Go Back   PetFinder.my > Latest News & Happenings > Events

Old 07-27-2009, 03:54 PM

Smile SPCA Pulau Ketam Trip Photos - 2009-07-25

Hi Everyone,

Shahrul from SPCA has kindly invited Ezer and me to join them on their latest Pulau Ketam trip. The activities for this trip included neutering animals, free vaccination, educating the public, providing obedience training demonstration and rescuing strays.

We gathered at the Pulau Ketam jetty at 7+ am, and together with their team of 20 volunteers, set off to the island by ferry. The community hall was converted into a spaying/neutering center, and owner's pets and stray animals were placed in cages there awaiting their turns. The residents seem to be very cooperative, and they were seen chauffeuring their pets over by bicycles, while some owners assisted us in catching the strays at their houses.

The volunteers worked extremely hard while lazy Andy & Ezer were lepaking around the streets, exploring the area taking photos and gobbling down food like busybody tourists.

This trip is certainly an eye opener for me, and I hope that the teams and residents there can keep up their excellent efforts.

Below are some photos I took... enjoy!

Arriving at the Pulau Ketam jetty at Port Klang, 7:20 am

Happy Wei excited about the trip

Workers loading up our ferry with goods to be shipped to the island's shops. Lots of bread and Malboro.

Our 30-minute ferry journey to Pulau Ketam

Here we are, at last!

An arch marks the entrance to the village

An SPCA banner promoting the day's event

2 rows of shops make up the town area, mostly restaurants and grocery stores

Everybody travels around in bicycles, no motorized vehicles used

Duke, one of the obedience training performers

Ellie, the cute doggy of Jo Ann

Chatting over some beer and chinese tea

Scruffy demonstrating tricks to earn himself some treats

Local produce - lots of salted fish and dried cuttlefish

The first thing Wei bought - a RM3.40 hat

Residents registering to spay/neuter their pets and get free vaccination shots

A scared doggy arriving by bicycle

Lining up waiting for their turns to be neutered. The big, brown one was calm while the white one was madly yelping away.

Owners checking on their pets

DVS representatives providing the medical expertise

Cute kitty labeled V1.. Version 1 of some cyborg experiment?

An adorable snow-white V2 kitty

"Uh-oh... I have a feeling I'm gonna lose a thing or two between my thighs... gulp!"

V1 and V2 naughtily playing around while waiting out their turns

Stray cats captured by volunteers

On our way to help catch some stray puppies from an owner's house. These mostly-wooden stilt houses are connected by plank pathways.

Finding our way to the owner's house. Every path and house looked the same to me.

The low tide reveals quite some rubbish scattered across the land.

Yay, we found the owner's house!

Wei caught the cutest puppy of the day. Such an adorable little sweetheart! This cute little puppy calmly slept as Wei carried him back to the center.

2 stray puppies that Ezer and I caught - both are extremely panicky and put up a huge struggle, peeing and pooping as we grabbed hold of them

Dedicated SPCA volunteers leading us around the place

Shahrul of SPCA who kindly invited us to the trip

Good way to shade your head from the sun while cycling

Trying out the local food - La La Jian.. fried oysters in omelette.

A big Buddhist temple

No, these tortoises are not for neutering

This friendly girl is a stray dog that was spayed a month ago during SPCA's earlier trip... she came back to pay the team a visit, how sweet!

Trying out their delicious sweet & sour and Kam Heong-style crabs.

Last edited by AndyKoh; 07-27-2009 at 04:06 PM.
Old 07-27-2009, 03:54 PM

Default Re: SPCA Pulau Ketam Trip Photos

"Hello, I'm here to be spayed. Do you like my little hair clip?"

Another handsome fella arriving on a bicycle

This cute fluffy girl is very happy

Eager to get down and sniff around

The cute little stray puppy that Wei caught, now settled down in a cage waiting to be cared for. Hope he managed to find a good home.

Last edited by AndyKoh; 07-27-2009 at 04:02 PM.
Old 07-27-2009, 07:13 PM

Andy,Great Photo, thanks for sharing. Good job for SPCA activities for this trip included neutering animals, free vaccination, educating the public, providing obedience training demonstration and rescuing strays.

Old 07-28-2009, 08:08 AM

Great photos! Like they say, a picture speaks a thousand words.
Love the photo on "Lala Jian" - makes me very, very (yes, very!) hungry!

Two thumbs up for SPCA for the continuous efforts in PK!!

Old 07-28-2009, 02:49 PM

Thanks DIMB and Sillylupie, I certainly learnt a lot during the trip

Let's hope this serves as a good example to other islands and communities as well on how to manage the stray animals.
Old 07-28-2009, 06:11 PM

Default Re: SPCA Pulau Ketam Trip Photos - 2009-07-25

Nice photos, Andy. Thank you for sharing.

for a moment there I really thot the turtles were queuing up to be neutered....

Old 08-01-2009, 08:15 PM

wow nice photos
like holiday trip like that...........

1 photographer - 2 models haha
Old 08-08-2009, 04:20 PM

UPDATES

A scared doggy arriving by bicycle

THIS DOG WAS THEN ABANDONED AFTER THE SPAYING. WE MANAGED TO GET A FOSTERER (ONE OF THE VOLUNTEER), AND SHE IS NOW ADOPTED BY HIS NEIGHBOR...

"Uh-oh... I have a feeling I'm gonna lose a thing or two between my thighs... gulp!"

THIS IS THE SAME DOG

Wei caught the cutest puppy of the day. Such an adorable little sweetheart! This cute little puppy calmly slept as Wei carried him back to the center.

SHE WAS AN UNWANTED LITTER (WITH AN OWNER). ALSO MANAGED TO GET A FOSTERER AND WILL BE OPT FOR ADOPTION WHEN SHE IS OLD ENOUGH. SHE IS NOW VERY HEALTHY AND FATTTT...

2 stray puppies that Ezer and I caught - both are extremely panicky and put up a huge struggle, peeing and pooping as we grabbed hold of them

THESE TWO PUPPIES ARE ACTUALLY STRAYS WITH "FEEDER". AL LEAST THERE IS SOMEONE WHO CARES...
[/B]

Good way to shade your head from the sun while cycling

THIS GUY..... HEAD OF THE VILLAGE...