Old 12-19-2008, 10:44 AM

Default Cat vs Furniture

Dear beloved friends

I been thinking to get a cat.. i.o a dog (>.<). Well, the thing is.. my landlord put a nice leather couch and dining set that would set me back for months if they are scratched.. BANGKRUT you know.. BANGKRUT.

Well.. what if i put him in a room without the leather furnitures first, buy sisal rope scratching post (vertical and horizontal too!), teach it to scratch there by showing the motion for many days and even put catnip there.. until he used the scratching post.. put sticky tape on the leather's surroundings.. cover the leather with cloth..

will they still scratch my furniture? do they scratch doors as well? or the scratching post will be my saviour?

to me.. (i never had one) cats are vicious furniture killer.. besides that.. i love them..
Old 12-19-2008, 10:53 AM

Default Re: Cat vs Furniture

HI ferreted,
I don know well bout cats. But i think it's depend on cats individually.
Don scare lah so many cat expert here. Rite? But what i know is my friend's kitties got 5 of them. She bought a new furniture at home 6 months ago. Not until a week, the furniture is in a bad shape. So kasihan. But different case lah. Her cats don have many toys too play but she let them roam around everyway.
Old 12-19-2008, 10:56 AM

before vivi post:

me________cat

after vivi post:

me___________________cat

heellpp!! cat experts.. bestow your knowledge and experience upon me.

Last edited by Ferreted; 12-19-2008 at 11:03 AM.
Old 12-19-2008, 11:02 AM

Default Cat vs Furniture

Chelly,what you can do is,spray some lemon scent on the couch/sofa.Cats hates lemon scent.

before vivi post:

me________cat

after vivi post:

me___________________cat
Old 12-19-2008, 11:04 AM

HAhahhaha The cat lover will start shooting me now.
But ferreted i believe not all cats do that lah. My friends din train her kitty properly mah.
Old 12-19-2008, 11:04 AM
AnImaL lUVer..

mixa is on a distinguished road

Dear beloved friends

I been thinking to get a cat.. i.o a dog (>.<). Well, the thing is.. my landlord put a nice leather couch and dining set that would set me back for months if they are scratched.. BANGKRUT you know.. BANGKRUT.

Well.. what if i put him in a room without the leather furnitures first, buy sisal rope scratching post (vertical and horizontal too!), teach it to scratch there by showing the motion for many days and even put catnip there.. until he used the scratching post.. put sticky tape on the leather's surroundings.. cover the leather with cloth..

will they still scratch my furniture? do they scratch doors as well? or the scratching post will be my saviour?

to me.. (i never had one) cats are vicious furniture killer.. besides that.. i love them..
hai..actually there is a spray that you can by at petshop, if i'm not mistaken la, yg membolehkan cat tak nak cakar furniture kita.. you spray benda tu dekat you punya furniture, and then the cat will not have a desire to scratch it.

my cat never scratch my door, as far as i know la..

i used to have a sofa before, but hancur my cat scratch..now i pakai kerusi kayu..because before dis i tak tau ade this spray..

GOOD LUCK FOR YOUR NEW CAT !!!!!
Old 12-19-2008, 11:05 AM

wad kinda lemon kak june? those air freshener lemon or fresh lemon?

come on come on.. teach me more and i will do all that! thanks mixa.. yeahh.. hehehee now me and a cat is closer since vivi post..
Old 12-19-2008, 11:08 AM

Default Cat vs Furniture

For me,I use buah lemon,I'm very old fashion. I like to do things traditional way
wad kinda lemon kak june? those air freshener lemon or fresh lemon?
Old 12-19-2008, 11:12 AM

Kak June,
So will the whole house smell lemon?
Old 12-19-2008, 11:18 AM

kalau pakai buah lemon.. make sure jgn perah byk sgt... see.. lemon ni pH is acidity... if your cat doesnt scratch you furniture... the acid will torn it out... especially the color of you furniture... for beginner.. better get the repellent sprays suit usage on the furniture... also prepare scratching pad for your cat... like me... very difficult to teach my chemong not to scratch on pillow and my katil... the method i use is... "rattan" .. piak piak on the floor to chase them away... chihihihi
Old 12-19-2008, 11:19 AM

maryleejane is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to maryleejane Send a message via Yahoo to maryleejane Send a message via Skype™ to maryleejane

there is some liquid where you could buy from pet shop, and spray at the post or scratching toys or cardboard the cat loves the smell and eventually play alot with it....heheheheh

I also scare becoz my new house is ready soon and all my furniture will be scratch...then really bankcrupt!

But I dunno pulak of the spray that prevent them from scratching pulak....and lemon hey that a good idea....

Old 12-19-2008, 11:27 AM

Default Cat vs Furniture

Vivi,dont apply suma itu lemon seluruh rmh.mati kucing nanti.heheheh!! just press the lemon,sprinkle saja good enough.

Mary,my cat tak makan saman.dulu ada pakai spray but it doesn't works on them.degil kepala batu. so I used old method and it works for now.who knows what happen in the future klu kucing dah mutate dan tak takut lemon.

Originally Posted by maryleejane View Post

there is some liquid where you could buy from pet shop, and spray at the post or scratching toys or cardboard the cat loves the smell and eventually play alot with it....heheheheh

I also scare becoz my new house is ready soon and all my furniture will be scratch...then really bankcrupt!

But I dunno pulak of the spray that prevent them from scratching pulak....and lemon hey that a good idea....

Old 12-19-2008, 11:34 AM

like me..

invest on cat tree yg ada tmpt scratch...
then beli catnip spray....
spray all over the cat tree..
all cats jd crazy kat cat tree tu..
and not even bother nak cakar2 my furniture....

but saw spray yg tak kasi cat scratch furniture tu...but tak beli dan tak pernah cuba
Old 12-19-2008, 11:37 AM

but chemonk.. when you start to "plak plak plak" they already scratch or what? and then and then... mati aku if they scratch my katil oso!!! oh ya.. if they scratch once.. is the damage bad already? like can tear cloth like that? of coz ya i will trim their nails (and buff them too!)

kak imann.. that catnip reapplied how often?
Old 12-19-2008, 12:05 PM

but chemonk.. when you start to "plak plak plak" they already scratch or what? and then and then... mati aku if they scratch my katil oso!!! oh ya.. if they scratch once.. is the damage bad already? like can tear cloth like that? of coz ya i will trim their nails (and buff them too!)

kak imann.. that catnip reapplied how often?

I spray 2mths once la...tp kdg2 lupa jugak..hehehe...a bottle can last u maybe 7-8mths like dat la...
Old 12-19-2008, 12:17 PM

biasanya piak sebelum diorg datang ler... kih kih kih... at first... not so bad la the scratching marks... but if you dont teach them them properly... probably it will worsen... because they like to scratch at the same spot...refer to my chemong, atam & aning thread... i already put a wooden block for them to scratch.... i notice only one block damaged.. the rest still ok...hihihihi .. maybe after the existing one already hilang.. then they will start moving to the second block... hahahahah
Old 12-19-2008, 03:25 PM

Vivi,dont apply suma itu lemon seluruh rmh.mati kucing nanti.heheheh!! just press the lemon,sprinkle saja good enough.

Mary,my cat tak makan saman.dulu ada pakai spray but it doesn't works on them.degil kepala batu. so I used old method and it works for now.who knows what happen in the future klu kucing dah mutate dan tak takut lemon.
Kak June,
afetr the mutate u try to use orange lorrr
HAhaha or nanas oso can.
Old 12-19-2008, 03:51 PM

soo... besides human companion.. these are stuffs that i can buy at a petshop, what do they need?

cat litter pan, cat litter (non clumping), kibbles, water bowl, scratchin post + cat tree, then wadelse ar? cage needed? nail trimmer, fur comb, LEMON, thats all?
Old 12-19-2008, 04:08 PM

soo... besides human companion.. these are stuffs that i can buy at a petshop, what do they need?

cat litter pan, cat litter (non clumping), kibbles, water bowl, scratchin post + cat tree, then wadelse ar? cage needed? nail trimmer, fur comb, LEMON, thats all?

cage if u nak cage them...then baru beli..
if let loose...no need la...
suppliment
shampoo
toys sikit...(buat sendiri pun buleh..jimat wat...)
if nak put rantai with loceng oso can...
Old 12-19-2008, 04:45 PM

Default Cat vs Furniture

how many cats you intend to take?? if 1 or 2 cats,for the time being you don't really need cage.buy cat carrier instead.you need that for your trip to the vet or if you want to bring your cat for jalan2.Nail trimmer?? I don't think you need that.let the cat keep their nail.keep their nature as possible.