Go Back   PetFinder.my > The Animal Corner > Small Mammals - Furry & Cute

Small Mammals - Furry & Cute Home for the small, furry and cute mammals such as bunnies and hamsters

Old 09-23-2008, 09:55 PM

Steve Leong is on a distinguished road
Smile Sugar Glider

Dear All Animal Lover,

I'm currently looking for sugar gliders for adoption
Does anyone knows someone who is having baby sugar glider for a doption?

From
Steve
Old 09-23-2008, 10:48 PM

jdaniely is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Sugar Glider

http://www.glidercentral.net/ubbthre..._from_Malaysia

Try login to above url, maybe thru chatting with this person, you may find one since he also adopted 2 Sugar Slider.
Old 09-24-2008, 10:51 AM

somebunny is on a distinguished road

It's not easy to find gliders for adoption.. so far I've only seen 1 pair put up (on another forum) and snatched up almost immediately :)

If you don't mind purchasing, then you can check out this link: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/532755 responsible home breeder :)
Old 09-24-2008, 12:13 PM

sugar glider......i seen people selling it but got people buy ar?

i find it very fast moving small creature too fast until i really dont know how to handle.......zoop.....next thing
Old 09-24-2008, 12:46 PM

Hehe got.. I have some friends who keep gliders.

I also saw one at Niu Ze Xui (dunno if that's the correct spelling hehe).. a pet shop had set up a huge area to put its rabbits and guinea pigs. One of the workers had a glider with him, that glider was extremely tame and sat on his shoulders most of the time. Even when he passed it to me to hold.. the glider was still very calm. very cute!
Old 09-24-2008, 11:13 PM

Originally Posted by somebunny View Post
It's not easy to find gliders for adoption.. so far I've only seen 1 pair put up (on another forum) and snatched up almost immediately :)

If you don't mind purchasing, then you can check out this link: http://forum.lowyat.net/topic/532755 responsible home breeder :)
Somebunny,

Thans for your info...
Old 09-24-2008, 11:14 PM

Originally Posted by jdaniely View Post
http://www.glidercentral.net/ubbthre..._from_Malaysia

Try login to above url, maybe thru chatting with this person, you may find one since he also adopted 2 Sugar Slider.
jdaniely,

Thanks for the link but do you him personally?
Old 09-24-2008, 11:20 PM

Wink Re: Sugar Glider

sugar glider......i seen people selling it but got people buy ar?

i find it very fast moving small creature too fast until i really dont know how to handle.......zoop.....next thing
vivienlpl,

Actually sugar glider is a tame animal but with condition that there should be a great bond between the owner and the glider. It is best to own a glider after 1 or 2 weeks that Joey (baby glider) is out from it's mom's pouch. Unlike any other animal, in order to bond with the glider, comunicating with the glider is a must. That's why they introduce the bonding pouch that allows you to carry your glider anywhere you go. Leaving your glider alone is a big NO NO unleast you have a pair of gliders.

I long to have a pair of gliders but buying from the pet shop is way too expensive

Steve
Old 09-24-2008, 11:21 PM

Question Re: Sugar Glider

Hehe got.. I have some friends who keep gliders.

I also saw one at Niu Ze Xui (dunno if that's the correct spelling hehe).. a pet shop had set up a huge area to put its rabbits and guinea pigs. One of the workers had a glider with him, that glider was extremely tame and sat on his shoulders most of the time. Even when he passed it to me to hold.. the glider was still very calm. very cute!

Do you know where is this pet shop located?
Would appreciate if you could direct me there...
Old 09-24-2008, 11:24 PM

Should anyone ever came across any ad of having sugar glider to be adopted. I would really appreciate if you could inform me first hand.

P/S : Hope my 3 cats + 1 hamster won't me a new friend (sugar glider).
Old 09-25-2008, 10:18 AM

My two cents is that if you cant afford/willing to buy them in the first place (arou 350RM), r u sure you can afford/willing to bear the following costs? they need BIG cage like aviary (yes, eventhough they are small), live feed (not fruits), and as all pets; vet trips.

I hope that people adopt to save animals, not save money.
Old 09-25-2008, 02:21 PM

Originally Posted by Steve Leong View Post
Do you know where is this pet shop located?
Would appreciate if you could direct me there...
No, I don't know where it's located because the guy told me that their shop is actually in another place, they were just having that 'exhibition' there that day.

I would suggest you buy from a reputable home breeder, as opposed to petshops. Most that I have seen in petshops are underaged I'm sure you want a healthy glider, right?

As you have stated, the bond is very important. Hence, another reason to buy from a reputable home breeder. The joeys would be socialised at a young age and will not be so terrified of human contact.
Old 09-25-2008, 02:21 PM

Originally Posted by ferreted View Post

i hope that people adopt to save animals, not save money.
ditto! The financial obligations of a pet owner do not end upon purchase of the pet. It BEGINS upon purchase :)
Old 09-25-2008, 05:33 PM

Originally Posted by Steve Leong View Post
vivienlpl,

Actually sugar glider is a tame animal but with condition that there should be a great bond between the owner and the glider. It is best to own a glider after 1 or 2 weeks that Joey (baby glider) is out from it's mom's pouch. Unlike any other animal, in order to bond with the glider, comunicating with the glider is a must. That's why they introduce the bonding pouch that allows you to carry your glider anywhere you go. Leaving your glider alone is a big NO NO unleast you have a pair of gliders.

I long to have a pair of gliders but buying from the pet shop is way too expensive

Steve
thanks for the info. So how do the owner communicate or bond with the sugar glider?
Old 09-25-2008, 10:00 PM

ditto! The financial obligations of a pet owner do not end upon purchase of the pet. It BEGINS upon purchase :)
ferreted,

I understand your good intention & your message of "saving the animal, not saving money". However, being an animal lover, one should dedicated oneself to fully take care of the animal in & out regardless of one's financial issue.

I admit that costing RM 300++ for a single sugar glider is expensive and that's the reason why i'm seeking for adoption. Nevertheless, understanding that i will spend more in future for my glider (if i ever get one), i choose to save now for it's future well being.

Initially, I know that sugar glider adoption is almost to none. Thanks to somebunny & jdaniely, maybe i might have the chance to adopt one if the time is right.

Steve
Old 09-25-2008, 10:06 PM

hehehe happy to hear that.. hope u get ur sugargliders soon.. careful tho the rescued sugar gliders may have been mistreated and they might not be well adjusted.. good luck.
Old 09-25-2008, 10:08 PM

thanks for the info. So how do the owner communicate or bond with the sugar glider?
First of all, a name should be given to the glider.

When a name is given, communication will come by itself between you and the glider... Well, at least it works for me with my current pets...

By handling / holding the glider, the glider will get to use to your smell and, to the glider perspection, you'll be it's safe zone... like a tree (describe by other article on the web). Since you are a tree to the glider, the glider will automatically jump / glider / climb to you even if you left it on the table and this is where the bonding created.
Old 09-25-2008, 10:49 PM

Leaving a piece of your worn clothing in the glider's cage also helps the glider to familiarise itself with your scent

Hope you get your gliders soon, Steve :)
Old 01-11-2009, 12:46 PM

DarkTwilight is on a distinguished road

You can buy a bonding pouch together with the suggie so that you can carry it around..
Old 01-11-2009, 04:02 PM
Mamiauww...

shareen_natasha is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to shareen_natasha
Talking Re: Sugar Glider

Ni yg Sha punyer.......
Ada 3 ekor semua...should be ada lg 2 ekoq.. tp dh hilang...
So tinggal 3... this is my new male JOEY....still dun hv name maaaa.... so cute & fierce....

tengah nk attack camera..