Go Back   PetFinder.my > PetFinder Lounge > Sports & Fitness > Outdoors

Old 08-28-2008, 07:29 PM

Default Outdoors Anyone?

Anyone still doing outdoor activities such as mountain climbing, trekking, kayakking,camping,abseiling...etc...?

I'm interested.. juz dunno where to join one..Anyone with the same interests?
Old 08-28-2008, 07:42 PM

Default Re: Outdoors Anyone?

I used to do all the above.. ie, mountain biking (mostly at mount kiara), abseiling or rock climbing at bukit takun, trekking, camping (I was a scout master), etc...

But now, too old and no time ler... if you like mountain biking, I can recommend you join a very active group that does this every month.
Old 08-28-2008, 07:58 PM

eheheh...got no bike la ezer... ehheheh
Old 08-28-2008, 09:25 PM

somebunny is on a distinguished road

I used to hike up Penang Hill.. well, not all the way to the peak, just halfway up, through the jungle trail. Best form of exercise ever! Haven't done anything much since I moved down to KL tho, haha.. wouldn't mind picking up outdoor activities again!
Old 08-28-2008, 09:39 PM

Default Outdoors Anyone?

I used to do kayakking and trekking.as per Ezer now too old or too bz.no time.he!!!he!!

Filin,I suggest you buy Star Paper every Saturday.They normally have 1 section in Star Two for the activities mentioned above.sometimes they provide details like who to contact and the organisation address etc.
Old 08-29-2008, 02:47 AM

I'm afraid of the kayak turning over in the rapids, so I don't kayak. But trekking....I don't know of any groups, but places that I find quite fun to trek are the Taman Negara, the trails in Cameron Highlands, Terengganu (near Lake Kenyir), or, FRIM right in our backyard. You can hike up to the suspension bridge, too.

We used to do a lot of that during weekends, but these past 2 years, my hubby has been real busy so we haven't been to FRIM lately.
Old 08-29-2008, 03:08 AM

Filin, i am in (Somebunny too)! let those old buggers like Ezer (must be around 99.99 y.o) rest their bones.
I love trekking, climbing, camping, i dont know what abseiling is though.

Here's me being a monkey:

ooh i love the outdoors!
Old 08-29-2008, 05:57 AM

Ferreted, you're not a feret, but a monkey!
Old 08-29-2008, 08:42 AM

I only love camping....hehehe..do no why..seems like adventure.
but now...no time...
Old 08-29-2008, 10:31 AM

rock climbing at 1 Utama, anyone?? ;)

I love white water rafting too! The last time I went during a very rainy season.. the water level was high and the rapids were up to grade 6.. woo hoo!! that was fun!!
Old 08-29-2008, 11:24 AM
BAD Company...

fantasticat is on a distinguished road

I used to do all the above.. ie, mountain biking (mostly at mount kiara), abseiling or rock climbing at bukit takun, trekking, camping (I was a scout master), etc...
wait... wait... just wondering... are u victorian...? u look familiar la bro...

But now, too old and no time ler... if you like mountain biking, I can recommend you join a very active group that does this every month.
i wish i have time for this...
Old 08-29-2008, 11:27 AM

huhu.. sama la aku fantasticat... time management lari sket.. gi keje balik keje dah mlm.. kalau nak berkhemah pun... sabtu ahad buat khemah.. isnin - jumaat balik terus masuk khemah tido... huhuhuhu..
Old 08-29-2008, 11:54 AM

eehhhh 1 utama got place to rock climb? WOOHOO i think i chose the best spot to build nest! CHOOK!

*faint in bliss*
Old 08-29-2008, 01:37 PM

Smile Re: Outdoors Anyone?

hi fantasticat,

wait... wait... just wondering... are u victorian...? u look familiar la bro...
You a victorian? I was in Yap Kwan Seng house.
Old 08-29-2008, 02:43 PM

hi filin

good suggestion. i posted mine at the wrong sectgion and wrong thread.

i'm taking up "mountain climbing" but it's more like mountain walking. my group is going up mt kk next april 2009 and we're planning the logistics now. group leader is planning for 8 in the group, there are already 3 of us confirmed. we have the info on park fees and such but no information on how much accomodation is at mt kk.

does anyone here know of any agency that give provides quotes on accomodation at mt kk?

sorry, i'm not that much into contact sport due to a back injury - walking is about the only sport i do on a regular basis
Old 08-29-2008, 02:45 PM
BAD Company...

fantasticat is on a distinguished road

hi fantasticat,

You a victorian? I was in Yap Kwan Seng house.
really...? which batch...? me 1991... i was in Thamboosamy 'green house' la before... lousy house...
Old 08-29-2008, 02:48 PM

hi filin

i'm taking up "mountain climbing" but it's more like mountain walking. my group is going up mt kk next april 2009 and we're planning the logistics now. group leader is planning for 8 in the group, there are already 3 of us confirmed. we have the info on park fees and such but no information on how much accomodation is at mt kk.

does anyone here know of any agency that give provides quotes on accomodation at mt kk?

sorry, i'm not that much into contact sport due to a back injury - walking is about the only sport i do on a regular basis
are you guys training up before the kk trip? where's a good place to hike in s'gor or kl?
Old 08-29-2008, 03:33 PM

Default Outdoors Anyone?

hallo!! Dear.I'm from KK working in KL.I work in a Travel Agent.I can help you to look for travel agent that can handle your group?? apa macam??

hi filin

Old 08-29-2008, 04:36 PM

good idea..june..!~ eheheh...

ashley...how much is the trip?
Old 08-30-2008, 02:55 PM

Dearest June

thanks for appearing at the right moment.

prior to this, my friend, the group organiser, wrote to a travel agent that was recommended by SSL but we have yet to hear from them. he understood from some of his gunung online forumers that the reservation for accomodation at mt kk is already open and yet this agent kept silent.

the proposed trip date is 28th april to 1st may 2009.

you know what june? i'll PM the details to you and would appreciate if you could help us to get quotes for our mt kk trip. based on our previous trip, we know approximately how much it'll cost in terms of fees viz-a-vis the park i.e. registration, guide fee, porter fee, etc, etc but we don't have quotes for accomodation.

i'll let you have the prelim trip itinerary that my group leader drew up.

we're going to book our flight tickets via air asia so that's taken care off - air asia has so much delightful offers!

oh thanks so much....

hi filin,

final cost not known yet. perhaps june can give us an estimate.

details to PM me..