Old 09-11-2008, 09:33 AM

Talking I AM coming to TOWNNN!!

Yahoo! heya heya this Jakarta girl is moving to PJ tomorrow!!! So happyyy!

Anyways.. my place have no cutleries, kitchen tools, only 1 bedsheet hahahha.. so I am gonna need to look for all this.. towels..

Can you guys recommend places near Bandar Utama? Somewhere cheap cheap but not too shabby either.. dont say IKEA ya.. cus I'm looking for alternative.. maybe cheaper and better, right? HELP!

If anyone wanna take me around also very happy! ahahhaa..

Tell me quick! Where!
Old 09-11-2008, 09:38 AM

Default Re: I AM coming to TOWNNN!!

Ask the ladies...Ferreted...the men will not help to point out...talking about shopping every men is clueless...
Neway welcome to your neighbouring Malaysia...hope you'll enjoy it here...

Last edited by Penghulu; 09-11-2008 at 10:00 AM.
Old 09-11-2008, 09:52 AM

HI Ferretted

if you wanna "economical" price, you gotta come down to KL, PJ quite expensive compared to KL. however the "cheaper" areas to shop will be around hypermarkets - like tesco, carrefour and giant. tesco is right at ikea , opposite ikea. nearest giant is at kelana jaya. carrefour at midvalley and subang.

oh wait, there's another "cheaper" alternative but quality may not that good : mydin. products from china, cheap but they sell in bulk i.e. if you buy hairclips, you need to buy a pack of either 6 units or 12 units. however for crockeries and cooking utensils, they may sell loose

however it sure doesn't beat buying in KL.

penghulu - hoh! i know you don't usually help your wife do shopping!
Old 09-11-2008, 10:10 AM

yeap.. tesco is quite cheap.. but u need to check out the prices as well... i can't suggst anything in pj.. definitely go kl... ehehe but u can actually buy some stuffs at the nearest mini market... it depends... when do u plan to shop..?
Old 09-11-2008, 10:21 AM

Dear ladies.

mybe some of us can help Ferretted...I'm sure in our hse there some cutleries, kitchen tools, curtains ke...yang we never use or seldom use...if Ferretted dont mind...maybe some of us can give to you...

Similar to NURUL a.k.a Felix the cat...when she 1st move here frm SARAWAK...I gave her curtains..(use twice )...plates..mugs...cups..jags...and a few more stuffs...its save her a lot...infact...some of the stuffs still in box...my kitchen very small...no place to put...and all in my store room...rather then doing nothing there...I decided to gv to her...at least she can use it...

I don tknow about others...but I can look in my store room...perhaps still got a few boxes of pinggan/mangkuk/cawan.....

just my 1cent opinion...
Old 09-11-2008, 10:41 AM

hi imann

that's a good suggestions. i gave out my stuff also when i moved house two years ago, we gave away a lot crockeries, utensils, bedsheets (used but still in good condition), dining table, fridge (old but good condition cos imported brand), even our beds! cos too large to move and we're moving to much smaller house.

so all you forummers out there, pls extend a helping hand but please no old stuff, this is not spring cleaning break!
Old 09-11-2008, 11:52 AM

Hi Chelly,

Welcome, welcome to Malaysia. As Ashley and Filin suggested, the cheaper stuff could be bought from hypermarkets like Tesco, Carrefour or Giant.

That's a great idea, Imann. I wish I have extras to spare, too. When I moved to Kepong last year I gave out a lot of unused household items to the 2 Indonesian ladies who helped me clean up my previous place as my new place is smaller and there's no room for extra stuff.

Anyway, look forward to 'bumping' into you in town, Chelly.
Old 09-11-2008, 02:12 PM

Hi Ferreted,

Have a safe journey and welcome to Malaysia! Well, if you want cheap stuff you can always try the pasar malams (night markets), there are a few near your area, i.e. SS2 on Monday, Chow Yang on Thurs, and Taman Megah and Paramount on Sunday.

Who knows, I might just bump into you - I am often at the shopping complexes near your area, i.e. 1Utama, Ikano, TheCurve hehe...

Oh, and you're just in time for the Mooncake Festival this Sunday... don't forget to grab a bite on some mooncakes hehe!
Old 09-11-2008, 02:57 PM

MUAAAA... if anyone wanna give me plates n stuff i will happily accept!
*gleaming eyes, empty box in hand, looking at imann, hopeful..*

gehehhe.. thank youuuu... i am only 1 person living there.

i HAPPILY welcome kitchen stuffs.. woks, frying pans, spoons, forks, those kinda thing cause my place is empty! only furnitures.

i think i dont even have blanket nor pillow for tomorrow night.. flying in the morning..

any more help? hehhe u guys are all i have there.. anyways.. i am gonna see the house lady tomorrow.. hope she will say.. PETS ALLOWED! i am gonna ask until she pity me..
Old 09-11-2008, 03:01 PM

have a safe journey chelly..
hope will get to meet you one day...
Old 09-11-2008, 03:03 PM

MUAAAA... if anyone wanna give me plates n stuff i will happily accept!
*gleaming eyes, empty box in hand, looking at imann, hopeful..*

gehehhe.. thank youuuu... i am only 1 person living there.

i HAPPILY welcome kitchen stuffs.. woks, frying pans, spoons, forks, those kinda thing cause my place is empty! only furnitures.

i think i dont even have blanket nor pillow for tomorrow night.. flying in the morning..

any more help? hehhe u guys are all i have there.. anyways.. i am gonna see the house lady tomorrow.. hope she will say.. PETS ALLOWED! i am gonna ask until she pity me..

aaahhh...if u say so...wait I go home and cari ok...then how to gv to u ek?...
Old 09-11-2008, 03:26 PM

heeheehee easyy i can come geeett... kindly tell me whatcha have nice lady.. then i wont buy those items first. heheheh.
Old 09-15-2008, 11:39 AM

heya everyone.. i moved in by now and pretty settled in with the help of mighty founder Mr. Andy Koh. Look forward to see you guys if there are meetings or what.. now i am in need of an mature small dog.. hahaha tell me if you know some ya..
Old 09-15-2008, 11:43 AM

heya everyone.. i moved in by now and pretty settled in with the help of mighty founder Mr. Andy Koh. Look forward to see you guys if there are meetings or what.. now i am in need of an mature small dog.. hahaha tell me if you know some ya..
glad tht u had settle...manage to look in my store....there some pinggans & cawans...if u need...but to be frank...not in 1 set la...mix collection...but do no how to give to u la...
Old 09-15-2008, 12:09 PM

hehehe gonna get a car or something in 2 weeks time then i can come n disturb u then.. pray pray hor..
Old 09-15-2008, 12:19 PM

.:: Heheheh!!! Was here already... Welcome... ::.

Old 09-15-2008, 12:21 PM

Arrhhh...finally you are here already...glad that Andy was there giving a helping hand...proud of you Andy...such a nice gentlemen...

Old 09-15-2008, 01:51 PM

hi feretted

welcome to the crazy country that's known as malaysia. don't know whether you arrive at the proper time or not. we're currently the laughing stock of the world for the antics of some members of our not overly bright govt.

anyhow, glad to know you are settling in. do look out for sales advertisements of hypermarkets like tesco, carrefour and giant as hari raya is coming up and they're fighting each other for our business. :-) how nice of them to make us feel so important! ;-) for example, last weekend, in a matter of 24hrs,they slashed the price of watermelons from 89 sen to 75sen to 45 sen per kg! i saw one fella wheeling out a whole trolley-load of watermelons! sorry i wasn't paying attention to the types of sale so can only relate watermelon example

we round commend Andy our leader for his leadership by example!
Old 09-15-2008, 02:01 PM

duyung_leo is on a distinguished road

welcome 2 Malaysia ferreted!!!!
Old 09-15-2008, 02:09 PM

hehehe yeesss... Andy is superman.. rescued Weasel in Distress.. very very nice of him n i think i would have been so sad n sad if it werent for him to help me settle down.. i owe you one lah Andy.. wait payback..

i heard abt the politics things at lunch tday but dont get whats happening just yet.

the fella you saw with watermelons maybe ME trying to pay Andy lor.. hehehehe.. hey Andy you like melons onot? 45 cents a kg might as well dont sell man! thats a rip off.. in indo, everybody will be fighting for PRICE INCREASE..

i love it so much here so far.. thank you everybody!