Old 12-20-2010, 08:36 PM

azzu02 is on a distinguished road
Default Can it be considered as cat cruelty?

i have been going to the clubhouse of my apartment for few weeks now because theres a momma kitty gave birth to 4 beautiful kittens. I like to visit them and observe. i have no intention of taking them away since i have 3 cats myself and i see that the mom is well fed by a grocery store owner nearby.

The kittens are still less than 3 weeks old. There are 4 kittens, all tabby with 3 brown and 1 grey.

Then last Sunday i came only to find that the mommy cat is alone, grieving i guess because all her kittens are gone. she looked sad and theres nothing i could do.

I see this either cruelty or simply ignorant.

If you want to take the kittens, take the whole bunch please. you can give away the kittens after they cerai susu which is 3 months old. If you are an experienced cat owner, maybe you can take care of the kittens, but who can tell?all i see is 4 dead kittens. I feel sorry for the mother.

so forumers, what is your opinion on this?
Old 12-22-2010, 06:03 AM

LOL Enterprise is on a distinguished road
Default Re: Can it be considered as cat cruelty?

Normally when the mommy cat don't have enuf food then she cannot feed her kittens.
Old 12-23-2010, 12:25 PM

kuntum is on a distinguished road

First of all, I could not understand ur story...are the kittens all died or have they been taken away by someone?

I agree with u..if u want the kittens esp. if they are not weaned yet, take the whole bunch...don't leave the mother. Animals have feelings too, u know!

In this case, I think it is just plain ignorant. When u r ignorant, u don't realise that u are being cruel towards animal. OR just plain cruel..people are just cruel sometimes...all I can say is KNOWLEDGE is essential for everyone...not just little children....

P/S: Some adults have instill "perasaan tak suka pada haiwan" esp. cats from a very young age. Little that they know, by hating animals which they thought a nuisance to their lives, is the same as insulting God's creation.

Last edited by kuntum; 12-23-2010 at 12:50 PM.
Old 12-23-2010, 02:09 PM

adrianng87 is on a distinguished road

Hi azzu02,

I don't understand either about the kittens, is it really physically dead or just literally dead?

Nevertheless, I agree with you & Kuntum, that if people are interested to keep the stray kittens, they should keep the mother as well, as a whole to help, just keeping the kittens won't be much help rather than making the mother cat grieving for loss. The nature of mum & babies' bond is broken. This may sound more to emotion, but after all, we don't want this to happen.

Kuntum said is best, these people are somehow lack of knowledge. I see it this way, if this is a doing of a kid / teen, their parents are to be blamed for not giving full attention to what their kids are doing, simply carefree.
Old 12-23-2010, 10:20 PM

azzu02 is on a distinguished road

The well being of the kittens is heavily dependent on the cat nappers. I believe when the kittens was taken they were still alive and i do really hope the people who took them know what they are doing.

Just feel sorry for the mom tho as i would try to imagine humans going through such ordeal as well..

I mean there is no harm taking in the mother as well.