Go Back   PetFinder.my > PetFinder Lounge > Food & Recipes

Food & Recipes Drool over the tastiest cuisines and feast your eyes upon secret recipes!

Old 08-02-2008, 07:27 AM

Default Best Bak Kut Teh Places

Post your favorite Bak Kut Teh Restaurants here.. tell us why you love it, where it's located, etc...
Old 08-02-2008, 11:52 AM

RoyBlue is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Best Bak Kut Teh Places

I like the one in the Taman Bahagia LRT area, it's near the Motors Confidence Service Centre for Perodua. It's actually a stall in a foodcourt. Will post up the map....

The soup is flavourful and you can actually taste the herbs. Stall run by a middle aged couple. I frequent there quite often as I think that they're one of the tastiest bak kut teh places around!!! Do Give it a try!!!

Pros: Great Taste, Good Ingredients, Fast Service
Cons: No Yam Rice
Price: Around 7-8 per person inclusive of one bowl of rice.

Opens at night....
Old 08-02-2008, 08:36 PM

not a fan of bak kut teh but i heard the ss3 one is good if you like those black type...

and near the taman mayang emas er if you called that a row of shoplots facing the highway..before kelana jaya - there is also another one..

still bak kut teh best - go klang
Old 08-03-2008, 10:57 AM

RoyBlue is on a distinguished road

not a fan of bak kut teh but i heard the ss3 one is good if you like those black type...

and near the taman mayang emas er if you called that a row of shoplots facing the highway..before kelana jaya - there is also another one..

still bak kut teh best - go klang
Vivienpl, I agree with you, without a doubt the best bak kut teh is still in klang. But Klang is far, at most I go there once a week. That also is after I finish my time at PAWS and drive there... reach there too late (around 7.30-8.00pm) and most of the best parts are finished
Old 08-03-2008, 01:38 PM

best parts are always before they open stall i think
go wallop first before you start work

better not i scare the dogs will come bite you because you will smell of bak kut teh
Old 08-04-2008, 01:40 PM

bah kut teh at 6am or 7am in the morning? wow you must be one bah kut teh fan.

i'm still looking for good bah kut teh. have thought i found several good outlets but after 2nd and 3rd tries, they all put in too much MSG.

and also once they get "popular" they started to take "short-cuts" in their recipe.

current one is the stall along Old Klang Road, just beneath the NPE (yeah, lots of addictives from the passing cars ) but hey, it's always standing room only.

me think the soup is okay, without too much reliance on soya sauce for coloring and taste, i can differentiate the taste of herbs without it being over powering but it's not exaclty superb. boleh tahan lah...but their steam fish is fabulous!
Old 08-04-2008, 04:27 PM

mmm... one of the better ones I tasted would be at the Hokkien Association in Klang... the bakuteh is at the canteen at the back... you can see lots of people there enjoying it for breakfast, especially the uncles haha...

but for convenience sake, I'll usually settle for somewhere in PJ.. the one in Megah's Ming Tien is not that bad too.. the soup has some herbal fragrance in it, and they add some fried onions to the rice.

two more that I more conveniently go to are the Chow Sang Bakuteh at Chow Yang and the Grandpa Bakuteh at Paramount hehe...
Old 08-04-2008, 06:06 PM

hiya andy,

all outlets mentioned are in PJ, although PJ used to be my stomping grounds, i've stopped since the fuel hike.

yes the one at the hokkien klang association is good although i'm on the hunt for bah kut teh stall that sells good soup from a balanced recipe (not too much soya sauce, not too much msg, real authentic herbs braised for hours and hours....).

yummy yum - although nowadays i seldom take much meat anymore..but still nice to discuss bah kut teh.. :-)
Old 08-04-2008, 07:37 PM

mmm... one of the better ones I tasted would be at the Hokkien Association in Klang... the bakuteh is at the canteen at the back... you can see lots of people there enjoying it for breakfast, especially the uncles haha...

but for convenience sake, I'll usually settle for somewhere in PJ.. the one in Megah's Ming Tien is not that bad too.. the soup has some herbal fragrance in it, and they add some fried onions to the rice.

two more that I more conveniently go to are the Chow Sang Bakuteh at Chow Yang and the Grandpa Bakuteh at Paramount hehe...
i heard about this two in sea park - is it good i mean the Chow Sang and Grandpa .....
Old 08-11-2008, 12:15 AM

I loooove bak kut teh, and will definitely try all those recommended places. Well, one at a time, not at the same time.

But has anyone tried dry bak kut teh before? I like this dry bak kut teh at Equine Park, near Jusco. The road where the shop is faces Jusco. This road has 2 coffee shops on both left and right....don't remember their names. This bak kut teh shop is on the right hand side, further down the road, not far from a pet shop.

P/S: Forgot to mention that it will be accompanied by a bowl of bak kut teh soup. The soup is not bad, but I've tasted better ones. But the bak kut comes in a claypot, and is fried with dark soya sauce and dried chillies.

Last edited by blackie007; 08-11-2008 at 12:17 AM.
Old 08-13-2008, 04:23 PM
<<< Just Do It >>>

alancheah is on a distinguished road

"Fong Kiew" Restaurant, Klang. Best
Old 08-14-2008, 12:50 PM

I tried Grandpa Bak Kut Teh before.....yes, it's ok for me. It's the lighter version. I know some people prefer the "kau", darker colour version.
i heard about this two in sea park - is it good i mean the Chow Sang and Grandpa .....
Old 08-18-2008, 10:51 AM

hi all

i've tried the dried version - it's like grilled, like? dark sauce with some grilled sotong inside. very tasty and aromatic but also very salty.

i like the lighter version of bah kut teh but it must be with right balance of herb taste - i'm very choosey..hehehe