Go Back   PetFinder.my > The Animal Corner > Fish & Aquariums

Fish & Aquariums For the underwater enthusiasts

Old 12-13-2008, 04:06 PM

Default Guppies

I love rearing Guppies but unfortunately my Guppies never last long. I don't know why I can't keep Guppies. They always seem to die in my hands My father bought a few and now they have great great great grandchildren. Mine all died

Anyone knows how to keep Guppies? I don't know what am I doing wrong Now.. I have stopped as I don't want to be a Guppy killer

Old 12-13-2008, 11:28 PM

Default Re: Guppies

ikan guppy nie sebenarnyer paling senang nak bela..x susah pun...tapi klu akak nak bela saje2 balang kecik pun da ok tp klu nak biakkan, cari balng yang saiz besar....xpayah oksigen...klu ade pun bg dier cergas ckit....klu akak nak rearing, biarlah akak letak nisbah 1:3...sekor jantan 3 betina...ikan nie time kecik x lawa sangat tp ble da besar, mmg smart..nak2 klu bela dalm akuarium besar...ikan nie klu air klorin lebih dier kureng ckit..n klu akak ade persoalan ttg ikan, akak tanyer jer...kita same2 belajar..
Old 12-14-2008, 10:58 AM

Yikes! Felix the Cat a guppy killer!!!!!
Heheheh, I used to have loads and loads of guppies.... they simply just breed and the numbers multiplied, it was back in my Kampung then, I don't know what I did "right" but I remember having those water plants to cool the aquarium and provide O2...

Old 12-15-2008, 08:40 PM

Felix The Cat is not only the killer
i also
my guppy dont live long too...
maybe the most less than 6 months........

i used to have a lot
then die
then stop
then buy again
the ndie again...

stop...

the try and buy again
die again

enough no more..dont want
Old 12-16-2008, 10:29 AM

Yikes! Felix the Cat a guppy killer!!!!!
Heheheh, I used to have loads and loads of guppies.... they simply just breed and the numbers multiplied, it was back in my Kampung then, I don't know what I did "right" but I remember having those water plants to cool the aquarium and provide O2...
Yes, Sillylupie, it seems I am a guppy killer. They seem to die on me I never seem to be able to keep them for long. I don't know why. I know that they are easy to keep and rear but ....... mine keep dying hu..hu....

Old 12-16-2008, 10:31 AM

Felix The Cat is not only the killer
i also
my guppy dont live long too...
maybe the most less than 6 months........

i used to have a lot
then die
then stop
then buy again
the ndie again...

stop...

the try and buy again
die again

enough no more..dont want
Yes, Vivienlpl, I know what you mean. Me too stop buying cause don't want the guppies to end up dead. At least yours survive for 6 months. Mine only survive for a week or 2 weeks...

Old 12-16-2008, 02:12 PM

Yes, Vivienlpl, I know what you mean. Me too stop buying cause don't want the guppies to end up dead. At least yours survive for 6 months. Mine only survive for a week or 2 weeks...
that's really fast .....and guppy dont come cheap anymore....

outside minimum one also about RM1.50 per fish
Old 12-16-2008, 11:42 PM

that's really fast .....and guppy dont come cheap anymore....

outside minimum one also about RM1.50 per fish
That's the small ones. When I was back in KK, there is shop selling 4 inches guppies costing RM4.50 for male and RM5.00 for females. I blew hundreds of ringgit buying them and they keep dying. They are really big you know. But I can't seem to find those guppies here.

Old 12-17-2008, 10:14 AM

wow 4 inches i havent seen so huge guppy before.....
Old 12-17-2008, 10:19 AM

wow 4 inches i havent seen so huge guppy before.....
Yes, seriously there is such a big guppy. When I asked the shop owner he said that it is imported from Thailand and Singapore. They are really huge and so beautiful as their tails are so big like a fan. Unfortunately, can't find the same type here.

Old 12-17-2008, 08:54 PM

you dont have a photo hor of the guppy?

if got show me heheehe curious

your one i think why die
felix the cat eat it
Old 12-18-2008, 10:48 AM

yea... notti..noti felix... go eat the fish... eheheh
Old 12-18-2008, 12:25 PM

you dont have a photo hor of the guppy?

if got show me heheehe curious

your one i think why die
felix the cat eat it
Aiyoh... don't have la...
However, my dad has those fishes and will try to pujuk him to tangkap gambar and send to me then I will show you. Sure your mata like this he..he... cause so big.

Eeeeee cannot imagine me eating the guppies

Old 12-18-2008, 12:26 PM

yea... notti..noti felix... go eat the fish... eheheh
Filinlee, I only eat ikan sebelah, ikan kerapu, ikan putih he..he...
Guppys unfortunately not on my list but I am sure if my cats saw it mesti ngap punya

Old 12-18-2008, 01:43 PM

ehehe.. tuh la pasal... karang kena heart attack lagik macam u citer.. eheheheh
Old 12-18-2008, 02:32 PM

Aiyoh... don't have la...
However, my dad has those fishes and will try to pujuk him to tangkap gambar and send to me then I will show you. Sure your mata like this he..he... cause so big.

Eeeeee cannot imagine me eating the guppies
take already show me
tell me where your dad stays
i go nab the guppie :)

you let me in la.
im your friend :)
Old 05-20-2009, 02:45 PM

fffrrr is on a distinguished road

Guppy enthusiasts, I want to ask a question that could probably be a stupid question

but will ask anyway...hehe
ok, if my cats drink from the guppy tank (ok lah more like, guppy jar..) will their saliva contaminate the water and eventually murder the guppies???

of course lah I didn't ask or allow the cats to go drink water frm there but my cats are a bit absent minded I swear some of them don't even NOTICE that there are guppies inside. They're just lalalala oh water! I think I'm thirsty...so they drink drink drink.

Thing is that I've had one jar with four teenage guppies mati at one go and they were fine prior to dying so I knew they were not ill. I can't think of anything that mightve gotten into the jar other than maybe gecko urine or my cats' saliva. Then only a couple of days ago the same thing happened to my other jar of tiny guppy fries. Only one survived. The smallest of them all. It is now the lone guppy...
Old 05-28-2009, 07:37 PM

soon they lick lick yum y um...oh something nice to munch as well......

whether contaminated - i dont think so unless your cat are not well......

but train your cats to behave...tell them NO!!! dont you provide fresh water for them...?

why guppies water taste better?

i only scare you cat diarrhoea after your cats drink
Old 02-21-2010, 05:59 PM
Pet Lover

YeeYee is on a distinguished road

since you did not elaborate further, there are so many causes that could kill your fish. mostly those are related to water condition so it's best that you check for ammonia, nitrite and nitrate using test kits.
Old 02-24-2010, 02:25 PM

khchia is on a distinguished road

if you wan to know about how to keep guppy..