Go Back   PetFinder.my > The Animal Corner > Dogs & Puppies > Health, Disease & Diet

Health, Disease & Diet Find out the best tips and practices on managing your dog's diet, health care, and issues with diseases from our community of animal lovers

Old 02-09-2011, 05:16 AM

Laine is on a distinguished road
Default Puppy is a picky eater...out of ideas!

My puppy, Halo, is nearly 3 months old and we're on the 4th different kind of puppy food. I've been giving him wet food mixed with his dry food as he was kinda undersized when we first got him (he's part pug, part dachshund), but as soon as I start slowing putting less wet food in he doesn't want to eat it. He also tries to go after the cat's dry food so I've had to feed her in a different area.

I've given thought to just making my own dog food. Would this be safe and where would I get a safe recipe?

Other than this he's a sweet puppy and very loving.
Thanks!
Old 02-09-2011, 01:07 PM

vani is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Puppy is a picky eater...out of ideas!

I have been making home cooked food for my 3 dogs & 1 puppy and all of them jus love it!

U can either try making raw diet or home cooked food.. When I cook for them I jus try to give them a little bit of everything.. For carbs u can either give bread, rice or pasta and depends because some dogs prefer certain things.. And then u can just cook ur meat (chicken/pork/lamb/mutton/egg) using olive oil or just boil in hot water.. Some dogs are allergic to chicken so u have to monitor if there is any allergic reactions!

Also dun forget to add vegetables, u can give a small portion of underground veges and above ground veges..

Herbs are also good..I mostly add tumeric..
Other things u can add would be honey or yogurt..
Some people add apply cider vinegar n give brewers yeast..
For coat problem fish oil tablets are good or even cod liver oil can be added-try to buy human grade as the 1s made for animals are subgrade and of not so good quality!
Old 02-13-2011, 09:23 PM
The Shih Tzu Heiress

shizuka is on a distinguished road

My doggie sometimes can be a very picky eater. Mostly because she knew that i pampered her like she is living in the castle. Lots of foods and she only eat her favorite, home cooked.
Try Chicken liver, mix it with some green veggies and rice or any other meat like beef or pork or fish.

Goodluck.
Old 04-10-2016, 05:59 AM
Puppy Lover

Rumbia is on a distinguished road

It's possible your dog isn't a picky eater - they could just have a very sensitive stomach! More information on how to feed a puppy with a delicate tummy can found at http://hubpages.com/animals/Choosing...sitive-Stomach
Old 01-26-2022, 02:04 PM

KathyJack is on a distinguished road

Puppies are sometimes become a picky eater.

Last edited by KathyJack; 01-30-2022 at 02:15 PM.
Old 01-30-2022, 02:14 PM

KathyJack is on a distinguished road

Puppies are sometimes become a picky eater. In this case you have to try different kind of food like cooked dog food or raw dog food etc. Also, your puppy may have issues with stomach so consult with your doctor.
https://farmlycanine.ca/