Old 11-16-2010, 05:53 PM

Smile Re: Need Advice for 3 Furry Friend

Hi Kuntum,

Yeah.. misunderstood his question hehe... Sorry for that.

Thanks for the advice.

Regards,
Eve

Originally Posted by kuntum View Post
I'm sure he knows what that means, dear . He just wants to know how many times he needs to do that ...
Old 11-16-2010, 09:34 PM

kmleong is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Need Advice for 3 Furry Friend

So other than Celect, Feline Fresh is also good?
Old 11-16-2010, 10:40 PM

kuntum is on a distinguished road

Besides Celect & Feline Fresh, u can try the cystal type. It really absorbs the smell and u can reuse it again after u wash the soiled crystal and let it dry. The downside is, it's a bit expensive.
Old 11-16-2010, 10:43 PM

Besides Celect & Feline Fresh, u can try the cystal type. It really absorbs the smell and u can reuse it again after u wash the soiled crystal and let it dry. The downside is, it's a bit expensive.
Well I was told to try out Feline Fresh for better smell control.
Old 11-16-2010, 10:58 PM

Yup, both types are good! It depends which one is suitable for ur furkidz the most ...and ur pockets, too!

And one more thing...feed ur cat with a quality cat food like Blackwood, Royal Canin, Science Plan or Iams. Their stool will smell less if compared eating Friskies, Whiskas or other comersial cat food.

Last edited by kuntum; 11-16-2010 at 11:06 PM.
Old 11-16-2010, 11:26 PM

Yup, both types are good! It depends which one is suitable for ur furkidz the most ...and ur pockets, too!

And one more thing...feed ur cat with a quality cat food like Blackwood, Royal Canin, Science Plan or Iams. Their stool will smell less if compared eating Friskies, Whiskas or other comersial cat food.
Last time I tried Science Plan before, toooo expensive. $70++ for one bag.
Old 11-17-2010, 12:13 AM

Why don'y u try Blackwood. Join the Blackwood group here in PF! U can get 1kg for only RM9.90. Visit the Blackwood thread under Pet Food link or visit her website at http://felixthecats.weebly.com
Old 11-17-2010, 12:44 AM

Nur_illiyana is on a distinguished road

hi kmleong,

i had try Breeder Celect and Feline Fresh before. this is my opinion.

Breeder Celect
recycled paper, expensive but really good in term of odor control.
it wouldn't clump but u need to scoop the waste quite frequent.

Feline Fresh
made from wood pine.
i like the smell.. quite expensive but not as expensive as Breeder Celect.
easy to find at Jusco and Tesco.
it wouldn't clump also, but also good in term of odor control..
its flushable

now i change to flushable woody and bought it from Felix the cat.
not much different with Feline Fresh.. just a pallet bit small compare to Feline Fresh.

agreed with Kuntum.
My kids stool smell less when they consume Blackwood. if u can find any petshop in Penang that sell Blackwood in big bag(25kg), it can save your wallet.
Old 11-17-2010, 01:31 AM

Originally Posted by Nur_illiyana View Post
hi kmleong,

i had try Breeder Celect and Feline Fresh before. this is my opinion.

Breeder Celect
recycled paper, expensive but really good in term of odor control.
it wouldn't clump but u need to scoop the waste quite frequent.

Feline Fresh
made from wood pine.
i like the smell.. quite expensive but not as expensive as Breeder Celect.
easy to find at Jusco and Tesco.
it wouldn't clump also, but also good in term of odor control..
its flushable

now i change to flushable woody and bought it from Felix the cat.
not much different with Feline Fresh.. just a pallet bit small compare to Feline Fresh.

agreed with Kuntum.
My kids stool smell less when they consume Blackwood. if u can find any petshop in Penang that sell Blackwood in big bag(25kg), it can save your wallet.
I heard Carrefour also selling feline fresh? But tesco would be nearer no need to pass penang bridge.
Old 11-17-2010, 01:59 AM

adrianng87 is on a distinguished road

kmleong,
I agree with kuntum's suggestion about feeding your cats with Blackwood.

You might wanna ask Nurkasih (a PF member here) where she get her best price for Blackwood in Penang. I think there is another thread saying about this topic as well.
Old 11-18-2010, 04:24 PM

Originally Posted by adrianng87 View Post
kmleong,
I agree with kuntum's suggestion about feeding your cats with Blackwood.

You might wanna ask Nurkasih (a PF member here) where she get her best price for Blackwood in Penang. I think there is another thread saying about this topic as well.
Can you ask her where she bought it?
Old 11-18-2010, 04:59 PM
MamaMeow

azieazlie is on a distinguished road

Originally Posted by kmleong View Post
Can you ask her where she bought it?
manja betul la kmleong nie.. tapi, tak apa, ramai yang sudi membantu dia disini..
Old 11-18-2010, 06:30 PM

Last time I tried Science Plan before, toooo expensive. $70++ for one bag.
Hello, kmleong -- Yes, the premium foods are more expensive, you are right.

I have found, though, that the cats eat much less of them, so that one RM70 bag will last longer than the same size bag of Whiskas, Friskies, etc.

Why? The premium foods are made of top-quality fish and meat. The cheaper foods contain mostly corn and grains. Our pets have to eat much more of the cheap foods to get the nutrients that they need. With the good foods, they eat less, and they poo less.

(No, I'm not a pet food salesman. )

You might try one bag of the good food with your cats. See if the arithmetic works out. In other words, if it's double the price but lasts twice as long, it's really no more money out of your pocket.

I hope you're having some luck finding a new apartment that will welcome you and your three furkids!
Old 11-18-2010, 07:10 PM

Hello, kmleong -- Yes, the premium foods are more expensive, you are right.

I have found, though, that the cats eat much less of them, so that one RM70 bag will last longer than the same size bag of Whiskas, Friskies, etc.

Why? The premium foods are made of top-quality fish and meat. The cheaper foods contain mostly corn and grains. Our pets have to eat much more of the cheap foods to get the nutrients that they need. With the good foods, they eat less, and they poo less.

(No, I'm not a pet food salesman. )

You might try one bag of the good food with your cats. See if the arithmetic works out. In other words, if it's double the price but lasts twice as long, it's really no more money out of your pocket.

I hope you're having some luck finding a new apartment that will welcome you and your three furkids!
Normally I give 1 cup for lunch 1 cup for dinner and after midnight they will ask again. So how much do I give them for premium?
Old 11-18-2010, 07:31 PM

Normally I give 1 cup for lunch 1 cup for dinner and after midnight they will ask again. So how much do I give them for premium?
I have 2 adult cats. They eat a bit less than 1 cup a day combined.
Old 11-18-2010, 08:28 PM

I have 2 adult cats. They eat a bit less than 1 cup a day combined.
So one cat only eats half a cup per day?
Old 11-18-2010, 10:37 PM

So one cat only eats half a cup per day?
About that, yes. My scoop is 1/2 cup, and I put one scoop into each bowl in the morning, and the two bowls are never empty. They eat a little bit now and then, whenever they are hungry. By the following morning, there is still food left in the two bowls.

When I kept dogs, I found the same result when I switched to good dry dog food -- my dogs ate less of it.

I don't know what premium cat foods are available in Penang. A lot of PF members seem to like the Blackwood. If you can manage it, give one of the better foods a try. See if it works well for your cats. You may need to mix it with whatever you're feeding them now until they get used to the new taste. :-)
Old 11-18-2010, 11:24 PM

Agreeable with Amanda, the other day when I visited a vet at PJ, he explained the same info almost the same as Amanda, and gave an idea of the cat foods' categories, are as:

Commercial Brands - Friskies, Whiskas, Tesco & etc
Premium Brands - Science Plan, Iams, Eukanuba & etc
Super Premium Brands - Blackwood, Orijen, Royal Canin & etc

If i'm not mistaken, there are some threads regarding these cat foods, you might wanna check it out.
Old 11-19-2010, 12:06 AM

About that, yes. My scoop is 1/2 cup, and I put one scoop into each bowl in the morning, and the two bowls are never empty. They eat a little bit now and then, whenever they are hungry. By the following morning, there is still food left in the two bowls.

When I kept dogs, I found the same result when I switched to good dry dog food -- my dogs ate less of it.

I don't know what premium cat foods are available in Penang. A lot of PF members seem to like the Blackwood. If you can manage it, give one of the better foods a try. See if it works well for your cats. You may need to mix it with whatever you're feeding them now until they get used to the new taste. :-)
What brand you feeding them? The only brand I know in Pg is Science Plan. Even Gill's Vet is selling. Cause I use it last time it was so expensive so I switch to Friskies also no need to travel so far to Toby. That time i didn't know Gill's also selling but they are nearer my place.
Old 11-19-2010, 01:32 AM

Hi kmleong, i'm afraid that nurkasih has deactivated her account. You might wanna PM ashlycat, this PF member has talked to nurkasih long time ago about the contact of Blackwood's supplier.

See this link about Blackwood in Penang: http://forums.petfinder.my/showthrea...ackwood+penang