Old 12-24-2008, 02:40 PM

Default Re: A dog needs a loving home & family asap

How can we help u kak anum?
AS USUAL VIVI...

JUST PRAY FOR STRIPES RECOVERY... AND EVEN THAT, PRAY FOR HIM NOT TO BE A CARRIER...

Old 12-24-2008, 02:49 PM

Ooooh. We all will.
Old 12-24-2008, 03:12 PM

Ooooh. We all will.
Thanks sis...

Old 12-25-2008, 03:31 PM

junleewei is on a distinguished road

how is he oready kak anum??u oready tol dat person who is going2adopt him onot?
Old 12-26-2008, 11:02 AM

Originally Posted by junleewei View Post
how is he oready kak anum??u oready tol dat person who is going2adopt him onot?
Hello Jun,

Sorry to say that at this moment I HAVE TO BE SELFFISH... The thing is if akak let Stripes to be in the jungle, the chances of him to get infested by more ticks is really high...

Therefore, the decisions has to be put on hold and the guy will be informed... the second result came in 2 days ago.... The percentage of him to recover is high but he will be under observations. His liver, lungs and the rest are in good condition, which means the Tick Fever he's having now is at an early stage....

But still a lot of precautions need to be taken. He is a happy boy, and we both wouldn't miss visiting him everyday.

Old 12-26-2008, 03:09 PM

Luckily kak anum and everybody dapat tahu Stripes tick fever early.
God bless.
Old 12-26-2008, 03:18 PM

Luckily kak anum and everybody dapat tahu Stripes tick fever early.
God bless.
Yes! Thank Goodness we knew it earlier and decided on the blood test... or else

Old 12-26-2008, 06:16 PM

Hi Mrs Dolittle,

So sorry I only read this today. How is Stripes now? Has his temperature dropped yet?

BTW, what is tick fever? I've never heard of it before. Do you mean the ticks bit him until he developed fever? Or the ticks had fever and passed it to him? My apologies for sounding naive and stupid.

May the Force be with Stripes. *sending positive thoughts to Stripes*
Old 12-27-2008, 11:32 AM

Hi Mrs Dolittle,

So sorry I only read this today. How is Stripes now? Has his temperature dropped yet?

BTW, what is tick fever? I've never heard of it before. Do you mean the ticks bit him until he developed fever? Or the ticks had fever and passed it to him? My apologies for sounding naive and stupid.

May the Force be with Stripes. *sending positive thoughts to Stripes*
Thanks for your good thoughts Blackie... you were always there for us.

Tick Fever is caused by bacteria call "ehrlichiosis". Stripes got it from SPCA i guess. Well thats the risk we have to take sending a dog to a pound. Lucky thing was it is an early stage and he could be cured, but has to be on antibiotics for about 8 weeks. Even though he will still be a carrier after recovery. Which means, any ticks sucking on his blood and crawl to another dog or human, will be infected.

Should this be serious it could affect the liver, neurological function and it could be fatal.

This is common among dogs and should not be panicked. All we have to do is to make sure that all our pets are ticks free, apply the frontline and a tick bath once a month.

He is now being treated in a clinic and under a close observation for recovery progress. So far, it has not infected any part of the inner body part.

He is doing well and such a happy and playful dog.

Thanks again for asking Blackie. Happy new year to you and Baby Hippo.

Send my love to your family.

Last edited by mrsdolittle; 12-27-2008 at 04:15 PM.
Old 12-27-2008, 02:23 PM

Sorry to hear about Stripes having Tick Fever...
Will be praying that Stripes recover soon! :)
I'd say, Stripes is very lucky to have you! Sticking to him through "tick" and thin ... hehehe
Give him a big hug for me will ya?

Old 12-27-2008, 04:15 PM

I'd say, Stripes is very lucky to have you! Sticking to him through "tick" and thin ... hehehe
Awwww... that's so sweet of you...

Sure will do... we'll give him the biggest hug from you, my sweet sweet Lupie

HAPPY NEW YEAR TO YOU AND YOUR FAMILY...

Old 12-28-2008, 10:55 PM

Glad to hear that this is quite common among dogs, and that there is no need to panic. Shall continue sending positive thoughts to Stripes until he is fully recovered.

And happy new year to you and your hubby, too. I won't be online as often until after 7 Jan, as Baby Hippo is clearing his annual leave so we have to "go dating".

Thanks for your good thoughts Blackie... you were always there for us.

Tick Fever is caused by bacteria call "ehrlichiosis". Stripes got it from SPCA i guess. Well thats the risk we have to take sending a dog to a pound. Lucky thing was it is an early stage and he could be cured, but has to be on antibiotics for about 8 weeks. Even though he will still be a carrier after recovery. Which means, any ticks sucking on his blood and crawl to another dog or human, will be infected.

Should this be serious it could affect the liver, neurological function and it could be fatal.

This is common among dogs and should not be panicked. All we have to do is to make sure that all our pets are ticks free, apply the frontline and a tick bath once a month.

He is now being treated in a clinic and under a close observation for recovery progress. So far, it has not infected any part of the inner body part.

He is doing well and such a happy and playful dog.

Thanks again for asking Blackie. Happy new year to you and Baby Hippo.

Send my love to your family.
Bina, you're playing with words, ahh??

Old 12-29-2008, 08:57 PM

Glad to hear that this is quite common among dogs, and that there is no need to panic. Shall continue sending positive thoughts to Stripes until he is fully recovered.

And happy new year to you and your hubby, too. I won't be online as often until after 7 Jan, as Baby Hippo is clearing his annual leave so we have to "go dating".

Thanks again Blackie... second blood test done today and result bytomorrow. We will know if Stripes will recover or doing better after a week of antibiotics...

Meanwhile, Stripes seems healthy, put on a bit of weight and very playful.

There is another person who is willing to sdopt him... Sigh... a tough decision for us...

We will see how and if its the best for him, we will have to let him go...

BINA,

Old 12-29-2008, 09:13 PM

Ok, keep us posted, and I'm sure you'll do what is best for Stripes, be it to rehome him or keep him.

Thanks again Blackie... second blood test done today and result bytomorrow. We will know if Stripes will recover or doing better after a week of antibiotics...

Meanwhile, Stripes seems healthy, put on a bit of weight and very playful.

There is another person who is willing to sdopt him... Sigh... a tough decision for us...

We will see how and if its the best for him, we will have to let him go...

BINA,

Old 12-31-2008, 09:09 PM

lisalau is on a distinguished road

Dear Mrsdolittle!
I am terribly sorry for this late reply to you. By the time I am reading this, I am very happy to hear the latest update about Stripes! Stripes is so fortunate to have you and your hubby and veterinary team who are very kind. I am happy to hear Stripes is well except for a bit of cold.

Thank goodness for the breakthrough with Stripes! God bless you and your hubby for your kindness and compassion.
Old 01-01-2009, 09:26 AM

"Baby Hippo" is clearing his annual leave so we have to "go dating".

Baby HIPPO??????? Anyway, I hope you are enjoing your holidays now, rekindle all those love energy! Who knows, Blackie will have a little "slave" soon... muahahahaha

Got meh? Got play with words meh?

BINA,

Anum, - great seeing u!!

Old 01-05-2009, 09:03 AM

Originally Posted by lisalau View Post
Dear Mrsdolittle!
I am terribly sorry for this late reply to you. By the time I am reading this, I am very happy to hear the latest update about Stripes! Stripes is so fortunate to have you and your hubby and veterinary team who are very kind. I am happy to hear Stripes is well except for a bit of cold.

Thank goodness for the breakthrough with Stripes! God bless you and your hubby for your kindness and compassion.
No worries my dear friend, you have been very kind with your kind thoughts.

Stripes is doing well and he is recovering from the cold. His body is responding well to the medication and coughing the flam out.

Thanks again dear. Yes, Stripes is very lucky to have good vets treating him.

Cheerio..

Old 01-05-2009, 09:05 AM

Anum, - great seeing u!!
It was a pleasure and honor to have to meet up with both of you hubby and wifey...

How are you dear?

Old 01-05-2009, 06:01 PM

i apologize for being so late to read this thread again. yes, the dogs in spca are not in a very well condition. they eat rice with a few kibbles and ticks are everywhere. i never knew about this tick fever before.

kak anum, if you bring him home, we can never be sure that your dogs will always be tick free. but then again, who will try their best to make sure of that but you (i mean if he were to be in others' hands). so, it really is how much you love him.

he's been very very lucky.

i pray for him again and send him my love.
Old 01-07-2009, 12:39 AM

Ticks aren't that hard to kill if you bathe your dog regularly with tick n flea medicine. Theres some leave on stuff around but personally I prefer the bath. Just got to repeat regularly and then whenever you see a flea in case theres eggs in the yard. After some time, BYEBYE fleas.