Go Back   PetFinder.my > The Animal Corner > Cats & Kittens > Cat DIY

Cat DIY Do It Yourself Cat Stuff, Furniture, Gadgets, etc. No need to pay lots of money to buy.

Old 08-03-2010, 01:50 AM

azzu02 is on a distinguished road
Default sisal rope

i want to make my own scratching post and if possible cat tree.

where can i buy sisal rope in malaysia?

what are the alternatives?

regards.
Old 08-03-2010, 08:43 AM

Default Re: sisal rope

Hi, Azzu --

My neighbour made a lovely, simple climbing post by wrapping sisal rope around 2 long PVC tubes. He got both the rope and the tubes at the local hardware store in Brickfields. He leans the wrapped tubes at an angle, going from the floor to a corner of the ceiling, and his cat goes up and down very happily.

Good luck!

Originally Posted by azzu02 View Post
i want to make my own scratching post and if possible cat tree.

where can i buy sisal rope in malaysia?

what are the alternatives?

regards.
Old 08-03-2010, 10:57 AM

azzu02 is on a distinguished road

u mean any hardware store?

i tried looking for it in a few hardware store and they don't sell it. i guess i have to go to more hardwares to find it.
Old 08-03-2010, 01:38 PM

MidnightMaiden is on a distinguished road

Try Ace Hardware. I bought mine there. They also have alternatives, you may use other types of coarse rope, just make sure they are not the oiled type. as long as it's corasr, ur cats will be fine.

Good luck
Old 08-24-2011, 08:49 AM

The_legs is on a distinguished road

You can contact Lim@0125163233 for sisal ropes to make your own scratching post.
Old 09-13-2011, 06:58 PM

milocute is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by The_legs View Post
You can contact Lim@0125163233 for sisal ropes to make your own scratching post.
Where is this Mr. Lim? Where to get sisal rope at JB? Had been searching sisal rope like the 'tarik tali game' for quite some time but failed. I ended using nylon rope but my cat will be happier if i' using sisal rope. below is my DIY scratching post.

Name:	P3020294.jpg
Views:	570
Size:	62.7 KB
ID:	11188   Click image for larger version

Name:	P4110343.jpg
Views:	480
Size:	106.7 KB
ID:	11189   Click image for larger version

Name:	P3020295.jpg
Views:	544
Size:	62.6 KB
ID:	11190  
Old 09-14-2011, 03:31 PM
Cat Lover

NaomiAira is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Skype™ to NaomiAira
Smile Re: sisal rope

Sometimes, u can find those type of rope kat craft store. Mcm2 size. I dlu cari kat Nilai coz sane byk kedai craft/barang pengantin. Kena rajin usha2..
Old 12-11-2011, 09:46 PM

milocute is on a distinguished road

I'm still searching Sisal rope for my 2nd DIY scratch post. Been to many hardware store and craft & wedding craft but still no sisal rope.

Noami: Nilai 3 ke ada sisal rope tu? Boleh spesifikkan kedai mana tak sebab kalau confirm ada boleh singgah bila saya pergi outstation kat KL
Old 01-14-2012, 10:18 PM
Cat Lover

naq1989 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to naq1989

kat ace hardware the mines...semua size ada,sy bru g 2hari lepas
Old 07-29-2012, 06:04 PM

jouhari is on a distinguished road

ace hardware. they call it manila rope.

6mm to 10mm i think

price different between thickness
i got 8mm 30ft for about rm10, if memory serves right.
Old 07-20-2013, 03:40 PM

Gita is on a distinguished road

Hi Azzu, I recently bought cat stuff (bed, litter box, food bowls, scratching post (tree-like), etc) so they are brand new but due to unforeseen circumstances, I can't have the kitten. If you're interested, please let me know, I can sell it to you for a cheaper price. Thanks.
Old 12-31-2013, 09:27 AM

nzati is on a distinguished road
Smile Re: sisal rope

Hello catlovers,

Im new here...
Just want to ask..Now im working on diy cat tree for my 2 month old kitten.
Where could i get the sisal rope here in ipoh, perak..already search several hardware but they didnt sell it..
Help me..huhu