Go

Go Back   PetFinder.my > PetFinder Lounge > Tech & Computers > Hardware

Reply
 
Thread Tools
  #1  
Old 08-28-2008, 06:04 PM
filinlee's Avatar
filinlee filinlee is offline
PetFinder Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bukit Jalil/ Bukit Serdang
Posts: 1,214
Rep Power: 13
filinlee is on a distinguished road
Default CPU Not working - help

My cpu is not working... I'm not sure when it started but suddenly when i wanted to on it, it juz couldnt on.....is there something wrong..? can anyone help me..? please... thanks..
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old 08-28-2008, 06:16 PM
AndyKoh's Avatar
AndyKoh AndyKoh is offline
Founder, PetFinder.my
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Petaling Jaya, Selangor
Posts: 1,347
Rep Power: 10
AndyKoh has disabled reputation
Default Re: I need help!!!!

When you turn it on, do you hear the typical power-on beep and hard disks powering up?

If there is absolutely zero sound and response, it could likely mean that your power supply has kaput.

If there are some sounds, then nothing showing on screen, then could be motherboard or ram problem.

In any case, better ask a friend who's familiar with CPUs or bring to your nearest PC shop for help.


p/s: How did you post this help request if your PC can't power on, using cyber-telepathy?
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 08-28-2008, 06:23 PM
blackie007's Avatar
blackie007 blackie007 is offline
Petfinder Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: KL
Posts: 3,418
Rep Power: 15
blackie007 has disabled reputation
Default Re: I need help!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKoh View Post
When you turn it on, do you hear the typical power-on beep and hard disks powering up?

If there is absolutely zero sound and response, it could likely mean that your power supply has kaput.

If there are some sounds, then nothing showing on screen, then could be motherboard or ram problem.

In any case, better ask a friend who's familiar with CPUs or bring to your nearest PC shop for help.


p/s: How did you post this help request if your PC can't power on, using cyber-telepathy?
hahah, andy, i think filin meant her CPU at home la......and she posted using her office CPU.

Sorry dear, (err, I mean filin, not u, Andy.....hahaha) I'm not sure I can help u there either. but I'll give u my 2 cents of opinion.

Sometimes it could be the cards are a bit loose. Try tightening all the cards in the CPU. If no sounds at all, then just switch on and off the power, and then try turn on your CPU. If you could turn it on after a few tries like this, then that means your battery power in your CPU kaput. Hope this helps.
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 08-28-2008, 06:41 PM
Penghulu's Avatar
Penghulu Penghulu is offline
Tok Penghulu
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bamboo River
Posts: 937
Rep Power: 12
Penghulu is on a distinguished road
Default Re: CPU Not working - help

Quote:
Originally Posted by filinlee View Post
My cpu is not working... I'm not sure when it started but suddenly when i wanted to on it, it juz couldnt on.....is there something wrong..? can anyone help me..? please... thanks..
Ok filin..ni abg din ader..so lets kick start...dari mula..
on cpu pastu ader power ker tak..atau terus terus tak der power...
__________________

MJ
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 08-28-2008, 06:55 PM
filinlee's Avatar
filinlee filinlee is offline
PetFinder Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bukit Jalil/ Bukit Serdang
Posts: 1,214
Rep Power: 13
filinlee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: CPU Not working - help

Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKoh View Post
When you turn it on, do you hear the typical power-on beep and hard disks powering up?

If there is absolutely zero sound and response, it could likely mean that your power supply has kaput.

If there are some sounds, then nothing showing on screen, then could be motherboard or ram problem.

In any case, better ask a friend who's familiar with CPUs or bring to your nearest PC shop for help.


p/s: How did you post this help request if your PC can't power on, using cyber-telepathy?
Dear Mr andy... ahahaha... i dun have cyber-telepathy mind u... ehehehhe I'm at work la... the cpu at home not working....

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackie007 View Post
hahah, andy, i think filin meant her CPU at home la......and she posted using her office CPU.

Sorry dear, (err, I mean filin, not u, Andy.....hahaha) I'm not sure I can help u there either. but I'll give u my 2 cents of opinion.

Sometimes it could be the cards are a bit loose. Try tightening all the cards in the CPU. If no sounds at all, then just switch on and off the power, and then try turn on your CPU. If you could turn it on after a few tries like this, then that means your battery power in your CPU kaput. Hope this helps.

blackie : aiyoo... dunno la... i really think maybe the thing kaput liao....


Quote:
Originally Posted by Penghulu View Post
Ok filin..ni abg din ader..so lets kick start...dari mula..
on cpu pastu ader power ker tak..atau terus terus tak der power...
penghulu : mmg langsung x leh nak on.. dia diam jer.. no sound no picture no nuthin...
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 08-28-2008, 06:59 PM
Ezer's Avatar
Ezer Ezer is offline
CEO, EzerNET
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 796
Rep Power: 10
Ezer has disabled reputation
Default Re: CPU Not working - help

I suggest you throw away your pc and buy a new one. BabyZee will sponsor you a pink color PC...

Haha.. just kidding!

Anyways, I think it's likely your pc got struck by a power surge. If you had it on during the rain these few days there may be a power surge and burned your motherboard or power supply. You'll need to take it to the pc repair shop.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 08-28-2008, 07:01 PM
filinlee's Avatar
filinlee filinlee is offline
PetFinder Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bukit Jalil/ Bukit Serdang
Posts: 1,214
Rep Power: 13
filinlee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: CPU Not working - help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ezer View Post
I suggest you throw away your pc and buy a new one. BabyZee will sponsor you a pink color PC...

Haha.. just kidding!

Anyways, I think it's likely your pc got struck by a power surge. If you had it on during the rain these few days there may be a power surge and burned your motherboard or power supply. You'll need to take it to the pc repair shop.
hehhee.. the weird thing is i din even on it.... aiyo.... money money again.... uwaaaaaaaaaaa....!~

wahhh... if can get new pc gud la... who wanna sponsor me a new laptop... ehehhehe ;)
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 08-28-2008, 07:05 PM
Ezer's Avatar
Ezer Ezer is offline
CEO, EzerNET
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 796
Rep Power: 10
Ezer has disabled reputation
Default Re: CPU Not working - help

Quote:
Originally Posted by filinlee View Post
hehhee.. the weird thing is i din even on it.... aiyo.... money money again.... uwaaaaaaaaaaa....!~

wahhh... if can get new pc gud la... who wanna sponsor me a new laptop... ehehhehe ;)
You have to totally unplugg your socket when you're not using. It's very common in malaysia to get lightning strike and power surges that will kill your pc... Even when it's not on, it'll still get thru.

I always buy a voltage regulator and surge protector as well and always unplug my pc when not in use. Also unplug the phone line as well. It can also cause your model to blow up...
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 08-28-2008, 07:07 PM
blackie007's Avatar
blackie007 blackie007 is offline
Petfinder Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: KL
Posts: 3,418
Rep Power: 15
blackie007 has disabled reputation
Default Re: CPU Not working - help

Quote:
Originally Posted by filinlee View Post
hehhee.. the weird thing is i din even on it.... aiyo.... money money again.... uwaaaaaaaaaaa....!~

wahhh... if can get new pc gud la... who wanna sponsor me a new laptop... ehehhehe ;)
filin, if you can wait until next month or early Oct, i-Jeanne will be out.....said to cost only RM500. i-dola, the laptop, will cost only RM1,000 or RM1,500, if I remember.
Reply With Quote
  #10  
Old 08-28-2008, 07:09 PM
Penghulu's Avatar
Penghulu Penghulu is offline
Tok Penghulu
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bamboo River
Posts: 937
Rep Power: 12
Penghulu is on a distinguished road
Default Re: CPU Not working - help

Ezer got some point there filin....
OK cam ni...firstly filin :

1 check kat plug point supaya fius dia masih baik...
2 check ader ke x fius kat belakang PSU[Power supply Unit] kalau ader
samada fius dia masih baik atau x.
3 cuba hidu kat PSU tu, ada x bau hangit seperti lepas baru terbakar.
4 sekiranya ada PSU yg lain cuba tukar kan dulu dan...
5 sehingga ini kalau semua tu dah di cuba dan keadaan nya seperti asal bererti
PSU filin tu dah kaput..rosak..dan mesti di tukar dgn yang baru...andai kata nak beli yg
murah dan masih baik..di Lawyat terdapat kedai2 yg menjual PSU gantian terpakai...
yang baik berharga lebih kurang Rm40-50 saja..manakala yg biasa RM20-30...

Perlu ingat bahawa kalau PC filin yg biasa2 ajer PSU yg 240V dgn kuatan 300-400watts sudah memadai.
__________________

MJ
Reply With Quote
  #11  
Old 08-28-2008, 07:13 PM
Penghulu's Avatar
Penghulu Penghulu is offline
Tok Penghulu
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bamboo River
Posts: 937
Rep Power: 12
Penghulu is on a distinguished road
Default Re: CPU Not working - help

sometimes its not bcos of lightning strike but its becos the life span of the PSU has come to it end..so it will kaput..
__________________

MJ
Reply With Quote
  #12  
Old 08-28-2008, 07:16 PM
Penghulu's Avatar
Penghulu Penghulu is offline
Tok Penghulu
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bamboo River
Posts: 937
Rep Power: 12
Penghulu is on a distinguished road
Default Re: CPU Not working - help

If your pc is some gadjets that you use for gaming or rendering that needs a lot of power that a branded PSU is recomendable...but the money involve will give some people a sakit gigi..
__________________

MJ
Reply With Quote
  #13  
Old 08-28-2008, 08:21 PM
filinlee's Avatar
filinlee filinlee is offline
PetFinder Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bukit Jalil/ Bukit Serdang
Posts: 1,214
Rep Power: 13
filinlee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: CPU Not working - help

Quote:
Originally Posted by blackie007 View Post
filin, if you can wait until next month or early Oct, i-Jeanne will be out.....said to cost only RM500. i-dola, the laptop, will cost only RM1,000 or RM1,500, if I remember.
eh blackie.. wanna ask u for quite sometime dy... how u post if u r not logged in ar??? weird maa..... i see ur post when i refresh back u r not on9.... ishhhh....

what is i-jeanne? rm500? so cheap??? 1-1.5k??? reliable or not first.....
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #14  
Old 08-28-2008, 08:22 PM
filinlee's Avatar
filinlee filinlee is offline
PetFinder Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bukit Jalil/ Bukit Serdang
Posts: 1,214
Rep Power: 13
filinlee is on a distinguished road
Default Re: CPU Not working - help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Penghulu View Post
Ezer got some point there filin....
OK cam ni...firstly filin :

1 check kat plug point supaya fius dia masih baik...
2 check ader ke x fius kat belakang PSU[Power supply Unit] kalau ader
samada fius dia masih baik atau x.
3 cuba hidu kat PSU tu, ada x bau hangit seperti lepas baru terbakar.
4 sekiranya ada PSU yg lain cuba tukar kan dulu dan...
5 sehingga ini kalau semua tu dah di cuba dan keadaan nya seperti asal bererti
PSU filin tu dah kaput..rosak..dan mesti di tukar dgn yang baru...andai kata nak beli yg
murah dan masih baik..di Lawyat terdapat kedai2 yg menjual PSU gantian terpakai...
yang baik berharga lebih kurang Rm40-50 saja..manakala yg biasa RM20-30...

Perlu ingat bahawa kalau PC filin yg biasa2 ajer PSU yg 240V dgn kuatan 300-400watts sudah memadai.
akan ku check nanti selepas selesai pindah memindah nih..... ehehheheh
__________________
Reply With Quote
  #15  
Old 08-28-2008, 08:36 PM
vivienlpl's Avatar
vivienlpl vivienlpl is offline
Vivien Wuz Ere
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Earth - where every human beings have to live together with animals
Posts: 921
Rep Power: 12
vivienlpl is on a distinguished road
Default Re: CPU Not working - help

it can be the powebox..i experienced this before..many times..kaboom twice because my voltage when i direct plug is very bad - my cpu died - new one die instantly basically all my pc new one always die on me one less than 1 month

now i got a regulator but then again i can sense its a bit cracky spike sound coming out from my speaker......

if the screen blank ...but cpu working..... then graphic or ram

lightning strike.......filinlee surf during thunderstorm ar?? your whole pc sure explode instantly .... including you "goreng"...

dont play with thunder!
Reply With Quote
  #16  
Old 08-29-2008, 03:02 AM
blackie007's Avatar
blackie007 blackie007 is offline
Petfinder Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: KL
Posts: 3,418
Rep Power: 15
blackie007 has disabled reputation
Default Re: CPU Not working - help

Quote:
Originally Posted by filinlee View Post
eh blackie.. wanna ask u for quite sometime dy... how u post if u r not logged in ar??? weird maa..... i see ur post when i refresh back u r not on9.... ishhhh....

what is i-jeanne? rm500? so cheap??? 1-1.5k??? reliable or not first.....
hahaha, filin, this is what andy would say cyber-telepathy..... and only james bond kitty or vampires can do that....

But seriously, it beats the shit out of me......I noticed that myself, too....first I log in, then i compose. when i submit, it says i'm not logged on, to log on first. so i log on, thinking my maxis is acting up again (the line drops every now and then). after i log on, i saw hey, my post is already there!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by vivienlpl View Post
it can be the powebox..i experienced this before..many times..kaboom twice because my voltage when i direct plug is very bad - my cpu died - new one die instantly basically all my pc new one always die on me one less than 1 month

now i got a regulator but then again i can sense its a bit cracky spike sound coming out from my speaker......

if the screen blank ...but cpu working..... then graphic or ram

lightning strike.......filinlee surf during thunderstorm ar?? your whole pc sure explode instantly .... including you "goreng"...

dont play with thunder!
the whole pc can explode instantly and goreng me? u serious vivien? there're plenty of thunderstorms and lightnings here in kepong, in fact, nearly everyday, and i'm online all the time. my pc and modem is on 24/7 because my home alarm system and cctv is connected to it, so i don't switch it off. i may or may not be on the net, but nothing is ever turned off.

but maybe i'm protected becos i have a lightning arrestor on the the roof? i live in a condo and i'm on the top floor......does that make any difference?
Reply With Quote
  #17  
Old 08-29-2008, 03:45 AM
blackie007's Avatar
blackie007 blackie007 is offline
Petfinder Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: KL
Posts: 3,418
Rep Power: 15
blackie007 has disabled reputation
Default Re: CPU Not working - help

Quote:
Originally Posted by filinlee View Post
what is i-jeanne? rm500? so cheap??? 1-1.5k??? reliable or not first.....
ooops, forgot this........i-jeanne is a desktop locally assembled, and name is given in honor of the PM's wife. i-dola is a laptop named after the PM himself. reliable or not? i do not know. we'll have to wait and see. it was announced that they'll be launched sometime end of next month of early oct.

i won't be surprised if it comes w/out monitor, keyboard, etc. but that shouldn't be a problem for u, rite?
Reply With Quote
  #18  
Old 08-29-2008, 05:21 AM
BabyZee's Avatar
BabyZee BabyZee is offline
.:: Baby, I dig you! ::.
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Subang Jaya, Selangor, Malaysia, World of Animal Lurve...
Posts: 1,868
Rep Power: 13
BabyZee is on a distinguished road
Send a message via Yahoo to BabyZee
Default Re: CPU Not working - help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ezer View Post
I suggest you throw away your pc and buy a new one. BabyZee will sponsor you a pink color PC...

Haha.. just kidding!

Anyways, I think it's likely your pc got struck by a power surge. If you had it on during the rain these few days there may be a power surge and burned your motherboard or power supply. You'll need to take it to the pc repair shop.
wah wah wah..banyak cantek ini ezer ye...
yeah,i'll sponsor but must be in pink color and also you give me the money and i'll sponsor to go and but it...
maybe pink mac or pink sony vaio...


Quote:
Originally Posted by blackie007 View Post
ooops, forgot this........i-jeanne is a desktop locally assembled, and name is given in honor of the PM's wife. i-dola is a laptop named after the PM himself. reliable or not? i do not know. we'll have to wait and see. it was announced that they'll be launched sometime end of next month of early oct.

i won't be surprised if it comes w/out monitor, keyboard, etc. but that shouldn't be a problem for u, rite?
eh,sounds funny but we wait and see la how it goes...
sounds very funny, hope it'll be good..

neway i also on my lappie nearly 24/7 to keep downloading stuff..
guess my lappie still new that's why tahan lasak but must take care from the start..
can't afford to buy new lappie...huhuhu...
__________________
" Bad things happen. Trust that good things happen, too.
Sometimes you’ve just got to close your eyes, hold on tight and believe. "
Reply With Quote
  #19  
Old 08-29-2008, 10:40 AM
cookie's Avatar
cookie cookie is offline
PetFinder Guru
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 257
Rep Power: 12
cookie is on a distinguished road
Unhappy Re: CPU Not working - help

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ezer View Post
I suggest you throw away your pc and buy a new one.
Yes Ezer, my nephew advised the same thing when my almost 8-year-old monster dinasaur of a desktop fluttered and turned black and white recently. Its time is up. This was what he said, “A freshie will set you back $$$. If you want to keep the old goat, it is going to cost you a lot of trouble getting it fixed”.

So I am thinking of getting the cheapest freshie available or else my kitties will have to starve (me included). Will definitely check out i-Jeanne and i-Dollah. They come without hard disks.
Reply With Quote
  #20  
Old 08-29-2008, 10:59 AM
Penghulu's Avatar
Penghulu Penghulu is offline
Tok Penghulu
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Bamboo River
Posts: 937
Rep Power: 12
Penghulu is on a distinguished road
Default Re: CPU Not working - help

Quote:
Originally Posted by cookie View Post
i-Jeanne and i-Dollah. They come without hard disks.
...and both model
by its name is already old..and maybe laggy and slower..I doubt its a good buy..Computing Tech moves so fast until when it is launch its already way behind...anyway this are clones PC as same price for dos base Toshiba, Fujitsu and any other reliable brands...and without HDD...now everyone is making fun of this two non IT literate...wat a joke...
__________________

MJ
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Working Cats ashleywong Success Stories 3 08-16-2008 07:48 PM


All times are GMT +8. The time now is 04:02 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.2
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
 

Main Site
Home
Advertising
Sponsored Listings
Sign Up
Find A Pet
Share & Save Lives
About PetFinder.my
Terms & Conditions
Freebies / Starter Pack
Report Animal Abuse
Contact Us
Facilities
WAGazine
Discussion Forum
Medical Fund
Pet Food, Toys & Products
Cuteness Meter
Central News Portal
Visual Map
Knowledge Library
Microchip Directory
FurryCards
Mobile
iPhone & iPod App
Android App

Social Media
Facebook
Twitter
KindMeal
Meat-Free Dining
Meal Deals
Kind Moments
Delicious Menu

Others
World Animal Day Contest
Digi iPhone Contest
East Coast Flood Relief
It's Pawssible
Freebies
Online Store
Discussions
Blacklists & Scams



Copyright © PetFinder.my. All rights reserved.