floor*
http://www.dettol.co.uk/sf_floors.shtml (bukan agent jugak)

kalau nak guna untuk lantai boleh je..tapi make sure lantai cukup kering sebelum boleh lepaskan kucing berjalan3 di atasnya..

Advantages: Kills 99.9% of germs, can be used on many surfaces, gentle on children & pets (quoted from http://www.dooyoo.co.uk/household-pr...spray/1444527/)

as for me, dettol is not significantly harm to human & mammals..but it is significantly harmful to bacteria & some viruses..

kmleong, good luck in finding a new home (pet-friendly one).lovely cats u have there .

regards.
I use the dettol for mopping floor cause the management said to use dettol more wangi. Is it safe for cats?
Old 11-05-2010, 06:54 PM

I believe it should be okay after the floor is completely dry. Dont let your cat roaming around while the floor is still wet.

regards.
Old 11-05-2010, 06:58 PM

Default Cats in Apartments

You can use clorox for disinfection. Dettol works for human for disinfection but not for cats. To make it more wangi you can use natural lemongrass concentrate which now sold in many supermarket. At the same time this lemongrass concentrate can eliminate insects like ants & cocroaches.

But if you think you still want to use dettol is up to you.

I use the dettol for mopping floor cause the management said to use dettol more wangi. Is it safe for cats?
Old 11-05-2010, 08:05 PM

You can use clorox for disinfection. Dettol works for human for disinfection but not for cats. To make it more wangi you can use natural lemongrass concentrate which now sold in many supermarket. At the same time this lemongrass concentrate can eliminate insects like ants & cocroaches.

But if you think you still want to use dettol is up to you.
Wawa, yes, dettol kills germs but not pets, I used dettol to mop for few years already and started to use dettol disinfectant sprays for few months already, no side effects from my cats at all. (again, not agent for dettol)

Like June said, yes, it's up to you, I am just suggesting because I am satisfied with the results of my clean environment.
Old 11-05-2010, 08:08 PM

Here I took some pictures of my apartment. Give some comments on what you think about the surrounding and the neighbour.

The first picture is the neighbour that always makes the complaint (arrow on the left) the arrow on the right is another neighbour which is next to me. The other picture shows the window looking out from my 2nd room. As you can see there are lots of rubbish. The cleaner came and clear it a few months ago if not you will see a bigger pile of rubbish.

Here are also some pictures of my cats. See how well they are taken care of.
kmleong, your cats sure are adorable! Very healthy lookin' too. But after looking at the pictures, I still can't tell if it really affects your neighbour as I can't feel how the wind flow is at your lot. Izit windy there?
Old 11-05-2010, 08:36 PM

kmleong, your cats sure are adorable! Very healthy lookin' too. But after looking at the pictures, I still can't tell if it really affects your neighbour as I can't feel how the wind flow is at your lot. Izit windy there?
Sometimes it gets very breezy like as if a storm is coming. From my place to his is about 30 path walking steps. A year ago when I got a call from the management about the smell about my neighbour complaining he suggested using dettol. After use one bottle finish I use Ajax which was left over a few years ago cause I bought like 2-3 bottles when I moved in. Now my cats are with Stella I mop with dettol again, just bought a new bottle. During the meeting he ask me after transfer ask me to clean the whole house. He also suggest to ask someone to spray the whole house which cose few hundred ringgit. Who he think he is after gotten my cats evicted and asking me to clean the whole house? What is he thinking? that I'm rearing a cat farm?
Old 11-05-2010, 08:53 PM

Sometimes it gets very breezy like as if a storm is coming. From my place to his is about 30 path walking steps. A year ago when I got a call from the management about the smell about my neighbour complaining he suggested using dettol. After use one bottle finish I use Ajax which was left over a few years ago cause I bought like 2-3 bottles when I moved in. Now my cats are with Stella I mop with dettol again, just bought a new bottle. During the meeting he ask me after transfer ask me to clean the whole house. He also suggest to ask someone to spray the whole house which cose few hundred ringgit. Who he think he is after gotten my cats evicted and asking me to clean the whole house? What is he thinking? that I'm rearing a cat farm?
Hey kmleong, to do as told to mop with Dettol is absolutely fine, but about the specialist spraying thing, I am not sure if that's gonna work even after you did, you might end up spending few hundred or thousand ringgit and still they will complain again with other stuffs, maybe like, should repaint your walls, should change your furnitures, should install new ventilation fan in front of your house, and etc, I mean, try something savvy that can make them stop complaining. Just a suggestion, if you have a stand fan, maybe you could try on facing your fan out to your balcony to let the air flow that way? Maybe to use Dettol and mop at the walkway towards your neighbour's house? Or anything that shows you are doing some hardworks of improving the comfort living there, inform the management that you have done almost all and see how your neighbour tells again. If they are still complaining again that even now there are absolute no cats in your house, then they might have a problem looking a fight with you, but not the cats.
Old 11-05-2010, 08:57 PM

Off topic again, sorry

Yeah adrian..sure dettol do not kill any pet..i tried to search any scientific papers/journal to check about the active compound of dettol which might lead me to the prove that dettol is harmful to pets.but, i dont find any..Besides, we use very small concentration of the dettol when we diluted some amount of dettol to water..maybe 1000x dilution.. i dont think with that dilution it may affect our pets..

regards
Old 11-05-2010, 09:35 PM

Off topic again, sorry

Yeah adrian..sure dettol do not kill any pet..i tried to search any scientific papers/journal to check about the active compound of dettol which might lead me to the prove that dettol is harmful to pets.but, i dont find any..Besides, we use very small concentration of the dettol when we diluted some amount of dettol to water..maybe 1000x dilution.. i dont think with that dilution it may affect our pets..

regards
To speak about it's specialty from Dettol, it contains a chemical agent that makes it a very distinctive smell cleaner, that kills a lot of bacterias and germs.

Simple, it is something like humans, some may be able take the smell and some may find sensitive towards the liquid even just by smelling, pets too, so if you find any Dettol liquid cleaner or disinfectant spray is causing some side effects to your pets, stop it immediately. Sorry if I did not make this clear for everyone, I did not mention that I recommend to use Dettol to clean your pets, or spray disinfectant on your pets, it should use as a cleaner for floors, use it as a liquid cleaner onto any possible dirt, spray on dustbins, door knobs, tv controllers and etc, not direct to pets. Clean and let it dry 120%, I am sure of my use of Dettol doesn't cause any trouble for my cats. Correct me if I am wrong, even clorox and the other brands of liquid cleaners are hazardous to your pets if it's orally exposed to your pets.

So please keep in mind guys. Sorry off topic, again.
Lets give some other useful advice for kmleong again aite.
Old 11-05-2010, 09:56 PM

To speak about it's specialty from Dettol, it contains a chemical agent that makes it a very distinctive smell cleaner, that kills a lot of bacterias and germs.

Simple, it is something like humans, some may be able take the smell and some may find sensitive towards the liquid even just by smelling, pets too, so if you find any Dettol liquid cleaner or disinfectant spray is causing some side effects to your pets, stop it immediately. Sorry if I did not make this clear for everyone, I did not mention that I recommend to use Dettol to clean your pets, or spray disinfectant on your pets, it should use as a cleaner for floors, use it as a liquid cleaner onto any possible dirt, spray on dustbins, door knobs, tv controllers and etc, not direct to pets. Clean and let it dry 120%, I am sure of my use of Dettol doesn't cause any trouble for my cats. Correct me if I am wrong, even clorox and the other brands of liquid cleaners are hazardous to your pets if it's orally exposed to your pets.

So please keep in mind guys. Sorry off topic, again.
Lets give some other useful advice for kmleong again aite.
yes..i get the info clearly..kunci ketat3 sume bottle chemical ye...nanti terminum pulak..

kmleong, i think if the management still complaint about the smell eventhough your cats are no longer in the house..it means that, the management got some problem..maybe the smell come from other places..i really hope that your problem will be solved a.s.a.p..
Old 11-05-2010, 10:58 PM

Hey kmleong, just to share some info that might be able to help you, you might wanna try some of these methods...

How To Make Your House Smell Good Quickly

Cut The Butt
As we all know, smoking not only poses a serious health hazard, it also smells bad because it contains a lot of things that smell bad. Thus, as you can see, it is harmful not only for you and your family members; it also makes the house smell bad. It is of course understandable that smoking isn’t easy to quit, but when you weigh the odds, you will realise that it would be one of the best decisions you may have made in life. If this isn’t possible for you or will take a lot of time, then the next best option for you is to dedicate one room only for smoking. Though this one room will reek of tobacco, you will have just one stinking room rather than a whole stinking house.

Nice Doggie, Clean Doggie
Having dirty and unwashed pets around the house is another big reason for the house to smell bad. It is understandable that neither cats nor dogs like to take baths but it is upto you to make sure that they remain clean and do not wallow too much in dirt or filth. If they wallow too much in muck and refuse to let you clean them, they should be kept out of the house.

Flowers
Fresh flowers are the cheapest and best way to keep your home smelling fresh and clean. You could use strongly fragrant flowers or just those that give out mild fragrances. They are also perhaps the most inexpensive way of decorating the home. Only, make sure you keep changing the water in them, which is important when it comes to reviving wilting flowers.

Potpourri
Who doesn’t love the scents that a potpourri arrangement gives out? Though it lightens the pocket initially, it is one of the best ways to make the home smell good. The best places to keep potpourri arrangements are near the balcony, next to the sink and other places where there is a possibility of stench stemming up.

Scented Candles
We all know that scented candles are available in all fragrances, sizes, and shapes. Some of them make excellent decoration pieces and can be placed at various locations around the house. One of the cheapest ways of filling your home with scent is to use incense sticks. Another way to fill your home with wonderful fragrance, which may not be as finely scented as the various fragrant oils available, is to use camphor. All one needs to do is to put a normal candle or lamp in an earthen scent diffuser and fill the top container with a few pieces of camphor. Within seconds the camphor will begin to sublimate and will give out a fresh fragrance.

Extracted from http://lifestyle.iloveindia.com/loun...ood-10097.html
Old 11-05-2010, 11:04 PM

yes..i get the info clearly..kunci ketat3 sume bottle chemical ye...nanti terminum pulak..

kmleong, i think if the management still complaint about the smell eventhough your cats are no longer in the house..it means that, the management got some problem..maybe the smell come from other places..i really hope that your problem will be solved a.s.a.p..
After I moved my cats they don't bother me anymore. What I'm trying to say is during the meeting with the comitee and the neighbour after I agreed to put them in the management's house he (the neighbour) suggested that I clean the whole house so I just said i will just mop the floor and ask me what i clean with so I said with dettol then he suggest why not call the ppl come and spray which means he's going overboard you know what I mean? i do take care of my cats and my house it's not like I take them in and leave them and not care for them (the cats) and not clean my house. Is like something small he's trying to make it a big issue like as if my house is a pig farm.
Old 11-05-2010, 11:08 PM

Wait there's more...

How to Get Rid of Pet Odors in Your House

Step 1
Dust and sweep the house. Vacuum the couch, behind the furniture, and sweep under things. Use a scented, odor removing carpet powder. Wash the curtains if it's been awhile. Pet hair can get into the darndest places. Rent a carpet cleaner and clean the rugs in your home every three or four months. You can even use an attachment to clean your upholstery.

Step 2
Spray fabric refresher on all soft surfaces. I've found that Glade fabric refresher works better than Febreze. For an even more effective barrier, slip cover your couches and chairs, so you can throw the covers in the washing once a week. Spray the couches underneath to keep them fresh.

Step 3
Place an open box of baking soda near litter boxes, dog bedding, cat towers and feeding areas.

Step 4
Get an electric air filter and run it on low. This will do the most in keeping your house scent free. In addition to sweetening the air, it will also provide better quality air and remove dander. Remember to change the filter regularly. While the filter will remove pet odors, any heavily perfumed scent in the air will stay for a little while. (See step 6.)

Step 5
Tuck dryer sheets in the register vents and under couch cushions. When you sit down on a couch or chair you will get a little scent of dryer freshness.

Step 6
Before guests arrive, burn some incense. Yes, the air filter will eventually clean it out of the air, but it will linger in corners. Keep the incense away from the air filter for the longest lasting smell.

Step 7
Have you heard about scented furnace filters? These are cheap, and come in some yummy scents. Try the cinnamon, it's festive and not overpowering.

Step 8
White vinegar is the daddy mac of all household cleaning products. Use it on pet stains, and use it with your regular detergent in your laundry. It removes pet odors from bedding--even urine. It's great as a general purpose cleanser as well. Mix white vinegar and water in a spray bottle and use it to wipe down counters, baseboards, any hard surface. When the vinegar smell dissipates, the air will be much more fresh.

*Tips & Warnings

Brushing your pets frequently will remove the amount of dander in the air.

If your pet is really stinky, and bathing does not help, see your vet. Your pet may have a skin condition that can be helped with special shampoo, spot treatments or over the counter medication.

Buy only pet safe products. When in doubt, plain baking soda will work as a carpet sprinkle. Many of the carpet products out there are pet safe, but read the label to be sure.

Don't burn incense or scented candles without supervision. And make sure anything with a flame is put up high, out of reach of climbing, jumping cats.

Extracted from http://www.ehow.com/how_4592223_rid-...ors-house.html