Go Back   PetFinder.my > PetFinder Lounge > Movies & TV

Movies & TV Discuss the latest movies, tv shows, and what turns you into a couch potato

Old 03-15-2009, 08:41 PM

Default Marley & Me

I went to watch Marley & Me yesterday.Frankly,I was quite dissapointed with movie.It wasn't like in the book. They even created 1 character which is not in the book, play by Eric Dane (McSteamy from Grey's Anatomy).He played John Grogan's best friend in the movie. The book is much better than the movie.However, it doesn't stop me from teary eyed coming out from the theatre. Animal movies always make me cry."sigh".
Old 03-15-2009, 08:57 PM

Default Re: Marley & Me

Its not the same as the book, the book is way better than the movie
Tbh the movie just cant capture the badness of Marley, I thought it was a teeny bit boring in the beginning

But I cried buckets at the end and it was hard to get out of the cinema cuz I had red eyes haha
Old 03-15-2009, 10:30 PM

I haven't read the book nor watched the movie. But I saw a poster up in front of Pet Lover's Center in Sunway Pyramid that they have a Marley & Me lookalike contest. I'm not entirely sure how to enter and all but the prizes looked nice.
Old 03-15-2009, 10:52 PM

the book is almost always better than the movie. so, watch the movie first, then read the book. that way, you'll enjoy both movie and book.

the only exception is The Devil Wears Prada. This one, the movie is better because the characters in the movie are nicer people.
Old 03-15-2009, 11:47 PM

the book is almost always better than the movie. so, watch the movie first, then read the book. that way, you'll enjoy both movie and book.

the only exception is The Devil Wears Prada. This one, the movie is better because the characters in the movie are nicer people.
Ooh. Thanks for the heads up.

DWP was niiiiiiiiiiiice.
Old 03-15-2009, 11:58 PM

i love DWP, too. but in the book, the boss is so totally heartless, ending is different from the movie.

Ooh. Thanks for the heads up.

DWP was niiiiiiiiiiiice.
Old 03-16-2009, 12:13 AM

i love DWP, too. but in the book, the boss is so totally heartless, ending is different from the movie.
The ending was different? I've never read the book..how was the ending like in the book?

The only books I read are Gossip Girl, but I stopped reading them after the TV series came out because it was totally different and I didn't want to confuse myself.
Old 03-16-2009, 12:26 AM

the boss was not half as nice as in the movie. the boss fired her in paris, and, if i remember, tried to make it difficult for her to get another job.

sorry, june, for going off-track here.......let's go back to marley and me.

tell us more about it, june. the movie, i mean.

The ending was different? I've never read the book..how was the ending like in the book?

The only books I read are Gossip Girl, but I stopped reading them after the TV series came out because it was totally different and I didn't want to confuse myself.
Old 03-16-2009, 08:52 AM

hi animal lovers!!
i haven't seen the marley & me movie yet but i absolutely loved the book! in fact it inspired me to adopt my second dog who is not a labrador retriever but is the same color as marley!!

i was wondering if anyone wanted to organize a movie session. not just for people.. but when the dvd comes out it would be awesome to have a watch "marley & me" session with your dogs get together at someone's house or dog-friendly establishment.. i know its not likely though as most places aren't dog-friendly in malaysia.. anyone wanna volunteer their home? hahaahhaahhha just a thought.. otherwise i guess i'll be watching the movie at home alone with my two doggies... i'd volunteer my own home, but there are 11 cats in there right now.. (5 mine and 6 fosters, i'm not crazy!!)
Old 03-16-2009, 10:10 AM

the movie was ok with me.....afterall i watch for the laugh of that dog..

within 2 hours...they cant pack the whole book into a movie, its pretty common but it straight forward. most movie does that and dont follow the book sequence.

even got one part how grogan in that movie advance from one scene to another - really fast forward - in the book it is longer than that....

scenes like how marley spent his time taking care of the babies while the two grogans are away also was not in
so its not easy to train the dog to be that role when they are not
the robbery scenes was also cut so short like only 5 minutes... and many more.....

that guy - his best friend was a bit elaborated to create scenes to the movie

worth watching..... just for entertainment :)

i cant wait till the dvd is out - will get it and keep as my collection
Old 03-16-2009, 10:45 AM

Default Marley & Me

In my opinion,they didn't capture Marley correctly.The movie is more on the Grogan's couple journey rather than the dog. My niece who never read the book remark,"aiyoh! why the dog so bad ler.How can they tahan him". They should explore more on Marley's journey also. The time when Connor was sick,Marley stay awake on his side for 9 hours,but they didn't show this at all.so sad.They don't even show Grogan's parents. John's dad especially,love Marley.

The guy (I forgot his character's name) John's best friend in the movie is very not neccessary.He didn't really do anything in the movie.

the movie was ok with me.....afterall i watch for the laugh of that dog..

within 2 hours...they cant pack the whole book into a movie, its pretty common but it straight forward. most movie does that and dont follow the book sequence.

even got one part how grogan in that movie advance from one scene to another - really fast forward - in the book it is longer than that....

scenes like how marley spent his time taking care of the babies while the two grogans are away also was not in
so its not easy to train the dog to be that role when they are not
the robbery scenes was also cut so short like only 5 minutes... and many more.....

that guy - his best friend was a bit elaborated to create scenes to the movie

worth watching..... just for entertainment :)

i cant wait till the dvd is out - will get it and keep as my collection
Old 03-16-2009, 10:57 AM

sarahseben is on a distinguished road

yes, the womanizer guy. macam tak bring any purpose to the movie jer kan. probably they wanted to create a character for grogan to turn on to if ada problem. macam seek advise ke ape ke. tapi seeking advise from a womanizer is a bad move to begin with la kan?

like the rest of you guys, i cried a bucket too during the ending. time dia found marley under the tree tu..sheeshhhhh!!! and masa dia nak put marley on sleep..sheeeeeeeeshhhhhhhh!!!! bring down the macho side of me je!!

In my opinion,they didn't capture Marley correctly.The movie is more on the Grogan's couple journey rather than the dog. My niece who never read the book remark,"aiyoh! why the dog so bad ler.How can they tahan him". They should explore more on Marley's journey also. The time when Connor was sick,Marley stay awake on his side for 9 hours,but they didn't show this at all.so sad.They don't even show Grogan's parents. John's dad especially,love Marley.

The guy (I forgot his character's name) John's best friend in the movie is very not neccessary.He didn't really do anything in the movie.
agree! always watch the movie first than the book. another good novel gone bad movie, to me, was Atonement.

Old 03-16-2009, 11:01 AM

Yea they didnt capture marley properly and the book never said anything about him staying up for 9 hrs with the sick child did it?
Old 03-16-2009, 11:20 AM

The movie portrayed Marley in a bad light?

Old 03-16-2009, 01:38 PM

The movie portrayed Marley in a bad light?
portrait him in a funny ways.........that you will think twice of having him in your life hahahahaa..... do you know
they used so many dogs from the puppy to adult....

cannot find one that fits exactly like him
Old 03-16-2009, 01:44 PM

Default Marley & Me

In the movie,he chew everything around him,howling everytime he hear thunder,running here and there.hehehehe!!! in the scene when they sent him for obedient school is very funny. we all laughed like crazy.

portrait him in a funny ways.........that you will think twice of having him in your life hahahahaa..... do you know
they used so many dogs from the puppy to adult....

cannot find one that fits exactly like him
Old 03-16-2009, 02:38 PM

In the movie,he chew everything around him,howling everytime he hear thunder,running here and there.hehehehe!!! in the scene when they sent him for obedient school is very funny. we all laughed like crazy.
because the trainer's hair remind marley of the poodle mah

cannot blame him for attacking or i would say humping
Old 03-17-2009, 03:20 PM

????????!!!!!! wah, i must go see the movie just for this if nothing else.

because the trainer's hair remind marley of the poodle mah

cannot blame him for attacking or i would say humping