Go Back   PetFinder.my > PetFinder Lounge > Tech & Computers > Tech Lounge

Tech Lounge Everything Tech and gadgets. Discuss latest news.

Old 04-10-2009, 09:50 AM

monkee94 is on a distinguished road
Send a message via MSN to monkee94
Default Re: Help!!!! IT help required!!

My brother's the computer genius..currently he's selling at the pikom PC fair today..I will ask him to help you when he gets back

hahahah...thank u, thank u. *flipping open june's dictionary*
eh, still tak paham la.....

errr......no one out there who can help me? please? pretty please?
Old 04-10-2009, 09:53 AM

It could be a software problem..my computer had the same problem too and my brother had to reprogram it and do stuff that sounded like gibberish to me
Old 04-10-2009, 06:42 PM

Before I begin, I'd like to thank Andy, Euanna, Fir and monkee84 for responding to my call for help. I really, really appreciate it!

I think you are right, Andy. earlier today, there was a temporary power failure, and i had a tough time turning on my PC after that. i always face this problem if there's a power cut, so i don't switch off the electricity supply. it's hard to turn on my PC once electricity supply to it is cut.

but i think that could be just one of its problems. it wasn't just when i run the picasa software. it also happened when i used the software that came with my panasonic lumix camera. but when i use the software that came with my canon camera, it was ok, no problem.

i had no problem playing house of the dead 3, but haven't tried other games yet. they were removed last year when i reformatted my PC.

i can upload the photos to shutterfly & photobucket, no problem. i can also upload to picasaweb AS LONG AS I don't open the picasa editing software.

Hmm.. sounds like a hardware problem to me if you can't even turn the power on/off... are you sure it only happens when you run the picasa software? What about during other times?

Since you mentioned that the screen blanks off, it could be related to your graphics card.. do you have any games installed in your computer, like The Sims? Try playing that and see if it kaputs your computer as well

YES! Only the monitor black out. The CPU is still working like normal, with fan sound, and light.

Errr.....this may sound silly, but how hot is hot? I touched my CPU, and it isn't cold to my hand, it's warm to the touch, like warm toast....is this normal?

the CPU did not auto-reboot. i couldn't even get it to reboot. i had to switch off the electricity supply, press the on/off button on the CPU, switch off the electricity supply again.....repeat a few times before i managed to turn it on.

you mean, the graphics card will LITERALLY melt??? OMG!!!

Originally Posted by euanna View Post
To check the amount of RAM you have on your pc.. you can go to Start -> Run and type dxdiag

See how much RAM you have.

Does only the monitor black out..or the pc turned off too? (if the monitor is blacked out.. but you can see the CPU light working fine, it could be.. the monitor cable, the Graphic card or the monitor itself. Also check if the CPU is overheating.. (just try to put ur hand on the casing and feel how hot it is).

If the black out happened only when u're dealing with pictures / photo editing.. it could probably due to RAM / Virtual memory. Photo editing softwares usually are quite heavy and the computer will auto-reboot if the system cannot handle it. *scratch head*

If your talking about a laptop.. I rest my case.. I don't know zip about lappy.

P/S: Becareful when monitor blacks out but CPU runs like nothing happened (you can hear the CPU fans sound..).. I've had situation like this where... poof! the graphic card melted .. the cooling fan on the graphic card literally melted off

P/S #2: If you're not sure.. you can always get the pc for a simple check up..some computer shops does it..I think .. better be safe than melting

Fir, thank you so, so much for your very kind offer. I'm very touched.

I think it's most likely hardware problem, after reading what Andy & Euanna have to say. I think I'll take it to a technician this weekend......don't want the graphics card to melt on me.

Originally Posted by firdaruddin View Post
kak blackie,

call me.if i'm free, i'll come over n take a look.

Oh.....is there a pikom PC fair this weekend? where? if it sounds like graphics card or monitor problem to your brother after he hears of this problem, i'll most likely buy this at the pc fair instead of lugging the whole PC to a technician.

Originally Posted by monkee94 View Post
My brother's the computer genius..currently he's selling at the pikom PC fair today..I will ask him to help you when he gets back
Old 04-10-2009, 09:07 PM

If the graphics card faulty, you will feel it sometime hang, sometime ok.

Old 04-10-2009, 09:11 PM

Yup there's a PIKOM PC Fair at KLCC this weekend..my brother's working with a company owned by Lee Chong Wei! asked my brother for a signature from him but he forgot..perhaps you can tell me what kind of computer/laptop you're looking for and I can ask my brother to give you a hand

Before I begin, I'd like to thank Andy, Euanna, Fir and monkee84 for responding to my call for help. I really, really appreciate it!

I think you are right, Andy. earlier today, there was a temporary power failure, and i had a tough time turning on my PC after that. i always face this problem if there's a power cut, so i don't switch off the electricity supply. it's hard to turn on my PC once electricity supply to it is cut.

but i think that could be just one of its problems. it wasn't just when i run the picasa software. it also happened when i used the software that came with my panasonic lumix camera. but when i use the software that came with my canon camera, it was ok, no problem.

i had no problem playing house of the dead 3, but haven't tried other games yet. they were removed last year when i reformatted my PC.

i can upload the photos to shutterfly & photobucket, no problem. i can also upload to picasaweb AS LONG AS I don't open the picasa editing software.

YES! Only the monitor black out. The CPU is still working like normal, with fan sound, and light.

Errr.....this may sound silly, but how hot is hot? I touched my CPU, and it isn't cold to my hand, it's warm to the touch, like warm toast....is this normal?

the CPU did not auto-reboot. i couldn't even get it to reboot. i had to switch off the electricity supply, press the on/off button on the CPU, switch off the electricity supply again.....repeat a few times before i managed to turn it on.

you mean, the graphics card will LITERALLY melt??? OMG!!!

Fir, thank you so, so much for your very kind offer. I'm very touched.

I think it's most likely hardware problem, after reading what Andy & Euanna have to say. I think I'll take it to a technician this weekend......don't want the graphics card to melt on me.

Oh.....is there a pikom PC fair this weekend? where? if it sounds like graphics card or monitor problem to your brother after he hears of this problem, i'll most likely buy this at the pc fair instead of lugging the whole PC to a technician.
Old 04-10-2009, 10:02 PM

awww, i have no idea what exactly i'm looking for. can u tell me the name of your brother's company, and his name? if u prefer to keep it private, then just PM me......i'll look for him.

thanks very much.

Yup there's a PIKOM PC Fair at KLCC this weekend..my brother's working with a company owned by Lee Chong Wei! asked my brother for a signature from him but he forgot..perhaps you can tell me what kind of computer/laptop you're looking for and I can ask my brother to give you a hand
Old 04-10-2009, 10:39 PM

i think i had this problem before last month.....

cpu moving ..
blank screen...blinking.....

then hang then reboot :)

i thought my graphic..but i think ram is culprit....

i sent to a shop in ss2 -
he diagnose...
take out ram...dust dust
push it real hard back

ok so far
4 weeks and dont have that weird weird behaviour hehe
Old 04-10-2009, 11:43 PM

oh, really? hmmm.....something for me to look into, too. thanks, vivien.

i think i had this problem before last month.....

cpu moving ..
blank screen...blinking.....

then hang then reboot :)

i thought my graphic..but i think ram is culprit....

i sent to a shop in ss2 -
he diagnose...
take out ram...dust dust
push it real hard back

ok so far
4 weeks and dont have that weird weird behaviour hehe
Old 04-11-2009, 08:36 AM

I think his company's name is Evernew..they wear yellow shirts..I'd PM you his name and number..

awww, i have no idea what exactly i'm looking for. can u tell me the name of your brother's company, and his name? if u prefer to keep it private, then just PM me......i'll look for him.

thanks very much.
Old 04-11-2009, 10:29 AM

thanks very much, monkee94!! really appreciate it.

I think his company's name is Evernew..they wear yellow shirts..I'd PM you his name and number..
Old 04-11-2009, 10:43 AM

no problem!

Old 04-11-2009, 02:13 PM

this kind of situation is always 2 possibilities

1. ram
2. graphic card

but chances ram :)

but ram are kind of hardy..... so ask blackie to lick it......
then plug it back then you see stripes across your monitor
Old 04-11-2009, 02:25 PM

haha..if blackie licks it,there might be a possibilty that the ram would spoil..tehehe better lari first before blackie comes!

1. ram
2. graphic card

Old 04-13-2009, 03:43 PM

it wont spoil
it will run the maximum capacity
Old 04-13-2009, 04:52 PM

1. ram
2. graphic card

haha..if blackie licks it,there might be a possibilty that the ram would spoil..tehehe better lari first before blackie comes!
wah....you guys are having fun at my expense while i'm away ahhh....the proverbial the mouse comes out to play while the cat is away ah?

i'm back online.....so......

anyway, we went to the PC fair, but didn't see any good deals. then we took the CPU to the technician, and upon opening up the casing, we saw that the motherboard has "melted"!!!!! several of those round chip-like things have expanded. the graphics card's fan has stopped functioning, too.

so hubby bought me a new set....
Old 04-13-2009, 05:04 PM

the motherboard MELTED??!!!!...what did you put that computer through?..haah..ya my brother did say about the pikom PC fair..apparently they only call it a PC fair but instead the computers remain at the same price and some companies also marked up the price!!

wah....you guys are having fun at my expense while i'm away ahhh....the proverbial the mouse comes out to play while the cat is away ah?

i'm back online.....so......

anyway, we went to the PC fair, but didn't see any good deals. then we took the CPU to the technician, and upon opening up the casing, we saw that the motherboard has "melted"!!!!! several of those round chip-like things have expanded. the graphics card's fan has stopped functioning, too.

so hubby bought me a new set....
Old 04-13-2009, 05:07 PM

it sounds like an advertisment...use blackie007 licking power and never face another malfunction! Order now and get a free blackie007 cleaning fur!

it wont spoil
it will run the maximum capacity
Old 04-13-2009, 05:26 PM

yeah!!! the prices were either the same or even more expensive than regular prices out there.

the motherboard MELTED??!!!!...what did you put that computer through?..haah..ya my brother did say about the pikom PC fair..apparently they only call it a PC fair but instead the computers remain at the same price and some companies also marked up the price!!

hahahah....u guys ahh.....no dignity for my 007 spy ahh....hmmm!!!!

it sounds like an advertisment...use blackie007 licking power and never face another malfunction! Order now and get a free blackie007 cleaning fur!
Old 04-14-2009, 10:46 AM

motherboard melted wow........
what did blackie do to the motherboard until melted

make sure blackie dont lick it like an ice cream with crunches (tiny chips)
Old 04-15-2009, 02:49 PM

not sure what blackie did with the motherboard, but whatever it is, the motherboard didn't like it and protested......there was evidence to prove that it was blackie's doing......his fur was found there!! maybe he went inside the motherboard to investigate, hahaha.

I also got this cool optical mouse that keeps changing colours, from pink to blue, green, yellow, purple, magenta, and so on. He jumped up on my desk to check it out right away on the first day.

motherboard melted wow........
what did blackie do to the motherboard until melted

make sure blackie dont lick it like an ice cream with crunches (tiny chips)