Go Back   PetFinder.my > The Animal Corner > Cats & Kittens > Training & Behavioral Issues

Training & Behavioral Issues Does your cat have an attitude, or just simply refuses to listen to you? Share it with your peers here and learn more about a cat's behavior and training methods

Old 04-28-2009, 04:34 PM

azzudagreat is on a distinguished road
Default my kitty doesn't cover her feases anymore

i adopt this kitty 2 months ago...earlier she covered her feases and her pee with the litter sand...but after 2,3 weeks until now, she never covers it anymore...what to do?? i don't know how to train her but i also not comfortable with the smell...plss help
Old 05-05-2009, 11:38 AM

Default Re: my kitty doesn't cover her feases anymore

Azzu, did you declaw (potong kuku) the kitty?

-----------------------------------------------
ANECDOTAL EVIDENCE

from SHELTER WORKERS, VETERINARIANS, & CAT CONSULTANTS regarding declawed cats developing unfavorable behavioral problems. Plus, WHY CATS ARE RELINQUISHED FROM THE HOME SURVEYS.

http://www.pawsneedclaws.com/Declaw_...ral_Issues.php

***Published 2/1/03 on CourierPostOnline.com, "Eighty percent of the that are surrendered that are declawed are euthanized because they have a behavioral problem…. Declawed cats frequently become biters and also stop using litter boxes… One or the other…,” said William Lombardi shelter director, Gloucester County, New Jersey.

***“Gloucester County Animal Shelter, says Lombardi, who’s been the director for three years and an animal control officer for 25, Cats with claws, he says, are always surrendered for human-related issues, mainly “moving and can’t take the cat with us.” Declawed cats, on the other hand, have behavior problems, and most who come in end up having to be euthanized. Even when Lombardi works with declawed cats and tries to place them in new homes, they often come back to the shelter for not using the litter box”.…”Almost all of our hotline calls are declawed cats with litter box issues,” says Pat Rock of the Oshkosh Area Humane Society in Wisconsin.” "The Declaw Dilemma", Nancy Lawson http://www.animalsheltering.org/reso...aw_dilemma.pdf

***Seventy percent (70%) of cats turned in to pounds and shelters for behavioral problems are declawed. (National Survey from pounds & shelters obtained by Caddo Parrish Forgotten Felines & Friends) http://www.sniksnak.com/cathealth/declaw.html

***From the Summer 2002 issue of PETA’s Animal Times: “A survey by a Delaware animal shelter showed that more than 75% of the cats turned in for avoiding their litter boxes had been declawed.”

***”In my own three-year experience, 95% of calls about declawed cats related to litter box problems, while only 46% of clawed cats had such problems—and most of those were older cats with physical ailments. Of my calls, only declawed cats have cost their owners security deposits, leather sofas and floorboards. And it’s mostly declawed cats that have been prescribed pain killers, anti-depressants, tranquilizers and steroids. Two-thirds of my calls are about litter box problems. In 90% of those cases, the cat is declawed, sick or old. In 7 years, only 3 people have called about a “scratching-the-sofa problem” - yet countless of “healthy” declawed cats have peed on sofas." Annie Bruce, cat consultant & author Cat Be Good, www.goodcatswearblack.com

***"Another county facility automatically puts down or transfers out any declawed cat, because of the greater likelihood that such cats will exhibit behavior problems such as litterbox avoidance or a propensity for biting"http://www.bestfriends.org/archives/...5adoptions.pdf

***"Declawing does not keep a cat in its home. A declawed cat may lose its home, because of behavior problems that may develop after declawing...Considering all factors in aggregate, statistically, a declawed cat is more likely to be killed in the pound, because it was declawed." Dr. Jennifer Conrad, DVM, The Paw Project, http://www.pawproject.com/psa/facts_tips.asp

*** “Behavioral problems frequently haunt declawed cats. By far, the commonest thing we see is cats not using the litterbox. When cats have stress beyond what they can take, it often shows up as a litterbox problem and declawing makes them stress intolerant, in general, for the rest of their lives,” Dr. Harrison, DVM. Dr. Harrison gets 3-12 calls a day about litter box problems in cats and, after ruling out medical problems, 90 percent of the cats with litter box aversion are declawed cats. “Declawing: Behavior Modification or Destructive Surgery”, Animal Issues, 1998

*** “…our cat care coordinator, was becoming increasingly disturbed at the euthanasia rate for declawed cats and decided to conduct an informal study. She discovered that more than 80% of declawed cats that were either returned or owner surrendered that year were done so because of litterbox problems or biting.” http://declaw.lisaviolet.com/declawshelter.html

*** “In some cases, when declawed cats use the litterbox after surgery, their feet are so tender they associate their new pain with the box...permanently, resulting in a life-long adversion to using the litter box. Other declawed cats that can no longer mark with their claws, they mark with urine instead resulting in inappropriate elimination problems, which in many cases, results in relinquishment of the cats to shelters and ultimately euthanasia. Many of the cats surrendered to shelters are surrendered because of behavioral problems which developed after the cats were declawed. Risk factors for relinquishment of cats to an animal shelter: "Among 218 cats relinquished to a shelter, more (52.4%) declawed cats than non-declawed cats (29.1%) were reported by owners to have inappropriate elimination problems." Source: World Small Animal Veterinary Association – 2001 http://maxshouse.com/facts_about_declawing.htm

***"My own queries to shelter personnel show that 20% of all cats entering shelters have already been declawed, and half of these declawed cats do not reach the adoption shelter, as they are screened out at intake as "behavior problems". Harriet Baker, "The Shocking Truth About Declawing Cats", 2003

***2/2007 "...Delaware Humane Association...Declawing also can lead to litter box problems...75 percent of declawed cats in shelters are there because they had issues using their litter boxes.
http://www.delawareonline.com/apps/p...0307/-1/NEWS01

***In a study published in the January, 2001 JAVMA, 33% of 39 cats that underwent onychectomy developed "at least" one behavior problem immediately after surgery, with the most common problems being litter box problems and biting.

*Cocheco Valley Humane Society of Dover, NH annual shelter statistics revealed that there was a high percentage (66-72%) of cats turned in with behavioral problems who were declawed cats. Behavioral problems included improper elimination and aggressiveness. Shelter Sense, 8/1992, "A Cat and His Claws Are Too Often Parted: The Realities of Delawing" by Rhonda Lucas Donalds

*** “Dr. Susan Swanson, DVM, owner of the Cat Care Clinic in Mahtomedi, Minnesota, notes that "year after year, the declawed cats that I see in my practice have higher rates of litter box issues such as inappropriate elimination"…Nearly every shelter and rescue group director in the country makes the same observation. Sore paws that don't feel like digging in the litter may be one reason why declawed cats are more prone to litter box rejection. (The accumulated stress buildup from lack of scratching may also be a contributing factor, as stress is implicated in half of all urinary tract problems).” "Why Cats Need Claws", Gary Lowenthal
http://www.oahs.org/pdf/WhyCatsNeedT...%20Claws%22%22

*** Based upon conversations with our customers who bought Feliway because their cats were peeing outside of the box I'd say that at least60%, if not closer to 70%, of these people had cats who were declawed..." Cat Faeries behaviorist and feline territory specialist

*** “Asthma and cystitis (inflammation of the bladder) have also been linked to the stress of declaws…consider the possibility of post-surgery behavior problems – especially litterbox issues and aggression…reports abound among cat owners and some animal behaviorists also notice a link. Karen Overall, VMD, Ph.D a specialist in veterinary medicine, has seen transient aggression and reluctance to use the litterbox after declaw. There is also the issue of trust...Interestingly, the humane society workers have made these claims about declawed cats for years”. "Declaw Details", Dr. Brenda McClelland, DVM, Cat Fancy Magazine Jan 2006 p. 44-47

*** “Chronic physical ailments such as cystitis or skin disorders can be manifestations of a declawed cat’s frustration and stress.” David E. Hartnett, DVM http://www.petstation.com/declaw.html

*** “…San Francisco Care and Control ("some declawed cats become more nervous biters; others are known to become even more destructive to furniture than before the operation; and many cats stop using the litterbox"), East Bay SPCA ("deprived of their primary form of defense, declawed cats become nervous, fearful, and/or aggressive, often using their only remaining defense, their teeth. Some cats stop using their litter pan. This may be associated to the discomfort of scratching in the litter after the surgery"), and Palo Alto Humane Society ("we have a no-declaw policy"). These organizations and the individuals working there are obviously highly motivated to find each cat a home and do not wish to see the cat returned. They have found that declawed cats, with a disproportionate rate of biting and house soiling, have a relatively low adoption success rate.” Dr. Jennifer Conrad, DVM The Paw Project, http://www.pawproject.com/html/faqs.asp

***In a recent study published October, 2001, JAVMA by Dr. Gary J. Patronek, VMD, PhD., “…declawed cats were at an increased risk of relinquishment.”

***"One problem we have is people get their cats de-clawed," he said. "De-clawing a cat is like cutting off the end of your finger. When you de-claw a cat, you remove digits. When the cat gets older, it stops using the litter box because the litter gets stuck between its toes and the cat doesn't like it. A lot of older cats are surrendered because they stop using the litter box and people don't want to clean up after them." http://suburbanjournals.stltoday.com...dogpnd.ii1.txt
St. Louis, MO humane shelter 2/2007

***According to a pain management article from 2005, Dr. Gaynor, DVM states, "It is becoming more and more apparent that the number of feline patients who have declaw prodcedures performed have subsequent chronic pain issues...Another client complaint is a cat who just has some behavioral changes which may include decreased activity, decreased appetite, or increased aggression...within days to months to years...". http://www.cvmbs.colostate.edu/ivapm...May%202005.pdf

***"...Declawing that results in biting or inappropriate elimination outside the litterbox may result in the cat being permanently locked in the basement, dumped at a shelter, or simply abandoned. Many cats are exiled to a life outdoors because of these unwanted behaviors. There, they also risk injury or death by dogs, cars, wild predators, disease, poison, and other hazards of outdoor life; even more so than clawed cats who retain their primary defenses. People who work with feral cat Trap-Neuter-Release programs often find declawed cats in their traps--cats who should never have been outside at all. These cats once had homes, but were abandoned in an alley or field--almost certainly due to behavior problems resulting from declaw surgery. The claim by veterinarians that "declawing keeps cats in their homes" clearly isn't true for these declawed cats who lost their homes and were abandoned to an uncertain fate. There is no way to know how many cats are dumped this way, but based on experiences in Denver, a typical urban environment, the number is likely in the many thousands. "Declawing: A Rational Look" Dr. Jean Hofve, DVM http://www.littlebigcat.com/index.ph...=show&item=002

*...(declaw surgery)..."I've counseled too many cases when these cats becoming biters and/or develop litter box problems due to painful paws" Amy D. Shojai, IAABC Certified Animal Behavior Consultant, http://www.heralddemocrat.com/articl...ife/life04.txt

*Unfortunately, some veterinarians are not aware of the consequences of this procedure...some think the cat will lose its home if they don't declaw it, but if you statistically analyze it, you realize that the cat has a higher chance of losing its home because of the subsequent behavioral changes," Conrad said, "It does not behoove the cat in any way." Dr. Jennifer Conrad, DVM, "Supreme Court Upholds Ban On Declawing", Beverly Press, Vol 17 No. 42, Oct 18, 2007

Aug. 18, 2006, 7:21PM
ANIMAL DOCTOR
Declawing may increase biting
By DR. MICHAEL FOX
United Feature Syndicate

Dear Dr. Fox: I have a Maine coon cat that I adopted from a shelter. He has a disability (his right leg is very short), and I was told he must remain an indoor cat. I had him declawed as well as altered. He is a great companion and very affectionate, although he will not sit on my lap. He has a bad habit of biting my hand when I try to play with him, not hard, more of a nip. I would like to break him of this if I can. He is a little under 2 years old. Does he do this because he has no front claws, or is this a throwback to his wild nature? J.H.C., Schenectady, N.Y.

Dear J.H.C.: It is regrettable that you had your already crippled cat declawed. Declawed cats tend to bite more, in part because their first line of defense, their claws, has been removed. Cat bites are much more dangerous than the occasional scratch because of possible infection. Without claws to hold and manipulate things, declawed cats tend to become more oral, mouthingand chewing more.

DR. MICHAEL FOX
United Feature Syndicate
200 Madison Ave.
New York, NY 10016
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies

Last edited by FurKids; 05-05-2009 at 11:46 AM.
Old 05-05-2009, 01:18 PM

i only cut her nail once using pet nail clipper...i did because she always spread her nails on me when she is playing with me...so to reduce severe scratch, i cut her nail ..i think this is not call as declawed rite?quite confuse with the declaw procedures..what can i do now?it's been 2 weeks after i cut her nail, but she still have problem with her litter box..does this mean she will behave like that 4ever or she will recover after nails grow again?

Last edited by azzudagreat; 05-05-2009 at 01:24 PM.
Old 05-05-2009, 02:17 PM

From what I read, ANY cutting of the claw walaupun sikit can bring on the effect. Clipping a little bit also equals removing part of the claw although it is not the whole claw by surgery ...

Kita tak dapat rasa the effect, tapi the cat definitely feels it however little it is.

Better not cut again. In the meantime, maybe you can use shredded newspaper for litter like I do, less sensation on the claw area until the claws fully grow back.

It will take some time depending on how much has been cut (hopefully she will not suffer any permanent effect ... but animals tend to have associations with things, that is how their brain works, unlike humans who can apply logic and reason).

Good luck, friend! In the meantime, be very loving and understanding to her and her sense of vulnerability, defenselessness and inadequacy.
"We organized in the past to make Trap-Neuter-Return possible. Today, we organize to make Trap-Neuter-Return the norm and to end the unnecessary killing of cats in animal shelters across the country and provide humane care." - Alley Cat Allies
Old 05-06-2009, 01:55 PM

ok..thank u sooo much for the info...

while my other new bought kitten not so frenly lol..always afraid of me...haiya he also sometime popo on the floor if many people in the house..i guess because he is afraid of everybody and always nyorok under cabinet etc....