Go

Go Back   PetFinder.my > Pet Welfare, Rescue & Adoption > General Discussion

General Discussion General information and discuss on animal rescue, adoption and advocacy

Closed Thread

Old 03-06-2009, 05:33 PM
PetFinder Buddy

pugsnmutts is on a distinguished road
Default Letter from an Animal Shelter Manager - the sad truth

Education people, EDUCATION!! Let's pray that 2009 spares more lives than the 11 million killed this year...
(do not stop reading until you've reached the end)

A Letter from a Shelter Manager:

I think our society needs a huge " Wake-up" call. As a shelter manager, I am going to share a little insight with you all. ..a view from the inside if you will.

First off, all of you breeders/sellers should be made to work in the "back" of an animal shelter for just one day.

Maybe if you saw the life drain from a few sad, lost, confused eyes, you would change your mind about breeding
and selling to people you don't even know. That puppy you just sold will most likely end up in my shelter when
it's not a cute little puppy anymore.

So how would you feel if you knew that there's about a > 90% chance that dog will never walk out of the shelter
it is going to be dumped at? Purebred or not! About 50% of all of the dogs that are "owner surrenders" or "strays"
that come into my shelter are purebred dogs.

The most common excuses I hear are;

"We are moving and we can't take our dog (or cat).
" Really? Where are you moving to that doesn't allow pets
and why did you choose that place instead of a pet friendly
home?

Or they say "The dog got bigger than we thought it would".
How big did you think a German Shepherd would get?

"We don't have time for her". Really? I work a 10- 12 hour
day and still have time for my 6 dogs!

"She' s tearing up our yard". How about making her a part
of your family?

They always tell me: "We just don't want to have to stress
about finding a place for her we know she'll get adopted, she's
a good dog."